Bok Coach in firing line

August 13, 2008
Posted by Deon

Peter de Villiers finds himself in the political firing line because of the composition of the South African rugby team to play New Zealand in a Tri-Nations Test here at Newlands on Saturday.

Stephen Nell writes for Die Burger that the Springbok coach has been severely criticised because Ricky Januarie and Conrad Jantjes have been replaced by Fourie du Preez and Percy Montgomery.

Cedrick Frolick, vice-chairperson of the parliamentary sport portfolio committee, on Tuesday expressed his dissatisfaction in no vague terms.

“It was Ricky who helped make history in the House of Pain,” Frolick said, referring to the scrumhalf’s memorable recent try that enabled the Springboks to win, for the first time in history, a Test match in Dunedin.

“Personally, I think Ricky has proved himself as South Africa’s leading scrumhalf.

“Is it Fourie’s World Cup status that now elevates him above Ricky. In my view, Fourie has done nothing to justify a place in the starting lineup,” Frolick said.

“Conrad Jantjes is, on present form, the No 1 fullback. It is worrying that people make decisions with their heart to give someone (Montgomery) his 100th Test cap.”

Ability to transform

Frolick is concerned that the Springbok coach is increasingly selecting stalwarts from the era of his predecessor, Jake White.

“This creates questions about where we are heading,” Frolick said.

“I know Peter wants to win the Tri-Nations but he must realise he will be measured according to his ability to transform the team and to make it representative of the country’s population for the 2011 World Cup.

“We have also seen nothing of the new type of rugby that Peter has spoken of.

“It is interesting that coloureds and blacks traditionally support the All Blacks when they play at Newlands.

“Is the team that has been selected of such a nature that it will ensure the support of most South Africans.

“We cannot repeat the cycle of the White era. We must build for 2011.

“It is easy to fall into a comfort zone. Peter should be reminded of his mandate.

“It’s not all about transformation but it (transformation) is an important part of it. Not one black player has let South Africa down this year.”

Frolick said he was “hoping and trusting” that De Villiers knew what he was doing. It was time to see the coach’s initial thinking being realised on the field.

Frolick praised De Villiers earlier this year when a record seven black players were selected for the SA run-on team against Wales.

Four black players have been included in the starting XV for this week’s Test. They are wings JP Pietersen and Bryan Habana, centre Adrian Jacobs and prop forward Tendai Mtawarira. A fifth, Januarie, is among the substitutes.

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

136 Comments

1. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:16 pm Reply to this comment

I wonder if he will get the same support as Jake.

Here is to hoping.

Anyway, we all know Frolick is a chop, so who cares what he thinks.

2. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:21 pm Reply to this comment

Wasn’t there a flyhalf named Frolick in the WP at one stage. Suppose to be the next saviour.

I guess he became friends with Rhylands. :twisted:

3. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:27 pm Reply to this comment

“I know Peter wants to win the Tri-Nations but he must realise he will be measured according to his ability to transform the team and to make it representative of the country’s population for the 2011 World Cup.”
    ============
    Why not make it representative of
    the talent we have – ignoring race?
    Fokkit, hierdie man is GIF. Komphela
    is ‘n amateur!
    “Peter should be reminded of his mandate.”
    ============
    Well, there you have it!

4. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:28 pm Reply to this comment

“It is easy to fall into a comfort zone. Peter should be reminded of his mandate. ”

His mandate is to win and build on what is there. If you were a Bok supporter, you would realise that.

5. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS :doemprofete: says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:28 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:16 pm:

Jake got nothing but flack Donner and you know that

6. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:29 pm Reply to this comment

“to make it representative of the country’s population for the 2011 World Cup.”

And next you will ask him to show support for the new president by committing fraud?

7. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:30 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to DavidS :doemprofete: @ 10:28 pm:

Not from the supporters when it came to this aspect. :twisted:

8. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:33 pm Reply to this comment

“Four black players have been included in the starting XV for this week’s Test. They are wings JP Pietersen and Bryan Habana, centre Adrian Jacobs and prop forward Tendai Mtawarira. A fifth, Januarie, is among the substitutes. ”

Except for Beast I don’t think any of those are actually black. And Jantjes is also on the bench.

9. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:35 pm Reply to this comment

To think that Frolick gets paid to say :poop: like this. That is nothing short of robbery.

10. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:36 pm Reply to this comment

And right on cue, just before the most important match of the 3N a journo runs a story of some big mouth politician firing off a salvo.

What a wanker.

11. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:36 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:33 pm:

Ja, maar jy weet mos mense soos
    Frolick is swart wanneer dit hulle
    pas.

En hy droom: die All Flats sal die
    Kiwi’s ondersteun selfs al is die
    hele Bok-span bruin. Nie swart nie,
    bruin.

12. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT - :pdv: says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:38 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 10:36 pm:

If I were SA coach I would have a media black-out for the season! Media = :asshole:

13. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:38 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 10:36 pm:

He’s doing his job, and he’s doing
    it well.
    It is very important to unmask
    clowns like Frohlick in the public
    domain.

14. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT - :pdv: says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:42 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:38 pm:

The other side of the coin is to ignore these plonkers and do not give their views the light of day. :?

15. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:42 pm Reply to this comment

I agree, don;t shoot the messenger.

We need to know of the :whatever: and people will realise that the initial thoughts of PdV were wrong.

He will fight these guys off easily. They are playing with fire.

16. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:43 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT – :pdv: @ 10:42 pm:

He will find somebody to air his views. Rather let it be a credible journalist than some wannabee.

17. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:44 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT – :pdv: @ 10:42 pm:

And let the public believe
    they are competent?

:em26:

There is much more to be read
    between the lines of this article.

18. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT - :pdv: says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:45 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:43 pm:

I guess the Bokke are use to this type of kak by now but IMO it is still such a big distraction to the preparations of the Bokke, same with the way the cricket was handled regarding Ontong and Langenfeld.

19. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT - :pdv: says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:46 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:44 pm:

ah my man that reads between the lines especially when it comes from PdV :shake:

:soek: :pot:

20. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:47 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT – :pdv: @ 10:45 pm:

It was handled in the correct
    and open way. Be thankful of
    a free press.

At least they got rid of that
    racist buffoon Arendse’s
    veto in team selection.

21. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:47 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT – :pdv: @ 10:45 pm:

I think the players don’t even bother with this :poop: .

And to be honest I reaaly don’t think PdV will give stuff like this even half the amount of attention, Jake might have given it.

This guy is making a fool of himself

22. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:48 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT – :pdv: @ 10:46 pm:

Nope, trying to read between
    the bursts of helium, separating
    the corn from the chaff.

23. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT - :pdv: says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:49 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:47 pm:

in that case – good!

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:47 pm:

probably right. :?

24. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:50 pm Reply to this comment

This guy is making a fool of himself
    ========
    Correction: He was born a fool.

25. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:50 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:48 pm:

But you are looking for corn. They are harvesting wheat!!! :wink:

26. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT - :pdv: says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:53 pm Reply to this comment

Ok ladies, I am off! Read you annerdag :roll:

:pdv:

27. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:53 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:50 pm:

Hehehe. Corny.
    Jou Ingels kom aan :wink:

28. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:54 pm Reply to this comment

Nag, JT.
    Maak seker jy lees more se
    koerant, sodat jy weet wat
    in die wêreld gebeur.

29. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:55 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT – :pdv: @ 10:53 pm:

Cheers JT.

I guess we will have alot to read tomorrow morning with bryce having this topic to himself from 01h00. :twisted:

30. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT - :pdv: says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:55 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:54 pm:

I only watch Aljezeera and the news paper here only talk kak!

31. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:57 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT – :pdv: @ 10:55 pm:

:lol: :lol:

So what is Osama up to these days? Should we build shelters?

32. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT - :pdv: says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:57 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT – :pdv: @ 10:55 pm:

oh and sometimes it gets too one sided I switch to fox for a few mnutes just to get the balance ;-)

33. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:58 pm Reply to this comment

Oh :poop: , maybe I should delete that comment. Don’t want the CIA to raid the server room in Germany or worse, pitch up at JT’s front door. :-)

34. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:59 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT – :pdv: @ 10:57 pm:

Was it Fox that ran
    circles around CNN with 9/11?

Hell, that was an eye opener!

35. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT - :pdv: says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 10:59 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:58 pm:

let them come :cuss:
    : bigfinger:

36. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 11:02 pm Reply to this comment

JT,

I remember some 2 years ago, we had a package deliver to Ras. But before hand we sent some emails to warn him. Dawie and me, got a bit naughty to the stage that it seems Ras was really worried. Very much in the same line as my post above.

Good ole times.

37. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 11:02 pm Reply to this comment

Anyway

:cheers:

Sleep tight, don’t let the bedbugs bite.

38. Deon Donner says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 11:03 pm Reply to this comment

Cheers Boerman.

39. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 12th, 2008 at 11:12 pm Reply to this comment

:em27:

Handing over to BRYCE.

40. Bongani 006.5 Bongani BEE Bok says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 12:07 am Reply to this comment

blah blah blah humbug …. some name calling first – Cedric is a prize 2868. The majority of South Africans support winners – you really should just fade on into the comfortable parliament benches and dream about the days when you and your ilk could score braai money from your travel vouchers. Anway :respek: to the “Snormeister” … it’s not always pretty but we have some decent results … :pdv:

41. HO HO says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 12:27 am Reply to this comment

Who is exactly Cedric Frolick? 8O

Which knowledge of rugby has this man? 8O

Who is he to criticise Snor choices? 8O

Is this man very close to that genius whose name is Butana Khompela? : bigfinger:

How can he claim that Enrico is better than Fourie just for the former scoring the winning try in Dunedin?

Does this man know that Snor, above all, was appointed to take over from Jake’s masterpiece (i.e. the 2007 RWC triumph) to go on winning and topping the world rugby ranking?

Does this man know that in 1996 one of Mandela’s Ministers, Trevor Manuel, told to the SA media that for the incoming All Blacks’ tour to the Republiek he was going to support the foreigners instead of Markgraaff’s Boks?
    And in doing so he confirmed that politicians are the first to put hurdles on the Boks’ road?
    And not certainly the selectors by choosing only four non-Whites and then adding three more on to the bench for next Saturday’s vital clash?

