Stormers’ coach Rassie Erasmus has a reputation of being one of the more intelligent coaches in the South African game. Yet there is very little evidence of his creative thinking in the play of the Stormers at the moment.
Yes, the Stormers have been excellent on defence, but you don’t score points by tackling all day, writes Ashfak Mohamed for the Cape Times.
What has happened to Erasmus’s supposed quirkiness? What has happened to the mind of the so-called “creative genius”?
Erasmus brought a lot of ingenuity to the Free State Cheetahs set-up, and although he did not achieve much success in the Super 14, he did win two Currie Cups.
But very little of Erasmus’s touch is evident at the Stormers and he has failed dismally so far in instilling an element of surprise into his team.
Yes, he has added some structure to the team, particularly among the forwards. The pack has improved significantly, while the conditioning of the players is also much better than in the last few years.
But under Erasmus’s guidance, the Stormers have not shown the ability to think out of the box.
The Blues and Crusaders have given SA teams a couple of 50-point beatings in the last few weeks. But they are not using intricate or elaborate moves to breach the defence.
Instead, the Crusaders showed the Stormers how to build a win on good passing and basic skill levels.
The six-times champions handled the ball with aplomb, with backs and forwards alike easily creating space for a teammate on the outside. Crusaders fullback Leon MacDonald was also a big threat when he joined the line.
In contrast, the Stormers once brought Tonderai Chavhanga off his wing to take a ball from the blindside, while Sireli Naqelevuki was given possession with hardly any space to move close to the touchline.
Centres Jean de Villiers and Gcobani Bobo were guilty of holding on to the ball for too long, while Peter Grant seems incapable of executing a skip pass or varying his play with a chip kick or bringing Conrad Jantjes into the line from fullback.
Where are the loop-around or scissors moves from Grant? What has happened to De Villiers’s silky running or pinpoint distribution? Why can’t the Stormers get the ball out to the wings with crisp, accurate passes?
These are not intricate plays, but rather basic skills that can be seen at any school or club match. The Stormers appear to be unable to attack and are fearful of making mistakes.
They have instead resorted to the “kick and tackle” game. They hoof the ball downfield and hope that their opponents will make a mistake. There seems to be no clear plan in place on attack.
On top of all this, De Villiers has been visibly affected by the difficulties faced by his team, and he seems to be taking enormous strain under the weight of the captaincy.
Looking at the global picture in the Super 14, it is pretty clear that the South African Super 14 teams have not adapted to the demands of the new ELVs. They look for contact where Australasian teams are offloading and running into spaces instead of opponents. The overseas teams are shifting the ball wide instead of “keeping it tight” and taking the ball back into the forwards. The end result is that they are scoring tries, and SA teams are not.
South African coaches and players simply have to move past the mind-numbing “crash-ball”Yet there is very little evidence of his creative thinking in the play of the Stormers at the moment. rugby and start coming up with ideas on how to score tries.
Springbok coach Peter de Villiers has always tried to instil an expansive, creative style of rugby in all the teams he has coached. But with the current poor state of attacking play in South African rugby, he faces a huge task in trying to turn “robots” into thinking rugby players.

March 5th, 2008 at 10:40 am
Rassie Erasmus en Kreatiwiteit in een sin?
ASB nie!
Dis soos militere intiligensie…dit werk net eenvoudig nie.
Rassie was/is omtrent so kreatief, soos wat n afrigter kan wees, wat op n dak sit en aan sy spelers voorskryf hoe om te speel.
Rassie was/is omtrent so kreatief, soos n afrigter wat die opmerking maak dat hy nie kan glo die mense is omgekrap oor die tipe Rugby wat hy (verlede jaar) in die S14 gespeel het nie…Vrystaat was volgens hom nog altyd eintlik bekend vir hulle voorspelers.
Rassie is so uit sy diepte uit – hy weet nie waarheen nie.
Hy gaan nie Keersfees as n Stormer/WP afrigter sien nie!
