Big Joe surprise in Boks

July 3, 2008
Posted by Deon

The selection of Joe van Niekerk at No 8 for the first Tri-Nations Test against New Zealand in Wellington on Saturday is probably the only real surprise in the team announced by Springbok coach Peter de Villiers on Thursday.

News24 reports that Van Niekerk has been selected ahead of Pierre Spies – and Ryan Kankowski, who is ostensibly still being rested after a head injury – in a side that shows a third major shake-up in as many Tests since the first against Wales five weeks ago.

This might, in the fourth Tests of the season, at last be the side that De Villiers says he has had in his head from the outset.

He has certainly used the three incoming tour Tests to give all of his selected squad a run to show their worth, but it has done little in the sense of team-building (as opposed to team spirit and squad building).

De Villiers has brought back Butch James in at flyhalf for Frans Steyn who drops to the bench, dropped Gcobani Bobo (left in Cape Town) for Adi Jacobs at centre, has John Smit back at hooker after his two Saturday’s in France with Gurthro Steenkamp at loosehead in place of Tendai Mtawarira, selected fit-again flank Schalk Burger – who has had only 20 minutes of rugby in 10 weeks – in place of Luke Watson and brings in Van Niekerk as No 8 for Kankowski.

Spies and Kankowski are not even on the bench, with Watson getting the nod – perhaps as cover for Burger who simply cannot be fit for 80 match minutes.

Scrum cohesion

Despite these changes the side is much as was expected. However, South African supporters will be perturbed by the fact the Springboks will run onto the field on Saturday with their fourth frontrow combination in four Tests and also their fourth loose trio combination of the season.

The scrum cohesion in particular could be a problem facet for the Springboks. The shuffled and reshuffled front three have been on the back foot in two of the three Tests played so far, the second against Wales being an exception – and now another, seemingly better, combination has to rectify the ills.

Only Butch James and Bryan Habana of the backs started in the World Cup final while six forwards ran on against England. Steenkamp and Ricky January are the other two World Cup players in the team.

South Africa: Conrad Jantjes, Odwa Ndungane, Adi Jacobs, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana, Butch James, Ricky Januarie, Joe van Niekerk, Juan Smith, Schalk Burger, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, CJ van der Linde, John Smit (capt.), Gurthro Steenkamp. Replacements: Bismark du Plessis, Brian Mujati, Andries Bekker, Luke Watson, Bolla Conradie, Frans Steyn, Percy Montgomery.

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

176 Comments

1. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 8:28 am Reply to this comment

So neither Kanko nor Spies get the spot.

Ruan not on the bench.

Resst pretty much as expected.

:pdv: :pdv:

:boks: :boks:

2. Kietie_Lions KietieCat says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 8:34 am Reply to this comment

Well, lets get behind them and hope for a win come Saturday. It is long overdue. :pdv:

3. onerb onerb says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 8:35 am Reply to this comment

We’ll pdiv wouldn’t want to dissapoint ol cheecky would he? What impact will luke have if the match is tight? Will div have the guts not to use him? Think of the repurcussions!

4. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 8:36 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 8:28 am:

Me thinks, me get chance to tell you, “told you so!”

5. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 8:42 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) @ 8:36 am:

Me thinks you would have found some way of saying it in any case. :wink:

:pdv: :pdv:

6. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 8:47 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 8:42 am:

Dis reg. As jou oordeel net nie so kak was nie …..

:soek:

7. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 8:48 am Reply to this comment

Weet jy hoe moeilik dit is om die Bokke (en fkn Luke) te ondersteun as jy die coach verafsku?

8. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 8:49 am Reply to this comment

13 out of the 22 were involved with the WC.

What is there to complain about.

Os retired and Gurthro is in his place, whether he is the best is another question, but he has the experience.

Danie Rossouw is not there and that is a pity. Fourie du Preez and Jacque Fourie are injured.

So who else should he have chosen?

Being :em50: just for the sake of it? :wink:

9. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 8:50 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) @ 8:48 am:

Nou hoekom verafsku jy die coach? Ten minste wil hy daar wees vir rugby, nie soos die vorige een vir sy ego nie.

10. Kietie_Lions KietieCat says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 8:50 am Reply to this comment

:stupid:

Ons moet maar dit mis probeer kyk en die uitslae support.

11. Kietie_Lions KietieCat says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 8:51 am Reply to this comment

Sorry, I wanted to use:
    :that:

12. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:05 am Reply to this comment

Reply to KietieCat @ 8:50 am:

Donner gaan vir Snor ‘n BJ gee as hulle terugkom op die lughawe. Ek dink dit is die snor wat hom aantrek!

Die ou het tog fkl meer as ‘n snor as “claim to fame”!

13. Kietie_Lions KietieCat says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:07 am Reply to this comment

:lol:

cosa, hy het darem vir Luke… :soek:

Ag nee Donner, wat gaan aan? :oogle:

14. onerb onerb says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:08 am Reply to this comment

Donner, do you feel comfortable with this team pulling off a win? No percy, no steyn, why leave that sort of experience on the bench? This game will be extremely tight and physical. Jantjes and look never shine when the going gets tough.

15. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:09 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 8:50 am:

Ja, ek wil ook daar wees vir die rugby, maar ek sal ‘n UITERS kak coach wees. Selfde met jou maatjie!

:rant: :cuss: :thumbdown:

16. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:10 am Reply to this comment

Reply to KietieCat @ 9:07 am:

Is jy gemaklik met lukefknwatson?

17. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:16 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 8:49 am:

Ek het probleme met die volgende:

Jantjes vir Percy.

Adi vir enigiemand anders, selfs Bobo is ‘n beter keuse.

Mujati, Bolla en :poop: watson op die bank. Maar

Vier uit die vyf van die wiepie. As dit nie favouratism is nie, weet ek nie so mooi nie.

18. Nolan Bricknell Nolan Bricknell says:

Not a bad side – Joe will be better on the ground than Spies or kanko – neither are good on the ground – better in the loose – Against NZ you need to win the breakdowns – both Schalk and Joe play to the ball with Juan more of a ball carrier – under circumstances I think it is a good rugby decision – the only weakness could be at 13 – however I hope he proves me wrong as he is a good attacking player

19. onerb onerb says:

Well this is the acid test. I will still support them but hope dearly I don’t have to switch off the teevee at half time and get drunk.

20. Kietie_Lions KietieCat says:

Reply to Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) @ 9:10 am:

Abolutely. :noshake:

Huh-uh. Just kidding. Ek dink hy is die mees overrated waterboy ever.

21. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:19 am Reply to this comment

Reply to KietieCat @ 9:16 am:

Donner se hy het “inside” dat die spelers dink hy is koning! :puke:

22. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:20 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Nolan Bricknell @ 9:16 am:

Now that synopsis on the loosies makes sense, doesn’t it.