Anyway we must respect this man’s opinions.

We have all the rights to agree or disagree with him.

On Saturday the only matter that will count is Die Bokke’s likely victory against the Old Enemy…

GO BOKKE!!!
    NONE WILL STOP US!!! :boks:

42. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 2:14 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:55 pm:

: bigfinger: :brownie: :muahaha:

Really is a chop this guy…

He wants the ‘population’ represented by 2011… that will mean only 2 or 3 cullids in the side won’t it?

PDV drops one from the required 5 starts, yet retains the 7 (plus Luke) and he still starts moaning…

It’s insulting to PDV and the entire team particularly those WP’s playing the test t their home ground!

Really don’t give a stuff about Frollick… but those Capeys that support the All Blacks on Saturday over RJ, Adi, Percy, Conrad, Luke, JDV, etc need a smack in the Gob!

43. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 2:20 am Reply to this comment

On Inside Rugby the other night the Aussies were talking about how ludicrous all the behind the scenes crap is the Boks and coaching staff have to deal with… with Phil Kearns saying they actually seem to thrive on it…

Let’s hope this is incentive to the 22…

Interesting… PDV announces a side I’d say the majority of us mug punters agree with being the strongest and this starts…

About time for the POC commentators and players/ex players start showing chumps like Frollick up and stop being so PC!

44. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 2:49 am Reply to this comment

‘repeat the cycle of the White era’

Yeah all the thousands of youtube clips of the winning/returning Bok’s show a country of fans of all shapes sizes, race united… that must suck for the likes of Frollick…

45. Timeo fyndraai says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 3:28 am Reply to this comment

So he thinks Jantjes and January are the better options.
    His opinion. He is entitled to it.
    It is just as far-out as those who think Matfield is not good enough.

46. Timeo fyndraai says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 3:29 am Reply to this comment

Januarie (i guess)

47. Timeo fyndraai says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 3:30 am Reply to this comment

What is more interesting to me is this “mandate” that he refers to.
    I wonder if Oregan Hoskins can give us some details on that?

48. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 4:06 am Reply to this comment

Reply to fyndraai @ 3:28 am:

I doubt anyone thinks Matfield isn’t good enough… the issue is he needs to pull finger and make more tackles hit more rucks and spend less time preventing quick ball from reaching our speedsters on the wing… particularly this weekend…

49. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 4:07 am Reply to this comment

Reply to fyndraai @ 3:30 am:

Yep seems he let the ‘M’ slip… what a monkey!

50. HO HO says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 7:25 am Reply to this comment

Beijing 2008 Olympic Games
    Baseball Tournament
    August 13,2008
    First Round

Game No. 1
    Netherlands-Taiwan 0-5
    Winning pitcher: Chen Wei-Yin (1-0)
    Losing pitcher: Bergman David (0-1)
    No Home Runs scored

51. Morné Morneno says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 8:16 am Reply to this comment

I wonder if we can convince journalists not to even print this shit.

Because it is certainly not worth the paper it is printed on.

If we ignore them will they go away?

52. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 8:24 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 8:16 am:

It is as I said last night. This chop will find some or other wannabee journalist to give him a :soapbox: .

I would rather then prefer a credible journie like Steph write the stuff as they will know where to draw the line and also how to make Frolick look like the chop he is.

53. Morné Morneno says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 8:27 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 8:24 am:

Yeah but as Ollie mentioned; “Right on cue…”

And it simply is always like that. I get the feeling this guy and people like him just want attention and what better way to do it on the eve before one of the biggest tests of 2009?

Knowing his comments will unlock a massive amount of criticism and comments but then again – his job will be done.

That is why I said people like him should be ignored, and discussed in December when there is no rugby and we are bored.

I dont have time for people like him, so I won’t afford him that on this thread either.

54. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 8:37 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 8:27 am:

Nah i say give him the attention to keep him satisfied. If he doesn;t get the attention, he will maybe start with underhanded tactics behind the scenes that can cause damage.

This is a barking dog, not a biting one, so throw him a bone. It will shut him up for a while.

55. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 8:42 am Reply to this comment

You can see why the likes of NZ and Aus have every reason to pass comments on ‘puppets and the like’ with regards to RSA… our very own politicians give them all the info they need…

56. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 8:44 am Reply to this comment

Yet nobody will demand accountability for these chumps… nobody…

57. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 8:54 am Reply to this comment

:soapbox:

Lol… just found this one… was that put there for moi?

58. middles middles says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 9:00 am Reply to this comment

And so it begins……..

I wonder if this guy even watches rugby on a Saturday?
    :pity:

59. middles middles says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 9:01 am Reply to this comment

Jake must have a cynical twisted smile on his face when he reads that though. :pot: :fishing: :soek:

60. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 9:10 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:42 pm:

In a way you guys have a point that if one journalist doesn’t report it then another will. The otherside of the coin is that if the good journalist refuse to run this type of crap then only the crap journo’s will do it which means people will realise overtime that the journo is crap and ignore his work.