March 5th, 2008 at 10:44 am
I still have faith in Rassie. I listened to a podcast this morning from a kiwi program and they spoke about the STormers and saying that they are along the Sharks as the strongest team. Any team to stay within 22 points of the saders and limiting them to only 2 tries is a team to be reconned with. IMO a bit over the top but at least they were not laughing like when they talked bout the Lions, Bulls and Cheetahs…
March 5th, 2008 at 10:46 am
My question is, if not Rassie, who else?
What coaches do we have in South Africa to coach at this level or what overseas coaches are willing to eat the shit from SARU and government and come and coach here?
March 5th, 2008 at 10:48 am
Comment by Morneno — March 5, 2008 @ 10:46 am
I’ll do it for much less than Rassie! Drop Luke and move JdV to 11 and probably get fired the next day
March 5th, 2008 at 10:56 am
I’d say Rassie is neglecting or at the very least missing something inn thebackline. Alistair not eggsaggely setting the world alight either. I’m good with Rassie doing what he does with the pack, but the back row needs to link up better with the backline and the backline need to use their speed and abilities more. For sure. They looked very flat and stationary until now, again, schoolboy stuff – get the ball at speed!
March 5th, 2008 at 11:08 am
Namboer..NO COACH IN THE WORLD will be able to do a lot with the nonsense Rassie has bought and kept.
At 9 – we have two fatboys who takes forever to get the ball away and at 10 we have a player who can not pass to the right and with the boot of a 5year old.
At 13 we have Bobo….dare I say more.
And lets not forget – WYLE human – now playing Fullback for the Vodacom Team…
When it comes to talent spotting…and “buying” players Rassie is about as good as his Creativity…
One other question – if he was as good – as we are made to believe he is and if all the players rate him to high – why did not one Cheetah join him in Cape Town?
March 5th, 2008 at 11:31 am
Ai jai jai, Ploos…dis reeds ‘n delikate babbel en jy hamer so aan hom!!
Ek kan jou nie verkeerd bewys op meeste van die aantuigings nie, maar laat die resultate eerder spreek:
Ons pak is beter en basta.
Rassie is op sigself beter as die Pankop wonder.
…okei, nou raak die reslutate min.
Can’t understand either what the deal is with Human, or Bobo. Had an inkling of hope for the latter, but he’s proving to not be much of a team player.
As PA said though, who else???
March 5th, 2008 at 11:36 am
Comment by Namboer — March 5, 2008 @ 11:31 am
Bobo is better than many of the other mamparas before him. Big loss for the Stormers in loosing that other bugger to a knee injury.
We played the Sharks and Bulls who we could/should have beaten and the Saders and lost “respectably”. They still have 10 games and if they can win about 7 then maybe it is not all so bad
Good morning blokes
After we shall have trashed the Reds on Saturday everyone will understand Rassie is a good coach. He is not guilty if WP and Stormers lacks of experience and of very good quality players.
Anyway let’s get rid of Luke Watson immediately (zero tolerance, he is a very average player as said lst year Jake White) and give full backing to Robbie Diack
Moreover let’s use Peter Grant who can fill the pivotal role also for Die Bokke and not only with Streeptruie and Stormers.
I don’t have any faith in Tony Brown (he plays only for money) :em78:
JT what does it mean “mamparas”?
March 5th, 2008 at 11:47 am
Rassie is still learning his trade, and should never have been given a Super 14 franchise so soon in his career. He’s a very intelligent man, but it’s not that long ago that he was still playing.
Cutting his teeth for a few more years in Currie Cup rugby, and assisting the Super 14 coaches where he can would have been a wiser choice.
Dick Muir is a rare case of a coach doing well so early on, but he is an exceptional coach.
Look at the coaches of the overseas sides. Would they select someone who has just retired to coach one of their Super 14 sides? Nucifora, Deans, Fischer, McKenzie, Foster, etc. are all experienced coaches and have paid their dues first.
March 5th, 2008 at 11:58 am
Ghost10..
Dick has cut his coaching teeth for some time.
After he stopped playing he coached at Hamiltons – where he took over with 6games left for the season – and they needed to win 5 to stay in the Super League. Two of those game were against Maties and Vics…
They stayed in the SL.
