Right idea, wrong application

November 15, 2007
Posted by Morné

For some time now we have debated and discussed the make-up of SA Rugby – but what really is the best way forward?

The make-up of SA Rugby is very complex, and because of that it is actually quite difficult to figure out how it exactly works, or is supposed to work – hell at times I think people in SA Rugby has no clue.

We have debated many times on the way forward for SA Rugby and especially what model would be ideal for the company or organisation. There are just so many things to consider.

I am going to do this a bit differently, because to be honest whenever I try and get my head around the administrative structures of SA Rugby I get confused. So this time around this article is not a suggestion, rather an invitation for everyone to add their ideas or opinions to the structures of SA Rugby.

Now as far as I understand the current model it is to give power to all provinces in SA Rugby.

In fact, the current model is democratically probably the best we can come up with and also the fairest model to base our administration on. The administrators of each union, who is voted into power by their respective clubs, has the power or opportunity to fight for his union at the highest level in SA Rugby.

The process actually ensures that people on ground level, or clubs, which is basically community driven, control SA Rugby or what happens in SA Rugby. A brilliant concept in theory.

Just to clarify that in the most simplistic way;

Clubs vote the executive, including the president of their respective unions into power.
The president sits on the Presidents Council in SARU and has a direct influence over all, or basically the most important rugby decisions taken in South Africa.

Through this model presidents can ensure developments and funds are made available to their respective unions which in turn would serve the clubs and local structures and competitions through various ways on the Presidents Council. Allocation of tests, make up of teams and competitions across all levels are done here to name a few examples of exactly what they can influence.

The best example is arguably the Spears scenario. The presidents of all the unions, including the 3 feeder unions to the Spears made the decisions regarding the franchise. Had the Spears exist today, it would have meant millions pumped into the region in ways other than is currently the case (SARU buying shares in unions in the SEC). The merits of whatever decision is not important here, just the fact that the way development is done or structures implemented is influenced by the men clubs in effect vote into power.

So if this is such a brilliant concept, why is our administration moving from one chaotic mess to the next?

I believe the answer is quite simple.

Let me start however by saying I like the idea of a Presidents Council, or some council representing all unions within SARU or SA Rugby. I might not agree to them having to make the executive decisions they currently make but I believe it is important nonetheless.

But the one major flaw we have in the system is that the amateur arm of rugby in South Africa, controls the professional arm.

It is important to understand however that I do believe we need to amateur side of rugby to be there now and in future. Rugby is one of those sports who to my mind, simply cannot function or won’t be able to function as a fully-fledged professional sport. It might survive or will survive, but to me it will lose all of its appeal.

Rugby essentially is an exclusive sport. It is one of the few left in the world that is built on passion and survives in its capacity because of this passion. If rugby ever had to go fully professional I believe it will become a 4 to 6 hour affair (for one game) controlled and dictated by media or broadcasting companies around the world – similar to American Football.

Yes of course American Football has its appeal and audience going into millions, but rugby traditionally to my mind cannot and should not go that route. That is why games like Aussie Rules and League were established, even Sevens perhaps.

Rugby is one of those few things left in life that still survives on values and rivalries established decades ago – that should never change.

So how do we keep the sports amateur values, but still run it more professionally?

Again I think it is simple. Unions in South Africa all (to the best of my knowledge) have an amateur and professional arm already – all we need to do is tweak the structures.

The Presidents you see voted into power are more often than not people in their respective communities or regions that have a high standing in society – community leaders. They are also more often than not, legends in the rugby community or clubs they represent. They live eat and breathe the institution or club they represent – a ‘Club man’ as many will refer to them.

The problem I have however is not so much these people voted into power, but the ultimate power they have.

These guys are often lawyers, teachers, farmers etc., and them being voted into power is largely, if not totally based on emotion and emotion alone.

Again let’s not change that, but let’s change the ultimate power they have.

There is no reason we should set aside this process or the amateur arm of any union or club, but I think we do need to shift our focus that the running of the club or union, and ultimately SA Rugby, should be done and ran by competent business minded individuals with proven track records in successfully running companies or industries – because SA Rugby is an industry, and one worth millions of Rands.

And the fact of the matter is, we should have professionals run the professional side of rugby, but more importantly, dictate the way the amateur arm operates – not have the amateur arm dictate how the professional arm operates as is currently the case.