Of, course, if a good journo ran the story then he would take the time to balance the whole story out with what other people have to say about the issue as well and not just report verbatim what was said by a known extremeist on the matter.

61. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 9:17 am Reply to this comment

Reply to middles @ 9:01 am:

I think JW is thinking, “Been there, done that, got the cup.” :lol:

62. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 9:30 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 9:10 am:

reporting verbatim what he said is actually the best IMO. Don’t drag others into it and don’t try to soften up what he said. Show him for the fool he is.

His ramblings just shows that he knows very little about stuff like team dynamics.

For me it is hilarious that he says “We must build for 2011. ”

If he believed that, he should have gotten on PdV’s case after the team for the first test against Wales was named. If he wants to build to his dream of a representative team in 2011, there should have been more than 7 non-whites in the team for those first 3 matches.

Then add to that the fact that 3 of the 7 he is so proud of, is not even South Africans. Where is the transformation in that?

I guess he needs to spew the :poop: out in the media, otherwise he would choke on it.

63. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 9:35 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 9:30 am:

Maybe you’re right, I suppose there are different angles that can be taken. It just p’s me off that you read nothing from this guy about the olympic teams clothing cockup etc.

I am still pretty convinced that Frolick supports the AB’s and this is his way of helping them out.

64. CC-Sors Jan says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 9:52 am Reply to this comment

Frolick is a clown.

Because of January’s try against the AB’s he must be in the team for the next 200 years.

Didn’t his son played fullback for Eastern Cape under 19′s a year or two ago?

65. onerb onerb says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 9:58 am Reply to this comment

Ja ou Breyten fokken Paulse! On Monday night he said to a caller “ek hoop nie jy het nou bedoel dat daar kwotas is nie, want daar is nie en mense moet ophou om te dink daar is sulke kwotas toegelaat”(his words).

So what da faaak aar jou sayings now?

66. Deon Donner says:

Reply to Jan @ 9:52 am:

I think so, but he disappeared quicker than he appeared.

67. CC-Sors Jan says:

By the way the Olympics is a disaster. The clothing scam will never be mentioned. Go and read Animal Farm from George Orwell.

We are just not competitive.

Have a look at the soccer. They are spending millions per month just on the coach. There is still no results. There won’t ever be results.

68. onerb onerb says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:00 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 8:16 am:

Morne, I am sure that’s how we got banned from international sports in the past. Everybody just kept quiet and ignored it hey?

69. H.O. from work H.O. from work says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:01 am Reply to this comment

Baseball Tournament
    August 13,2008
    First Round

Game No. 2
    Canada-China 10-0
    Winning pitcher: Begg (1-0)
    Losing pitcher: Bu Tao (0-1)

Home Runs scored
    Thorman (Can) 1 HR, 3 pts
    Saunders (Can) 1 HR, 1 pt

70. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:02 am Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb @ 9:58 am:

If there is, PdV is obviously not paying much attention to it. :wink:

I think Breyton is right that there are no more official quota’s. Problem for me is that it has opened another can of worms. Now there is no benchmark and that opens the door for fools like Frolick to get on a :soapbox: even if there is 10 non-whites in the team.

71. onerb onerb says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:03 am Reply to this comment

There are still people out there buying the Son/Daily Sun so there will always be a place for crap journalists in this country.

72. CC-Sors Jan says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:04 am Reply to this comment

My main concern is that we are seeing a repitition of the past.

I will NEVER defend the past.

But the current clowns must realize that they are on the verge of leaving the moral high ground.

73. onerb onerb says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:05 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:02 am:

Then explain his mandate?

74. BreakingNewsSharksStealChewbaccaAfterMilleniumFalconRefuelsInBloem BeALegendJustLikeMeBeerLegendsRMadeInBarsNotMars says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:06 am Reply to this comment

Frolic Rhymes with

Collic

Die Die Die idiot :im a idiot:

ooe fok hier kom die

:swart gevaar:

75. onerb onerb says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:07 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Jan @ 10:04 am:

Jan I think that ship has already sailed. They are pushing the limits at the moment.

They are doing a very good job at increasing the odds for Brazil to host the 2010 SWC.

76. H.O. from work H.O. from work says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:08 am Reply to this comment

Cedrick Frolick is a public people in SA.

So it’s obvious that the Media give him attention, and accordingly room in their reports, whenever he makes a statement.

Media have all rights to report whatever they decide to do.

77. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:10 am Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb @ 10:05 am:

Which mandate? The one given to him by SA Rugby or the one that this fool thinks PdV should adhere too?

This fool is not paying PdV’s salary. He cannot fire PdV. He cannot cause the government to withdraw funding from SARU, because they don’t give any.

So the mandate according to him is just as much worth as the :poop: coming from his mouth.

Don’t worry the sky isn’t falling and there sure as hell isn’t a wolf outside.

78. CC-Sors Jan says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:12 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 9:58 am:

Shandre Frolick, Western Province has played Springbok 7′s in 2006-7.

79. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:21 am Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb @ 10:07 am:

You mean Australia…

80. H.O. from work H.O. from work says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:23 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:10 am:

But unfortunately he can put pressure, through his public position, to people like Oregan Hoskins and the SARU executive members…

81. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:27 am Reply to this comment

Reply to H.O. from work @ 10:23 am:

By doing what?

Climbing on a :soapbox: once in a while. Do you honestly think that the people supporting rugby gives a damn what this guy is saying?

82. onerb onerb says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:40 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:10 am:

So you say that he does not have to adhere to a mandate?

83. onerb onerb says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:41 am Reply to this comment

Donner, if there is a mandate, what is the chances of you guys getting hold of it?

84. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:42 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Jan @ 10:04 am:

Jan, do you think that Frolick ever was on the moral high ground or, if he was, that he even knew it?

85. onerb onerb says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:45 am Reply to this comment

Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 10:21 am:

Last I heard brazil was on standby. Could be wrong.

86. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:46 am Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb @ 10:40 am:

Definately not a mandate from Frolick.

I am sure there will be a mandate from SARU, but my guess will be that it would have been something they negotiated with him, not force on him.

I don;t think there is a chance in hell we willbe able to get hoold of something like that. That will be in his contract of employment.

87. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:49 am Reply to this comment

Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 10:21 am:

Nope Brazil is apparently now the next in line.

88. H.O. from work H.O. from work says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:56 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:27 am:

I hope Frolick’s word will be taken, everywhere, as told by a non-Rugby man.

But the danger they are taken as an ultimatum it’s a possibility..

The only way to smash Frolick’s statement is to beat Die Manne in Swart next Saturday

89. H.O. from work H.O. from work says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 11:05 am Reply to this comment

Brazil bid is for the 2014 Football World Cup.
    They are not ready yet with the new stadiums and many logistics.
    So it becomes very unlikely they can organize the 2010 event.

Considering FIFA’s historical hunger for money I have no doubt South Africa will host 2010 Football World Cup.
    After all FIFA criminal administrators cannot care less of South Africa social troubles or what people as Frolick quote and claim.
    FIFA criminals just need the money…

90. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 11:21 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:46 am:

No doubt it’ll be leaked in the next few weeks after Frollick’s ‘slip-up’…

Judging by the stats of past game and the ‘outburst’…

‘no less than 5 starting and 7 in the 22′ was correct… with X amount increase each year till 2011…

Who really cares as long as we end each year with a better avg win than the last coach…

91. onerb onerb says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 11:56 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:46 am:

So you cannot discard quotas then can you?

92. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 wiLLem says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 12:03 pm Reply to this comment

:nono: :boxing:

Dominee besoek Israel en kom op skare af.

“Wat gaan hier aan?” vra hy.

“Nee”, sê een ou, “hier kom nou-nou ‘n trop kamele met kaal meisies op verby.”

“O”, sê die dominee, “Dan wag ek maar – ek het nog nooit ‘n regte kameel gesien nie..”

:jester:

93. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 12:38 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 2:49 am:

Believe me – in SA you will
    get thousands to throng and
    watch, even if you parade a
    turd on a float and have some
    music.

94. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 12:40 pm Reply to this comment

Ironically it’s going to be foolish comments like these from the pollies and Peter’s reaction or non-reaction to them that will go some way to increasing his fan base and the ‘puppet-percetion’… that and results that is… :wink:

95. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 12:46 pm Reply to this comment

Die Burger had this as their
    main story on page 1.

On the sport backpage there is
    a report in which :snor: sheds
    light on his selections; without
    referring to the :jester:

96. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 12:49 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 12:38 pm:

That’s no way to speak about your future president!

97. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 12:51 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 12:49 pm:

:em18:

98. BreakingNewsSharksStealChewbaccaAfterMilleniumFalconRefuelsInBloem BeALegendJustLikeMeBeerLegendsRMadeInBarsNotMars says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 12:54 pm Reply to this comment

What WP centre really discuss between plays…

:oogle: Please Bend down and stretch your hammies again

:noshake: mmgh mmhg the camera is on us loook at the screen fool

:oogle: Pretty Please

:brownie: ok

:lust: whoohoo he loves me

99. CC-Sors Jan says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 12:56 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 10:42 am:

The irony of life is that you don’t know what you don’t know.

I don’t know about his moral grounds. I do recognise the route that he is on.

A pity that there must be a thing like a politician. I am always asking myself what type of work all this important people would have done.

Mind you most of them could be excellent bloggers.8O A pity most of them are computor illeterate.

100. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 1:06 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Jan @ 12:56 pm:

A pity most of them are computor illeterate.
    ======
    But they are very good at maths
    and counting.
    They start by counting the black
    players; then the whole team; and
    then they work out the percentage.

Results really don’t count for them.

101. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 1:07 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 12:46 pm:

I hope he continues to ignore the :jester: as well

102. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 1:08 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 1:07 pm:

P.S. Why haven’t we had the article of PDV explaining his selections here yet? Slipping up boys, slipping up. :lol:

103. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 1:09 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 1:06 pm:

Work out the percentage?????

104. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 1:10 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Jan @ 12:56 pm:

Probably swindling pensioners out of their savings. :twisted:

105. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 1:15 pm Reply to this comment

Aus furious with ‘stupid’ refs
    The US women’s gymnastics team have blamed stadium officials for distracting one of their athletes, while Australia’s water polo coach called referees “stupid arseholes”.