Adi will come to the party. The main thing is if we can win at the breakdown, and gain the momentum, the ABs will suffer. Just remember what the French did to them. And if they get rattled the result will not be dependent on a forward pass.

23. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:20 am Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb @ 9:16 am:

Amen, brother! :agree:

24. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:22 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) @ 9:19 am:

Where did I say that? Yes they do rate him, but they also have their reservations. Don’t put words in my mouth, I never gave you the detail.

25. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:24 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 9:20 am:

There is one ingredient necessary for a win – pressure on Carter.

That Big Joe cannot give. There Spies would have been better. I agree that Kanko is not a grazer, he is a browser, and I mean nothingnegative by that, he will be a better choice against the Ozzmob. Spies also played at 6 for the Boks in one test last year.

We need “hard men” for the Blacks.

26. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:25 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 9:22 am:

:im a idiot:

27. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:26 am Reply to this comment

I told you Wolfie has no farken idea what’s going on!! Just watch him chopping and changing when they lose this one! Donner, do you really think Jacobs, Jantjes, :poop: Watson, Drolla Con(t)radie, FlowJoe would come NEAR any other international team?
    Go All Blacks!!!!!! Let’s put 50 against these plonkers and their quota coach!

28. onerb onerb says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:30 am Reply to this comment

Joe would’ve been in my 22 as well but at the expense of watshisface and with spies/knko on the bench.

This game could really go either way. We could come close or we can get a smack that will remind pdiv that he is playing with the big boys now.

29. Kietie_Lions KietieCat says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:31 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 9:26 am:
    :WTF: Let’s give the guys a chance. :pill:

30. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:35 am Reply to this comment

Sorry KietieCat, I’m not supporting any racist establishment, especially not in Springbok rugby. I feel sorry for the class players in the team, who now, apart from having to carry the load of their quota buddies, must also carry the load of a quota coach who really adores the All Blacks!!!

31. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:37 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 9:35 am:

Did you support the Bokke in the 70#s and 80′s? If so… :yours:

:pdv:

32. Morné Morneno says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:41 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 9:26 am:

And if they win with this team?

33. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:46 am Reply to this comment

Back to the team:
    FR: That is what I would have chosen from this squad but Would like to have seen either Jannie Dup or BJ there.
    Locks: Duh!
    Flank; Burger and Juan – YES!
    #8 initial response :WTF: but warming to the idea, could have a nice balance to it. Would have gone with Spies at least on the Bench.
    9 – ok
    10 – YES
    12 – ok
    13 – who else? I like the guy and hope he does well!
    14 – Would have gone with JPP but not much in it.
    11 – duh!
    15 – Percy will bench his way to 100 and say g’bye. Jantjes is the future.

As I said before the team was named, game is in NZ, it will be cold and wet, Aussie ref, we are facing the AB’s in NZ!!! If we do pull it off it will be one of the greatest upsets in rugby IMO. And then I hope some guys here will acknowledge PDV as a genius!

However, I will want his head if he looses all the 3N games. If we win at home and lose away it won’t be any different to Jake White.

34. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:49 am Reply to this comment

JT, unfortunately I was too young in the 70′s, but certainly did support in 80′s (with Errol Tobias included!). And if you suggest that the team was racially based in the past, and that peopl ethen wrongly supported them then: Is it now OK to support racist, just because (according to you) we had in the past? Time to grow up, Boet.
    Morne, I’m not against them based on results, but based on principles. So even if they win, I will not support them. Allready started organizing my tickets for Newlands in August, where I will proudly support the AB’s!!!

35. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:53 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 9:37 am:

JT, sorry, but I don’t understand what you’re getting at. Do you slam him if he supported the Bokke in the 70′s/80′s?

Reply to Bekke @ 9:35 am:

Why are everybody so quick to distance themselves from “racist fraternity”? If you have an opinion, give it. You are surely going to get the people that are going to accuse you of being racist, if you insist on merit, and we all know that that is the last resource of irrational minds.

Just give your opinion, you will be judged on your opinion, not your allegiances!

36. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:53 am Reply to this comment

Shame JT, seems you only support the team because of a coloured coach?? Who’s the real racist?
    Jantjes is not the future, nor even the past! Yes, he had a few good games for the Stormers, and then? He don’t pass, he is constantly out of position (frequently seen jogging around)and he is too light for real attacking play. At least tell me which other basic fullback role he can fullfill?

37. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:54 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 9:49 am:

You can support who you like, I for one won’t give a :poop:

Why did you not support the AB’s in the 80′s? Anyway will not get in to politics with you today, want to enjoy my week and not get all :realangry: with you on that.

38. Morné Morneno says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:55 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 9:49 am:

I am interested to know what principles that is?

I find it quite a lot in Cape Town especially where people will only support the All Blacks, also based on principles but principles that go back a long way.

I have had many debates wrt that and still think those principles mentioned is silly.

So I am interested in trying to establish on what principles you base yours on?

39. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:56 am Reply to this comment

Cosa, I agree, but sometime I get a bit hot under the collar from idiotic reasoning. It’s difficult (but I suppose necessary) to try to understand even their reasoning?

40. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:57 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 9:53 am:

Me racist? That is rich :lol:
    :whatever:

41. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 9:57 am Reply to this comment

The principle that nobody should be selected for any position for any organization, based on race. And worse, then try and justify their selection by critisizing people who don’t agree as being racist!

42. Morné Morneno says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:02 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 9:53 am:

Where has Jantjes been found out of position this year?

He has a huge boot for out of hand kicking, he joins the line frequently, set up a couple of tries.

There is not much wrong with him.

43. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:03 am Reply to this comment

IMO
    Jantjes – there on merit!
    Jacobs – Merit (Fourie is injured)
    January – Merit (du Preez is njured)
    Guthro – merit
    Habana – merit
    Ndungane – who else?? Thus Merit!

44. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:04 am Reply to this comment

JT, is that your only response (playing with your green thingie)? You’re behaving like a real Son journalist now – don’t be ashamed of your believes, you have a right to believe in it! :wink:

45. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:11 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 9:57 am:

And why is PdV on colour?

Because Hoskins said so?

That is laughable.

46. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:12 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 10:04 am:

Ag bekke gaan kak! I am not in the mood for your BS.
    IMO you are a racist and against the Bokke because they have a non white coach and that I find dispicable. You don’t know me and I don’t know you. All we have to go on is what is said here on the blog without facial expressions etc. If I am wrong in my summation of you then so be it but I still think you are an idiot.

Ciao!

47. Kietie_Lions KietieCat says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:16 am Reply to this comment

:support:

Like sands through the hour glass… So are the days of our lives. I like this new blogging soapie…

48. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:19 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 9:46 am:

JT, Jake did not win away, apart from the one win against the Ozzmob. That is correct.

Taken into consideration where Jake started from, and his legacy to the next coach, one would expect the results to be improving.

Reply to Morneno @ 9:41 am:

No fear!

