More sh*t for Snor
Posted by Boertjie - 01/07/09 at 05:07 pm under British & Irish Lions Tour 2009Springbok coach Peter de Villiers’ credibility took another knock on Wednesday when the British and Irish Lions’ media officer Greg Thomas categorically denied that the touring side’s coach Ian McGeechan had not congratulated De Villiers after the second Test in Pretoria last Saturday.
After previous inferences from the Springbok coach that McGeechan had not congratulated him – “he will probably do so after the third Test” – De Villiers on Tuesday very clearly said: “No” after a British journalist asked him whether McGeechan had congratulated him on the Boks’ victory.
“Ian (McGeechan) twice congratulated the Springbok coach after the match,” Thomas said at a Lions press conference on Wednesday.
The first time was when the two coaches had passed one another in the corridor, and the second time was while they were waiting outside the hall where the post-match media conferences were held.
Other members of the Lions media team were present on the second occasion and mentioned by name by Thomas.
This denial by De Villiers will do little to make Saturday’s eye-gouging incident involving Schalk Burger go away.
De Villiers – already in trouble with the SA Rugby Union (SARU) for remarks made a week ago with a racial undertone; insisting that the eye-gouging incident was made too much of and saying that the Lions should take up ballet if they can’t take the knocks of a Test match and declaring himself as “God-given” – could find that the patience of SARU is wearing thin.
The interference of the International Rugby Board on the eye-gouging incident for which SARU and De Villiers had to apologise, certainly didn’t endear him to his SARU bosses.
De Villiers can also be assured that the touring media will not let up about his aggressive and arrogant manner in which he deals with the press.
They have become very outspoken about the fact that they view his responses and actions as bringing the game into disrepute.

July 1st, 2009 at 5:20 pm
Saru won’t touch him -
imagine the race debacle
if they do.
July 1st, 2009 at 5:50 pm
he should tell SARU to go jump.
at 75%, he’s the most tsucceful bok coach ever apart from christie.
July 1st, 2009 at 8:16 pm
the amusing thing is if he resigns now, he would have the best coaching record of any south african coach barring christie.
Its hilarous.
i mean our first ever black coach has the best record.
u cant beat it.
July 1st, 2009 at 8:40 pm
Bringing the game into disrepute?
Who the fuck died and made reporters the custodians of rugby???
July 1st, 2009 at 8:45 pm
Reply to Morné @ 8:40 pm:
And Boertjie that is said with all due respect to you and other journo’s I actually like and respect.
July 1st, 2009 at 8:47 pm
Reply to cab @ 8:16 pm:
Jip. Sad that a coach with such
a good coaching record can also
be a major embarassment to the
game and his union.
July 1st, 2009 at 9:02 pm
Reply to Morné @ 8:45 pm:
We all saw the replay of the
Schalk incident.
Only one person thought there was no
reason for a card.
Only one person defended the indefensible.
(And BTW there are IRB moves afoot to
clamp down on gouging even more severe.)
That person on those grounds alone is
an embarassment and made his union
issue an official apology.
This same person has now twice played
the race card when his senses left him.
I don’t think there is any doubt about
the above.
Anyone who sees it differently don’t
share my values. So be it.
Journo’s will never defend or ignore a
public figure that makes an ass of
himself because of his wrong choice
of words or actions.
July 1st, 2009 at 9:03 pm
As misquoted as an ANC politician trying to wriggle out of saying HIV doesn’t cause AIDS….
July 1st, 2009 at 9:07 pm
Yup De Villiers is a clown when he opens his mouth.
Remember how last year when Richard lowe called him a “stupid muppet” he called Lowe a racist only to discover Lowe is a Maori….
July 1st, 2009 at 9:09 pm
Morne no matter what sp[in YOU try to put on it the opinion you express is a desperate one devoid of truth and filled with liberalist wannabe wishes for PDV to succeed JUST BECAUSE he is black and not for any other reason.
Your views are as racist as any old Venterdorp boer’s…
The fact is you cannot defend the indefensible.
July 1st, 2009 at 9:10 pm
When our coach opens his mouth he is an embarrassing muppet
July 1st, 2009 at 9:13 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 9:07 pm:
Forgot about that one!
July 1st, 2009 at 9:13 pm
die ou is darem maar ‘n verleendheid!
July 1st, 2009 at 9:18 pm
Reply to welshbok @ 9:13 pm:
Ek wonder mos wat presies behels
psigometriese toetse, en hoe hy
syne geslaag het?
Alles dui op ‘n H-simbool.