So who thought it was limited
    to rugby referees? :wink:
    AUS beat the men’s hockey team 10-0.
    They also lost 0-5 to the Dutch.

:shake:

106. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 1:18 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 1:09 pm:

Something like 7 over 22 times
    100 equals 31.18%

107. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 1:23 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 1:18 pm:

Hehehehehe

Actually I was being mean and trying to imply that he wasn’t able to work out pecentages. :lol:

108. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 1:29 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 1:08 pm:

I haven’t seen the printed version, but on the website, the only article where he explains selections, is the one that we have as Du Preez best int he world or something like that.

Check earlier today. :wink:

109. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 1:33 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 1:23 pm:

I thought the criticism was
    at “working out” instead of
    “calculating.”

Anyway, die storie oor :snor: is
    op – hoop jy kan genoeg Afrikaans
    verstaan.

Donner het net nie ver genoeg
    gelees nie :wink:

110. namboer Namboer says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 1:56 pm Reply to this comment

:bangheadt:

Ja ja whatever. Same old, same old.

I would think that PdV has come in leaps and bounds wrt transformation, and most of his selection have shown their mettle and are there on merit.

Why not rather do something about the rags the athletes at the Games are wearing, but nooooo, we mos have agendas to pursue and need to hang on tight on de grayvee train.

:jester: Eedjits.

111. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 2:02 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 1:33 pm:

I can read the tail quite deliciously, the speaking tends to be a bit more AfriVlaams like. :lol:

112. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 2:13 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 2:02 pm:

Kyk, DIT sal nou vir my
    interessant wees!

Sonder grappies.

113. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 2:23 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 2:13 pm:

You have no idea. 8O :lol:

114. middles middles says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 2:41 pm Reply to this comment

The FULL story(just shows how journalists can sensationalise and create unnecessary pressure and issues for the boks!):

All Blacks ‘grateful’ for SA support

August 13 2008 at 12:00PM

By Dale Granger and Murray Williams

Springbok coach Peter de Villiers has no problem with South African rugby fans who support the All Blacks, saying people are entitled to shout for whoever they want when the Boks play New Zealand at Newlands on Saturday.

The coach waded into the emotional issue on Tuesday when asked about the city fans – especially in the Cape Flats- who root for the All Blacks even when they play the Springboks.

One of their number was Finance Minister Trevor Manuel, who drew harsh criticism for his stance a few years ago.

Local support for the All Blacks has always been a bone of contention, with Springbok supporters accusing the city’s New Zealand fans of sporting treason.

But De Villiers said that he would not be losing any sleep over which team any South African supported.

He understood that this had something to do with the baggage of the past.

“Nobody tells (journalists) what to write or how to write it and you want people to respect that,” he told the Cape Argus.

“I want to respect people who make their own decisions. Maybe most of them struggle to get over the hurt of apartheid and you can’t change that overnight.

“I don’t care who you support. As long as you are a great citizen of this country you can support whoever you want; just don’t kill people,” he said.

The fierce debate is vividly conducted in the Cape Ar-gus sports SMS column, as the rival supporters trade barbs.

Most local support for the All Blacks goes back to the time when Cape rugby fans supported the New Zealanders in protest against the apartheid regime and the all-white national rugby team.

And with the controversy heating up before Saturday’s crunch Tri-nations clash at Newlands, All Blacks fullback Mils Muliaina welcomed the support of Cape fans this week, saying it “definitely helps” to boost the New Zealanders in Tests against South Africa.

“I think people love the Springboks here, but it’s nice to come to Cape Town and have some great support for us at the airport. We certainly know we are going to be outnumbered, but we are definitely grateful for that support. That’s for sure!” said the All Black No 15.

None of the team has gone as far as calling Cape Town a “home away from home” – as All Blacks flank Jerry Collins did during a visit with the Hurricanes in this year’s Super 14.

Collins, former All Black juggernaut Jonah Lomu and team captain Tana Umaga are firm favourites of the Cape All Blacks supporters club, with the Hurricanes No 6 describing Cape Town as a friendly city to play in, unlike Pretoria, which he said was hostile.

Meanwhile, the deputy chairperson of Parliament’s portfolio committee on sport, Cedric Frolick, has expressed dismay that only four black players have been named in the starting line-up. “He’s done a sterling job so far,” he said of De Villiers. “But there seem to be fewer and fewer (black players).”

Frolick questioned De Villiers’s selection of fullback Percy Montgomery ahead of Conrad Jantjes and of scrumhalf Fourie du Preez ahead of Ricky Januarie.

Frolick said he hoped that De Villiers was not “bowing to pressure” from anyone who was opposed to transformation.

But he reiterated that he trusted De Villiers and confirmed that he stood by the policy for which he had personally lobbied when De Villiers was appointed – that the coach has the final say on team selections.

Also in the spotlight is the high price of tickets for Tri-Nations matches. In Cape Town, seated tickets for the match on Saturday have all been sold out. Fans coughed up R400 for each seated ticket.

