Spies still number 1

October 31, 2008
Posted by Morné

It seems Ryan Kankowski’s Currie Cup heroics was not enough to edge out Pierre Spies as the first choice 8.

This is according to Ashfak Mohamed who writes for the Mercury.

Pierre Spies and Fourie du Preez appear to have the inside lane to start at No 8 and scrumhalf respectively for the Springboks in next Saturday’s Test against Wales at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

There had been much conjecture over who would wear the No 8 jersey after Sharks loose forward Ryan Kankowski displayed almost irresistible form during the Currie Cup.

Spies, however, has not been able to produce the same form he showed in Tests against England last year since being diagnosed with a blood-clotting illness, which forced him to withdraw from the World Cup squad.

At yesterday’s only practice session at UCT in the morning, after the afternoon practice had been cancelled, the Boks ran in team formations for the first time this week, with Spies running at No 8 in the “probables” team and Kankowski the opposing No 8.

Only towards the end of the session did Spies move to openside flank for Heinrich Brussow.

The Free State fetcher was standing in for Schalk Burger, who missed practice for the second day in a row with a hamstring niggle. Kankowski then packed down at No 8.

Spies was also at No 8 in the “probables” team during a scrumming session.

Spies certainly possesses greater physical qualities than Kankowski, which may give the Bulls star the advantage. The Boks are preparing themselves for a massive physical onslaught from Wales, Scotland and England, especially at scrum time.

Both coach Peter de Villiers and captain John Smit said this week that the expected wet and muddy conditions would mean that the Boks had to ensure that their first-phase play was in order.

“The tight five may need to work harder in the expected conditions,” said Smit.

“It is a short tour, and that will help with what we can bring to the party. It will come down to the physicality we can bring to the game, and getting over the advantage line.

“England, with (team manager) Martin Johnson there, will have a massive pack and their tight five will be strong. But from a video point of view, we’ll have a bit more because we play them last.”

De Villiers said that the Boks must adapt to any possible conditions.

“The (expected wet) conditions are not a concern at all. Rugby is played in all types of conditions. You prepare for a nice, sunny day, and then you get rain. It is rather about how our technical stuff will go, and we are focusing on that,” he said.

Du Preez ran at scrumhalf in the “probables” team yesterday, with Januarie his opponent. Du Preez missed the early part of the international season because of a hand injury sustained in the Super 14, making his comeback against Argentina, when he showed impressive form.

But he was not at his sharpest against the All Blacks at Newlands and the Wallabies in Johannesburg, although he showed glimpses of his best form in the Currie Cup.

Januarie was the hero for the Boks in the historic victory over the All Blacks in Dunedin, and was in terrific form until the Argentina Test, when he looked flat.

In a boost for the Boks, inside centre Jean de Villiers took full part in training yesterday after missing Wednesday’s session with a stomach bug.

Loose-head prop Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira sat out parts of the session and did some fitness work on his own, but then participated fully in a scrumming session.

De Villiers and Smit said that the off-field controversies about the Springbok emblem, the Luke Watson saga and the sex tape allegations against the Bok coach would not cause any disruption to the team.

“If you look at our performances on the field, then I agree with you (that we’ve been shaky). I think we should have won a few games that we didn’t win,” said De Villiers.

“That’s the only thing that matters. I was appointed on January 9 to coach rugby. There are people who were appointed after me who need to do the other stuff off the field, and they are busy with that. We will focus on what we have to do.”

Smit echoed his coach’s words.

“We didn’t win enough games this year, but we have these three Tests to end off the year. There are six Tests before we take on the Lions, and three are against teams whose players will make up the bulk of the Lions side,” he said.

“It would be naive of any of us to think that this tour is not important. We will go there to win games and try and create some momentum for next year.”

The Boks leave for the tour today.

Possible Springbok starting team against Wales: Conrad Jantjes, J P Pietersen, Adrian Jacobs, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana, Ruan Pienaar, Fourie du Preez, Pierre Spies, Juan Smith, Schalk Burger, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, John Smit (capt), Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira.

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

62 Comments

1. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 8:24 am Reply to this comment

Something I am musing about . . .

PdV stated his intention of playing “heads-up” rugby – running rugby – etc. he has ‘by uitstek’ a player who does that Kanko -
    yet
    Kanko is second choice to a pretty one-dimensional RUNNING player.

What am I missing

It sure does not make a lot of sense to me . . . . :cuckoo:

2. Morné Morneno says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 8:27 am Reply to this comment

Well it is sure to piss Sharks30 off!

3. Morné Morneno says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 8:28 am Reply to this comment

Personally I reckon Spies is the correct choice, with Kanko used off the bench.

In fact, I would start with Danie.

4. sharks30 says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 8:44 am Reply to this comment

Reply to The Brand @ 8:24 am:
    :agree:
    Reply to Morneno @ 8:27 am:
    It does’nt funnily enough , anything :snor: does comes as no surprise , however it is pure speculation as no team has yet been named and we all know what journalists are like everything they write must be taken with an Pinch of salt :wink:
    Seconly i hope the Boks lose all three matches in the interest of SA Rugby . :snor: must be gotten rid off immediately and the only way is for him to continue showing his incompetance and continue losing , that includes Muir and Gold :censored:

5. sharks30 says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 8:46 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 8:28 am:
    Listen to common sense you are n journo and Brand is an coach :respek:

6. sharks30 says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 8:57 am Reply to this comment

The whole article says probables and it was written by an charou , have you ever seen an charou play rugby ( and before i get accused of racism , they call themselves charous it is the acceptable word in KZN)

7. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 8:57 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 8:28 am:

Morne

I worked with a player this week – re his matric exams – and used a lot of rugby analogies to get my ideas across.

This is a first team and provincial player.

I was again dumbstruck by how little – techinque / skills knowledge and do-how this kid has.

He has been playing rugby for 13 years now – and was “amazed” with the ideas I shared with him and also it’s rugby application.

The principle of passing effectively – he did not know and obviously struggled to do.

The principle of it is “impossible to do a move perfectly” he did not know.

The principle of when it is most effective to tackle somebody he did not know.

I could go on and on – in the session I kept it as funny and non0serious as possible – but was fuming inside – to what the have not taught this kid over 13 years at two top playing rugby schools.

So to get back to Spies and Danie.

They can’t pass the ball effectively. Either left or right at pace.
    They don’t ‘carry’ the ball effectively – position of ball, hands, arms and body while carrying it.
    They can’t run attacking lines effectively.
    They can’t run support-lines effectively.

We can go on and on and on . . . . .

Yet both are deemed the ‘best’ in SA ???

WTF are the teaching rugby players ???
    They can’t tackle effectively.

8. Stan says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 8:58 am Reply to this comment

Spies has already proved himself.
    Planko still has to do it…

9. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:01 am Reply to this comment

Reply to sharks30 @ 8:57 am:

One word

Ismaeel Dollie !!!

10. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:14 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Stan @ 8:58 am:

Stan

Spies is inherently scared.

Watch his games closely – in slow-motion if need be.

His first instinctive reaction in contact situations is to “pull back first”
    then he engage with hands and arms in front – for protection.

These contact situations include ruck, mauls and tackles
    it is MOST VISIBLE when he ‘joins’ a tackle situation as second or third tackler.

In the final there was specifically a situation where a forward held a Sharks player ‘up’ in 22 Habana immediately joined – leading with his body – to push player back.

The very next player was Spies – he did not make ‘contact’ at first then the players moved towards him – he then took a step backwards, pulling his head away – then only when Habana and the other player gained the upperhand and moved the Sharks player backwards did Spies join – again with only his hands and arms in front of him pushing.

FFS – in such a situation his instinct should have been to him the spulletjie soooo hard that they fly backwards meters – especially for someone as big and strong as he is -
    but
    he didn’t – he never does – he always pull-back first instinctively

He has little, if any, mongrel in him !!!

11. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:16 am Reply to this comment

Reply to The Brand @ 9:01 am:

Oops forgot ;-)

12. Morné Morneno says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:21 am Reply to this comment

Reply to sharks30 @ 8:46 am:

Fortunately for all of you I am not a journo!

And I cannot agree with your statement with wanting the Boks to lose just so Peter gets fired.

You are actually doing exactly what Stofile and Khompela says we must do, rather lose to achieve a result than worry about winning!!!

Sorry mate, you are on your own there. That is simply too vindictive to wish this onto anyone you don’t even know.

Reply to The Brand @ 8:57 am:

Brand remind me quickly who was selected the player of the tour (UK) in 2006 playing at 8th man?

13. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:35 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 9:21 am:

And 2 years later he still can’t – pass – tackle – join rucks – carry ball – run attack-lines – run support-lines

EFFECTIVELY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WTF ??? :cuckoo: :noshake: :shake: :realangry:

So the next question is – who made that – player of the tour choice ???

14. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:38 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 9:21 am:

I cheated cos I don’t know –

but

it could have been either Danie or Spies – the above apply to both STILL – 2 YEARS LATER 8O

What technical improvement are done with the players –

or is it as Frans Steyn says
    ‘once you are chosen for the Boks there is not anything more someone else can teach you’ 8O 8O 8O

15. Morné Morneno says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:38 am Reply to this comment

Reply to The Brand @ 9:35 am:

The coach and the team.

16. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:42 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 9:38 am:

So who was the player ???

How kak were the other players then ??? ;-)

17. Morné Morneno says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:42 am Reply to this comment

Reply to The Brand @ 9:38 am:

Quite simple.

You are arguing from a perspective of what the coach said, i.e. running rugby and you believe these players do not have the skills to play this brand as you stated.

However, the coach has also said that they will adapt to the conditions, and that that (adapt) is what international teams have to do because “you train in sunny weather for a sunny or dry match, and come match day it rains and you have to adapt” (quote from the coach).

To which I say, having to adapt, based on the most probably conditions, Danie’s skills is best suited for the game as was proved in 2006 when he was absolutely outstanding.

If we end up having a chilly, but sunny and dry-ish day at Twickenham then by all means, select Kanko.

18. Morné Morneno says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:45 am Reply to this comment

Man this is a nice start to a Friday – I dont want to see how you and Sharks30 react to my other article I posted! :twisted:

19. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:50 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 9:42 am:

“you believe these players do not have the skills to play this brand as you stated.”

Nope that is not my belief.

I am just seriously disappointed that players at that level – STILL can’t do basic effectively.

Hence my question – what are the players coached – it sure is not the individualised improvement of skills.

Is there any coach out there who does pay attention to these individual skills – or not?

Or is it again the old story of – ag fok coach ons will net rugga speel man . . . . .

So at the highest level when you have a player in your squad who has SUCH OBVIOUS shortage of skills development in specific areas – do you turn around and say – ‘ ja well . . . those kinds of coachings must happen at union or club or school level we don’t have time to pay attentions to it here’
    and keep on playing a player with such obvious skills lacking ???

boogles me mind . . . 8O

20. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:50 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 9:45 am:

So who was the player – Danie???

21. sharks30 says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:51 am Reply to this comment

Reply to The Brand @ 9:14 am:
    :agree: :job: Baie goed gestel , Spies is n :nono:

22. Morné Morneno says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:55 am Reply to this comment

Reply to The Brand @ 9:50 am:

Nope that is not my belief.

Then I must have misunderstood your first post which you said;

PdV stated his intention of playing “heads-upâ€? rugby – running rugby – etc. he has ‘by uitstek’ a player who does that Kanko -
    yet
    Kanko is second choice to a pretty one-dimensional RUNNING player.

To me I read you believed Kanko is better skilled according to the coach’s philosophy but still second choice…

Anycase.

Yes the player was Danie.

23. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:56 am Reply to this comment

Reply to The Brand @ 9:50 am:

Brand, here is a serious question for you, do you also watch for and the times they these players do make the pass or whatever well?

24. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:58 am Reply to this comment

correction, that should read “…do you watch for and note the times……”

25. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:05 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 9:55 am:

Yes – so how does that equate to me believing Spies and Danie “you believe these players do not have the skills to play this brand as you stated.”

Don’t jump to conclusions !!!

I simply rate Kanko higher
    that does not mean Spies or Danie “do not have the skills to play this brand” 8O

They have skills to play ‘heads-up’ rugby – just simply not at the same high level as Kanko.

In fact Kanko’s high level skills at running rugby – is one of the ‘problems’ I have with him becoming a true great 8 at International level.

He is not even close to copying Zinzan – for instance.

Zinzan had running skills – AND mongrel.
    Kanko don’t have mongrel – yet I perceive him a more intelligent 8 than Spies – who seems more one-dimensional to me.

26. sharks30 says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:06 am Reply to this comment

:respek: Reply to Morneno @ 9:21 am:
    Nothing wrong with Journo’s it’s just that they sometimes twist the truth to suit their own agendas , anyhow you tend to write good articles except that they are are anti Sharks or their players , but i can live with that , therefore the assumption that you were an journo , sorry my mistake . However the point i was trying to make is that Brand is an coach and who better to give an opinion , see how he burst Stan’s Blue Bubble :thumbup:
    Regarding Div and the Boks i might not just be as alone as you think i am , although you dont agree , better to lose these three meaningless games and get rid off the fool and his two crony’s now and have an competent coach and asistants going into the new year , when matches like the 3N and the lions tour starts , there is only one man and one man alone that can take us forward and that is the Honourable world cup winning Champion coach Jake White .:respek:

27. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:08 am Reply to this comment

Reply to sharks30 @ 10:06 am:

2 years ago there were nearly as many people calling for JW’s head as there are now calling for PDV’s. :lol:

28. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:19 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 9:56 am:

He he he – GREAT question !!!

In our ‘coaching-world’ we call the thinking pattern – Matching vs Mis-Matching – or sorting for Sameness vs Difference.

Before I became ‘informed’ I perceived myself as very critical and ‘negative’ in the eyes of other people.

Now I know – in order to Mis-Match you have to be great at Matching
    but
    how you make it know – speak / write – can and do create the impression that you only Mis-Match.

Sometimes I allow my personal feelings/frustrations go – and climb into players – when my own ‘expectations’ of what they can do – their potential – is not met.

That – people not realising their potential – rill me to no-end ;-)

And then I seems to come across tooooooo strong.

If I were to coach Danie or Spies – I will follow a different tact – I will watch videos of their games – pre-selected clips of only their involvement – and ask them at each instance under discussion – ‘good’ or ‘bad’ what alternatives they could have used in the same situation (ask for at least 3 options) – then – what would the consequences be of such different options.

Then ask the player to rate the – effectiveness – of his chosen action with the options he identified.

Then talk the player through the thought processes he was running in selecting his game-action
    and compare that to the different thought processes he needs to run to be more effective
    then have player ‘re-play’ or is that ‘pre-play’ the ‘more’ effective option in his mind as many times for as long a period as necessary till he ‘feels right’ about doing it.

Only then take him to the field to practice – said more effrective option.

He he he

most coaches by now – comments – fok ons het nie tyd vir dit nie –
    then they proceed with their tried and tested ways that create zero change in how the player plays the game when under ‘stress’
    and shook their heads in utter amazement that said player does not improve where needed :lol: :shake: :noshake:

29. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:20 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 10:08 am:

Except you and Cab :lol:

He he he he he

30. Morné Morneno says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:24 am Reply to this comment

Reply to The Brand @ 10:05 am:

Uhm well quite simple.

You rate Kanko better than Spies and Danie with this ‘brand’ of rugby – whereas I see it as Danie have better skills given the conditions.

Running rugby or not.

Reply to sharks30 @ 10:06 am:

No problem mate, I have been called many things a Journo is one of the nicer ones! ;)

BTW, my affiliation with rugby is also coaching and analysis.

I just happen to write about it and get some to agree with me and a lot of people to get pissed off at me! :)

I have nothing against the Sharks, one of the biggest Sharks fans of the world will back me up on that.

But then, I have had something against vitually every single team in SA! This month it seems the Sharks is my flavour!