July 1st, 2009 at 9:28 pm
look old coach div is far from perfect, but he’s coaching record aint too shabby at all.
yessus, give an ou a chance willya?
July 1st, 2009 at 9:34 pm
Reply to cab @ 9:28 pm:
No
He got his chance based in his race and not his ability.
FAIL
He will not have my support.
cab
When he succeeds then cool…
July 1st, 2009 at 9:38 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 9:34 pm:
look even if i agree with you originally, the fact of the matter is that he is succeeding.
We lost this tour 12 years ago, the okes got a win in NZ, a first EOY cleansweep, record wins over oz and eng, 75% win record – he is succeeding at what he was tasked to do – making the boks win.
July 1st, 2009 at 9:44 pm
Reply to cab @ 9:38 pm:
See my post at 8:47. Or do you
want me to cut and paste it
here?
What part don’t you understand?
I see this as two totally different
issues. I cannot judge his coaching
(although I query his results)
but I can judge his comments.
I fail him on the latter, without
question.
July 1st, 2009 at 9:45 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 9:34 pm:
I should say IF not when..
IF he does he has risen above the blatant tokenism that saw him selected…
July 1st, 2009 at 9:50 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 9:44 pm:
this part:
“Only one person defended the indefensible.”
As far as i understand it, PdV made it clear:
- eye-gouging was not denfensible or condoned,
- that if schalk was found guilty they would have to deal with it,
- that in his general experience schalk was of good character.
July 1st, 2009 at 9:52 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 9:45 pm:
So you aint even willing to change your mind no matter how well he does from here?
Even if this team go onto win the 3N and the RWC in 2011 or anything, it makes no difference?
July 1st, 2009 at 10:03 pm
Reply to cab @ 9:50 pm:
You are now referring to what
he said in a press conference
two days after the event.
So somehow every single reporter
heard him say after the match he
did not think Schalk’s action
deserved a card.
And his racist utterings? How
does that qualify him –
competent or incompetent?
July 1st, 2009 at 10:09 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 10:03 pm:
Oh, I forgot about the latest:
Greg Thomas calling him a liar.
Maybe his repeated garble about not
having been congratulated was just
misunderstood.
July 2nd, 2009 at 12:49 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 10:03 pm:
i am refferring to his orginial transcript.
If you really want to make your point, rather get a hold of the original trancipt and quote verbatim where you believe PdV has f’cked up, and we can analyse that.
Instead as per normal, there alot of quotes from ppl with agendas like the british lions who have imported meaning onto this words, that simple were not there. For example, Brian O Driscoll believes PdV is semi-repulive for condoning eye-gouging.
PdV did no such thing, in fact in his origina transcipt, PdV made it clear eye gouging with 3 or 4 others offence was not condonced.
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:17 am
The team is winning. The players seems happy.
I think we should give the side shows a bit of a break and celebrate what is being achieved.
July 2nd, 2009 at 6:56 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 10:09 pm:
who the f%ck is Greg Thomas??
July 2nd, 2009 at 7:49 am
Strange, Gary Gold also said they were not congratulated?
Why don’t they just ask Geech straight?
How difficult can that be?
July 2nd, 2009 at 7:56 am
Reply to fyndraai @ 2:17 am:
Yes, the team is winning.
In an interview after the S14 final, Morne Steyn told SS1 (TV), that Fourie DP told Ludeke, when he was appointed, the way things are being done at the BULLS.
I believe the same kinda thing happened at the Boks. The senior players just took over.
I have never rated Dick Muir or Gary Gold as great coaches. Neither Snor.
My contention is thus that the current success is more attributable to the team than the guy with the ‘tache, funny accent, stupid remarks, and o yes, his nephew in the group. And his shitty assistents, of course.
July 2nd, 2009 at 8:46 am
Reply to Cosa @ 7:56 am:
So what do you want? Should PdV be thrown out?
If so what if the next guy wants to take more charge and f*cks up the whole thing by doing this?
IMO – Give PdV credit for at least keeping things together which is an art in itself! Changes will come due to players leaving and he will be tested even more but as we know he has the best record since Christi
And at least he is entertaining and not the usual booooring cliche type
July 2nd, 2009 at 8:54 am
It must be kak to be Geech to know you were beaten by a team with no coach…
For that matter, Henry must be having sleepless nights since he was beaten too, so to Deans…
If they beat them more this year their unions might just sack them and let the teams coach themselves!
July 2nd, 2009 at 8:58 am
Why hasn’t anyone congratulated the coaches for scoring 2 tries over the weekend from first-phase ball. That wasn’t the players making it up it was a set move practised repetitively.