Oregan Hoskins, president of the SA Rugby Union (Saru), acknowledged that ticket prices were expensive, especially in the current economic climate, but said they had no alternative, citing the level of players’ pay as a key factor.

o This article was originally published on page 1 of Cape Argus on August 13, 2008

115. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 2:50 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to middles @ 2:41 pm:

They are not reporting on the
    same incident, and this is a
    follow-up on Nell’s story.

He beat them by interviewing
    the :jester: , and they were
    forced to react in some way
    and with a different angle.

That’s how the game works –
    nothing about “sensational
    reporting.”

116. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 2:52 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to middles @ 2:41 pm:

And that is not even the “full” story as a lot of the Frolick quotes are not in it.

Just goes to show that you cannot believe anything in the press.

117. middles middles says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 3:27 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 2:52 pm:

All the press know how to do is make the public panic by getting cheap quotes from idiots.

118. H.O. from work H.O. from work says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 3:29 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to middles @ 3:27 pm:

pressmen have to sell newspapers otherwise they will not eat due to their non-wage

119. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 3:47 pm Reply to this comment

OK, may I remind you of this:

“After I’ve read two eye witness
    reports of the same accident, I
    begin to wonder about history.”

Sorry, can’t remember the author.

120. H.O. from work H.O. from work says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 4:02 pm Reply to this comment

Baseball Tournament
    August 13,2008
    First Round

Game No. 3
    United States-South Korea 7-8
    Winning pitcher: Yoon Suk-Min (1-0)
    Losing pitcher: Stevens (0-1)

Home Runs scored
    Schierholtz (US) 1 HR, 1 pt
    Hessman (US) 1 HR, 1 pt
    Lee Dae-Ho (SK) 1 HR, 2 pts

Trailing 4-6 in the result before the 9th inning, the Americans scored three runs to come from behind for the temporarily lead 7-6 with just three outs to get to win.

Anyway the Koreans in their 9th inning’s attacking turn scored the two runs they needed to win.

121. The MindBok The Brand says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 4:04 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 3:47 pm:

he he he Boertjie

It is simply IMPOSSIBLE for any human to be objective.

It is factually impossible.

The closest one can get to objectivity is un-altered video/dvd recording of event.

Even 10 people reporting/eyewitness to the same event can not factually recall the event exactly the same – FACT.

Further more every time you ‘replay’ a memory you by default change the memory – fact.

Now add any ‘agendas’ to a story or journalist or media house and then we are still surprised by the ‘outcome’ of the article ??? 8O 8O 8O

122. H.O. from work H.O. from work says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 4:24 pm Reply to this comment

Baseball Tournament
    August 13,2008
    First Round

Game No. 4
    Japan-Cuba 2-4
    Winning pitcher: Vera (1-0)
    Losing pitcher: Darvish Yu (0-1)

No Home Runs scored.

Notes
    Munenori Kawasaki (Jap) 3 out of 3
    Alfredo Despaigne (Cub) 3 out of 4

————————————-

Standings after the first round
    1.000 Canada, Taiwan, Cuba and South Korea
    .000 United States, Japan, Netherlands and China

Next round’s (the 2nd) fixtures:
    Tomorrow, Thursday August 14th, 2008
    Netherlands v United States (Go Dutchmen!!!)
    South Korea-China
    Cuba-Canada
    Taiwan-Japan

123. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 6:23 pm Reply to this comment

:ghost:

124. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 7:36 pm Reply to this comment

This is what the Aussies have to say on the topic

The Wallabies are about to enter a South African rugby political minefield.

While winger Lote Tuqiri talked yesterday of the puzzling fact that virtually every time he is in South Africa he encounters a lengthy electrical blackout, the team is soon to be reminded that Springboks politics beats everything for stupidity.

The colour issue has reared its ugly head again after Test coach Peter de Villiers dropped fullback Conrad Jantjes and halfback Ricky Januarie for Saturday’s Tri Nations Test against the All Blacks in Cape Town. Cedrick Frolick, vice-chairperson of the South African parliamentary sport portfolio committee, was moved to voice his disapproval about Januarie being replaced by Fourie du Preez and the omission of Jantjes, which allows Percy Montgomery to play his 100th Test.

On top of that are reports of a dramatic split within the South African Rugby Union, involving chairman Mpumelelo Tshume and president Oregan Hoskins. South African newspapers have reported that there will be an official investigation into Tshume’s expenses, along with those of the union’s Sanzar representative, Jonathan Stone, with claims the pair took their spouses on a three-week business trip to Australia and New Zealand without permission.

Frolick, meanwhile, is furious that despite de Villiers being the first non-white Springbok coach, there are just four black players in the starting XV – wingers JP Pietersen and Bryan Habana, centre Adrian Jacobs and prop Tendai Mtawarira. Frolick argued that while Januarie was outstanding against the All Blacks in Dunedin, du Preez had “done nothing to justify a place in the starting line-up”.

Frolick added that de Villiers had selected Montgomery for sentimental reasons, allowing him to win his 100th cap in his home town. “Conrad Jantjes is, on present form, the No.1 fullback. It is worrying that people make decisions with their heart to give someone his 100th Test cap,” Frolick said.