49. fc fc says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:22 am Reply to this comment

Why is Luke Watson still in the team, and why haven’t they called up Wikus van Heerden to the team. I know he is only now back from injury, but he’s 10x better the LW.

50. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:26 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:11 am:

That is what Hoskens said!

I believe that Pieter De Villiers is NOT the best selection for Bok coach! Finish en klaar! MY belief.

Now tell me, WHY IS ALL THE NATIONAL COACHES COLOURED? Is that NOT racism?

51. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:27 am Reply to this comment

The S14 is played in late summer and autumn

The Tri series is played in winter

Different weather! klAAr

players like Luke X and chemical joe can lOOk like gOOde S14 players in S14- which MIGHT translate to “adequate” on test level.

Will be tuFF to beat the ALl Blacks with adequate players in your pack.

Without parity upfront- you are not going to attack a lot- but will have to defend a lot.

Some critical mistakes were made in the thinking processes

Maybe to fulfill promises

BUT- the BoKKe are the BoKKe!

So I will support them – and will be vocal – if its a disaster. ( and that will change what?) my choice of sport maybe – but my allegiance – not likely!

52. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:30 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) @ 10:19 am:

Reply to Bekke @ 10:04 am:

Ever heard of the phrase “I tis easier to become the champion, than to stay the champion” ?

Just go and ask the 95 Boks. Or the Aussies WC winners. Or the Pom WC winners.

I will post an very interesting article by Will Carling tomorrow. It sums up exactly what WC rugby has done to rugby. How it made it “poorer”.

I watched Springbok Saga last night and what struck me immediately is the type of rugby that was played in 96. The Boks had some close losses that year, but atleast the rugby was of high quality. Everything was done at speed.

For the past four years the only things we could take home, were one 3N victory and a WC. In between we were outright shit.

We came last in the 3N last year. So even if we finish 2nd our rugby has already improved.

And what did Jake-ego really leave us? Os retired with no experienced backup. Percy on his way to retirement, with no experienced backup. Only one experienced 13 that is now injured.

And even our WC winning team was beaten by the ABs in SA last year.

If you believe that PdV is a quota coach, then atleast judge him on the sme criteria than you would have done to a white coach. Don’t raise the bar.

I can just imagine the tune that would have been sung now if Heyneke was the coach.

53. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:32 am Reply to this comment

Reply to wiLLem @ 10:27 am:

You summation is a thing of beauty!

I shall support the Boks.

It will be difficult to swallow the coach and his favourate son, luke fkn watson.

You did cover the reasons of why we are going to get klapped. That is also spoton to my beliefs.

:job:

54. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:33 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) @ 10:26 am:

I ask you again then who would have been the better coach to appoint?

55. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:34 am Reply to this comment

Great, JT – as long as you believe it boet :wink: Unfortunately, “merit” is not merit anymore. When you want to include your tjommies, you write different definitions. But fortunately, even if many people believe a wrong is right, it’s still a wrong.
    So enjoy your Son sport and the many insightfull “merit” articles :lol:

56. Morné Morneno says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:36 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 9:57 am:

Okay I get what you are saying but then I have to ask this.

I guess the points of contention is Jantjes, Adi and Mujati and perhaps Bolla?

Jantjes has been in the form 15 for all SA Teams in the Super 14. It is not just my opinion, but simply look at what rugby scribes from across SA said and picked in their teams of the week. So why not give him a shot at the Bok 15 jersey?

Understandably Percy is our WC guy, who has a deadly boot. But if his kicking ability is all we go on, we could easily argue that Butch’s current kicking form is excellent, so there is no panic when it comes to kicking.

We have a problem at 13. DiV has worked with Adi for years and coached him at other levels. No doubt Jaque is our best, but he is injured.

Murray has had a very poor season for the Sharks and Bobo’s pace and game breaking ability was questioned throughout the Super 14.

Even Frans Steyn has had a very average to poor Super 14 so it is very possibly to argue Adi deserves to get a shot.

January was pretty good for the Stormers in the Super 14, and has for a long time now been our #2 behind Fourie who is injured.

He did have poor tests imo where Bolla in fact, had the best test out of all the 9′s so far.

Pienaar could not even hold down a spot in the Sharks so again, there are arguments, valid ones either way.

Many will agree Watson perhaps deserves a call up to the Bok team – unlike last year.

The Stormers loosies were arguably the best combo in SA in the S14 this year, and Luke had quite decent games at 8.

Personally I think he is average and would not pick him – but again, there are arguments either way.

Mujati helped change the Stormers so-called light 5 into quite a good forward unit. Apart from the Saders who shunted everyone in the scrums, the Stormers never really suffered in this department.

I would not have picked Mujati as I reckon BJ and Du Plessis is much better and have more experience – but to label it a racist or quota selection is a bit harsh.

Peter de Villiers himself as coach, is a man that has been involved with rugby in SA for many years as coach and player.

He coached from club rugby, right through to union rugby and age-group Bok rugby. He was assistant to many successful setups and enjoyed more success as coach, than failures.

The only thing or level he did not coach, was S14 – but then we could also easily ask why a quota coach like Ludeke with an atrocious record managed to secure coaching jobs at this level and guys like Peter not?

I have met him before personally too. Chatted to him about life, and rugby. He is a straight forward type of guy and says what he thinks. He does not harbour any ill feelings to any person or institution even from the past.

He is a rugby man through and through, and loves the game of rugby. He managed to stick to what he loves, coaching, even when times and most things went against him – always learning more, or wanting to learn more and better equip himself as a coach.

Each and every player that played under him rates him. I am yet to meet a player that does not rate him.

Peter loves Bok rugby and when I met him, he was still a long way off from even thinking of becoming Bok coach. But he made no secret of the fact that it is his ultimate goal and dream – it is what he lived for because he loves rugby and Bok rugby.

Now unlike Peter I have not met most of the players I mentioned above, so those are just opinions I have on them. But I do see the thinking behind it, and even though I do not agree with some of them, it does not change the fact that I know they too (players) are there because they are also just guys wanting to play the game, players with dreams of representing their country – the number 1 team in the world.

Out of principle, my own principle, I will continue to support this team and all its players and coaches – because if I could have done that for Straeuli and Viljoen and Markgraaff, why the hell not for Peter and players he believes in can do the job for him.

In the end, Bok rugby is bigger than anyone, it will outlive most of us as it outlived most before us. And that is why I will continue to support them.

Because even if Peter fails miserably like Markies, Viljoen and Straueli did, it will not change over 100 years of Bok rugby and tradition. It is bigger than them, and bigger than any one of us.

57. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:39 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 10:34 am:

Ons gaan nog baie vassit op hierdie blog!!! And in a masochistic way I am looking forward to it….:cuckoo:
    Tell me who is the better FB? Tell me who is the better “FIT� 13 or the better fit 9

58. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:39 am Reply to this comment

Donner, thanks for that. I can now suddenly see the beautifull running rugby that Fluke, Bobo-Jantjes et all played so far this year :noshake: That’s exactly my point: I will support the team, even if they lose, as long as they are based on rugby-decisions, without any racist / polit-bureau agenda. Looking at what’s happening with the whole Zin saga, it’s clear that certain people just do not understand the difference between right and wrong – their judgement is forever clouded based on some racist believes.

59. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:40 am Reply to this comment

That should be “Zim” saga :oops:

60. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:40 am Reply to this comment

Reply to wiLLem @ 10:27 am:

Lets look at the forward combinations:

Frontrow = they have played together more than just a few times. We do have a problem at tighthead, but maybe it is not that big a problem if you add the experience in.

Not one of our scrums really struggled in the S14 and yes I realise what you say wrt the weather, but the scrum is still the scrum. Wet weather will not make the ABs frontrow stronger all of a sudden.

Locks: Need I say anything.

Loosies: Schalla, Juan and Joe has played together to knwo each other pretty well. As a combination, I believe they are the strongest out there.

Now combine the whole pack and look at how many times they have played together.

The only thing that will need to change form the first three tests is that we will have to have more patience. If we do that we will break them down.

Frustrate them with a lack of possession by winning the breakdowns and take it from there.

61. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:43 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:30 am:

“I can just imagine the tune that would have been sung now if Heyneke was the coach.”

That, my friend, is a shitty attempt at a low blow.

For the record, even if Pieter De Villiers attains a 100% record, HE IS AN AA APPOINTMENT. He always will be. And your trying to make that into something laugable, does not change the truth. Hoskens did say he was selected on “other considerations”. That you cannot deny.

You have been trying to do Heyneke for some time now. Is it because the mere existence of Heyneke shades your illogical defence of The Sorry Snor?

62. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:45 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:33 am:

In sequence of my considerations:

Heyneke Meyer
    Allistair Coetzee
    Dick Muir.

63. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:46 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) @ 10:45 am:

Add Rassie.

64. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:48 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 10:39 am:

What Zim saga? The Mujati one?

My friend, what would you say if I tell you I am going to put your son at a disadvantage for the rest of his life, because of a stupid decision you made?

Everytime that happens it is wrong, no matter who the perceived victim or the actual victim is.

65. onerb onerb says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:50 am Reply to this comment

Are you making excuses already? England lost half their team after the WC 03. We lost 1 player (Os).

That argument will not stick with me.

How many Aus players retired after the WC 99?

You can name a few.

66. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:50 am Reply to this comment

Morne, I can see that you are passionate about Wolfie, and that’s great. I can also see the merit (genuine merit, and not racist token merit) in most of your reasoning. But you must be consistent – you cannot argue the exclution of somebody who had a poor S14, but then include Bolla. Yes, he had a decent first test, but his S14 was :poop:
    Then you argue for Wolfie, based on Ludeke, making as if I only disagree based on skin-colour! But I actually agree that Ludeke is a has-been! But why are the admin people suddenly racist just because they have selected a kak coach? Did Wolfie even apply for the Bulls job? Or even the Cats? or did I select him?
    I also disagree with your view of “form”. maybe you also think Schalk Bollywood Brits had a good game last Saturday. I thought he was kak! Yes, he carried teh ball many times, but that was mainly set moves, where ANYBODY could have done the same or better! What did he actually DO with the ball? Farkall…

67. Morné Morneno says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:51 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) @ 10:45 am:

For the record, mine would have been;

1) Dick Muir
    2) Allister Coetzee
    3) Heyneke & Peter

If we had an open borders policy, I would of course would pick Deans hands down, but we don’t.

That is just my opinion though.

68. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:53 am Reply to this comment

Sorry, Donner – wrong again about the Zim saga (but thanks for bringing that up again). I was talking aboout the pathetic response from African “leaders” :whatever: to the Mugabe saga. “Everything seems to be OK if one of us is a :poop:

69. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:54 am Reply to this comment

See the enjoyment on my face as I squeez JT’s green thingie!

70. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:55 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) @ 10:43 am:

Not at all. I just believe that Heyneke would have done a shitload of damage to our rugby.

We have seen how the Bulls came apart when all of a sudden they had to start playing rugby again this year. It took them 9 weeks to start picking up again.

But we will see just how long Heyneke will be with the Tigers. I guess that will settle that.

As for other considerations. The committee recommended PdV for the post of Bok coach and the PC said they don’t want to accept that.

But then again what does it matter, the media reported otherwise and that is what you believe.

71. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:55 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 10:51 am:

I do not expect you to not have your own opinion. I respect that.

But why not respect MY opinion that Pieter de Villiers is not the better coach, and he displayed blatant favouratism?

72. Morné Morneno says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:56 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 10:50 am:

No I don’t think Schalk had a good game, in fact I rate that other kid higher. I never rated Schalk, nor do I Watson.

I do however try and base that on rugby decisions and the situations they play, or coach in, same as I do with Peter and the players I mentioned.

What do you base form on?

Use Jantjes as example because you used him before, and explain to me how he is not a good 15.

Use any reference, but rugby references.

Look at his game, and as fullback look at his positional play, his kicking ability, his defensive ability, linking ability, pace, vision, distribution etc.

And compare him to any other fullback we possibly have.

Just so that we can establish how you judge form, and how I judge form.

Even do that with De Villiers if you want. Look at his experience, his achievements and failures, the situation that Bok and international rugby presents to any coach, and show me on form how he is not good enough?

If we set parameters on how we judge form and not only go on perception, we might get somewhere.

At the moment I think we are just airing opinions which is largely based on perceptions.

73. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:57 am Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb @ 10:50 am:

Not making excuses at all. Just asking that PdV is measured against the same criteria that any other coach would have been measured. But it seems that will be impossible.

74. onerb onerb says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:57 am Reply to this comment

Each and every player that played under him rates him. I am yet to meet a player that does not rate him.

As if they will admit it.

75. Morné Morneno says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 10:59 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) @ 10:55 am:

Of course, we discussed the Meyer and De Villiers thing many times and have different angles on that. I never said your opinion means shit, or that I do not respect it, I just think we should not (myself included) shut ourselves out or down and close off debate on the issue.

Myself and Donner for instance had, and still has different opinions on the Spears, we have debated it for years now and its still ongoing.

76. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:00 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) @ 10:55 am:

Any coach displays favouratism. The Bulls lost their fullback to the Falcons when Heyneke took over, because Heyneke rated Roets him.

77. Morné Morneno says:

Reply to onerb @ 10:57 am:

If you speak to them personally, in a social environment – they do.

I have met many players that does not rate coaches they played under. Some prominent coaches at that too.

78. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:

Reply to Morneno @ 10:36 am:

Well Said! :job:

79. onerb onerb says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:01 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:48 am:

So you believe AA is wrong?

80. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:02 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:55 am:

“We have seen how the Bulls came apart when all of a sudden they had to start playing rugby again this year. It took them 9 weeks to start picking up again.”