This could go one further, where the respective CEO’s or MD’s of each union is represented in SARU, and not the Presidents of the amateur arm – or that both can be represented, but again that the professional arm dictates the running or rugby in general including the amateur arm, or current Presidents Council.

The crux of the problem is not so much the decisions these guys (PC) makes, but the fact that decisions are clearly based on emotion most of the time, and not on sound business principles. But of course that is logical if you consider these guys have been voted into these positions largely because of emotion, and they have to go back and answer to those people that voted them into power in the first place, and if they do not like what they want to hear, then he will lose that power.

The professional side of rugby cannot be run on emotion. Issues such as who plays in the Super 14, who is our Bok coach, which player should be included in a squad even against the coach’s wishes. These decisions could, and does influence rugby hugely and has huge financial implications too, just consider how much money SARU spent on legal fees in the last year or two.

Business professionals, basing and making decisions which has direct results on the company or industry, or even professional side of the business side of rugby, should be making decisions that leads to spending of money.

Golf runs and is administered very successfully globally with huge amateur influence in their decision making process. There is no reason rugby should not be able to do the same, and keep the values and traditions that is the heart and soul of the game.

There is a place for amateurism in rugby, but it is not the total control they have over rugby at the moment.

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

90 Comments

1. Timeo fyndraai says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 2:27 pm Reply to this comment

The big hole in the plan is who will appoint the CEO of the proffesional arm and who will fire him if he screw up? It will still have to be the elected officials who represents the owners of the company (the club members).
    What is to prevent the current crop of elected officials from appointing CEOs from their buddy lists or because of political connections, or fire a successful CEO?

2. Rasputin Rasputin says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 2:37 pm Reply to this comment

Quick question for the squires and ladies.

Besides for the 6 or so members who are not voted onto the PC, we all know how the 14 provincial members are elected.

Can anyone confirm that to get rid of one of them requires their own province to basically vote a vote of no confidence in them and put forward a new candidate?

A case in point would be Baby Richards from a year or two ago, who lost his spot on the PC because Griquas ejected him from his position.

It’s only when a member of the elected PC opts to take a higher position such as Pres, Dep Pres, Vice Pres – example, Basson from WP, that he resigns his WP position to take up his new role, thus allowing the new WP Pres [Titus] to come onto the PC.

Okay, so the Pres, Dep Pres, Vice Pres are all elected by the rest of the PC for a 2 year term.

Not at all sure how the Independents are arrived at.

Then you get the Sponsor’s nomination.

Not sure how the Chairman is appointed.

Then you get either the MD of Sa Rugby or the CEO of SARU.

3. Rasputin Rasputin says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 2:43 pm Reply to this comment

The disgrace is that you have a professional, highly qualified and experienced businessman in Stones who is the MD of the ‘business arm’ of SA Rugby….

Yet….

He is totally answerable to the CEO and PC of the amateur arm of SARU – plus [quite rightly] to the Board of SA Rugby.

It’s an impossible position.

On the PC there is a member who is a farmer and owns a restaurant [nothing wrong with that and no doubt he's worked bloody hard for it] yet Stones, who was a high level executive at international conglomerate Goodyear [?] answers to the farmer?

It’s all arse about face.

4. Rasputin Rasputin says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 3:01 pm Reply to this comment

So, short of a little Al Queda action, one cannot get rid of these entrenched okes.

Except…..that now the government have voted themselves sweeping powers to directly interfere in any aspect of sport.

And the only thing I can think of worse than the PC running rugby is the Department of Sport and their esteemed Minister.

As it is, it’s entirely unacceptable – and would NOT be accepted in any industrial ‘Western’ country that the Minister of Sport’s brother is the 2nd highest ranking administrator of any sport in the self-same nation…

And….constantly runs to his boet when the chips are down.

And….is now on record as stating he wants to take over the running of said sport.

It should be noted that the said sport is the richest INDEPENDENT sport in the country.

It should also be noted that not only does the younger boet want to become the power ON the throne, he is making his attempt at a time when government has given itself unprecedented power, in the form of his BROTHER, to directly interfere in the administration of said sport.

Not only is this the most blatant form of nepotism, it’s downright skullduggery and should not be tolerated in a modern, forward facing democracy that claims the best constitution in the world.

5. cab cab says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 3:07 pm Reply to this comment

perhaps the strcutures are not the problem, sounds like they are democratic much like our constitution, yet both fall dawn often in practice. The reason “accountability”, which our institutions lack and are therefore open to abuse.

Its one thing to have ppl democratically elected, but a mature system also ensures that said elected ppl act within democratic principles. Accountability.

If one is serious about cleaning up the sport, get an INDPENDENT professional watchdog or tribunal paid solely to audit SA admin policies, governance and disputes (the saved court fees alone will pay for itself).

6. Robd danie says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 3:10 pm Reply to this comment

Geluk aan Lorette wat sa survivor gewen het en ook aan Yul kwan wat amerika sin wen

7. Rasputin Rasputin says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 3:11 pm Reply to this comment

Danie,

Want to know who won the Great Race?

8. cab cab says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 3:11 pm Reply to this comment

rasputin,
    the CAPS of independet is frightening and sheer coincidence, tho we are talking of different things … freaky.

9. Robd danie says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 3:12 pm Reply to this comment

Great race?>?

10. Robd danie says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 3:14 pm Reply to this comment

Yul KAN WINS

11. Morné PissAnt says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 3:45 pm Reply to this comment

Perhaps the question lies in the fact that no ordinary members of public can buy into the professional arm of any union?

I had this conversation with Kandas I think some time ago – lets say I win the lotto tomorrow, can I buy shares in the professional arm of SWD, or Border, or WP rugby?

The answer at the time was no.

We are asking for people to be held accountable, to me that will only happen when they answer to shareholders, not boeties who voted them on, and that will only happen on the professional side or arm of rugby in unions and even clubs.

I am not quite sure how SAIL managed to buy those shares, and how shares are made available from the professional arms in unions, and just exactly how important that is in the sense of ‘ownership’ you enjoy as a shareholder.

That to me is what needs to change.

The public should be able to at least buy shares in unions and/or clubs, not necesarilly SARU even, with those appointed (professional) people sitting on boards and executive decision making bodies within SARU, but also held accountable for the day-to-day decisions they make within, and for their respective union and indirectly or actually directly, the shareholders.

Again the problem for me with situations as Ras pointed out with conflicts of interest in his posts comes down to the wrong arm controlling rugby in both unions and a national level, the amateur side.

Make the professional arms of unions open for people to buy into, they will make sure their investment is protected by having qualified people in charge who will be accountable by law and business law to make the best possible business decisions.

12. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 4:10 pm Reply to this comment

PA you’d have to have rocks in your head to invest in anything SARU…

13. Timeo fyndraai says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 4:16 pm Reply to this comment

Once the unions are owned by investors, those investors will place the interest of the union above everything else. They may still work with the bok team because of it’s popularity but they are not going to send money and goodies to the amateur clubs.

I do not intend to insult anybody or to stir, but if the current system is to survive the club members really need to wake up and elect leaders that can run the proffesional game and stop voting for guys based on ethnic reasons or how many test tickets they can provide for the boys.

14. Morné PissAnt says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 4:37 pm Reply to this comment

Bryce,

I’d invest in SARU any day of the week including Wednesday’s if my investment is administered by people I can hold accountable.

15. Morné PissAnt says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 4:40 pm Reply to this comment

I have not bought any replica jerseys every in my life.

I refuse to buy test tickets at a price of R350.

I only go to matches I am invited to in a suite.

I also do not buy DVD’s at robots nor watches, sunglasses or jewelry from guys in parking lots or robots.

Pedantic I know, but just as I do not support buying stolen goods, I do not support feeding monkeys like administrators in SARU.

Accountability starts with the fans, and is forced onto its leaders.

16. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 4:46 pm Reply to this comment

Comment by PissAnt — November 15, 2007 @ 4:37 pm

Therein lies the problem… first thing I look at before buying into any company are those at the top…

17. Rasputin Rasputin says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 4:56 pm Reply to this comment

We all know they are monkeys at the top.

Problem is, we’re not paying them peanuts.

18. Morné PissAnt says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 5:16 pm Reply to this comment

Too true Ras.

19. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 6:14 pm Reply to this comment

Yep, a monkey know the difference between peanuts and money, unfortunately so do the admins, they just choose the differently.

What they have in common is that they only think of themselves when making their respective choices.

20. Se Maar Net Kandas says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 8:26 pm Reply to this comment

Therein lies the problem… first thing I look at before buying into any company are those at the top…

Comment by bryce_in_oz — November 15, 2007 @ 4:46 pm

Bryce, you will not know how much it baffles me at times that people, in general, will not realise, or deliberately care not to, the importance of that statement.

Over the last year I have been forced to acknowledge exactly that situation as referred to by you.

Let us, for a moment, force ourselves to NOT think about all the corporate inabilities and/or shortcomings of our friends at SARU and SA Rugby.

Instead, let us concentrate, for the moment, on the blatant obvious (as can be seen be the naked eye) in observing, and, subsequently evaluating, the clear shortcomings of those involved in our custodians of everything that is rugby in South Africa.

Have anyone of you realised that, according to recent TV interviews with the CEO of SARU, Johan Prinsloo does not even has a personal computer in his office/on his desk? Which means he has no access, at least 24/7, to the Internet. In this day and age. With his secretary doing his emails and alerting him to the latest bad mouthing from those terrible guys at RuggaWorld and the domain of the short one…

Then we ask them why they do not have an electronic database of SA Rugby players…???

Please note I’m not even talking about the others included in this dark alley that is SA Rugby – including the very intelligent (yes, I am being sarcastic) players, agents, lower-level administrators – the lot.

Hell, 95% of rugby clubs in South Africa don’t even have a computer…. the email addresses of individual administrators are being used… very secured environment isn’t it…?

Whilst most of us are already midway through computerised Enterprise Resource Planning these guys are stll asking clerks to draw up PowerPoint presentations and Excel Spreadsheets (in some cases still Lotus 1-2-3).

How dare you all doubt their 21st Century professionalism…?

21. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 8:59 pm Reply to this comment

Who is Saru, the big bad bloated white elephant, what is their malaise? What exactly was it they have done to successfully garnish all knowledgeable rugby fundi’s incessant disapproval ad infinitum?

22. Se Maar Net Kandas says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 9:07 pm Reply to this comment

skopskiet

Just a little private note between us – for what it is worth…

I’ve been suspecting for a while now who you might actually be…

I, sincerely, hope I am wrong.

Especially for your sake…

23. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 9:13 pm Reply to this comment

Suspect all you like Kandas I can almost categorically assure you that you are wrong, but I must add I’m pretty flattered by all this intrigue.

24. Se Maar Net Kandas says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 9:23 pm Reply to this comment

Of course you would be…

Flattered that is…

25. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 9:28 pm Reply to this comment

Well flattered may be too flattering a word for it but nevertheless I am quite intrigued by all this overly concerned intrigue as to the identity of little old me.

Strange that you should be so enthusiastically threatening about who you’re hoping I am not though.

26. Se Maar Net Kandas says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 9:33 pm Reply to this comment

enthusiastically threatening…

Nah, don’t see that in any of my comments.

Me hoping you are not… only for your sake… like I said.

27. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 9:45 pm Reply to this comment

How come you so humanely concerned about someone you don’t know from Adam, isn’t that just being a wee bit presumptuous on your part?

I mean just imagine if you ever got to know this someone you so personally concerned about, who may even be in some crazy position to offer you some strange kind of insight.

Nah, didn’t think you’d be that open to assuming an open mind, though it could be a refreshing change for some people not prone to preconceived assumptions.

28. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 9:52 pm Reply to this comment

careful kandas, skopskiet sees ‘through’ people.

29. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 9:57 pm Reply to this comment

Falcons 3 – 3 Brive

30. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:01 pm Reply to this comment

Brive:

15. Barry Davies, 14. Farid Sid, 13. Ronie Cooke, 12. Ben Johnston, 11. Alexis Palisson, 10. Benjamin Dambielle, 9. Grégory Mahe, 1. Luke Harbut, 2. Jean-Philippe Bonrepaux, 3. Pierre Capdevielle, 4. Fabien Domingo (capt), 5. Johan van Zyl, 6. Ryno Van der Merwe, 7. Simon Azoulai, 8. Alex Manta,
    16. Steve Thompson, 17. Scott Franklin, 18. Andres Bordoy, 19. Jawad Djoudi, 20. Jean-Baptiste Pejoine, 21. Maxime Petitjean, 22. Suka Hufanga,

31. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:02 pm Reply to this comment

Russell Winter playing for Newcastle.

32. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:03 pm Reply to this comment

Brive f-up behind their line. Try Newcastle.

33. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:04 pm Reply to this comment

10-3 Newcastle

34. Se Maar Net Kandas says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:04 pm Reply to this comment

If you have followed my posts over the years, I will understand that you will find me as “prone to preconceived assumptions” as very ironic…

But, then, maybe my concern is exactly the fact that you have not yet entertained us with that special “strange kind of insight”…

Except, of course, knowing the ins and outs of Jake White and SARU/SA Rugby.

35. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:05 pm Reply to this comment

Those that are blatantly conspicuously obvious, that hide behind illusory smokescreens, even you of all people should be able to see through such fictitious misrepresentations nbs, or you also firmly entrenched in the ‘blinded by the white’ association?

36. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:09 pm Reply to this comment

Jake White and Saru are both old hat news by now, I’m actually a little more inclined to hear whats happening between Ronnie Cooke and Toby Flood / Jamie Noon right now.

37. Se Maar Net Kandas says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:11 pm Reply to this comment

Nah, rather “blinded by the light…

Thank you for the compliment anyway.

38. Se Maar Net Kandas says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:13 pm Reply to this comment

So am I…

Which is why I am so concerned that Johan Prinsloo hasn’t got a computer on his desk…

39. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:20 pm Reply to this comment

Winter off injured. Guess where he went to school?

40. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:20 pm Reply to this comment

10-6 Newcastle

41. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:23 pm Reply to this comment

Now honestly by Johan Prinsloo not having a computer on his desk, what exactly does that infer, that he is archaically out of touch with reality, the evolved enlightened reality of this 21st century?

I have absolutely no clue quite what goes through Johan Prinsloo’s head because he simply has not afforded me the blatant wherewithal to judge him by, unlike some other obviously conspicuously exposed public individuals who just love to parade all their prone personal likes and dislikes all over the media.

42. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:25 pm Reply to this comment

13-6 New

43. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:25 pm Reply to this comment

skoppies I’m in the ‘dont make a judgment if you dont know someone’ camp.

44. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:26 pm Reply to this comment

In for a close game by the sounds of it, is Ronnie Cooke adapting to those vreemd cold conditions?

Thats one young potential whipper snapper Gerber like center that got away, escaped out the net.

45. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:28 pm Reply to this comment

Ronnie seems fine so far.

Jonny W in the stand. And Matt Burke, Toby Flood.

46. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:29 pm Reply to this comment

Very good camp to be in nbs, but then those glory seeking someones should rather try make a habit of the less said the better for the sake of their ignominy, no?

47. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:30 pm Reply to this comment

Brive trying to run from everywhere. High Risk.

48. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:31 pm Reply to this comment

No Wilko, no Burke, no Flood, who’s Cooke up against then?

49. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:32 pm Reply to this comment

Jean-Philippe Bonrepaux – yellow.

50. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:32 pm Reply to this comment

Tait & Noon in the centre for Newcastle.

51. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:33 pm Reply to this comment

Brive knock-on with only the tryline waiting.

52. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:33 pm Reply to this comment

Thanks mvs, no satellite here least can get a smattering of the atmosphere and proceedings from you commentary.

Typical French run like cocks with no heads on eh? Ronnie falling for the same ploy?

53. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:34 pm Reply to this comment

Halftyd

16-6 New

54. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:35 pm Reply to this comment

Tait and Noon talented midfield for Newcastle, who’s at 10?

55. Se Maar Net Kandas says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:36 pm Reply to this comment

You know as well as I do that I speak of Prinsloo in the “representative” sense.

You also know that games like this one, featuring South African players like Cooke, get no exposure whatsoever on SA media. Which leaves us with the Internet.

Lack of which might explain SARU’s stance on SA players playing overseas…

56. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:37 pm Reply to this comment

Steve Jones.

57. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:41 pm Reply to this comment

Netball world championships 2007

QF: New Zealand 82, South Africa 23

58. Se Maar Net Kandas says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:42 pm Reply to this comment

Goodnight all.

59. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:42 pm Reply to this comment

Watched the 1st qtr of Eng v SA. Not a netball expert, but SA looked very amateur.

60. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:43 pm Reply to this comment

Cheerio Kandas.

61. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:43 pm Reply to this comment

Winter was school at Jeppe.

62. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:48 pm Reply to this comment

16-9

63. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:53 pm Reply to this comment

I hope the Heineken C can harden Ronnie a bit. In last years super 14 he just looked so small.

64. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:55 pm Reply to this comment

16-12 New.

65. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:55 pm Reply to this comment

sjoe this place is dead. Hope it stays that way. Until uncle Jake’s book is released……

66. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 10:57 pm Reply to this comment

I’m not exactly sure where the rot really begins and ends, who’s door you really want to lay the blame at, yes Saru happens to be a very nicely exposed target for the taking, who is really responsible for the whole shenanigan, surely not one or two individuals, or could it be all 20 have conspired to run this country’s national heritage into the mud, on purpose?

It might just be a case of slow beginnings of unraveling a net of intrigue and superstition born and bred by power maniacal predecessors, these less endowed civil servants of the game have most likely inherited a vipers nest and don’t really have the clarity or wherewithal by which to dis empower or milk the venom from the overly laden fangs of encased inverted rotten ideologies.

It may well take a little coaxing and running the course of the evolution of the system rather than a wholesale overthrown revolution by over zealous patriots, the stand off between White and Stofile / Basson etc. was more than likely a gut reaction instinct of pure egotistical survival, than of carefully orchestrated manipulations.

White thumbed his nose at their incapacities and they in turn reacted with disdain, simply a natural ‘human’ type reaction, pots and kettles calling each other black.

He did himself no favors, anyone preaching holier than thou superior attributes is bound to find himself ousted or ostracized from favor of the status kuo, it would have benefited him and the system and the country’s rugby ambition at large if he would have played a little ball and got off his high riding stallion for a while now and again, instead he rode his chariot of supremacy at all costs in the face of compromise and sense of encompassing, he preferred to ‘do it my way’ and now he finds himself on the highway.

67. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:03 pm Reply to this comment

19-12 New.

68. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:04 pm Reply to this comment

Dowson – yellow. High Tackle.

69. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:06 pm Reply to this comment

Jeez one penalty following the next tit for tat, just like the WC final, when’s Brive going to score a try?

70. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:06 pm Reply to this comment

TMO decision pending.

71. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:09 pm Reply to this comment

pending for who?

72. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:

Try Brive.

73. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:

Ryno vd Merwe scores.

74. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:

19-19 65min

75. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:11 pm Reply to this comment

Yahooo vive le Afrique de Sud

76. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:16 pm Reply to this comment

On 22nd February 1997, Brive, as European champions, were pitted against Auckland Blues who had recently won the Super 12. The French team were no competition to an extra powerful Kiwi side which won easily 47-11.

77. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:17 pm Reply to this comment

And ten years on they are in the Challenge Cup.

78. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:17 pm Reply to this comment

In 1998 Brive again reached the final of the Heineken Cup, this time against Bath. They came agonizingly close to capturing back-to-back titles, losing by just one point, 19-18 at Parc Lescure in Bordeaux.

Since then, however, the club has been in dire straits, as it was relegated to the second division in 2000. They bounced back in 2003 and have struggled ever since in the lower echelons of the league table, except in 2004 when they managed to qualify for the playoffs.

79. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:19 pm Reply to this comment

Tim Visser on for Newcastle. A Dutchmen.

80. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:19 pm Reply to this comment

Dutchman

81. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:23 pm Reply to this comment

22-19 New.

82. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:33 pm Reply to this comment

Full Time: Newcastle 25-19 Brive

83. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:34 pm Reply to this comment

Over & out.

84. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:34 pm Reply to this comment

Kak die Engelse het weer gewen

85. koevoet skopskiet says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:35 pm Reply to this comment

thanks for the commentary

86. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 15th, 2007 at 11:56 pm Reply to this comment

skoppies you had a good post earlier. I do however think that Whites reaction to the ineptness of his bosses was also ‘natural’.

The question is how the next coach will approach this. You seem to think Meyer will not lose his cool. I fear for the other candidates once the results go bad. Imagine the northern oress eating into Pieter!

87. Bongani 006.5 Bongani BEE Bok says:
    November 16th, 2007 at 12:43 am Reply to this comment

anything but SARU … please cant the wales game arrive – perhaps then we can at least talk about what a brilliant No 7 Jean Smith is …..

88. Bongani 006.5 Bongani BEE Bok says:
    November 16th, 2007 at 1:20 am Reply to this comment

TOP CRICKET SLEDGES
    With Cricket season upon us and everyone trying to beat the Aussies there’s no doubt tempers will fray. This is what we miss when they switch the mikes off….

Rod Marsh & Ian Botham
    When Botham took guard in an Ashes match, Marsh welcomed him to the wicket with the immortal words “So how’s your wife and my kids?” The reply from Botham was “My wife’s fine, your kids are retarded”.

Daryl Cullinan & Shane Warne
    As Cullinan was on his way to the wicket, Warne told him he had been waiting two years for another chance to humiliate him. “Looks like you spent it eating,” Cullinan retorted.

Glenn McGrath (bowling to portly Zimbabwean chicken farmer Eddo Brandes)
    “Hey Eddo, why are you so fucking fat?” Eddo Brandes “Because every time I fuck your mother, she throws me a biscuit.”

Robin Smith & Merv Hughes
    During 1989 Lords Test, Hughes said to Smith after he played and missed “You can’t fucking bat.” Smith to Hughes after he smacked him to the boundary “Hey Merv, we make a fine pair. I can’t fucking bat and you can’t fucking bowl.

Merv Hughes & Javed Miandad
    During 1991 Adelaide Test, Javed called Merv a fat bus conductor. A few balls later Merv dismissed Javed. “Tickets please,” Merv called out as he ran past the departing batsman.

Merv Hughes & Viv Richards
    During a test match in the West Indies, Hughes didn’t say a word to Viv, but continued to stare at him after deliveries. “This is my island, my culture. Don’t you be staring at me. In my culture we just bowl.” Merv didn’t reply, but after he dismissed him he announced to the batsman “In my culture we just say fuck off.”

Ian Healy & Arjuna Ranatunga
    And of course you can’t forget Ian Healy’s legendary comment which was picked up by the Channel 9 microphones when Arjuna Ranatunga called for a runner on a particularly hot night during a one-dayer in Sydney “You don’t get a runner for being an overweight, unfit, fat cunt!”

James Ormond & Mark Waugh
    Ormand had just come out to bat on an Ashes tour and was greeted by Mark Waugh. Mark Waugh “Fuck me, look who it is. Mate, what are you doing out here? There’s no way you’re good enough to play for England.” James Ormond “Maybe not, but at least I’m the best player in my family.”

Glenn McGrath & Ramnaresh Sarwan
    McGrath to Sarwan “So what does Brian Lara’s dick taste like?” Sarwan “I don’t know. Ask your wife.” McGrath (losing it) “If you ever fucking mention my wife again, I’ll fucking rip your fucking throat out!”

Mark Waugh & Adam Parore
    Waugh standing at second slip, the new player (Parore) comes to the crease playing and missing the first ball. Mark “Oh, I remember you from a couple years ago in Australia. You were shit then, you’re fucking useless now.” Parore (turning around) “Yeah, that’s me. And when I was there you were going out with that old, ugly slut. And now I hear you’ve married her, you dumb cunt!”

Ian Healy & Arjuna Ranatunga
    Yet another Australian witticism with this time porky Sri Lankan batsman Arjuna Ranatunga the victim. Shane Warne, trying to tempt the batsman out of his crease mused what it took to get the plump character to get out of his crease and drive. Wicketkeeper Ian Healy piped up “Put a Mars Bar on a good length. That should do it.”

Malcolm Marshall & David Boon
    Malcolm Marshall was bowling to David Boon who had played and missed a couple of times. Marshall “Now, David, are you going to get out now or am I going to have to bowl around the wicket and kill you?”

Fred Trueman & Raman Subba Row
    Fred Trueman bowling. The batsman edges and the ball goes to first slip and right between Raman Subba Row’s legs. Fred doesn’t say a word. At the end of the over, Row ambles past Trueman and apologises sheepishly “I should’ve kept my legs together, Fred.” “So should your mother,” he replied.

89. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 16th, 2007 at 1:33 am Reply to this comment

Comment by Kandas — November 15, 2007 @ 8:26 pm

Scary insight… I could only imagine the ‘leaks’ and insider trading by admin if SARU was ‘floated’…

As the ineptness is obvious to the naked eye and a big ‘no-no’ as an investment…

Quite simplistically… there next point is the ‘p’ word… ‘profitability’… and there is none…

Incompetent leaders, no direction, zero profits, inconclusive future forecasts… Pissant I’ll re-iterate that ‘one would have to have rocks in their heads’ to feed this entity any of one’s hard-earned…

Risk/Reward says it all…

90. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 16th, 2007 at 1:34 am Reply to this comment

Comment by Bongani BEE Bok — November 16, 2007 @ 12:43 am

Yes the best flanker in the world at the moment!