Springbok coach Jake White has told SA Rugby’s board members to immediately adopt guidelines to keep everyone happy about transformation.
Hendrik Cronje writes that White feels that, for the Springboks to retain their World Cup crown in 2011, they will need a flyhalf, and the necessary transformation changes must be made so that planning can start.
White reported to SA Rugby’s board members last Thursday and made some recommendations.
“All that the Springboks need is a flyhalf,” he said here on Tuesday as the South Africans prepared to play Wales in a Test match on Saturday. “And the necessary changes must be put in place now to ensure everyone is happy (regarding transformation).”
White does not foresee any problems that could result in the Springboks losing form and their No 1 position on the world rankings list when his contract expires on December 31.
Named early in December
“If the correct decisions are made now, the Springboks could have a strong team,” he said, looking ahead at 2011.
He was referring to players who should still be available in four years’ time, such as Gurthrö Steenkamp, Wian du Preez, Heinke van der Merwe, Bismarck du Plessis, Tiaan Liebenberg, CJ van der Linde, Jannie du Plessis, Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Juan Smith, Hilton Lobberts, Pierre Spies, Fourie du Preez, Ruan Pienaar, Bryan Habana, Frans Steyn, Jaque Fourie and JP Pietersen.
With this kind of talent, he believes, Springbok rugby should remain strong when he leaves.
The new coach is likely to be named early in December and will come from a shortlist of Allister Coetzee, Peter de Villiers, Chester Williams and Heyneke Meyer.
White said all countries were looking for top-class flyhalves.
Butch James, 28, was South Africa’s No 1 flyhalf at the World Cup tournament this year but is likely to retire before 2011. André Pretorius, 28, will also be near retirement age by then.
Versatile Frans Steyn, 20, may provide the answer for South Africa but he has done well at inside centre. He can be effective at flyhalf but should be given time to settle in one position.
Equally versatile Ruan Pienaar, 23, is another potential Test flyhalf, but he has also been moved around too often.
Peter Grant, 23, has the ability to develop into a fine flyhalf and other young players are likely to start challenging next season.

November 21st, 2007 at 8:04 am
Well he is right, said the same thing yesterday, we just need to develop a decent 10.
November 21st, 2007 at 8:13 am
I hope Peter Grant has another good season like 2007.
If he does he should be the starting 10 for the Boks.
AP is not consistent enough.
November 21st, 2007 at 8:18 am
I can’t wait to see how Kanko goes. Hopefully he has a blinder!!!
November 21st, 2007 at 8:21 am
Problem is the Stormers has Tony Brown next season.
November 21st, 2007 at 8:26 am
PA
That is an issue for me as well, Grant will end up playing 12 most of the S14 IMO.
November 21st, 2007 at 9:00 am
Not with Jean there KSA – and he is tipped to be the Stormers captain (Jean)
November 21st, 2007 at 9:01 am
Maybe Rassie uses Tony from the bench.
And then there’s Dollie as well.
I wont mention that other flyhalf. His has the name of a legend but rarely plays like one!!!
November 21st, 2007 at 9:03 am
Added to that we have 4 good scrumhalves.
Januarie
Conradie
Delport
Hoffman
I’d go with Januaire/Conradie and maybe Hoffman as cover.
Delport should have left at the end of the CC.
November 21st, 2007 at 9:13 am
wpw los die tik man.
Bolla has been kak for 2 seasons now where he only produces one or two decent games a season.
If Rassie can get january’s conditioning sorted he could be 1 with Delport and Hoffman in the wings.
November 21st, 2007 at 9:15 am
Still cant get over Human…
November 21st, 2007 at 9:17 am
I wont mention that other flyhalf. His has the name of a legend but rarely plays like one!!!
Comment by wpw — November 21, 2007 @ 9:01 am |Edit This
You guys have a flyhalf named Robbie???????????????
November 21st, 2007 at 9:19 am
Dollie, Brown, Grant and this Robbie guy all as 10′s???????
That is not so bright IMO.
November 21st, 2007 at 9:29 am
Grant HAS to be the 2011 RWC flyhalf!!!!!!!!
The Boks have never won a RWC without a Maritzburg college Flyhalf.
November 21st, 2007 at 9:32 am
wpw los die tik man.
Wont happen – he is using it to control his weight.
KSA, personally I think that the Robbie dude is the best flyhalf – like his namesake, he has an awesome sidestep and great vision.
November 21st, 2007 at 9:35 am
And an awesome hairstyle
November 21st, 2007 at 9:45 am
And an awesome hairstyle
Comment by Provincejoulekkading — November 21, 2007 @ 9:35 am |Edit This
Has he figured out that the reason for the birds trying to sit on his head all the time is because they think it is a ready made nest yet?
November 21st, 2007 at 10:11 am
wp is kak. how can Naas keep a contract? They always boast about the amount of talent walking about there yet very mediocre players stay for long periods.
Grant needs to play in tandem with Brown EVERY game in the Super 14. Yes I’d like to see Ruan at 10 but then SA backline play needs a total overhaul. Grant is more an old style SA fly and I am still baffled how calm he looked in his first game against NZ in kiwiland of all places. This in contrast with DH, Petoors,Bosman and a host of others.
Steyn at 12 with Habana at 13. Add Du Preez and Mcleod at 9 and we have a good time ahead.
November 21st, 2007 at 10:30 am
• wpw los die tik man.
Wont happen – he is using it to control his weight.
KSA, personally I think that the Robbie dude is the best flyhalf – like his namesake, he has an awesome sidestep and great vision.
Comment by Bok Fish — November 21, 2007 @ 9:32 am
Only problem is what if he skiems like he is a uitgehongerde maargat while he’s ge”tik”, so he goes on an eating binge, and get’s even dikker!
November 21st, 2007 at 11:29 am
blah blah blah Bok Fish
I can lose my weight but you’ll remain an urgly mother for the rest of your days…
November 21st, 2007 at 11:31 am
Hier kom ‘n ding
November 21st, 2007 at 11:36 am
Grant will return to his Natal roots soon enough. Then all will be well
November 21st, 2007 at 11:39 am
Yip!
Let him gain some experience under Brown this year and then come and play in the 2009 S14 final for us.
November 21st, 2007 at 11:43 am
Well, according to Claytie, he has no binding contract to keep him in the Cape this year even…
November 21st, 2007 at 11:57 am
Grant doesnt want to play for a team of chokers!!!
How many finals lost now Rob???
November 21st, 2007 at 11:59 am
How many finals Played now wpw????????
November 21st, 2007 at 12:06 pm
According the Claytie ugly people can have sex too with Supermodels.
November 21st, 2007 at 12:11 pm
What’s the use you make finals but you cant win them?
At least we WIN when we get to finals!!!
CC 2000 and 2001 – didn’t we beat the Sharks in both???
November 21st, 2007 at 12:12 pm
The wonderful thing about supporting the Sharks is that you really don’t have to take taunts from WP supporters seriously.
November 21st, 2007 at 12:14 pm
For the right amount of money!
On that note http://www.newsoftheworld.co.uk/1811_anderton.shtml
November 21st, 2007 at 12:17 pm
warning! BOOBS!
November 21st, 2007 at 12:18 pm
At least we WIN when we get to finals!!!
Dude you forgot to bold and capatilize the WHEN in your comment.
CC???????? That is what second rate Non Super 14 performers strive to win.
November 21st, 2007 at 12:20 pm
Careful, KSA… you’re lOOking for trouble with that one
November 21st, 2007 at 12:23 pm
Haha Rob,
Yeah KSA, the one that took you sorry lot 100 years to win and probably another 100 to do so again!!!
November 21st, 2007 at 12:24 pm
Claytie en Wes ry te vinnig opppie N1 en ‘n spietkop trek hulle af (Wes het natuurlik bestuur).Toe hy sy venster oopdraai, haak die spietkop af en gee hom ‘n moerse klap.
Wes (Verboureerd): Waarvoor was dit?
Spietkop: As ek jou stop en jy maak jou venster oop, moet joubestuurslisensie reeds in jou hand wees! Moenie my tyd mors nie!Die spietkop loop om die motor en klop by die passasier se venster. Die Claytie draai sy venster af en WHAP, klap die Spietkop hom ook.
Claytie (Verskrik): Hei, ek bestuur nie, waarvoor is dit?
Spietkop: Ek het gou jou wens vervul…
Claytie: Watter wens is dit nogal?
Spietkop: Sodra julle hier weg ry en voor jy en jou tjommie oor die eerstebult was, sou jy vir hom gesê het “Hy moes daai kak met MY getraai het…”
November 21st, 2007 at 12:26 pm
Btw, did the Sharks ever win the B Division???
What was it called?
PA
It must piss them off that with so much talent they only won the CC 4 times.
Not to mention when they removed Free State’s sole CC victory from the trophy!!!
November 21st, 2007 at 12:27 pm
November 21st, 2007 at 12:28 pm
this is going to get ugly
November 21st, 2007 at 12:30 pm
warning! BOOBS!
Comment by robdylan© — November 21, 2007 @ 12:17 pm
The only ones who require that warning are the WP fans.
Now had you mentioned bums instead, that sites server would have crashed…
Hey PJLD and PA – you boys been doing some heavy drinking since yesterday?
November 21st, 2007 at 12:31 pm
Yeah well wpw, no excuses, we have a shitty administration and to top it all we had Fester…
One can only remind them what it was like under Putt…
November 21st, 2007 at 12:32 pm
“Not to mention when they removed Free State’s sole CC victory from the trophy!!!”
You see white people! This is what Bantu education does to young minds – it makes them unable to count higher than 1.
Trick question wpw, who won the CC this year?
November 21st, 2007 at 12:33 pm
I have been drinking heavily since age 14 Fish – the year the Sharks won the CC for the first time in 100 years!
November 21st, 2007 at 12:38 pm
PA, I really cant understand why people expect us Sharks to feel bad that we only won our first CC in 1990, and that we played in the B division so many years.
It just makes us more proud to compete as we do now, whereas you WP ladies seem to think that a proud history conveys some divine right.
For sure you guys won the most CC’s, well done. But my team is better now, and thats all that matters to me.
By the way, I know you have been hitting the bottle even harder since yesterday…
November 21st, 2007 at 12:43 pm
Sure Fish, they are great now, but what is great is that you can only count your great moments in history on one hand, I need about 20 hands!!!
And of course history does repeat itself.
Which means WP will win even more, and you stand a great chance of B-Division glory again!!!
November 21st, 2007 at 12:44 pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kuu75JOEL5k&eurl=http://www.rugbydump.blogspot.com/
Is this legal in the game?
interesting hopping though!
November 21st, 2007 at 12:46 pm
Of course history conveys a divine right Fish.
You’ve got about another 20 years of CC titles to win before you can even begin to gain parity.
If history means ntohign then you could claim Portugal is as mighty a rugby nation as South Africa.
November 21st, 2007 at 12:47 pm
Its ok PA, I will be there supporting my team even in the B Division.
But you will still be an ass even if WP wins the next 5 CC’s.
P.S: Sharks fans have evolved beyond the need to use our fingers to count.
November 21st, 2007 at 12:50 pm
welsh – that’s brilliant! No reason why it shouldn’t be legal
November 21st, 2007 at 12:52 pm
Sure you did evolve!
You cannot figure out what to do with 7 fingers left after each count!
November 21st, 2007 at 12:53 pm
Yip thats okay per my knowledge welshie.
But if you want a mindfuck check out this clip form Australia…
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RgMlDy2jP9s
November 21st, 2007 at 12:56 pm
The only bit that would be illegal there is the fact that he pulled his head out of the scrum when he had the ball at his feet.
Footwork was legal IMO
November 21st, 2007 at 1:01 pm
Oh sorry yes thats correct in my assessment too KSA.
He wasnt bound to the scrum…
November 21st, 2007 at 1:02 pm
Vinnie – that clip has made me reevaluate everything I thought I knew about rugby.
My conclusion is that it’s impossible to tell whether a pass was forward or not… or rather that any pass thrown when the player is not standing completely still should be illegal
November 21st, 2007 at 1:06 pm
I’m still struggling to come to grips with it myself Rob.
And I’ve watched it about 10 times over the last two months.
November 21st, 2007 at 1:07 pm
Maybe Stuart Barnes watched that clip before the AB game?
November 21st, 2007 at 1:09 pm
Vinnie
forward passing will always be a bone of contempt, subject to interpretation, specially with flat lines of running. It’s kind of similar McCaw and the offside line, playing the ref.
My personal judgement is looking where the receiver of the ball is on receipt of the ball in conjunction with the passer.
While he is still in line, it’s a flat legal pass, but the moment he is ahead of the passer on receipt, it’s forward.
Others have mentioned watching the hands of the passer, but that gets kind of difficult in the speed of things.
It must be a nightmare being a ref and keeping everybody satisfied, and missing nothing.
November 21st, 2007 at 1:10 pm
My personal judgement is looking where the receiver of the ball is on receipt of the ball in conjunction with the passer.
While he is still in line, it’s a flat legal pass, but the moment he is ahead of the passer on receipt, it’s forward.
Comment by welshbok — November 21, 2007 @ 1:09 pm
Not per the clip its not…
November 21st, 2007 at 1:11 pm
Invalid comparison Vinnie – would b more valid if Portugal at least won something or challenged for a Finalist spot, like the Sharks have.
Anyway, I am off for a few days.
Take care ladies.
November 21st, 2007 at 1:13 pm
The problem of course is in passing out of or split moments before the collision or a tackle.
When being stopped dead, because the receiver will always be ahead ito momentum.
November 21st, 2007 at 1:13 pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t3DlNKw1PmU
November 21st, 2007 at 1:21 pm
KSA,
I reckon the hands scenario is really the only one.
Momentum will always, or most cases, carry the ball ‘forward’ from the passer.
But in relation to his body, and if his hands release the ball forward and not backwards is a sure way to tell.
November 21st, 2007 at 1:27 pm
Its simple physics really.
If you travel in a car at 60km and hour, and you throw a ball or bottle or piece of whatever out the window, even backwards, the object is going to travel forward in relation to the ground.
The only way it wont is if you throw it backwards with the same force or speed that you are travelling forward.
November 21st, 2007 at 1:29 pm
Comment by PissAnt — November 21, 2007 @ 1:27 pm |Edit This
You would require the strength of Wahl Bartmann to accomplish that.
November 21st, 2007 at 1:30 pm
Vinnie
that moment at 2:12….eish!
grey one, could be legal or illegal. The cookie crumbled against NZ this time.
It is a bit of “blinde sambok” sambok though, as plenty and plenty of decisions have gone their way in these grey areas.
McCaw himself has gotten away with murder, and played the ref brilliantly in 50/50 decisions.
November 21st, 2007 at 1:35 pm
Comment by robdylan© — November 21, 2007 @ 1:29 pm
November 21st, 2007 at 1:42 pm
I miss Wahl. The game hasn’t been the same since he retired
November 21st, 2007 at 1:45 pm
In 1949 The definition was: A throw-forward occurs when the ball is propelled by the hand or arm of a player in the direction of his opponents’ dead ball line.
The law included:
If the ball is passed back, but, after alighting on the ground behind the place from which it was passed, it bounce forward, the pass is in order. [my emphasis]
This makes it quite clear that in those days they held the view that the ball itself must not travel forwards.
The current wording is:
A throw-forward occurs when a player throws or passes the ball forward.
‘Forward’ means towards the opposing team’s dead ball line.
The English language allows this to be interpreted in (at least) two ways:
Classic: ‘forward’ refers to the direction the ball travels in over the ground. Equivalent to “passes the ball in such a manner that the ball travels forward.”
Momentum: ‘forward’ refers to the act of passing and is measured in relation to the passer, even though the definition of ‘forward’ is in relation to the ground.