31. cab cab says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:25 am Reply to this comment

Think, he’s got the squad about right apart from CJ and Butch.
    Even if they’re just on the bench against England.

32. cab cab says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:26 am Reply to this comment

Spies is better for those conditions.
    On CJ, BJ and Butch; PdV is also showing loyalty to the local player, which is fair enough and i can’t fault that.

33. sharks30 says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:30 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 10:08 am:
    True , What do you say do we support him or not , things bug me like Terblanche CC player of the month (October) being left out , Deysel is by far the best in his position he absolutely bullied the Bulls in the CC final yet he gets left out . This is my dilema in supporting him :cuckoo:

34. Morné Morneno says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:35 am Reply to this comment

Reply to sharks30 @ 10:30 am:

And for just about the whole Currie Cup Wynand Olivier was the stand-out center in every game, yet he gets left out.

Trompie from the Lions have been one of the strongest, best finishers in the CC, yet he is left out.

Willie Wepener has been the form hooker for the majority of the CC, yet he does not even get a mention.

Willem Alberts did not only impress in the Super 14, he had a good CC barr his injuries – not even a mention.

Johan Muller has been the best lock in the competition, even with the Springboks back and a guy coming back from injury gets picked above him and some fairy from WP who is the best wing with a number 4 on his back…

And so we can go on.

Depends with which shade of glasses you look from.

35. sharks30 says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:38 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 10:24 am:
    :muahaha: I accept that .

36. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:39 am Reply to this comment

As a rule – I would never pick a player on ONE SEASON alone performance.

Tooooooo many times in the past this has been showed to be pre-mature selection.

If a player performs at the same outstanding level through-out the second season at top level – I will give him a go.

Not before then.

Well – exceptions will be – when there is wragtig nobody else in same potion that warrant to stay in team or get selected.

But always when there is some player who have been there and done that – I will stick with the tried and tested –
    even if the new-boy makes me drool in anticipation –

I WILL delay gratification

37. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:41 am Reply to this comment

I support the Bok coach until he proves differently to me on the field with results. At the moment PDV has been a bit up and down with results, but nothing completely shocking yet.

As for his choices on players, well I would like to see the results of it first before commenting. Personally I think Stefan is a bit long in the tooth to put in at fullback when you already have some good players covering the position. And for Deysel, well we have so many good and established loosies already, give him another season at S14 to see what he does.

In short, I think PDV is taking an educated gamble with Rose and Smit (at TH), but I am willing to see what the experiment returns.

38. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:42 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morneno @ 10:35 am:

absolutely right about the fairies from the WP :twisted:

39. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 12:08 pm Reply to this comment

Spies still Number One Plonker.

40. Stan says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 1:18 pm Reply to this comment

Brand,
    You are right and i think it is a mental block, but he will come over it.
    I also did not see Planko anywhere near a ruck on maul in the final.

41. The MindBok The Brand says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 2:34 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Stan @ 1:18 pm:

Stan I cannot help but think how quickly we could have made him a monster mongrel – left to our own devices – he he he

Net so paar sandsak en pale en samil tyre opvoks – hy sou ratteltaai uitgedraai het ;-)

42. sharks30 says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:09 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Stan @ 1:18 pm:
    That mental block is permanent if your iq is 65 your iq is 65 , you can do nothing about it , that is Spies’s dilema :pot:

43. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:26 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to sharks30 @ 9:09 pm:

Nie :pot: nie – :soek:

44. sharks30 says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 9:28 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 9:26 pm:
    :muahaha:

45. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS Die Skim says:
    October 31st, 2008 at 10:13 pm Reply to this comment

I cannot see how we can say Spies is poor

Geez guys

This is the same oke that ripped England to pieces in the two test series last year.

The guy who was THEE best loose forward of S14 2007.

Surely he cannot have gone from hero to zero in under one season?

What the heck has happened.

I hear people say he has poor hands.

Where the heck did that come from?

I mean, when you look at those matches he played last year, he had sure hands.

One thing I did pick up is that last year he wore gloves when he was so good while this year he is not.

Any of the rugby coaches out there care to comment?