Habana’s try was brilliant. That shows me the team is being coached.
July 2nd, 2009 at 9:10 am
Reply to middles @ 8:58 am:
It was an absolute text book try and then Fouries pearler made for 2 excellent tries in the match.
July 2nd, 2009 at 9:17 am
Reply to Ollie @ 9:10 am:
for me all bok tries were pearlers but in memory will by the Habana hit on Bowe and the Brussouw hit on that little shit Williams
July 2nd, 2009 at 9:20 am
With regards to all the rubbish being said about PDiv please show me where:
1) he has condoned eye-gouging? I specifically saw him denounce it. All he was saying is that he doesn’t believe Schalk did it with intention and the media shouldn’t make such a big thing about it because rugby is a rough sport;
2) he is mandated by the press to always give the most approving answer and not his own opinion;
3) he has ever bad-mouthed Geech or O’Driscoll or any of the others tossers expressing their opinion about him based on misleading journalists reports;
Jake White got lambasted for his “sons are fetchers” comments. The media will always harp on about something. The British media is even worse because they have nothing to write about the Lions team besides ‘unlucky’.
All the writers after the Southern Kings game said it was nice to have some needle back in the tour but now because we won we are thugs and bullies.
July 2nd, 2009 at 9:27 am
Reply to middles @ 9:20 am:
July 2nd, 2009 at 9:28 am
IMO send those pussies home 3-0 with tail between their legs and let them bitch about SA for the next 3 years before they start focussing on Aus.
Fok hulle!
July 2nd, 2009 at 9:34 am
Reply to JT – http://www.rugby-innsbruck.at @ 9:28 am:
It would be nice to explain how they were ‘unlucky’ three weeks in a row.
A nice gesture would be to instead of swopping jerseys at the end of the game rather give them tutu’s.
July 2nd, 2009 at 9:41 am
Reply to middles @ 9:34 am:
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:07 am
fair coMMent
aLL thrEE tries were exceLLent.
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:50 am
Reply to middles @ 9:34 am:
Bwahahahaaaaa
At least it will keep something going in rugby for the next 12 years
brilliant idea !!!
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:52 am
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:17 am
Reply to cab @ 12:49 am:
PdV did no such thing, in fact in his origina transcipt, PdV made it clear eye gouging with 3 or 4 others offence was not condonced.
=========
That was not the original press
interview – it was the subsequent
one.
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:17 am
That try by Habana was incredible well worked.
I thought it was only the aussies who had those sort of planned moves.
Fanatstic effort and brilliantly executed.
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:19 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 11:17 am:
Boerman, if you can point me to the original interview i shall go read.
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:22 am
Reply to cab @ 11:17 am:
WELL COACHED TEAMS HAVE THOSE SORT OF MOVES…
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:23 am
Reply to PietPloos @ 11:22 am:
lol, you saying the Boks are well coached?
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:27 am
Reply to JT – http://www.rugby-innsbruck.at @ 6:56 am:
who the f%ck is Greg Thomas??
===============
B&I Lions media liaision manager.
When approached by rugby365 after the media gathering Thomas said that the two – De Villiers and McGeechan – met on two separate occasions after the match at Loftus Versfeld.
“Ian [McGeechan] twice congratulated the Springbok coach after the match,” Thomas said, adding: “The first time was when the two coaches had passed one another on the way to their post-match TV interviews, and the second time was while they again passed each other outside the hall where the post-match media conferences were held. The second time they even had a brief conversation and Ian shook De Villiers’ hand.”
Thomas also said other members of the Lions media management team were present on the second occasion and mentioned and witnessed their coach congratulating the Bok mentor.
======
So somebody is lying, but this is a
very cras statement to make if you
cannot prove it.
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:30 am
Reply to cab @ 11:23 am:
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:31 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 11:27 am:
Greg Thomas must be unbiased then
Well no-one publically congratulated the Boks on the series win from what I saw on TV and the interviews after the game. May not have seen them all.
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:34 am
On this day (2July) in 2002 – US millionaire adventurer Steve Fossett becomes the first person to circumcise or is it circumnavigate the world solo in a balloon……
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:37 am
Yes – someone is lying
When it was first reported that Geech did not congratulate Div
my reaction was – why did Div not visit the ‘losing’ team afterwards
then
I read that Div said they were busy celebrating
then
I felt uneasy
winning coach / captain should always IMHO go to ‘losing’ team / captain / coach afterwards
and
PAY RESPECT
for
playing the game
(irrespective of HOW game was played – purely – because – game was played)
and then the he-said she-said shit started
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:39 am
Reply to The Brand @ 11:37 am:
Ja, but now it seems one of
the coaches has a bit of
memory loss.
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:41 am
Reply to The Brand @ 11:37 am:
As coach I have always seen it being done as – losing coach goes to winning coach to congratulate! Unfortunately I have been doing just that in the last few weeks!
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:41 am
Reply to JT – http://www.rugby-innsbruck.at @ 11:31 am:
THAT is undeniable
Not
the captain
not
the coach
nor
the manager
of the B&I Lions
congratulated the Boks PUBLICLY
I wonder how the feck they Brits are going to spin THAT
(maybe that is what they are trying to do – with this kak from Greg Thomas)
He sounds far tooooo much like Keo
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:43 am
Did you guys hear PdV reply
???
to the question
‘why did the Boks not cite the B&I Lions players?’
while showing in the background the Chuck Norris neck-break effort of the Hooker on Burger
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:48 am
Greg Thomas may or may not be telling the truth, but having watched just about every post-match interview from the first to the last game on this tour, all i have heard from the players, captain and coaches is whinging.
That is what PdV is upset about and I agree with him, I mean if you lose that is fine, but pay tribute to the other side or at least shut-up – instead all we are subjecting to is pommie whinging.
whinge, whinge, whinge.
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:48 am
Reply to JT – http://www.rugby-innsbruck.at @ 11:41 am:
Yes “losing” coach – congratulates “winning coach
and “winning” coach should then reciprocate with RESPECT for participation
yet
if for whatever reason it does not happen
“winning” coach should share – RESPECT for playing the game – with “losing” coach and team.
win-win
it should always be about sooooo much more than
THIS game
or
THIS opposition
or
THIS series
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:49 am
he he he
“Unfortunately I have been doing just that in the last few weeks!
“
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:50 am
Because if the winning coach does it, it will seem like gloating.
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:50 am
Reply to cab @ 11:48 am:
AMEN
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:51 am
Reply to middles @ 11:50 am:
Hence my focus on – RESPECT for playing
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:51 am
Reply to The Brand @ 11:48 am:
I agree – but I just find it always to be the losing coach that searches and approaches the winning coach. A lot of times the winning coach is with his players directly after the game and I go to him and congratulate him. This happens vise-versa so it just works – not written down just a mark of respect between 2 guys that just had a game of chess …uh I mean rugby
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:52 am
Reply to middles @ 11:50 am:
another argument that just proves my point!
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:56 am
Reply to cab @ 11:48 am:
Exactly. Was the try by Fourie or Habana just lucky? Was Beast’s scrumming also just lucky? Was Morne Steyn’s kick lucky? Was winning 4 of the opposition’s throw in the first test lucky? Was all Brusow’s turnovers lucky? Was Morne’s tackle on Monye lucky?
Come on, the BIL should feel bad for coming so close but also realise that it took a good team to keep them from winning. A better team.
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:57 am
Reply to JT – http://www.rugby-innsbruck.at @ 11:51 am:
Yes – that – is the norm
I like the way one see it in the Premier Soccer in England
except for the Moermenou chap from Chelsea now in Milan
July 2nd, 2009 at 12:24 pm
Fark, just another side show to take a way focus from some good rugby.
This series will go down in history as the Bitching Lions tour or The Tour where no body remembered the rugby
July 2nd, 2009 at 12:30 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 12:24 pm:
Oh yes, I will also remember the
rugby – and how we struggled to
beat a very average team.
I prefer the 36-0 stuff.
July 2nd, 2009 at 12:31 pm
No one will remember the series anyway – especially here in NH! All you ever hear about is 74 and 97! What about the tour in the 1980, 1968, 1962?? Not a fooking word!!!
Why?? Because the got moered and probably still bitch about how unlucky they were!! Maak my die MOER in!
July 2nd, 2009 at 12:37 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 12:30 pm:
Funny, Deans sees it quite differently after seeing the games and thinks the Aussies will have to raise there game a bit to beat the Boks.
July 2nd, 2009 at 12:39 pm
The worst thing is the first 2 tests probably the test best of the last few years. i am very unhappy about the pommie bitching, its painful, they must now bugger off and let Bokke get on with 3N.
July 2nd, 2009 at 12:40 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 12:37 pm:
:em63: Bakkies stays banned
See home page.
July 2nd, 2009 at 12:40 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 12:37 pm:
I want to read the FULL transcript!!
July 2nd, 2009 at 12:41 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 12:40 pm:
finally some news