Jake White’s biography, In Black and White: The Jake White Story, is becoming a publishing sensation in South Africa.
Writes Lerato Malekutu for The Times
The book, written by The Times rugby correspondent Craig Ray in collaboration with the Springboks’ World Cup-winning coach, is one of the biggest sellers.
More than 120000 copies have been sold in the three weeks since its launch and with a back order of more than 40000 copies.
The book is now classified as a bestseller after passing the regulatory 20000 sales.
“The minimum [number] of sales required for a book to become a bestseller is 20000,� said the South African Booksellers’ Association national manager, Frikkie Nel.
It has out-sold John van de Ruit’s Spud and JK Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows in South Africa.
It tops the list of sporting bestsellers, exceeding ex-Bok Captain Francois Pienaar’s Rainbow Warriors and Corné Krige’s The Right Place at the Wrong Time: The Biography of Corné Krige.
Book signings have been few but thousands of fans have flooded the stores and braved the queues for the chance of a signed copy from the coach. The most recent book signing was held at the Exclusive Books in Canal Walk, Cape Town.
“There were hundreds of people who queued for more than an hour. It’s been amazing,� said the store manager, Bronywen Oosterwyk.

December 13th, 2007 at 5:01 am
The book is now classified as a bestseller after passing the regulatory 20000 sales.
————-
Yikes!
20 000? Is that all? Man, the Rugga World novel could sell 20 000.
December 13th, 2007 at 5:49 am
WOW!!!
Amazing.
I must get a copy.
December 13th, 2007 at 5:59 am
Ditto Pietman… I haven’t seen any copies over here yet though… presume they can be bought from outside of RSA somewhere… been meaning to look into it…
December 13th, 2007 at 6:21 am
available on Kalarhari.net – but shhhh don’t tell KSA, Santa promised to bring him a copy
http://www.kalahari.net/bk/product.asp?sku=32370594
December 13th, 2007 at 6:30 am
I do believe KSA is still waiting for the Easter bunny and tooth fairy…
December 13th, 2007 at 6:39 am
he has faith in my connections
December 13th, 2007 at 7:19 am
Hey Hey what’s going on here????
December 13th, 2007 at 7:31 am
White’s autobiography, In Black and White, is flying off the shelves, with sales hitting a staggering 150000 this weekend — a South African record.
Clinton Van Der Berg for The Times
http://www.ruggaworld.com/2007/12/09/as-if-he-hasn%e2%80%99t-got-enough-on-his-plate-already/
This is where I saw the 150k for the first time. I find it a staggering (yet believable)figure considering the later comment by Vd Berg that 5000 sales is considered a best seller in RSA.
Comment by KSA Shark © — December 11, 2007 @ 3:02 pm |Edit This
Can anyone in the publishing business please tell us what actually constitutes a best seller in RSA?
December 13th, 2007 at 7:36 am
Have Lerato Malekutu and Clinton vd berg compared notes?
It seems not.
150,000 sales according to Clinton last weekend already and only 120 000 for Lerato with 40k to come.
December 13th, 2007 at 7:40 am
According to little farmer 5000 is the correct figure.
December 13th, 2007 at 7:43 am
Howzit Ricki, i mean Claytie!
December 13th, 2007 at 7:50 am
Salaam
December 13th, 2007 at 7:54 am
Do you guys close down Claytie? Or must you put leave in?
December 13th, 2007 at 7:58 am
Do you guys close down Claytie? Or must you put leave in?
Comment by wpw — December 13, 2007 @ 7:54 am |Edit This
Jeez i hope you are talking about his work and not his missus.
We ALL know he has to complete a leave form for a night out with the boys.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:06 am
The call centre closed yesterday so im basically watching movies until my leave starts which is next Friday.
KSA since festive season started almost every night has been a boys night out,i need this shyte to stop now,i was hanging on by a thread yesterday and just about made it home.
I still have to deal with the arrival of the Namibian,give me strength.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:08 am
Speaking about the Namibian,he made the news,methihnks they got some facts wrong but its definitely him.
Berlin – A man nearly died from alcohol poisoning after quaffing a litre of vodka at an airport security check instead of handing it over to comply with new carryon rules, police said on Wednesday.
The incident occurred at the Nuremberg airport on Tuesday, where the 64-year-old man was switching planes on his way home to Dresden from a holiday in Egypt.
New airport rules prohibit passengers from carrying larger quantities of liquid onto planes, and he was told at a security check he would have to either throw out the bottle of vodka or pay a fee to have his carryon bag checked as cargo.
Instead, he chugged the bottle down – and was quickly unable to stand or otherwise function, police said.
A doctor called to the scene determined he had possibly life-threatening alcohol poisoning, and he was sent to a Nuremberg clinic for treatment.
The man, whose name was not released, is expected to be able to complete his journey home in a few days.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:21 am
‘a 64-year-old man’
hehehehe
PissAnt gaan jou moer!!!
December 13th, 2007 at 8:33 am
:em67:
December 13th, 2007 at 8:35 am
:em83:
December 13th, 2007 at 8:39 am
Comment by wpw — December 13, 2007 @ 8:35 am
YOH!!!
December 13th, 2007 at 8:41 am
I had a similar experience at Chrles de Gaulle recently where a retired couple (60+) sat at a bench and downed a bottle of whiskey. Airport staff were kind enough to bring them each plastic cups and a pitcher of water.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:41 am
December 13th, 2007 at 8:44 am
Amazingly (or not actually) in the US if they consider you a little to drunk to fly they won’t let you on the plane.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:45 am
Hey Golden Boy welcome to RW.
Enjoy your stay with us.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:48 am
Welcome Golden Boy.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:51 am
Just read page 52-54 of keo’s book.
Damn but Balfour is an idiot!!!
December 13th, 2007 at 8:51 am
Morning Gentlemen
December 13th, 2007 at 8:52 am
lol “i thïnk Deon Kayser is better
December 13th, 2007 at 8:53 am
Morning Madam
December 13th, 2007 at 8:53 am
It is amazing how laid back security staff are in mainland European airports. In Amsterdam a Chinese national was allowed through customs with what was clearly someone else’s passport. The guy looked to be 18 whereas the guy on the passport looked about 25. When he asked if he was being arrested, the customs official told him not to worry, he can apply for a new passport when he gets back home!!!!????
I nearly fell on my back…My own passport was given a cursory glance, stamped, and I was in.
Now compare that to the States…I had a 2 week beard and was held up at Kennedy for half the day because of my strange accent (Cape Flats..HeHe) and my scruffy appearance.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:54 am
Thanks wpw…and thanks for the heads up re this site.
December 13th, 2007 at 8:55 am
PJLD –
even my students don’t call me ‘Mam – sounds too frikking old – and I refuse to be old dammit
December 13th, 2007 at 8:56 am
oops – yup, welcome Golden Boy
December 13th, 2007 at 8:57 am
More Tannie
December 13th, 2007 at 8:58 am
December 13th, 2007 at 8:59 am
Tannie????
Sheez dude, IT guy, part time DJ and NOW Daredevil as well???? Or should that be Dead man walking?????
December 13th, 2007 at 8:59 am
I guess this is goodbye then PJLD
December 13th, 2007 at 9:02 am
A few weeks back at a braai in Doha I mentioned Tannie to this one old Duck.
She stormed off and tuned her Hubby, he spent the rest of the evening glaring at me from across the room.
The fact that he and I had a onesided intellectual discussion earlier in the evening about him being a Bull and me a Shark, didn’t help my case either.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:02 am
So I’ve mad you blush already KSA
December 13th, 2007 at 9:04 am
#
Thanks wpw…and thanks for the heads up re this site.
Comment by Golden Boy — December 13, 2007 @ 8:54 am
So can one of the BM’s please give me my Noddy Badge now?
December 13th, 2007 at 9:05 am
Comment by KSA Shark © — December 13, 2007 @ 9:02 am
KSA
An intellectual discussion with a Bulls supporter?
Nooit!!!
December 13th, 2007 at 9:06 am
WPW
your Biltong basket is in the post, let’s hop-e it get’s past KSA customs
Will send it this afternoon.
Let me know when you get it.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:07 am
WPW
did you notice “onesided” in my comment.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:07 am
i kid i kid
December 13th, 2007 at 9:09 am
GB
made who blush me or Kette?
She is lying in bed watching TV at the mo. I think PJLD ruined any chances i had of getting a nap.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:10 am
you kid?
After she “skops” you in the nuts you won’t be able to have kids.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:11 am
Now she’s laughing.
i am not sure if it is an evil laugh or a happy laugh.
I am either gonna get lucky or be abused.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:11 am
I think PJLD ruined any chances i had of getting a nap.
Comment by KSA Shark © — December 13, 2007 @ 9:09 am
Is that what you call it?
December 13th, 2007 at 9:12 am
I Clayton Saville hereby extend my sincerest apologies to Kette for insulting her ……
December 13th, 2007 at 9:12 am
“nap” IS code for something
December 13th, 2007 at 9:13 am
KSA
What kinda ‘abuse’ are we talking here?
December 13th, 2007 at 9:13 am
There are Bulls supporters here??!!
December 13th, 2007 at 9:14 am
I see Claytie has been trained well.
is she bigger than you Claytie?
December 13th, 2007 at 9:14 am
PJLD,
You obviously have loads to learn about women – age is NOT a joking matter…..unless you happen to age her younger
I shall use KSA in your place with regard to the “disciplining” you deserve
December 13th, 2007 at 9:15 am
wpw
December 13th, 2007 at 9:16 am
disciplining???????????
Ag nee F@k Claytie.
She is a school teacher, I am gonna have to do it over and over until I get it right.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:18 am
Comment by KSA Shark © — December 13, 2007 @ 9:16 am
I fail to see the problem here.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:18 am
is she bigger than you Claytie?
Comment by KSA Shark © — December 13, 2007 @ 9:14 am
bwahahahahahahahaha
She IS nogal bigger than Claytie.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:20 am
December 13th, 2007 at 9:22 am
Golden Boy
Not many Bulls supporters here.
They are intimidated by us Sharks supporters and rightfully so.
After all, we did WIN the WC for SA.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:23 am
US Shark supporters??????????
December 13th, 2007 at 9:28 am
WPW is what is commonly described as a fair weather supporter.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:33 am
It really a question of whether wpw prefers to carry the standard WP stigma on his shoulders or the Sharks’ chokers stigma.
i see he has chosen wisely.
December 13th, 2007 at 9:49 am
And Golden Boy (Welcome) hasn’t even stumbled across Rob
December 13th, 2007 at 10:10 am
Unfortunately (or fortunately) I have also switched my allegiance recently towards the Sharks…The current WEEPEE squad just does not do it for me any more.
Oh, I remember fondly screaming WEE PEE on Natal WEE PEE on Natal as a kid…aaahhhh, the good ‘ol days.
Alas, they be gone for good…sigh
December 13th, 2007 at 10:10 am
HB…Who/What is Rob?
December 13th, 2007 at 10:16 am
Comment by Golden Boy — December 13, 2007 @ 10:10 am
Ignorance is bliss
December 13th, 2007 at 10:18 am
LOL Ok I’ll take your word on it…:-)
December 13th, 2007 at 11:43 am
Golden Boy – he’s the guy that gets SMS bundles in the 20 000 category.
December 13th, 2007 at 11:58 am
F*KKEN BULLE IS BAAS! KYK MY SNOR!!!!
EK HAAT JULLE F*KKEN INGELSE SPIOENE!!! VRYHEIDSOORLOG, etc
Rob who?
December 13th, 2007 at 12:03 pm
Anyone got Golden Boy’s cell number?
December 13th, 2007 at 12:08 pm
Please make sure RD does not get your cell number GB.
Expect MANY messages when your team loses.