That is just your opinion. The BULLS team had a change from a coach that they idolised, to Ludeke. Add to that that the whole management team of the BULLS, apart from Wynie Strydom, has changed. But the real reason for the snake in paradise, is a guy called Barend van Graan.

As for playing “real rugby” WTF do you think happened in the 92-3 win against the Reds, or the 75-14 agaist the Stormers?

81. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:02 am Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb @ 10:57 am:

They do if they are not involved with rugby in SA anymore.

82. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:03 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) @ 11:02 am:

“The BULLS team had a change from a coach that they idolised, to Ludeke. ”

A change of coach. Mmmmmmm….

Did they have something in common with the Boks then? :wink:

83. onerb onerb says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:05 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:55 am:

Did you noice that the Bulls coach had 6 weeks to prepare for the S14 and rassie? Since July 2007? No? Does that not make a difference?

84. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:07 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 11:03 am:

Nee Donner, ons praat nou van Heyneke Meyer. JY het hom kak gegee! :realangry:

Later, ek gaan Dronkwordspruit, ekskuus ek bedoel Bronkhorstspruit toe!

85. onerb onerb says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:07 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:57 am:

He will be measured by results. And if he want to make controvercial selections we will come down even harder on him. Same would’ve been the case with Meyer.

86. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:09 am Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb @ 11:01 am:

Yes I do. Not because of the colour ingredient, but because it has put POCs that deservedly and on merit get appointed in a postion where they are labeled as quotas.

I once worked with a lady (POC) and she was looking for another job. I then asked her why she doesn’t apply with one of the big insurance firms. Her reply: “I don’t want to be seen as a AA appointment”. And believe me she wasn’t. She was fucking excellent in her work.

So I believe that AA has given people the opportunity to pin a quota label on anyone that they want to if it fits them.

87. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:09 am Reply to this comment

What I like about the Big Joe selection is that PdV is going with brains in the run on team. I think that JvN has more upstairs than Spies and Kanko put together. The other 2 are awesome athletes but JvN brings that little extra leadership and cleverness that Skinstad use to have when he was on form.

88. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:11 am Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb @ 11:07 am:

If he is measured on results, then why are we having this discussion? He has won 3 out of 3?

Save the ammunition for the expected bad results then.

89. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:11 am Reply to this comment

Wel, as hy ná die toets
    weet Jantjes en Jacobs
    en Ndungane en #46 is
    kakslegte keuses teen
    die All Blacks dan vorder
    ons darem dalk so bietjie.

Aan die voorry kan hy fkl doen.

90. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:12 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 11:09 am:

Exactly. :job:

91. onerb onerb says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:13 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 11:00 am:

Did you speak to WP players or over the whole spectrum?

92. onerb onerb says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:15 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 11:02 am:

So we are actually talking of nobodies here?

93. Morné Morneno says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:18 am Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb @ 11:13 am:

The whole spectrum.

I actually met and chatted to more players while in Nam than in SA!

But given my work at one stage, I was lucky enough to meet players from all over the show.

94. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:18 am Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb @ 11:15 am:

No. We are talking of players that decided to continue their careers overseas. They are not nobodies, they just made a career decision. Same as BJ, Liebenberg, etc.

95. onerb onerb says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:19 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 11:11 am:

That’s what we are doing :)

What did Pdiv expect? That the supporters will say nothing if he promises 10 out of 15 poc’s?(not that it is not possible, just not realistic at this stage). And that the media is gunning him because the “Black coach” is now going to ruin rugby(his own words).

All the attention he is getting he put on himself.

96. onerb onerb says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:21 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 11:18 am:

Well I can’t see him working with too many quality known players.

He coached the falcons and age group level. So all those (age group) players will still be in the system? No?

97. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:29 am Reply to this comment

Ok, lets get back to that forward/backward pass debate :muahaha:

98. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:36 am Reply to this comment

OH and the Tour de France also starts this weekend!

:wave: :wave:

99. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:37 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 11:29 am:

Yes, please!
    Where is Brand when we
    need him?

:fishing:

100. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:38 am Reply to this comment

Reply to wiLLem @ 11:36 am:

My plan for the weekend:
    Bokke v Nz
    France C v Aus
    Wp v Staat
    Bulls v Drainfish
    :wave: :wave:

101. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:38 am Reply to this comment

Reply to wiLLem @ 11:36 am:

Tour de Farce fietsry

Gruntingdon tennis

Daar is seker nog iewers ‘n
    tappets en tyres ook?

102. The MindBok The Brand says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:40 am Reply to this comment

“And if they get rattled the result will not be dependent on a forward pass.”

It WAS NO forward pass – it was physics.

How many time do you have to hear this before it does not make sense anymore???

103. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:48 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 11:38 am:

hehehe- My saturday lOOks the same Boet

Then Sunday afternOOne!

yuMMy!

the silverBuLLets to take on the redDonkies!

TdF starts-

:thumbup:

104. The MindBok The Brand says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:49 am Reply to this comment

“I watched Springbok Saga last night and what struck me immediately is the type of rugby that was played in 96. The Boks had some close losses that year, but atleast the rugby was of high quality. Everything was done at speed.”

And 60% of all the passes was forward because of physics

Bwhahahahaaaaaaa :muahaha:

105. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:50 am Reply to this comment

HOEZIT BRAND?

106. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:

Reply to wiLLem @ 11:48 am:

Sunday belongs to the wife :noshake:

We will be cycling or mountain climbing or some :poop:

I would rather go :fishing:

107. Deon Donner says:

Reply to Boertjie @ 11:38 am:

Yip Ferrari to kick some McLaren butt.

Afkop Hamilton to loose his cool completely

108. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 11:53 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 11:50 am:

hehehe- luckily the kids are keeping us @ home!

but the blOOdy Wii is sometimes a problem- I must fix that cable…..

Reply to Donner @ 11:50 am:

:doemprofete:

109. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 12:00 pm Reply to this comment

While on other sport

Beijing 2008 – Blade runner fails to make standard
    Eurosport – Thu, 03 Jul 10:46:00 2008

Double amputee Oscar Pistorius failed in his first bid to reach the Olympic 400 metres qualification time at an athletics meeting.

More Stories’Blade Runner’ wins Olympic appeal
    The South African, who runs with carbon fibre blades attached below the knees, is entitled to compete against able-bodied runners following a Court of Arbitration for Sport ruling in May.

The 21-year-old needed to clock 45.55 to qualify for the individual race at next month’s Beijing Games but instead ran 47.78 to finish fourth.

He has another chance to reach the mark at the Rome Golden Gala on July 11 and at a meeting in Lucerne five days later after Athletics South Africa gave him extra time to try to qualify.

“I am a bit disappointed. I didn’t expect to be wonderful but I didn’t expect to be this bad,” Pistorius said.

“But I have to be realistic about it. I haven’t run in about a year.”

The South African, winner of the 200 gold and 100 bronze at the 2004 Athens Paralympics, may still be able to run in his country’s relay team in Beijing even if he does not manage the individual time.

Go Boet!

:respek:

:wave:

110. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 12:03 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to wiLLem @ 12:00 pm:

Just received your email.

Shocking. If average out then from 2001 to 2006 an average of 100 families per month took the leap.

Can that be right? 8O

111. The MindBok The Brand says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 12:05 pm Reply to this comment

Magtig maar julle kan kak praat – it took me ages to scan through most !!!

Kom ons praat oor wanneer ‘n agtertoe paas vorentoe is
    en
    en
    n vorentoe pass agter toe is !!!

112. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 12:08 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 12:03 pm:

They should be capable enough with stats!

its not a migration anymore- but an Exodus!

Some okes should feel very satisfied! :realangry: :noshake:

113. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 12:08 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to The Brand @ 12:05 pm:

Ons wou jou laat tuis voel. :wink:

114. The MindBok The Brand says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 12:10 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 12:08 pm:

:muahaha: :muahaha: :muahaha:
    :rule9:

115. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 12:10 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to wiLLem @ 12:08 pm:

That is an eye opener.

I wonder if the government will be looking at that.

The worst I heard before this was a moving co saying 40 families a month

116. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 12:48 pm Reply to this comment

Hello clowns,

My opinion:

(what do you mean you did not ask for it?)

I dont mind the selections as such. Pieter will not sacrifice his own career to keep Luke in the mix against the Kiwis so he rates the player and that is his prerogative as coach.

What worries me however is the game plan or lack of it.

South African people like structure, authority and discipline. We live our lives that way (well I dont but most do) and we play rugby that way. Why on earth change it?

Viljoen tried 100% the same thing. “we play the situation” was his buzzword as well. So we played the situation that day in Durban against the French which allowed Paulse to score the fastest try in test rugby from kick off. But we lost the game.

Under White we never played great rugby BUT

1) we won more often than not.
    2) we won when it mattered.

New Zealand plays greatr rugby and has been doing so for a long time. In fact they hardly ever lose, but they do not win when it matters most.

White knew this apsect of South African life and applied it to our rugby. I feel PdV is missing the point but lets see if some results will shange his mind.

Go Bokke, you have my support as loud as always.

117. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 12:51 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 12:48 pm:

hehehe

Howzit Shields

long time no Shields!

118. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 1:02 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 12:48 pm:

South African people like structure, authority and discipline.
    =========
    Past tense. It all changed in 1994,
    especially the bit about discipline.

So now having Metro Police shooting
    on police in broad daylight does not
    even make headlines.

119. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 1:16 pm Reply to this comment

“South African people like structure”

Yes it is frustrating.

It is a pity that the only time people do not follow those principles is when you tell them: Gaan :poop:

:-)

120. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 1:23 pm Reply to this comment

“I dont mind the selections as such. Pieter will not sacrifice his own career to keep Luke in the mix against the Kiwis so he rates the player and that is his prerogative as coach.”

Try explaining that to some. :roll:

As for the gameplan. The gameplan in the first test was a hybrid between conservative and open. That was his “banker”.

They then knew exactly what they were up against and experimented in the second and third. That is why you will see that in the 2nd Wales test they went a bit more conservative after falling behind and made sure they close out the game and win.

In the Italy test they first close it out and made sure they built up a nice cushion and then started to open up the game. With all the new players however and Frans Steyn at 10, it didn’t come off that well.

I do not think the PdV will go for a open game plan against the ABs. More conservative, but also asking the players to keep their eyes open and think (something Jake didn’t want them to do).

In any case that is what I would have done in broad strokes if I was PdV.

121. sharks30 says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 1:36 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Jt @ 9:25Am

I supported the Bokke in the 70′s and 80′s :yours: and did so until this team has been announced :poop:

Reply to Bekke @9:26am

Go All Blacks!!!Lets put 50 against these
    ========================================
    plonkers and their Quota coach !
    ================================
    Cant agree more with you i am now sick and tired of this Quota shit , after this weekend they will have to have n rethink Ruan gets left out for Ricky and Bolla , Bj for Mujati , Steyn on the bench Adi starts
    F.ck them all we will have the last laugh by the way this Jt Character sounds like one of those objectors was to scared , while the rest of us defended our country bloody asshole the rest is :censored:

122. sharks30 says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 1:38 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 1:02 Pm

Cannot agree with you more

123. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 1:44 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to sharks30 @ 1:36 pm:

:blah:

124. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 1:47 pm Reply to this comment

HALT!!!!!

Guys please attack the principle, not the man. No need to get personal.

Please!!!!!! :cry:

OK :em67:

125. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 1:50 pm Reply to this comment

I’ll :pill:

Make beer not war 8)

126. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 2:03 pm Reply to this comment

Boer, our society is in a huff precisely because our government do not apply strict boundaries anymore. I dont think South African know what to do with freedom and that goes for white and black.

Donner I think you are describing the ideal player and team when you speak of one that can turn to switch from conservatve to open as they see it. Hell perhaps the French can do this but eve NZ struggles. Perhaps we should move toward the ‘offence/defence’ structure employed in American Football.

To tell a flamboyant player to ‘make it tight’ is in my mind not feasable. To tell Bakkies to ‘let loose’ simply means he goes into the backline to fish for ther ball.

Playing the situation or playing with flair etc. does not give the forwards license to hang around on the wing. For the Stormers in the Super 14 this might work great but international rugby I fear is by defintion more conservative.

Take Habana’s try in Perth in 2006 under White as an example. We played really stiff rugby under white yet the players ‘played the situation’ from their own 22 and Habs scored. Good players will always see this gap.

But to shout to the world about the champagne rugby you plan to play I fear is simply not do-able in the saffa context.

Hope I am wrong.

127. Kietie_Lions KietieCat says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 2:08 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to sharks30 @ 1:36 pm:

Sharks30, Francois Steyn OPTED to play 10, he will not be picked before Butch, deal with it. Ruan is NOWHERE near his old form and I think Ricky in the absence of Fourie is the way to go. I agree about BJ, but there is not much to do about it. Maybe snorre does not rate him, like Luke and Big Joe was not rated by White. A coach will have players around him that make him comfortable, if he falls on his sword, he will fall on his sword…

So who else do you want to complain about? This team MAY have one or two quotas in, but you can’t point them out as the first tier and second tier players (BJ vs Mujati) are very close on talent.

128. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 2:19 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to KietieCat @ 2:08 pm:

Big Joe was not rated by White
    ==========
    Remember, Big Joe had a permanent
    back injury. Got sacked by WP for
    not delivering. Got sacked from his
    overseas club for arriving injured.

Then the fairy waved her wand and
    PRESTO! Injury healed!

129. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 2:20 pm Reply to this comment

well shark30 I propose you move to Kiwiland then and face the kak weather. Personally I would prefer to live in Oz but I know that it will hurt to support Ozzie sport.

But to sit here and talk bullocks about not supporting the Boks is so cape flats 1980′s.

To stick to my argument: If PdV really wants to play a more open game then his selection of flair players (who mostly happen to be black) makes sense. If we really want the country to play a more open game then you need to look at ‘black’ rugby and build a blueprint of how to make it competative.

Danie Craven I believe understood the nature of the boerseun (and the odd soutpiel) and moulded their characteristics into something effective on the rugby field.

Perhaps a ‘transformed’ rugby recipy can also work and even work better. Our sevens team seems to be onto something.

However if the ‘new’ way of approaching the game is not a successful as the old one then we need to have the political balls to acknowledge this.

Personally I can accept a ‘hybrid’ model but then we need to make this rugby policy and pursue it and mould it for at least 10 years before we judge.

SA rugby? A ten year visionary plan? Are you havin’ a laugh!

130. Kietie_Lions KietieCat says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 2:20 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 2:19 pm:

Fair enough, but point still stands that some coaches favour some players over the others.

131. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 2:31 pm Reply to this comment

Kietiekat of course coaches favour players over others? hell men favour some women over others? companies favour some employees over others?

In Springbok rugby the coach and his selectors are the gatekeepers of merit. They define merit. Not the fans, not the stats, not the media. Why is this so hard to understand?

132. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 2:37 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 2:03 pm:

Boer, our society is in a huff precisely because our government do not apply strict boundaries anymore. I dont think South African know what to do with freedom and that goes for white and black.
    =======
    Absolutely correct.
    The example should come from the
    authorities, i.e. goverment and
    law enforcement.
    The reverse is happening: they are
    leading the way in corruption and
    lack of work ethic.

But let’s rather stick to rugby –
    where Komphela last week queried
    this “Peter Heyneke” coach in
    parliament.
    :cuckoo:

133. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 2:48 pm Reply to this comment

To use Irvin Khoza’s frame of reference and in the cotext of his remarks, Khompela behaves like a real kaffer when he utters such stupidities.

134. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 2:54 pm Reply to this comment

Donner said: “I dont mind the selections as such. Pieter will not sacrifice his own career to keep Luke in the mix against the Kiwis so he rates the player and that is his prerogative as coach.�

Try explaining that to some.

Donner, some people are just too stupid to follow common sense. Else why would a stupid :censored: like Mugabe continues with his :poop: Wolfie is just too stupid – full stop. How are you going to motivate his chopping and changing after this game??

135. The MindBok The Brand says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 2:57 pm Reply to this comment

“But let’s rather stick to rugby -
    where Komphela last week queried
    this “Peter Heyneke� coach in
    parliament.
    :cuckoo:”

Is jy ernstig !!!

136. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 2:58 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 2:54 pm:

Rotation policy which he has announced before. he did however announce a lot ;-)

137. The MindBok The Brand says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 2:58 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 2:48 pm:

Bwhahahaha

coming from you – it’s fine

bwhahahaahaaaa

138. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 3:06 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to The Brand @ 2:57 pm:

Jip – it’s true.

Must be the Afrikaans names that
    confuses him, a la Os Snyman.

But he’s a fortunate :asshole: -
    Hy is te fkn onnosel om te weet
    wanneer hy sy naam :em72: maak.

139. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 3:16 pm Reply to this comment

if ever there was going to be a kicking test this is it. I still rue that we dont have Perce AND jantjies AND Steyn with their respective kicking games on the field. This would force Carter to kick some out and give us the line-out option but I fear with Ndugane and Jacobs we have that weakness. Hell this backline on a dry field will be very effective.

Yes we still have those options on the bench I suppose. Do you okes think PdV would instruct them to try and run it at the start and if it fails bring on his kick masters?

140. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 3:32 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 3:16 pm:

He should have started
    with his kick masters.
    This is not a Test against
    some piss and paraffin oppo
    like the Welsh and the Pastas.

But hopefully he’ll learn.

Remember, it’s his very first
    trip of any sort Down Under.

141. Bekke Bekke says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 3:45 pm Reply to this comment

Boertjie, where did you get that curry pile of shyte?

142. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 3:47 pm Reply to this comment

Brussow a WP worry
    03/07/2008 11:42:56

Cape Town. – Allister Coetzee has identified Cheetahs flanker Heinrich Brussow as the biggest single threat to his side in Saturday’s Absa Currie Cup rugby fixture at Newlands.

The Free State Cheetahs’ flank is held in such high esteem by the Western Province coach that he has compared him to All Black Richie McCaw, generally regarded as the world’s best openside flanker.

“The Super 14 statistics will show Heinrich Brussow is even better than Richie McCaw. That gives one an idea of how effective Brussow is on the ground,” said Coetzee, who was expressing his thoughts ahead of WP’s clash against the unbeaten Cheetahs on Saturday.

“He does not mind sticking his head in whenever there’s an opportunity to forage. He has the technique and skills to steal the ball.”

Coetzee said his team will be equipped to counter the Brussow “factor” to ensure that efforts to recycle the ball through the phases did not come unstuck. “We got plans to get the ball on our terms. We’ll be very aware of their stealers. There’s also Hendro Scholtz, who with Brussow are a force to be reckoned with. They are real foragers on the ground and were excellent in the Super 14 competition.

“We’ll be looking to Pieter Myburgh to look after the battle at the breakdown points. It will be a big challenge for Myburgh, AJ (Venter) and Flo (Francois Louw).” Having worked with former Springbok World Cup-winning coach Jake White it came as no surprise when Coetzee said
    he did not believe certain players have specialist fetcher roles to play.

“I don’t believe in fetchers and not fetchers,” Coetzee explained. Everybody in this WP team has got to play to the ball when he’s closest to the breakdown to try and steal the ball. With the dynamics
    of my team the guy closest to the ball will be my fetcher.”

Coetzee said that the weather forecast was 80% plus for rain on match day. “With that forecast you can see that kicking will be a huge factor. It’s going to be very important in those conditions,” said Coetzee.

“When we kick the ball we kick it to get it back. Our match strategy includes a chase line and a chase structure.” The Cheetahs side for Saturday’s Newlands clash shows one change, which Coetzee feels has come about because of the expected weather conditions. The lone change is that of Hendrik Meyer for JW Jonker in midfield.

“By the look of things the Cheetahs have also looked at the weather, and that’s why they have Hendrik Meyer at No 13,” said Coetzee. “He’s a 12 not a 13, so they’re probably trying to be more direct because of the weather.

“He’s an inside centre and very physical. It’s says a lot that they’re playing him on Saturday at outside centre.”

Jonker offers greater skills as a centre while Meyer is far more direct in his approach and his presence suggests Cheetahs coach Naka Drotske, is going to favour a no-frills game plan against WP, who under Coetzee are itching to play running rugby in the best traditions of Province rugby. – Sapa

Pity CoachDiv havent shared a papsak & gatsby wiFF Coetsee …. he could have learned something!

143. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 3:50 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 3:45 pm:

gEEz- interpret that ouTTa context and :lol:

put the mouse on the smily or rightclick onda smile and properties

then use the code!

its em50 but with the :****: format

:em50:

144. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 3:53 pm Reply to this comment

PS

Now use the knowledge wisely and sparingly!

GO BOKKE!

:boks:

145. sharks30 says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 3:58 pm Reply to this comment

I will resume my part of the debate with our bleeding heart liberals after the test . To say he is going to rotate is :soek: it is just another way of saying “we are experimenting with the black okes to keep all these Libs happy if they dont make it we will replace them with whites who will make it ” And Kietiekat to say Steyn opted to play 10 is :poop:all he said was that he prefers that position he played centre in the world cup and if you read carefully i said he should play in Jacobs place not Butch’s , I truly dont care who snorre rates compared to Jake , Jake won the world cup and Snorre not Jake was not n transformation coach he picked on merit Black or White why do you think hes not coach anymore ? Watch as soon as the shit hits the fan they will bring on the white guys on the bench most probably before half time . Newbokshields never been to the Cape Flats live in Debben 8)

146. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 3:58 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 3:45 pm:

em72 tussen : : gee
    vir jou :em72:

Hou net jou cursor op die smiley
    om te sien wat die kode is.

147. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 4:00 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 3:58 pm:

So Oudste

Die skAApnek bredie sin lyk so? :poop:

148. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 4:04 pm Reply to this comment

Kan ons nie vir Stan
    terugkry nie?

149. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 4:05 pm Reply to this comment

Wellington. – Lock Ali Williams remains a touch-and-go prospect for an All Blacks rugby side bracing themselves for a torrid forward battle against South Africa in wintry Wellington on Saturday.

Williams sent a scare through the camp when he went down clutching his already-sore ankle at training Thursday afternoon after landing awkwardly during a lineout drill, reports the NZ Herald website. He eventually resumed and completed a session in which he otherwise appeared unaffected as the teams continued preparations for the opening Tri-Nations test of the season.

An All Blacks spokesman said Williams’ status was unchanged and the 49-test forward’s sprain would be assessed Friday by medical staff as planned.

With Williams a pivotal figure to combat the Springboks’ lineout, it was a chilling moment for the All Blacks on another cold, wet day in the capital. Conditions threaten to turn the match at Westpac Stadium into a slog.

Rain and temperatures as low as 4degC are forecast for the night of the test and All Blacks assistant coach Wayne Smith admits they are preparing for something similar to the freezing season-opening test against Ireland at the same venue last month.

“But nothing changes really, to beat the ‘Boks anyway you have to compete well up front,” he said.

“They are not the sort of team you can lose the forward battle and beat, they tend to smother you.” Smith agreed the Ireland test, won 21-11 and described by players as the coldest game they had ever
    played, was an excellent reference point in preparations this week.

“At least we have played under it and probably know what it is going to be like, and we are probably better prepared. “We’ve looked at South Africa with a mind to this sort of weather happening.”

While the forward battle will be pivotal, the performance of halfback Andy Ellis and first five-eighth Daniel Carter will also set the tone.

Error free link work and accurate kicking was a must and Carter was in the mood to deliver, Smith said. “I think he is in the best form I have seen him in, probably since ’05. So this sort of weather, if it is bad, tends to reward skilled players.

“He and Andy Ellis are skilled players. And they are bright players, hopefully they will make an impact.” Smith sensed an air of determination from his team this week, with the younger players
    particularly impressive.

All of that will be needed against their world champion opponents who are loaded with experience and sky high on confidence after 13 successive test wins.

“It is a new (All Blacks) team and we are green in some areas. We are just looking for attitude and enthusiasm to overcome that,” Smith said.

“It’s really hard to assimilate what a Tri-Nations test match against the ‘Boks is going to be like in terms of physicality and in terms of intensity with some of the new guys.

“They have just got to experience it. We have tried to replicate it in our build up. We have had quite an intense week but I am sure the first few minutes are really going to tell on some players and we are going to have to adjust quickly.”

Possibly due to the weather, about 3 000 tickets remained unsold Thursday. – Sapa

150. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 4:06 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to wiLLem @ 4:00 pm:

Ja, so ‘n dag later.
    Dan is dit tyd vir ordentlik
    :em84:

151. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 4:07 pm Reply to this comment

hehehe

152. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 4:24 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Bekke @ 2:54 pm:

You should really check the quotation marks. I was quoting Shields and agreeing with him.

153. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 4:26 pm Reply to this comment

Just got a SMS from one of our lost Noot vir Noot friends:

“Wat is die ouens so anti PdV op die site? Nog steeds bang die swart gevaar bewys dat hulle eintlik nie so dom is soos ons dink nie?”

154. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 4:47 pm Reply to this comment

Nie anti nie – net oopkop.

Jy sal onthou dat Strooilie
    en Snake White baie meer
    kak gekry het.

Ek dink Snor s’n kom nog . . .

:wink:

155. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 5:04 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 4:47 pm:

Ja dis lekker om Bok coach te wees :im a idiot:

156. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 6:54 pm Reply to this comment

:em48:

157. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 6:57 pm Reply to this comment

ghostsite?

158. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 7:02 pm Reply to this comment

ghostsite.
    offski.

159. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 7:07 pm Reply to this comment

Hi Duiwel

How are things?

160. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 7:12 pm Reply to this comment

howzit Donner,
    moerbesig
    maar alles goed en self?
    check out sevrier-sports.com
    not the hottest site on the net yet
    by far
    but its up and running
    can only go better.
    Both le-conty and sevrier-sports are
    going into full summer.
    Besig boet.
    lang ure.
    only the downhill saves me.

161. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 7:16 pm Reply to this comment

b
    u
    t
    c
    h
    s
    p
    e
    e
    l
    s
    o
    o
    s
    n
    p
    o
    e
    p
    o
    l.

162. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 7:16 pm Reply to this comment

Hallo Duiwel.

Gaan dit goed?

163. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 7:17 pm Reply to this comment

offski
    annerdag
    mooistap

164. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 7:18 pm Reply to this comment

Hzit doep,
    ja besig boet
    en self?

165. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 7:18 pm Reply to this comment

Gaan gou rokie maak,
    julle ouens skryf elke tien minute
    bliksems

166. Deon Donner says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 7:19 pm Reply to this comment

WEl dit hou jou uit die kwaad uit.

167. Cosa die BLOUBOK Cosa sê wiepie bo (fkn Lobberts!) says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 7:23 pm Reply to this comment

Hi, Duiwel, moet nou nie fakawe nie, praat met my!

168. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 7:27 pm Reply to this comment

nee Coca
    nog hier,
    hey,ons ek gaan oct weer in carron valley naby stirling visvang
    highlandtrout.com,wil jy saamkom?

169. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 7:28 pm Reply to this comment

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
    ghostsite

170. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    July 3rd, 2008 at 7:29 pm Reply to this comment