46. sharks30 says:
    November 1st, 2008 at 3:54 am Reply to this comment

Reply to DavidS Die Skim @ 10:13 pm:
    Im not an coach , but you must remember the whole cows team went from heroes to Zeroes , winning the super 14 ( Controversially ) and ending tenth in 2008 .
    And they lost the CC too :bowdown: :whistling:
    We are not saying he is all that bad but we are comparing apples with apples ie Spies vs Kankowski now you are talking about Spies iq = 65 and Kanko iq = 165 .
    There is no comparison :respek:

47. sharks30 says:
    November 1st, 2008 at 3:57 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Stan @ 8:58 am:
    Where :cuckoo: :cuckoo: :cuckoo: :cuckoo: :cuckoo: :cuckoo: :cuckoo: :cuckoo: :cuckoo: :cuckoo: :cuckoo: :cuckoo: :cuckoo: :cuckoo: :cuckoo:

48. sharks30 says:
    November 1st, 2008 at 4:00 am Reply to this comment

Reply to DavidS Die Skim @ 10:13 pm:
    Last year is history , same with JPP he had an apalling duper 14 compared to last year and has only come back to his own since the CC . And this disease Spies supposedly had smacks of an Cow cover up :whatever:

49. Stan says:
    November 1st, 2008 at 10:21 am Reply to this comment

Sharks 30 sal seker vir John Plumtree bo Burger as flank kies….. :whatever:

50. sharks30 says:
    November 1st, 2008 at 12:10 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Stan @ 10:21 am:
    Dis n fokken briljante idee :bowdown:

51. Stan says:
    November 1st, 2008 at 12:36 pm Reply to this comment

Plankovski is n vinniger weetgawe van Andries Bekker..

52. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 2nd, 2008 at 3:03 am Reply to this comment

Full Name Pierre Johan
    Surname Spies
    Height 194cm
    Weight 107kg
    Birth Date 8 June 1985

Full Name Ryan
    Surname Kankowski
    Height 193cm
    Weight 105kg
    Birth Date 14 October 1985

1cm and 2 kg’s difference… WTF?

Sa’s best S14 player voted by Kiwi’s, best CC season… yet Snor cannot see this… extremely worrying!

53. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 2nd, 2008 at 3:07 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Ollie @ 10:41 am:

I’d say losing 2-1 against a depleted Kiwi side and 2-1 against a thread bare Aussie side and ending up stone cold last is a bit more than ‘mixed’ results…

If we lose to a new England side and the Welsh… you’ll still be heaping praise on the quota coach…

54. sharks30 says:
    November 2nd, 2008 at 5:14 am Reply to this comment

Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 3:03 am:
    Thank you for that info , need we say more :cuckoo:

55. Stan says:
    November 2nd, 2008 at 5:51 pm Reply to this comment

Spies is much faster and stronger…

56. sharks30 says:
    November 2nd, 2008 at 10:15 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Stan @ 5:51 pm:
    Than who ? Guthro :cuckoo:

57. Stan says:
    November 2nd, 2008 at 10:28 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to sharks30 @ 10:15 pm:
    Than most wingers in SA…. :whistling:

58. sharks30 says:
    November 3rd, 2008 at 3:44 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Stan @ 10:28 pm:
    Only kidding he is , but so is Kanko , stupid argument really they are both brilliant SA is fortunate to have two such players :wink: :respek:

59. Great White Shark Predawn says:
    November 3rd, 2008 at 6:46 am Reply to this comment

If Spies fires on all cylinders it could be a good move with Kanko as a more than adequate impact substitute. These two are going to destroy the poor Northern Hemisphere opposition.

60. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 3rd, 2008 at 7:25 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Predawn @ 6:46 am:

‘If’… he hasn’t since a second rate England came to RSA… Kanko on the other hand…

61. Great White Shark Predawn says:
    November 3rd, 2008 at 8:22 am Reply to this comment

No-one said Snor was bright… :pdv:

62. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 3rd, 2008 at 10:44 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Predawn @ 8:22 am:

He did compare himself to Jesus?

Switch to our mobile site