“This creates questions about where we are heading. I know Peter wants to win the Tri Nations, but he must realise he will be measured according to his ability to transform the team and to make it representative of the country’s population for the 2011 World Cup. Peter should be reminded of his mandate.”

At least All Blacks coach Graham Henry is happy. He now likes the ELVs. Clearly, a Test win over the Wallabies has swayed him. “There have been a lot of positive signs for the game of rugby,” Henry said in Cape Town.

“The game has become more of a spectacle and I know the guys enjoy the challenge under the new laws.”

Â?¡ Former Wallabies Test fullback Matthew Burke will join the Waratahs coaching staff as the team’s kicking coach and outside back consultant.

Meanwhile, the Waratahs and Crusaders will not contest the traditional Rotomahana Challenge trial match next season. Instead, the trophy will be on the line when the two teams play at ANZ Stadium in the early rounds of the Super 14 next year.

125. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 8:28 pm Reply to this comment

:ghost: 2

126. sharks30 says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 9:26 pm Reply to this comment

This is exactly what i was refering to in the BJ article when Morneno got upset with me (Thats past tense) , is this Frolick character now an selector , has he ever played rugby or did he get into parlaiment being an ANC terrorist , sorry i meant freedom fighter , now :snor: has to bow to him and his cronnies . What has happened to us we are n bunch of spineless weasels everybody tries their utmost to be politically correct , look how well we are doing in the olympic games even Zim has 3 medals and how many do we have with our AA policy here i go again sorry . Why dont they (ANC) leave :snor: to do his job i also dont like FDP i would rather go with Ruaan , but it’s not my choice . Sorry to say prepared to take any bet AB’s are going to nail us by more than 15 points :(
    BTW Frolick = : bigfinger:

127. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:22 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to sharks30 @ 9:26 pm:

You simply will have to wake
    up to realities.

Merit – no matter in what field -
    is not part of the ANC ideology.
    It is all about being representative
    of the majority, reflecting the
    demographics etc. And whites are
    outnumbered 10-1.

In the 1950′s it was only 4-1.

And whenever something is screwed
    up, it is the fault of the legacy
    of apartheid.

This holds a certain amount of water,
    but no-one forced them to fire all
    the white expertise.

It was mostly done through their own
    greed to get a good seat on the gravy
    train.

128. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:32 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:22 pm:

“It was mostly done through their own
    greed to get a good seat on the gravy
    train.”

So they had to kick the whites off the gravy train? :twisted: :twisted: :lol: :lol:

Sorry you left a door open. :D

129. Deon Donner says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 10:38 pm Reply to this comment

:ghost: 3

130. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT - :pdv: says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 11:31 pm Reply to this comment

naand!! Any one here to talk kak with a lefty??

131. sharks30 says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 11:36 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:22 pm:
    :agree: Sadly however

132. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 13th, 2008 at 11:51 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Donner @ 10:32 pm:

It should have read
    “create a gravy train”.

Whites who were found to be corrupt,
    were in the vast majority of cases
    fired.
    There was no gravy train.

Compare the measures taken against
    Rhoodie, Connie Mulder and BJ Vorster
    himself to the current situation re
    Selebi, Zuma, Weaponsgate, Travelgate,
    drunken judges et al.

133. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 14th, 2008 at 12:02 am Reply to this comment

One of the classic BJ Vorster
    quotes was his response to the
    question what had happened to
    a certain minister he fired.

Vorster sent him to the embassy
    on the west coast of the USA.

The answer was:
    “Ek het hom baie ver gepos. As ek
    hom verder gepos het, was hy weer
    nader.”

(“I’ve sent him far away. Had I sent him
    further, he would have been nearer.”)

Think of the world globe.

134. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT - :pdv: says:
    August 14th, 2008 at 12:06 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 11:51 pm:

what do you call apartheid?? That was the biggest gravey train ever!

not saying that the current crap is not though!!!

135. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 14th, 2008 at 12:45 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT – :pdv: @ 12:06 am:

“Gravy train” is the political term
    used when people in positions of
    power don’t perform, and awards
    themselves huge bonuses and increases
    on top of the corruption they are
    party of.

Weaponsgate, Travelgate and the non-
    functioning of several departments
    and some 100 municipalities are good
    examples.

There was no gravy train when people
    were qualified for their jobs and
    when there was performance, law and
    order and accountability.

Currently nothing of this exists.

136. sharks30 says:
    August 14th, 2008 at 5:00 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT – :pdv: @ 12:06 am:
    Good Lord why dont you keep your politics :poop: to yourself , every day you are hanna hanna’ing about apartheid or something similar it ended 14 years ago and the people you so dearly protect can still do nothing for themselves besides F..k up this country and SPORT , look at all the medals at the Olympic games we have won. An Sweet fat ZERO :brownie: lets stick to rugby and we can have less arguments on the site :D
    Reply to Boertjie @ 12:45 am:
    :agree: :respek: :thumbup:
    Remember the old saying ” there is no honour amongst thieves ” I better be carefull what i say might just get an visit frim “Kasrils” Guys :poop: