Once again the game of rugby has been brought into disrepute by the very people responsibly for it in the first place.
I am getting so sick and tired of the pussyfooting and the removal of any criticism towards the administrators and referee’s club whose first intent is to cover each other’s asses and then hide behind a law-book.
Following the banning of Bakkies Botha any referee or administrator from the IRB will tell you that the sanction on Bakkies was placed in accordance to Law 10 of foul play and that they can back it up, by quoting the law to all of us verbatim (read ad nauseam).
This of course will follow a long line of incidents where referees and the custodians of our game continually hide behind either applying just what they can see, or how they interpret it – and if that does not work they hide behind the letter of the law.
It removes them from criticism and judgment where their actions escape any consequence.
Of course, to the letter of the law Bakkies Botha was guilty of entering and cleaning a ruck illegally, but so are 99% of players entering rucks in rugby in every game all over the world.
Once again it is simply justifying a means to an end only when it suits them, where the decision cannot be questioned, or god-forbid, applied consistently by all law-makers and whistle blowers.
But of course we all know why Bakkies was cited, unfortunately for him the player he cleaned out popped his glass shoulder and had to leave the field.
What is this? And eye-for-an-eye? We only apply the letter of the law when we want to inflict equal or worse punishment to the offender never mind that the person that cleaned out on Bakkies directly after he cleaned out the Lions player made himself guilty of exactly the same offense?
While the media is trying to steer the world away from the series loss the Lions just suffered to try and brand South African players as thugs and our coach as an embarrassment, they might be well advised to scrutinize the individuals who are actually destroying our game from within.
Cited and banned for cleaning out? What is next, a yellow card for a try?

June 30th, 2009 at 1:21 pm
While the media is trying to steer the world away from the series loss the Lions just suffered to try and brand South African players as thugs and our coach as an embarrassment, they might be well advised to scrutinize the individuals who are actually destroying our game from within.
SpiNNing Level 4 then!
June 30th, 2009 at 1:23 pm
Umaga hulle moes vir BOD nog fokken harder getackle het..
IN Fact – ek reken die Bokke moet asb tog eerkomende naweek n einde aan die doos se rugby loopbaan maak..
June 30th, 2009 at 1:25 pm
…within the letter of the law…natuurlik!
June 30th, 2009 at 1:28 pm
Reply to WiLLem @ 1:21 pm:
I am moving up in the world!!!
June 30th, 2009 at 1:34 pm
Reply to PietPloos @ 1:23 pm:
BOD is out of the last test – crocked.
June 30th, 2009 at 1:39 pm
Reply to Morné @ 1:34 pm:
FOOK – ja ek het nou net gelees hy en Adams gaan huis toe…
OK next time – kannie wag vir Bokke Ireland toets nie!!
June 30th, 2009 at 1:56 pm
Reply to Morné @ 1:28 pm:
Yes indEEd you are…
But I wasnt talking about you!
gOOde read though!
July 1st, 2009 at 6:53 am
On other news:
http://www.rugby365.com/news/1771360.htm
Hernandez signs for Sharks!! IMO great signing but what will happen to Ruan? Will he stay 10 and Hernandez 15?
July 1st, 2009 at 7:51 am
Gavin Rich – Super Sport
On possible changes for the last B&I Lions Test
“And a team that includes, for instance, Morne Steyn, Wynand Olivier and Jaques Olivier at No10, No12 and No13 would almost certainly be a lot stronger at the back than the combinations that played last week”
And we thought swopping Props were back form
July 1st, 2009 at 9:13 pm
Flokking hell gavin
Jacques Fourie you mean
Some character is going to get in trouble.
Poor Jacques Olivier
They’ll have to overdose the Salusa 45 and he needs special permission from his jurse to leave Shady Pines Rertirement Village…
July 1st, 2009 at 9:15 pm
I agree that a midfield of Steyn, Olivier and Fourie would outdo a Pienaar/Jacobs/De Villiers one every day of the week and twice on saturdays
July 1st, 2009 at 9:18 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 9:15 pm:
jirre – we agree
July 1st, 2009 at 9:22 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 9:15 pm:
:em24:
July 1st, 2009 at 9:24 pm
Reply to JT – http://www.rugby-innsbruck.at @ 9:18 pm:
ja, but there;s a reason you agree, so do i incidentally, but dawie;s reason is that all three of his choices come from the Vaal.
lol, he’s the most eye-eyed ERT in existence.
July 1st, 2009 at 9:27 pm
Only this year though
Meisiekind and Steyn have had their fair share of playing kak.
Fourie is the pinnacle of the modern 13 though
BOD se gat
Mortlock se moer
Conrad Smith / Richard Kaui se ear wax
July 1st, 2009 at 9:33 pm
Reply to cab @ 9:24 pm:
Ag nee kak man…
July 1st, 2009 at 9:35 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 9:33 pm:
wat?
July 1st, 2009 at 9:38 pm
Reply to cab @ 9:35 pm:
You are using selective quotes.
Dawie is one of the most vicious
critics of the bunch that plays
out of Ellis Park.
July 1st, 2009 at 9:40 pm
I’ve been a voceferous attacker of poor players no matter where they have come from JT
I do not possess certain striped blikers or like “certain other sites” the wish to be a fish…
July 1st, 2009 at 9:44 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 9:38 pm:
lol, i very much enjoy DavidS passion for the lions, but if there was a choice between a coastal player and a vaal player, lets put it this way, unless the coastal player is Danie Gerber himself, there will be only one winner.
July 1st, 2009 at 9:45 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 9:27 pm:
Mossie is the best outside back in world rugby today.
IMO, he has been for the last 3 years.
July 1st, 2009 at 9:46 pm
Sorry JT
Meant for that Benoni paff
July 1st, 2009 at 9:49 pm
And yes, BOD se moer.
Kahui – well now thats a dude I reckon could be NZ’s version of Danie Gerber.
July 1st, 2009 at 9:53 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 9:46 pm:
Boksburg asb.
July 1st, 2009 at 10:02 pm
night all
July 1st, 2009 at 10:56 pm
Reply to Morné @ 9:49 pm:
he hardly ever finishes a season – always injured.
PS: On NZ – as long as they play Nonu at 12 they will always be weak!