He then moved on the coavh Pirates in Jozi and ones again had very good results.
After that he was involved with TUKS for some time and even they started looking like a team- who can acrry the ball.
He then got the Job at the Sharks – but immediatly surrounded him with a knowledgeable management team.
Compare that to te rest of the S14 coaches.
Rassie – His CC winning team ended 11 th in S14 in 2007. He replaces the coach – who came 10th – ONLY in WP!
Loffie – all 4foot4 of him says – I am a good High School coach and his S14 record says it all.
Frans Ludeke – he has not won anything in any Rugby and the Bulls appoint him…Even I expected more from the Bulls – at one stage I rated them as the most professional in the SA Rugby Scene..
Naka – he has won the CC, with no Boks taking part in the Comp and appoints another Forwards Coach as one of his assitents – who had won a Vodacom Cup.
Are you surprised that out teams are where they are?
March 5th, 2008 at 12:05 pm
Comment by HO — March 5, 2008 @ 11:36 am
Idiots
March 5th, 2008 at 12:08 pm
Pietploos + Ghost10
Dick Muir is a fantastic man and coach.
He led Pirates to win the National Club Championship. Well done.
Let’s give time to our coaches to grow up.
In 2004 when Jake White was named the Bokke suoremo there were ONLY people raising their eyebrows and shaking their heads.
Then we all know what the man achieved.
Time will tell us whether they are good or bad at the most demanding levels
March 5th, 2008 at 12:16 pm
Piet,
I agree with you on most of those points.
I’m quite aware of Dick Muir’s coaching history… I’ve been a fan of his ever since he played 12 for the Boks (still the best backline we’ve had, because of him).
What I was talking about was top-level experience. If I remember correctly, even Muir didn’t have a great first season (or half-season) with the Super 14 Sharks.
One place I disagree though, is about Eloff. I think he’ll overtake our other Super 14 coaches because he’s got something special about him. He unfortunately has a very inexperienced team to work with, but I’d love to have seen him in charge of the Stormers team.
Look at how hard it is to take control of a New Zealand Super 14 side… Warren Gatland couldn’t even get a job in one of their franchises, so he ended up coaching Wales!
March 5th, 2008 at 12:16 pm
PP, that old drum that bangs about Heyneke M starting off as a laughing stock with his Bulls and where he got to after a few years’ persistance.
March 5th, 2008 at 12:17 pm
HO….The only S14 worth his salt is Dick Muir.
The rest do not have a hope…NOT even with all the time in the world…
March 5th, 2008 at 12:18 pm
Ghost10 – the Lions players will not agree with you…
March 5th, 2008 at 12:19 pm
H.O.
Mampara = very stupid.
Slang word, not in the dictionary.
I think it has a Xhosa/Zulu root.
March 5th, 2008 at 12:32 pm
Piet
The Lions players have always seemed like pampered superstars to me down the years… at least they had the good sense to ship most of them out. I have no time for players who think they know more than the coach.
Give Eloff another 2 years to build this team of youngsters and they’ll do well. I reckon they’ll finish above the Stormers this year anyway, with an inferior team on paper.
March 5th, 2008 at 12:36 pm
I really hate how quickly supporters can turn their backs and pull out the knives.
The Stormers played very well against an awesome Crusaders side that will give any team carrots.
They failed to score a try in the last 20min and that is usually when they change gears and accelerate away.
Rassie obviously paid more attention to the forwards and the defence when he took over and the improvement is drastic.
Their attack is woeful but with some creative running angles and good support runners it will surely improve with a bit of focus and confidence. That confidence will come the more they play as a team.
When the Bulls finished last a couple of years ago everyone hated Meyer. 4 years later and people are screaming for him to be bok coach. Give some time.
I have been a WP forever and let me tell you that i was very concerned with Fester. He was clueless. With Rassie you can see the guys are coming together because the coach is showing faith in them.
March 5th, 2008 at 12:40 pm
Their attack is woeful but with some creative running angles and good support runners it will surely improve with a bit of focus and confidence.
============
With Allister Coetzee as backline coach?
After his great success with the Boks?
:em26:
March 5th, 2008 at 12:45 pm
Middles,
I am also a big WP supporter, and have been for years. But when you get nil on the scoreboard at home (even if it is against the Crusaders)and are happy with that, then you are condoning mediocrity. The Stormers have Springboks in their side, for heavens sake, and they are taking 20 point hidings at home.
What supporters want to see is progress, and there currently does not seem to be any being made. The rugby they are playing is worse than last season, and it will be a huge surprise if they improve on the 6 wins they got last year.
Just like Ludeke is not the right person for the Bulls (or anyone other team for that matter), Rassie unfortunately is not right for the Stormers right now. They need someone more experienced, who knows how to get the best out of established players.
March 5th, 2008 at 12:46 pm
Sekondeer, Boertjie.
March 5th, 2008 at 12:53 pm
Ghost 10
I see progress. Look how we were crushed by the Bulls and Sharks last year and look how close we came this year. They have 2 run-on springboks but only Schalk really worthy of WC status.
No one is happy with the result, only the improvement.
Last year it is undeniable that they played TERRIBLE.
March 5th, 2008 at 12:54 pm
I definitely think they should give Campese a call.
March 5th, 2008 at 12:57 pm
Comment by pietploos — March 5, 2008 @ 11:58 am
lol, a pretty damning case you make.
but imo it does not make sense that it is all our coaches fault. reckon our coaching ability is the same as the playing ability in SA. overall its lower than NZ in both aspects, i.e. we have less depth in coaching and playing talent, BUT there are an elite in each category which can compete with NZ at national level. The elite for me with coaching is Jake White and Nick Mallett who also normally select the best players.
March 5th, 2008 at 12:59 pm
Im gonna go with middles here and give Rassie some more time, they forwards are coming on nicely while the backs need to make a plan.
I agree with Ghost on some points but im not going to fence sit today.
The backs did run a few well constructed moves but way beyond the advantage line so thats not going to do any good.
Someone need to tell the boys to run straight.
March 5th, 2008 at 1:05 pm
And Ricky must pass quicker.
March 5th, 2008 at 1:06 pm
=============
NEW THREAD
Hoskins turns
to Markgraaff
=============
March 5th, 2008 at 1:09 pm
Fokit Boys – what has happened to us?
We are satisfied with a loss…
We are satisfied that they ONLY scored 22 point against us – and that we have not scored in 120min of rugby and have only scored ONE try in S14 this year.
We can actually justify the fact that we are 14th…
March 5th, 2008 at 1:13 pm
PP
:em24:
And remember, we almost beat
a Bulls side which is only a shadow
of what it was last year.
At Newlands, nogal.
March 5th, 2008 at 1:16 pm
Boertjie
Hoskins turns to Markgraaff? :em05:
March 5th, 2008 at 1:17 pm
No one is satisfied with the loss, but just the manner in which we went down fighting.
March 5th, 2008 at 1:19 pm
Nee man PP, ek is beslis nie tevrede met ‘n verloor en ‘n eiertjie to boot nie. In vergelyking met laas jaar, is die forwards meer gestruktureer. Niks van ons is tevrede nie, maar ons hoop met tyd kom Rassie reg. Nog ‘n ou drom is dat ons heel 1ste die 3 beste spanne van laas jaar gehad het, al is dit soort van ‘all in the mind’.
Maar dis nou oor en verby, geskiedenis, ‘n man kan boggeroll daaraan doen nie. Ek is stilweg optimisties, Stormpies toer nie sleg nie so hopelik kan ons ‘n slag slaan in die verte.
March 5th, 2008 at 1:24 pm
Namboer
Ek het jou vraag oor Sowerby
op ‘n ander draad geantwoord.
6 Julie 2002 – Samoa.
March 5th, 2008 at 1:29 pm
Ek het gekry, dankie. Self gesoek en opgespoor, maar dit was nie maklik nie. Klink asof hy toe net as reserwe opgekom het.
En weet jy op hoeveel rugby websites is daai artikel? Wonder of daai mamparra journalis homself al skop!
