Boks ring massive changes
Posted by Morné - 02/07/09 at 01:07 pm under British & Irish Lions Tour 2009Only Fourie du Preez is retained in the backline that started at Loftus as De Villiers makes massive changes ahead of the final test at Coke Park.
Zane Kirchner will earn his first Bok cap against the B&I Lions which sees also sees Morné Steyn getting a start with a brand new center and wing combination. Effectively this means you have 3 new combinations in the backline.
However, the Bulls contingent that is present in the backline will give a reasonable amount of fluency to them since they played together for the whole Super 14 especially the combinations of Du Preez, Steyn and Olivier at 9, 10 and 12 respectively.
Jaque Fourie gets a deserved start at 13 and Nokwe and Ndungane completes the back three.
In the forwards Kankowski gets the nod where Spies is given a breather starting from the bench.
Johann Muller will start alongside Matfield due to the unavailability of Bakkies due to suspension. Surprisingly De Villiers opted for Sykes on the bench instead of Bekker which brings more grunt to the bench and rewards Sykes for a good showing for the Emerging Boks.
Brüssow starts at 6 and the other change is Chiliboy who comes in for Bismarck who moves to the bench.
Bok team:
15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Jongi Nokwe, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Heinrich Brussow, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Johann Muller, 3 John Smit, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Gurthro Steenkamp, 18 Deon Carstens,19 Steven Sykes, 20 Pierre Spies, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Frans Steyn.

July 2nd, 2009 at 1:09 pm
Fok I dunno so much hey…
I would like to know who was unavailable due to injury…
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:12 pm
9 – 10 – 12 – 13 is AWESOME!!
I like I Like!!
Nokwi & Odwa maak my egter n bietjie bang…
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:15 pm
Bulls theme throughout the team:
2, 5, 9, 10, 12, 14, 15 with bench 1, 8,
I like!
Kanko, Nokwe, Odwa, Olivier and Fourie all ready to explode!! Here comes a biggy! Nokwe for a hattrick
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:28 pm
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:29 pm
Any team without the Mummy
is a good team.
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:33 pm
De Villiers opted for Sykes on the bench instead of Bekker
=================
Note:
Bekker has had an op, injured.
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:34 pm
Congrats for Sykes- Grafter and caPPed so p4P wont haPPen/ but he can like now be eligible to go and earn muNNy in the NH
Bit of the Dick Muir rotational Squad systems- but hey nowoRRies!
Now I would like to sEE the bench come into action early!
To clean/close out the series!!!
I would just have liked to have JPP there istead of Carstens/ Guthro
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:35 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 1:29 pm:
and LukasX
Genuine?
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:40 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 1:33 pm:
Reply to WiLLem @ 1:35 pm:
Yep, a nutreplacetomy
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:42 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 1:40 pm:
Sounds diFFerent to the one Vickery wiLL be geTTing!
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:44 pm
Reply to WiLLem @ 1:42 pm:
hehehehehe
Seriously, I heard Bekker had a knee op.
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:50 pm
interesting team, backrow is pretty revolutionary though, should have left one of JP or Habana in the side for Ndungane who is very average.
I would’ve preferred Juan at 4 over Muller and called one of Vermeulen or Deysel or Potgieter into 7.
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:50 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 1:44 pm:
Yip
Oudste had said so his morning aLLready!
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:51 pm
Reply to PietPloos @ 1:12 pm:
ja
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:53 pm
Reply to WiLLem @ 1:42 pm:
Maybe they should issue
Vickery with a snorkel.
Just as a precaution.
And something afterwards to
get the shit taste out of
his mouth.
:coffee:
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:54 pm
Vermeulen & Deysel wiLL get their chances.
Some serius aDDing to the
CORE here
while aTTending to the political maths
and aLL the nEEds put forward by the agents re playing for the :boks:”during the last 18 months” inorder to qualify for a furure slot up North!
katjing katjing!
Reply to cab @ 1:50 pm:
He lacks the bulk Cab
July 2nd, 2009 at 1:56 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 1:53 pm:
:db:
rule BriTTaNNia….
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:00 pm
Reply to WiLLem @ 1:50 pm:
Nee, Maandag al:
http://www.ruggaworld.com/2009/06/29/muller-gets-bok-sos/
[Update on Bok injuries]
You can take a horse for a drink,
but you can’t make him water.
:gloat:
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:00 pm
Fok – ek is soooo de moer in vir bitching brits
I wish we had not only HALF a B team
but
the whole B team against them
and still BLIKSEM them off the park
I hope this score has the widest margin for us of all three
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:03 pm
British & Irish Lions (vs South Africa, 3rd Test)
15 Rob Kearney (Leinster / Ireland)
14 Ugo Monye (Harlequins / England)
13 Tommy Bowe (Ospreys / Ireland)
12 Riki Flutey (London Wasps / England)
11 Shane Williams (Ospreys / Wales)
10 Stephen Jones (Scarlets / Wales)
9 Mike Phillips (Ospreys / Wales)
8 Jamie Heaslip (Leinster / Ireland)
7 Martyn Williams (Cardiff Blues / Wales)
6 Joe Worsley (London Wasps / England)
5 Paul O’Connell (Munster / Ireland, Captain)
4 Simon Shaw (London Wasps / England)
3 Phil Vickery (London Wasps / England)
2 Matthew Rees (Scarlets / Wales)
1 Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks / England)
Replacements
16 Ross Ford (Edinburgh / Scotland)
17 John Hayes (Munster / Ireland)
18 Alun-Wyn Jones (Ospreys / Wales)
19 David Wallace (Munster / Ireland)
20 Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers / England)
21 Harry Ellis (Leicester Tigers / England)
22 James Hook (Ospreys / Wales)
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:04 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 2:00 pm:
Ai ja jaaaaiiiiii
“You can take a horse for a drink,
but you can’t make him water.” :WTF:
Can you make him coffee ?
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:06 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 2:00 pm:
Dankie in elk geval oudste – jou humor het mymoer rustiger gemaak
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:06 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 2:04 pm:
Snorspeak is spreading faster than schweinflu!!
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:07 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 2:04 pm:
Dit beteken die storie was op
die werf, maar jy kan niemand
dwing om te lees nie.
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:07 pm
8 Jamie Heaslip (Leinster / Ireland)
is he the one with the haas-lippie of is dit Powel ?
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:08 pm
Reply to JT – http://www.rugby-innsbruck.at @ 2:06 pm:
Bwahahahaaaaaaa
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:09 pm
It is a little unfair to the new cap players. If things go wrong because of all the changed combinations their reputations will suffer.
The coach have an excuse and the first choice players look good without lifting a finger.
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:10 pm
Reply to JT – http://www.rugby-innsbruck.at @ 2:06 pm:
Nope, :snor: would have quoted
from the Bible:
“Laat die wat ore het, hoor, en
die wat oë het, sien.”
Would probably have had the two the
wrong way round.
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:11 pm
Hoe weet jy dat jy ‘n slegte dag gaan hê ????
Jou Rice Crispies klink so :
“Shit – Crackle – Fok!!!�
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:11 pm
Reply to JT – http://www.rugby-innsbruck.at @ 2:03 pm:
Amazing that Philips started all 3 tests – he is GOOOOOOD
Shaw have been shafted by the B&I Lions
He has been their outstanding tight 5 player in every game he played.
I am right to say he was not part of original group – not so?
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:12 pm
Reply to PietPloos @ 2:11 pm:
Bwahahahahahaaaaaa – verstik ek nou !!!!
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:13 pm
Reply to fyndraai @ 2:09 pm:
fynnes, I am sure none of them would even think twice to get opportunity
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:14 pm
BRAKPAN
‘n Ma van Brakpan neem haar 12-jarige
dogter vir die eerste keer ginekoloog toe.
Die dokter vra: “Meisie, wat’s fout?”
Sy sê: “Oom, my p@#s is seer!”
Die ma klap haar uit haar stoel uit.
“Dis nie oom nie, stupid, dis Dokter!”
—
DaaI selle meisie het seker later
Mej. Brakpan geword?
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:17 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 2:14 pm:
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:22 pm
BTW
JJ has wriTTen a nice piece in his News24 column.
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:26 pm
Wel sy kon darem seker later “Dokter” se!
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:43 pm
Reply to fyndraai @ 2:09 pm:
interesting view, but on balance of things i disagree for this test match.
The first stringers have won and i cant see them wanting to bash it up in the 3rd one with the risks of bannings and injuries and all, the second stringers will get a chance and will have the hunger to make a case for their inclusion, which hopefully will translate into 3-0.
vatso StM
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:45 pm
LMAO … sies ou Boer.
het gedog jy was soos ‘n dominee met jou respek van die vroumens.
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:52 pm
POLL ON SPORT 24
In my humble opinion, Peter de Villiers…
67% Should be fired as Springbok coach as he’s simply out of his depth
20% Should be retained, but SARU need to employ someone to speak on his behalf
13% Is doing a commendable job thus far and will only get better over time
======
Blame it all on the
spinning rugby scribes
with their selective
quotes.
July 2nd, 2009 at 2:56 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 2:52 pm:
WE WILL be worse off with another coach IMO – Who will get the job?? Chester?, Paul Treu?, Paarwater?, Coetzee?
See where I am going with this…
PdV! :snor:
July 2nd, 2009 at 3:02 pm
:em63: NEW THREAD
July 2nd, 2009 at 3:56 pm
Reply to JT – http://www.rugby-innsbruck.at @ 2:56 pm:
It’s like the old saying:
“Better the dumbass you know, than the devil you don’t.”
July 2nd, 2009 at 5:39 pm
Reply to fyndraai @ 3:56 pm:
July 2nd, 2009 at 9:44 pm
Reply to fyndraai @ 3:56 pm:
What a fricking kak excuse…
The kind of reason why we are where we are today.
It’s similar to the morons on 702 this afternoon commenting on the bunch of metro cops who got off scot free for going on strike and then shooting at the SAPS
“Don’t fire them…. rather the devil we know…”
Screw that.
If he’s kak fire him.
If his replacement is kak fire him too.
We should not have to be scared of mediocrity we don’t know if we have the opportunity to rid ourselves of mediocrity.
Sorry
Not directed at you alone but at the airy fairies who watch the world through Europeanised blinkers….
July 2nd, 2009 at 9:53 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 9:44 pm:
Net een manier om hom te fire,
en dis om ‘n swart breier aan
te stel.
Iemand soos Yeye.
July 2nd, 2009 at 9:59 pm
Tjips!
Steek weg jou kinders se Lego!
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:05 pm
“I won’t change my style,” he said. “If I change my style I change Peter de Villiers and I go back to God and say ‘you made a bad job’”.
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:18 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 9:53 pm:
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:28 pm
vader weet alleen.
Miskien moet Rupert tog maar die hele klomp uitkoop
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:29 pm
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:35 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 10:29 pm:
Why does your laugh sounds if
it’s coming from a dungeon?
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:38 pm
Must be the affects of Westmalle Dubbel on the vocal chords
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:46 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 10:38 pm:
Ken nie. Brannewyn?
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:47 pm
Soos ek skryf Ollie
We’ll see who does
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:48 pm
Nope, trappiste beer in belgium. Very dark and very very lekker
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:49 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 10:46 pm:
Nee ek dink dis een van daardie convent biere
July 2nd, 2009 at 10:50 pm
Okei mense
G’night
Lekker slapies
July 2nd, 2009 at 11:18 pm
Vickery Dickery Crok
Die Beast het hom opgefok
Schalkie fingered one
The Coach is a clown
Vickey Dickery Crok.
July 4th, 2009 at 2:41 am
PLaying the worlds best 9 into the ground with no replacement… not a smart move before the 3N!
July 4th, 2009 at 6:53 am
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 2:41 am:
oh FFS – you will always find something to bitch about
July 4th, 2009 at 7:19 am
Reply to JT – http://www.rugby-innsbruck.at @ 6:53 am:
So you don’t agree that a team needs 2 half-backs in the squad?
If I wanted to moan… it would be about the quota hooker…
July 4th, 2009 at 12:14 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 7:19 am:
Bwahahahahaaaa
“If I wanted to moan… it would be about the quota hooker…
”
That is classic – if I . . . then say . . . (blameless)
I am tasked to be creative this morning – ai
Sounds the same to me as the instruction “Be spontaneous”