March 5th, 2008 at 1:32 pm
(Dis nou die artikel wat sê hy is voor in die ry vir om vir Frankryk gekies te word, dit was op elke 2de hit by Google.)
March 5th, 2008 at 1:38 pm
Comment by pietploos — March 5, 2008 @ 1:09 pm
consider the enviroment PP. Consider the whole SARugby and the goings on. I am amazed that SA are still where they are!
And yes we are in a state that we can be happy with the performances even though they do not bring the win yet. Dit is maar so
But just goes to show how useless the kiwis and Aussies are that a rugby union with the k.k of SArugby they can go on and win a WC
What is wrong with the BIG NZ teams with a decent run union??
March 5th, 2008 at 1:40 pm
NAMBOER
Hy het Corné Kruger in die
65ste minuut vervang.
Hier is SS se info, maar die poepolle
lys net manne wat toetse gespeel het
as Springbokke.
http://www.supersport.co.za/rugby/content.aspx?id=14841
Enslin se werf
http://www.genslin.us/bokke/sarugby.html
March 5th, 2008 at 1:48 pm
KAK news:
Stormers hooker Tiaan Liebenberg has been forced to fly home from tour with an thigh strain. He will be replaced by Schalk Brits in the starting XV with Deon Fourie jetting out as his replacement.
March 5th, 2008 at 2:00 pm
:em72: news indeed.
Now Brits can’t play centre.
March 5th, 2008 at 2:02 pm
Wat is met Shimmi?
March 5th, 2008 at 2:02 pm
PP – iemand – vertel my tog oor Deon Fourie! Is hy iets om oor huis toe te skryf, moet seker wees as hy bo Shimange gekies word…
March 5th, 2008 at 2:03 pm
Demmit, gedink Liebenberg kan die Reds plathol in die laaste halfuur as hy opkom nou’s dit ook daarmee heen.
March 5th, 2008 at 2:05 pm
That’s a blow… Liebenberg has been barnstorming in the loose… another JW choice…
March 5th, 2008 at 2:10 pm
Rassie’s XV against Reds
15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Gcobani Bobo, 12 Jean De Villiers (captain), 11 Sireli Naqelevuki, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Robbie Diack, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Luke Watson :em78:, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Adriaan Fondse, 3 Brian Mujati, 2 Schalk Brits, 1 JD Moller
16 Deon Fourie, 17 Brok Harris, 18 Ross Skeate, 19 Pieter Myburgh, 20 Bolla Conradie, 21 Gio Aplon, 22 Dylan Des Fountain
GO STORMERS!!!!
March 5th, 2008 at 2:34 pm
Comment by JT — March 5, 2008 @ 2:02 pm
Still very unfit JT, knee is also heavily strapped.
March 5th, 2008 at 2:42 pm
Thanks boet. Just hope the Stormers have a knee jerk reaction and bitch slap the Reds into next week!!
March 5th, 2008 at 2:47 pm
Hear hear JT!!!
March 5th, 2008 at 2:57 pm
I was sure we’d see some new Rassie-ploys this season… the 15 man line-out was one of them…lol!
March 5th, 2008 at 3:04 pm
Long piece by Rassie today.
Reckons our players can’t
beat their man or tackle
effectively in a one-on-one
situation.
March 5th, 2008 at 3:06 pm
Comment by Boertjie — March 5, 2008 @ 3:04 pm
verskonings….
Ja – daarmee is ons coaches foppen goed!
March 5th, 2008 at 3:08 pm
Ek lees nou net n mail – waarin hulle beweer dat die registrasie plate jou n idee gee van die toestand van die pad, waar jy bly.
Gauteng Province – GP = Groot Potholes
Mpumalanga – MP = Moerse Potholes
Free State – FS = Fokken Slote
March 5th, 2008 at 3:10 pm
March 5th, 2008 at 3:19 pm
beat their man or tackle
situation.
Thats the first sensibl explanation of this mess that I have heard. All this other wishful thinking and blamming new rules etc. We simply can’t win the gainline, and frankly we don’t have a plan or the technique to do anythgin about it.
The problem we are now facing is the CATSIFICATION of South African Rugby. We have taken the worst franchise in our history and exported it, so that now it is in control of 80% of our franchises. The Stormers is the best example of it.
The problem is that we don’t win the gain line. Everything flows from there – the offloads, the attacking rugby. Without the gainline this is all a pipe dream. On Friday you could have placed the Stormers in white and grey jerseys and have them trot out at Ellis park and noone would have known any better. Its all the old Cats tricks – paff and flop, no order to the defense, main runners hitting with their backs, upper body scrum, no phase play, courageous loose forwards doing very little, props always one step behind the play.
Paff and flop is a speciality of the Cats, it is a trade they have been plying for years. The lack of gainline advantage is an insidious cancer that will ultimately will destroy even the best laid plans. It puts you on the back foot, attack and defense.
The politics of SA Rugby is really a landmine that few ever seem to figure out. To Drotske, Erasmus, Elloff and Ludecke, my congratualtions, they can navigate it. That in itself is an achievement. However let us not expect of them, above that, to also perform. They have not done it for 10 years, why would it change now? That said, let us not as students of the game be sidetracked, by their excuses. The ELVs are an improvement to the game. Not perfect, but a step in the right direction. They have certainly opened up space which was becoming a problem last year. It was becommign easy fro anmyone to play defense. Thsi si putting some of the excitement back into it.
When you are part of the CATS Club and all of them undoubtedly are, there is a lot of side tracking to be done. Losing is never just as simple as the coach, every member of a team is responsible for losing seasons, but the more senior you are in the team the more of the blame is cast on you. We could blame it all on Tim Lane or Chester Williams, but the fact is that all four of these guys and the guys that surround them, too many to mention, all come from Cats Backgrounds. They have all played senior roles either as assistants, player coaches, captains or as senior players. They are steeped in this losing culture. They know it in their haearts and they have long since stopped beleiving it will ever be otherwise. The rest is song and dance. They can shuffle as much as they like. Noone is blaming them as individuals, one is rather blaming the system that breeds them and then spews them out onto the rest of the franchises.
I really believe that you can count on two hands the combined number of S14 games these guys have won against foreign opposition in the last 10 years. Its not difficult to calculate. I reckon its never been more than 3 games a year in any one of the last 10 years – its usually less.
Noone is picking on anyone, we are just trying to get to the bottom of the problem. After all the charm and glamour – the simple reality – and I was a CATS fan for 10 years – is that CATS style Rugby has now been exported to 4 of our franchises. Why do we not expect CATS style Results?
Take Rassie for example – and I am not picking on him – its just an example, it is just as applicable to the others. His imports are Jantjes, Mujati, Allitair Coetsee, Ricky January, his strength Coach, Frikkie Erasmus on media liason, Brendan Venter- all his Cats contacts – We have imported this to the Stormers. There is nothing inherently wrong with this, what else should the guy be expected to do? But then acknowlege this and don’t expect anything more than a Cats type result. We are on target for a single win this season against one of these Aussie or NZ teams, who has an off day.
Noone is saying that CATS style of Rugby does not work locally, but it certainly does not translate against Antepodean opposition. This is not a law of nature, but it is a pretty strong observation. Understanding the problem is the first step to fixing it. We still cannot accept just how inbred South African Rugby is. The Lion Stormers game is going to be a humdinger.
History does not repeat itself, but it does echo.
March 5th, 2008 at 3:37 pm
PhilipDC – I can not agree more!
AND I BLAME THOSE WHO MADE THE APPOINTMENTS in the FIRST PLACE.
We are being bullied into excepting mediocrity.
We hear excused…
We are happy to lose by just 22 points. How can you then think about winning this – or have we accepted the fact that we will be also runs..
Believe me – I am not a Sharks Supporter…but at least they look like they have a plan – sort off.
The Lions play the Force at ultitude and we blame the ref…They should never have been in a position where the ref could have an influence.
The Cheetahs lose with one point – because they are stupid – again…
and the new national Coach talk about developing on train tracks and not on roads..
FFS – now wonder they all want to go and eant Euro.
March 5th, 2008 at 3:37 pm
MORE BY RASSIE
(he uses lots of stats):
On attack we play too directly onto the
opponents and the Stormers have the
habit of going to ground with the ball,
resulting in loose scrums. We must stay
on our feet longer.
[People have been saying this since Noah
built his ark, not?]
Stormers made 131 tackles, missed 25.
Saders made 122 tackles, missed 23.
Difference was that the Saders gain 1-2
metres at the tackle contact point, and
it gets them over the gain line.
Gain line stats:
Saders took Stormers on 52 times,
succeeded 51.
Figures for Stormers are 60/39.
March 5th, 2008 at 3:40 pm
and the new national Coach talk about developing on train tracks and not on roads..
==========
Yip, that’s the latest wisdom!
:em28:
March 5th, 2008 at 3:41 pm
Actually wanted to add :em15:
March 5th, 2008 at 3:46 pm
Correct PP
Watched that Lions game with a bunch of fellow Lions supporters. For the rest of the game my fellow fans were raging about that decision, failing to notice the umpteen turnovers, knock-ons and loose passes conceded by the Lions for the rest of the match.
I imagine that if the try had been awarded the Force would have lifted their game sufficiently and taken the game anyway.
March 5th, 2008 at 3:57 pm
I imagine that if the try had been awarded the Force would have lifted their game sufficiently and taken the game anyway.
Postie @ 3:46
Scary thought that, but oh so true. A real shame the Saffa sides can’t do that.
March 5th, 2008 at 6:19 pm
Comment by il postino — March 5, 2008 @ 3:46 pm
Interesting thought. That might just have been the case.
March 5th, 2008 at 6:54 pm
Die Bulls Supporter
a. Persoonlikheid
Jy, as die gemiddelde Bloubul ondersteuner, se IK verskyn agter op die rug
van jul kaptein se trui. Saterdae, vir 80 minute lank, roteer een breinsel
tussen jou en die 70 000 ander soos jy. “Liefling” en “Bloubul” was vooraf
in jou memory chip in geprogrammeer. Jy ry waarskynlik ‘n 4X4, dra
“two-tone” hemde, PT-broeke en rugbykouse. Jou selfoon is waarskynlik groter
as jou tottie, maar beslis kleiner as jou snor. Jou bek is die grootste op
enige “party”.
b. Gunsteling voertuig
Enigiets wat duurder as jou buurman s’n is. Waarskynlik ‘n Prado, Mercedes
of Audi.
c. Gunsteling Dop
Brannas en Castle, want dit maak jou dapper genoeg om jou vrou by die huis
te gaan probeer bliksem nadat jou span (alweer) verloor het.
——————————————————————————–
Sharks
a. Persoonlikheid
Jy is ‘n undercover moffie al het jy ‘n vrou en tien kinders. Jou vrou is
heel moontlik ook queer of alternatiewelik ‘n “sex change”. Jy dra Raybans
en fokken lelike klere. Jy het vasgesteek by Bob Marley en rook steeds boom
saam met jou oupa.
b. Gunsteling voertuig
Onder die dekmantel van “karre is wêreldsgoed” ry jy alles wat kak is omdat
jy niks beter kan bekostig nie.
c. Gunsteling Dop
Enigiets wat jy verniet kan kry. Sedert die einde van Lion Ale is jy basies
gefok!
Cheetahs
a. Persoonlikheid
Jy gee die konsep “oningelig” ‘n heeltemal nuwe betekenis. Besoekers aan
Bloemfontein beland elke keer by die Ford-garage wanneer hulle verwysings
vra na die naaste Escort Agency! Die enigste ding platter as jou provinsie
se vlaktes is jou kop. Die feit dat jy nog altyd dink dat die “stock
exchange” vendusie-krale is, is bewys hiervan.
b. Gunsteling Voertuig
Enigiets wat met diesel werk. Jy is diesel-befok. Selfs jou dogter se nuwe
vibrator is diesel-aangedrewe.
c. Gunsteling Dop
Shooters. Enige shooters. Vandat jou seun op Tukkies studeer, het shooters
veld gewen in jou provinsie.
Stormers
a. Persoonlikheid
Die enigste organisme meer arrogant as jy, word nog ontwikkel. Jy verkeer
skynbaar onder die indruk dat alle lede van homo- sapiens moerse beïndruk is
met ‘n platberg, suurwyn en vrot snoek. Jou “laidback” lewensstyl is jou
verskoning om luigatgeit te regverdig. Jou idée van “foreplay” is ‘n
losskrum.
b. Gunsteling Voertuig
Iets met wiele, maar verkieslik rónde wiele.
c. Gunsteling Dop
Met die koms van Tik is dop nie meer belangrik nie, maar op die fly sal jy
waarskynlik ‘n paar mondevol bloutrein bitter moeilik kan weerstaan.
Lions
a. Persoonlikheid
Jou oumagrootjie was die eerste prostituut op die Johannesburgse goudvelde.
Jy gaan kyk net rugby op Ellispark as jou span wen. Ellispark is dus ‘n
uiters vreemde planeet vir jou. Anders as ander spanne se ondersteuners moer
jy jou vrou wanneer jou span wen. Dus is jou uitgebreide familie reeds vyf
geslagte sonder vroueslaners.
b. Gunsteling Voertuig
Enigiets wat maklik gesteel kan word.
c. Gunsteling Dop
Vodka, Black Label en Cutex-remover.
March 5th, 2008 at 7:23 pm
I have never seen Rassie’s creative side.
Does he have one?
March 5th, 2008 at 10:23 pm
Pietploos
Jy slaan die spyker op die kop met Rassie.
As persoon het hy nie daardie iets wat jou beindruk nie.
Waarskynlik ‘n goeie ontleder gewees. Kry tans nie genoeg kans om dit te doen nie.
Geen kennis van agterspel nie.Die jaar se Cheetahspan is talentgewys en ervaringsgewys op ‘n ander planeet as laasjaar sin. Wat het Rassie toe reggekry?
Iewers ‘n stukkie opportunisme wat hom eerder vroeer as later gaan inhaal.
Die feit dat geeneen van die Cheetahs hom gevolg het nie spreek vanself. Hy het sy brue hier verbrand met UITERS SWAK mense verhoudings.
Die Stormers sal eersdaags begin wen met gestruktureerde Noord Transvaal rugby.
March 5th, 2008 at 11:16 pm
beat their man or tackle
situation.
Comment by Boertjie — March 5, 2008 @ 3:04 pm
Hi boertjie, where can I get this long piece by rassie…
that did not sound right
March 6th, 2008 at 9:13 am
JT
Nie op die internet nie, maar ek het
hierdie stukkie vir jou oorgetik:
“Ons spel op die aanval was nie goed genoeg nie. Een aspek wat moet verbeter, is spelers
se vermoë om hul direkte teenstander op die aanval te klop.
“Ons speel te direk op die teenstanders af en is geneig om met die bal in die hand grond toe te gaan, wat ‘n losskrum tot gevolg het. Ons moet meer op ons voete bly.
“Ons verdedigingstruktuur is doeltreffend, maar individuele spelers se verdediging in die man-op-man-situasie is ‘n aspek waaraan ons hard moet werk.
“Die Crusaders het dit telkens reggekry om ‘n meter of twee by die duikslag-kontakpunt te wen. Dit kry hulle oor die voordeellyn. Ons spelers moet sorg dat hulle teenstanders letterlik in hul spore stuit.”
March 6th, 2008 at 10:29 am
Ek lees vanoggend in die Cape Times die volgende oor Peter Grant:
Sy taktiese skopwerk is swak en so ook sy besluitneming. Hy sukkel ook met die verspreiding van die bal.
MAAR,
Hulle het dit vir hom op Video gewys die week en hulle glo hy sal verbeter!!
EN hulle wonder hoekom le hulle 14de?
March 6th, 2008 at 11:36 am
:em41:
En dis net omdat daar
nie 15 spanne is nie.
March 6th, 2008 at 1:05 pm
Comment by Boertjie — March 6, 2008 @ 9:13 am
Dankie! in other words “spaces not faces!”