How good are the Boks really?

November 19, 2009
Posted by Boertjie

Is the current woes in Europe the beginning of the end of a ‘golden era’ even before it started properly? DAN RETIEF provides some perspective of the Boks’ 2009 conquering season.

SuperRugby

It is just as well for the Springboks that when it comes to 2009 history will be written by the victors. France’s comprehensive demolition of the Boks in Toulouse added to a nagging, up to now easily suppressed, suspicion that these Springboks might not be as good as we think they are.

It is a thought that has tugged at my conscience as I have researched the results of a season that to all intents is one of the greatest in the annals of Springbok rugby.

Victory over the British and Irish Lions as well as convincingly taking the Tri-Nations is massively impressive but the devil lies in the details – uncomfortable facts rudely exposed by the strutting, crowing cockerels of France.

The record shows that the Lions series was won but it could so easily have gone the other way.

Luck in the Lions series

Not only did the British tourists outscore us in tries but luck played a huge role in the Boks getting to an unassailable 2-0 lead at Loftus.

The Lions missed, or were denied, what could have been crucial tries in the first test in Durban and the Boks got out of gaol in Pretoria.

Not only did they survive Schalk Burger being sin-binned in the 32nd second but they came back from 8-16 down at halftime and 8-19 after 60 minutes thanks to a try by Bryan Habana, which might have been blown up for crossing, a late score by Jaque Fourie, which could have been denied as easily as it was given, and a penalty by Morné Steyn (who did not come onto the field until the 60th minute) from his own half after full-time had elapsed.

Often in sport that’s how it works but in the euphoria of the series victory we tended to gloss over how shaky the Boks had been and how fortuitous the win.

In the third and final test the team’s management of De Villiers, Muir and Gold decided to make wholesale changes and, frankly, Springbok rugby’s next echelon was unceremoniously exposed – the 9-28 (three tries to nil) in fact flattering a disjointed home side.

Tri-Nations

The Tri-Nations went South Africa’s way but in all of the early tests the Boks were at times under the cosh until sudden ripostes, often against the run of play, got them home.

Not too much wrong with that because in sport, as Oom Boy Louw said, there is only one measure and that is what it says on the scoreboard when time is up.

The Springboks closed out the Tri-Nations in impressive fashion in Hamilton (in no small measure due to Frans Steyn’s pair of colossal penalties), and I cheered as hard as anyone, but in between there was another aberration – a heavy 21-6 thrashing by the Wallabies in Brisbane in which the Boks suffered the humiliation of being outscrummed by a nation never in its history feted for scrummaging.

Those two losses gnawed at me as I analysed the season and now there has been another against France – the 13-20 score hardly being representative of France’s domination; a team against whom the Boks have now lost five, and drawn one of their last seven internationals.

Staggeringly the Italians are now viewing the Boks’ creaky scrum with undisguised anticipation and the Irish, who have won their last two encounters against us in Dublin and who will include a number of Lions bent on revenge, must fancy their chances.

Add in the humiliation meted out by the Leicester Tigers and you see that the glittering trophies in SA Rugby’s cabinet might be blinding us to the true state of our game and that more defeats before the year is out may put a different complexion on the achievements of 2009 – and, I sincerely hope not, also signal the beginning of the end of a golden era.

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

126 Comments

1. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 19th, 2009 at 11:14 pm Reply to this comment

At last somebody with standing
    is also putting this
    “Greatest Boks ever”
    bullshit into perspective.

I have always maintained that
    the Lions series was more about
    luck than anything else.

I agree with Morne’s views:
    2010 will probably not be a
    great year.
    And 2011? Let’s not go there
    now . . .

I still maintain this team is
    nothing compared to the golden
    run of victories of the Mallett/
    Teichmann era.

2. Jacques(Bunny) Bunny says:
    November 19th, 2009 at 11:40 pm Reply to this comment

I still maintain this team is
    nothing compared to the golden
    run of victories of the Mallett/
    Teichmann era.

cannot agree with you more, Mallett’s team spam there victories over two year end tours and tri nations, want to see snor beat that before i will use them in the same breath.

I feel that the All Blacks is in a rebuilding fase and Aussies is in the same shoes. If they were at there best we would have had an ordinary team,

Next year is gonna be like puppy murder, want to see then how dick and snor survive that!!

3. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:00 am Reply to this comment

Let’s not just blame Snor,
    for the lack of talent goes
    much deeper.
    I do blame him for selecting
    guys like Raubenheimer, Ralepelle,
    Maku, Hargreaves and Adams – and I
    want to include a very average
    Kirchner.
    I also feel for Pienaar, who is
    being turned into another Gaffie.
    The midfield cupboard is very
    bare – ditto locks and props,
    although we may have some of the
    latter coming through.

4. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:07 am Reply to this comment

Add to this a backline with
    hardly any innovations and
    skills – only relying on power
    and getting fooked in the process.
    Naas vividly pointed out how
    our backs are running with the
    inside shoulder pointing outwards
    instead of inwards.
    I suppose the Dick must get the
    blame here.

5. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:14 am Reply to this comment

Hell this is a good arty

6. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:15 am Reply to this comment

hoe is oom boer nog wakker?

7. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:17 am Reply to this comment

Yes the Mallet era saw the Boks play with real gusto.

That team played like they wanted to change rugby, not simply be the best in the world.

Too bad we could not sustain it.

I dont want to bad mouht Peter but it took Jake 4 years just to get us to believe again. As I have said many times before perhaps Peter is the right man for now as he has no ego and allows the seniors to run the show but one has to ask what Meyer could have done with these boks, and the talent in the land.

8. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:19 am Reply to this comment

Again lets not blame Peter alone. Muir and Gold seems to be too liberal in a sense. Its as if they are too scared or civil to simply mould this team and era of players into the the best in the world.

I want to ask this: do our coaching team perhaps lack ambition? Do we have enough of a ‘fuck you’ attitude once we take the field?

9. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:25 am Reply to this comment

fok eks nou lus vir anys beskuit en `n lekker moer koffie.

10. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:30 am Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 12:25 am:

Myne klaar gedrink en gehap.
    OK, nie moerkoffie nie –
    Jacobs, en volgraan beskuit.

Ag, ek is maar al die jare nog
    ‘n naguil.

11. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:32 am Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 12:14 am:

Jip, Dan is my favourite. Never
    sensational, always food for
    thought. Guy’s been in the business
    for some 40 years, and it shows.

12. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:34 am Reply to this comment

Ja maar kan ook nie help om te dink ou Dan gaan gesien word as net nog `n arend wat sirkel nie!

13. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:35 am Reply to this comment

Ja self naguil. Deesdae gaan lees ek storie vir die laaitie dan raak ek aan die slaap en word wakker vir `n baie lang nag.

14. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:36 am Reply to this comment

Besig tans om ‘escalator to the runway’ the pitch by studente radio stasies wereldwyd om bietjie menings te kry. Dit hou mens besig

15. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:36 am Reply to this comment

the =te

16. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:41 am Reply to this comment

as die song goeie response kry gaan die label dit 10/1 verkies om eerste vid te maak so dalk moet oom luister,

ek mail gou weer link,,

nou net by Murph `n facebook gekry dat hy `n provincial war wil begin.

die mal moer was sy lewe lank in JHB en sy familie is almal Iers maar hy support die cheetahs.

17. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:44 am Reply to this comment

Lyk my jy benader die ding
    professioneel.

Ons mis ouens soos Murph.
    Ek is bly jy skop sy gat.

18. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 12:51 am Reply to this comment

Janee ons kort net so 10 manne wat elke nou en dan inloer dan is alles weer sweet.

Ja die musiek ding is `n alles of niks tipe vibe maar ek het die lang pad gestap so ek twyfel nie veel oor my kanse nie.

Baie cocky om die waarheid te se.

19. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 1:01 am Reply to this comment

Nou ja laat ek weer gaan probeer kiep. Ek het al my laatnag idees uitgestort en nou kaan ek gaan rus in die wete dat as:

Wian en Andries en Smittie net bietjie stable is die eerste paar scrums en bietjie kwaad word ons vir Stephen Jones `n ding of twee gaan wys.

Ek gaan die Bok span back vir Saterdag. Ek dink ons gaan bietjie ballas wys.

20. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 1:01 am Reply to this comment

:cheers:

21. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 1:03 am Reply to this comment

Die Pastas is nie meer ‘n grap
    nie – lekker fisiek.

22. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 7:55 am Reply to this comment

The Springboks closed out the Tri-Nations in impressive fashion in Hamilton (in no small measure due to Frans Steyn’s pair of colossal penalties), and I cheered as hard as anyone, but in between there was another aberration – a heavy 21-6 thrashing by the Wallabies in Brisbane in which the Boks suffered the humiliation of being outscrummed by a nation never in its history feted for scrummaging.

I have highlighted this issue now for 2 Super seasons

SARU

WE NEED TO GET A NATIONAL DIRECTOR OF RUGBY THAT RESPECTS THE BASICS OF RUGBY UNION

START WITH THE SCRUM!

23. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:15 am Reply to this comment

It might only have direct influence on oLLie, Can & JT, but somehow I believe this event wiLL indirectly influence aLL of us here on ruGGaworld.

Belgium

indEEd a very European place. How wiLL that “europe” adapt to the world we aLL live in now and in the future?

Maybe a FlemishOke that appreciates haiku might just be the right person who wiLL influence the dEEply rOOted germanic/West European distrust of “skrealings” and provide solutions to the perception that “the worst part of prejudice is that there is usuaLLy a gOOde reason for it.”

from http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/profiles/herman-van-rompuy-profile-belgiums-diffident-haiku-poet-steps-from-the-shadows-1824102.html

Herman van Rompuy profile: Belgium’s diffident haiku poet steps from the shadows

By Vanessa Mock

Friday, 20 November 2009

Belgian parliamentarians cheered and applauded their departing Prime Minister hours before his official nomination to the post of European Union President yesterday.

Wearing a loose-fitting suit and a look of surprise tinged with amusement, Herman van Rompuy cut a diminutive figure among his boisterous colleagues. Unusually in this divided country, Flemish nationalists teamed up with Walloon socialists during Prime Minister’s question Time in the Belgian parliament to salute their unlikely national hero. In a nod to his premier’s famous love of verse, one MP recited the opening stanza of a Flemish poem as a tribute, which Mr Van Rompuy then spontaneously completed.

No one can have been more taken aback than Mr Van Rompuy himself when the EU’s 26 other leaders confirmed weeks of fevered speculation to back him as the first-ever European Council President. Lightly built and softly spoken, Mr Van Rompuy would readily admit that he is the very antithesis of the most obviously presidential Tony Blair, his earlier rival.

Despite stints as budget minister and deputy prime minister, Mr Van Rompuy has chosen to spend much of his long political career well away from the limelight, beavering away behind the scenes to cut deals between his country’s bickering French-speaking and Flemish communities.

It is this skill of quietly brokering compromises that prompted King Albert II to summon the 63-year-old Christian Democrat on a cold December day at the end of 2007, as the country was gripped by political tensions so great that they fanned fears that Belgium would split in two. Almost immediately and imperceptibly, Mr Van Rompuy brought calm to the troubled waters. This, despite his initial reluctance to accept the job in which three others had failed that same year, and just at a time when he was looking forward to his retirement, indulging his love of reading and caravanning.

“He’s the kind of politician who operates in the shadows. But just because he prefers to stay away from the public glare doesn’t mean he’ll be altogether invisible,” said a former ministerial colleague, Johan Vande Lanotte. “He is very cautious and is a man who likes to take his time, which was the right approach to take in Belgium. But he might find it hard to adjust to the faster pace of the EU.”

Other ministers praise Mr Van Rompuy’s wry sense of humour and cynical take on the daily political goings-on, when he often throws in a tongue-in-cheek aside. But his unique trademark is his passion for composing haikus, a form of Japanese poetry, which he publishes in a leading Flemish daily. These compositions are miniature odes to nature and the outdoor life, a setting in which he seems most at home.

“He’s a very different kind of politician. It’ll be interesting to see what the rest of Europe makes of him,” said Lukas de Vos, a Belgian commentator.

24. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:16 am Reply to this comment

SoRRy CaBBo- not Can

:oops:

25. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:18 am Reply to this comment

And if you cant sEE the relevance between post 22 & 23, take a :beer: and be meRRy

coz “dAAr is nie piLLe vir jou nie”

26. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:24 am Reply to this comment

Reply to WiLLem @ 8:18 am:

OK, bring die
    :beer: :beer: :beer:

27. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:28 am Reply to this comment

StiLL on things Belgian- with absolutely NO relevance to posts 22 & 23

from the samesaid site

The 26-year-old victim of the First World War

An encounter with an unexploded RAF bomb changed Maité Roël’s life for ever. Robert Fisk finds out what the Great War means to her

Friday, 20 November 2009

Maité Roël is just 26 and she is the youngest victim of the First World War. And when she walks to meet me past the old churchyard in her village of Bovekerke, she limps, ever so slightly, on her left leg, the living ghost of all those mutilated, long-dead men whose memory the world honoured on Armistice Day earlier this month. She even holds a First World War veteran’s card – “mutilée dans la guerre” – and when she shows it to the local railway ticket inspectors for reduced fare train trips, they suspect her – with awful inevitability – of stealing it from dead grandfather or great-grandfather.

But it’s all true. After shaking off – so far – a 10-year addiction to the morphine which Belgian doctors gave her during 29 excruciatingly painful operations on her leg, Maité is now a young mother with a year and a half old baby and, incredibly, a total disinterest in the war that almost killed her. Only an hour before I met Maité, I was listening to the “Last Post” at the Menin Gate, 15 miles away in Ypres. “I know nothing about it,” she says to me with indifference. “I’ve read nothing about it. This month was the first time they ever took me to show me the preserved trenches of the war.”

They are all around her. Bovekerke was in German-occupied Belgium during the First World War, on the very edge of the Allied-held Ypres salient, and so was the military camp at Wetteren near Ghent when a bomber of the newly created RAF, successor to the Royal Flying Corps, dropped a bomb there in 1918. The Germans were already in retreat across France and Belgium, abandoning the terrible battlefields of Ypres and the Somme, pursued by British, French, Empire and newly-arrived American troops, harried by RAF bi-plane fighters and bombers. Those critical last months of the “War to End All Wars” almost did for Maité 17 years ago.

“We went on a scout camping expedition to Wetteren and I remember now that it was an old military camp,” Maité recalls very slowly. She has tiny dreadlocks that hang down her slim face and a silver ring in her nose – not the usual face of a First World War victim. “It was July 6th, 1992. I knew nothing about war. I remember we all built a fire using bricks round the outside and the other kids starting throwing logs on it. I was tired and so I went a few metres from the fire so I could sleep. Then there was a sudden explosion – I woke up and saw sparks from the explosion. Everyone was running and shouting and I tried to get up and I couldn’t. Everyone was looking at me and I looked down – and I saw that my left leg was hanging by a piece of skin.”

A million British soldiers had experienced this same terror in this same land more than 60 years earlier. But Maité could not understand. She was rushed to the local hospital at Wetteren where there were no specialist surgeons and she had to be rushed by air to Ghent University Hospital. For three hours, she wept and cried in pain before doctors could give her a sedative because the doctors were not sure which medication to administer. “I only started feeling the pain when I saw my leg – and then it never stopped,” she said.

Nor has it stopped now. The doctors took skin and muscles and arteries from thighs and back and ribs to reconstruct her left leg – and saved it after 29 operations in which Maité spent two years in hospital, all of them on morphine. For the next 10 years she was addicted, desperate to detoxicate but still finding the pain unbearable. Maité now has only one artery in each leg. The birth of her child, Damon, and the love of his father, Kurt, helped her, she says, admitting with a smile that she still needs cannabis and alcohol to survive the pain but has been without morphine for a year and five months.

She is now cared for by the Belgian Institute for Veterans’ Affairs and War Victims. The Institute, along with doctors and police officials, quickly realised that the scouts must have picked up the cylindrical RAF bomb, thinking it was a mouldy log – and thrown it on the fire. The explosion blasted the bricks into pieces, one of which almost severed Maité’s left leg. Belgian explosives officers later identified the fragments as those of an RAF bomb – typical of many found over battlefields in the decades that followed the 1918 Armistice – manufactured in 1918 and used during the German retreat. The Wetteren camp was used by the Reichswehr during this period because the town was a major rail centre for German military traffic to the front.

With one of those bitter ironies that war alone can produce, the RAF’s youngest victim – long after both the pilot and his intended targets must have died – turns out to be partly British. Maité’s grandmother, Janette Matthieson, is Scottish and now lives in Ostend, making Maité’s French-speaking mother half-British. Maité now lives on £700 a month, a stipend available to her since she was 16. When she was so grievously hurt, not a single newspaper outside Belgium mentioned her fate – the Israeli invasion of Lebanon and the British liberation of the Falklands dominated the world’s attention.

Belgian authorities are still paying monthly allowances to much older victims of First World War munitions as well as survivors of the Second World War – including Belgian Jewish survivors of the Holocaust – and newly-arrived wounded from Afghanistan. Maité wants to go on a clothes-making course and open a boutique – “I don’t want to work for a boss,” she says as cheerfully as any 1914-18 British soldier with a “Blighty” wound, though she may be more successful than the men who came home in 1918 and found that theirs was not a land fit for heroes.

“I have an ’051′-coded card from the First World War veterans’ department and when I buy train tickets, they often question me about it,” Maité says. “They think I’ve taken it from an ancestor but it’s completely real. I’m just the youngest victim of that war.”

I ask her why she shows no interest in this terrible period of history which struck her so mercilessly – and so literally – when she was younger. She shrugs her shoulders. So much for the Somme and Verdun and Gallipoli and the nine million military dead of the Great War and the Last Post just down the road in Ypres. But I rather suspect Maité is right. Her boutique and her home-made clothes sound a far better future than an examination of the awful mud upon which her village of Bovekerke was rebuilt after the War to End All Wars.

28. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:30 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 8:24 am:

hehehe Oudste

Jy is net nog ‘n geharde joernalis wat ‘n “verniet” bier vroeg in die oGGend wil drink- wat my betref ‘n BAIE goeie bavariese gewOOnte!

29. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:40 am Reply to this comment

ok net vOOr almal wEEr kan rugby prAAt- exclusively here on RW

a quote from the coMMEnts of that arty

“War is organised murder, and nothing else. At the end, the peace was settled round a table, so why the hell couldn’t they do that at the start without losing millions of men?” – the late Harry Patch, World War One Veteran

WeLL i believe its because of ego’s and grEEd

sounds like the problems facing our rugby

so I gueSS there is some relevance after aLL!

30. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 4:14 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to WiLLem @ 8:40 am:

not forgetting the money to be made in modern warfare. You kind of need a war every now and then to justify the expenses to the population, who for some reason want better schools and healthcare.

I am only psycho over two causes:

1) the glorification of war in any way or form. Fuck it irks me like nothing else.

2) the destruction of trees to make space for ‘development’.

31. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:09 pm Reply to this comment

interesting take Shields

I had a gOOde chuckle on this

Mao Zedong (Tse Tung) was reportedly once asked what he thought were the results of the French Revolution of 1789. He replied that it was “too early to tell”.

32. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:14 pm Reply to this comment

So you say there is a nEEd for war….

but have a pain with those who glorify it

At what stage – in puLLing an ostrich head from the sand to fuLLy erect neck- does the science of styding war( acknowledging the Clausewitz thought that “War is the extention of politics” flows into the “glorification” proceSS?

So basicaLLy you want a Tshirt with Bono in the front and Che @ the back?

33. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:18 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to WiLLem @ 8:14 pm:

En ‘n Nelson Mandela onderbroek.

34. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:25 pm Reply to this comment

hehehe- eish Shields is darem sekerlik nie ‘n hangkas jorsie nie!

NEEwat die OuMadala is nie ‘n Engel nie- mAr hy hOOrt darem nie op ‘n oNNerbroek nie.

Ek kan egter AAn ‘n hele pAAr aNNer gedoentes dink wat AAn mAAr AAn die biNNekant van my agterkant kan geprint woRRe!

35. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:27 pm Reply to this comment

btw HowZit Oudste

StUUr juLLe al beter wEEr vir ons AAn?

36. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:28 pm Reply to this comment

No Willem I was being sarcastic when I said there is a need for war. How on earth can there be a need for war?

I was saying it in jest, as if from the mouth of Dick Cheney or some other bullocks that benefit financially from people making and dying in war.

37. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:29 pm Reply to this comment

I will have Bono on the front and Chris Martin on the back thanks!

:P

38. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:32 pm Reply to this comment

OK Shields

Now I understand…

This Chris MArtin?

Christopher Anthony John “Chris” Martin (born 2 March 1977) is an English singer-songwriter and instrumentalist, best known as the lead vocalist of the band Coldplay. He is the husband of Hollywood actress Gwyneth Paltrow, with whom he has fathered two children.

39. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:35 pm Reply to this comment

Just remember there is a BIG diFFerence betwEEn “GLORIFYING” war and its causes and honoring those who fought and fronted up life and limb in it.

40. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:38 pm Reply to this comment

Martin is a vegetarian[34] and practices yoga. He does not drink alcohol nor smoke.[35]

In a 2005 Rolling Stone magazine interview, Martin said of his religious views: “I definitely believe in God. How can you look at anything and not be overwhelmed by the miraculousness of it?”[36] In the same interview he spoke of going through a period of spiritual confusion, stating “I went through a weird patch, starting when I was about sixteen to twenty-two, of getting God, religion, superstition, judgment all confused”.[36] In an interview with NME, he also stated “I’m always trying to work out what ‘He’ or ‘She’ is.

41. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:40 pm Reply to this comment

““I went through a weird patch, starting when I was about sixteen to twenty-two, of getting God, religion, superstition, judgment all confused””

How confused would he have bEEn if he had drunk alcohol and smoked :weed:

42. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:40 pm Reply to this comment

:ghost:

43. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:41 pm Reply to this comment

I agree Willem,

Cannot fault those who gets dragged into the machine. Its like blaming someone who happen to buy an apple mac that ends up breaking down. He believed thy hype but its not his fault the computer broke down.

What pisses me off is when a jet fighter flies over a town the standard response of most people is ‘wow’!

We are so programmed to think of war machines as normal that we do not for one second think how that single jet fighter could have put tar on most raods in the location.

War and our spending on the possibility of war is perhaps the most irrational human collective action known today?

44. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:44 pm Reply to this comment

Chris is a bit of a fruitcake. i like some of their songs but he is too ‘californian’ for my liking.

I do not trust people who do not drink. I still believe the answer to peace in the middle east can be found in alcohol. Imagine what a pain in the arse I would have been had I always been sober and serious – unable to laugh at myself.

Entire countries full of people wake up like this every morning.

45. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:46 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 8:41 pm:

I understand your point of view Shields

But

The expenditure on a defence force is not the reason why townships roads are not taRRed.

And is tar the best longterm roadsurface?

By investing heavily in one are – which powerbase is being aPPeased

Those in the road construction busine$$?

46. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:57 pm Reply to this comment

I understand your approach too Willem. its about departments and their budgets and their own corruption etc.

Still I feel you are shifting a moral issue on the backburner at the behest of everyday budget politics.

Very few social scientists have even attemted to deconstruct the theory of a ‘military industrial complex’ pulling the strings in most nations.

Once you see this monster for what it is its rather unsettling to tolerate it daily.

47. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 8:58 pm Reply to this comment

:ghost:

:Ollie:

48. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:03 pm Reply to this comment

Which states are suCCeSSful Shields

and how many of them does not have a ‘military industrial complex’

If it wasnt for the 34 km of water betwixt France and England the English would also have had Sauerkraut & Bratwurst instead of the usual bangers & mash.

key to it is the actions of not having a guy like Adlof Hitler as the European Prez but rather that Belgium chaPPie… whatshisnameagain?

49. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:27 pm Reply to this comment

willem you just regurgitated the classic justification for war. Yes the poms would have eaten bratwurst but so what? Hitler might have ruled for a bit but for how long? 28 years, like the Nats, and then something else?

What would the US have done with all that money they borrowed to fix europe had there not been a war?

The point is for every outcome generated by a war a peaceful setelement might have generated a different outcome, or the same one. No one can say.

The day the guy who decides to go to war is the same guy who puts on his boots to go fight it out on the field, is the day i will back warfare as a means to settle disputes,

but when last was this the case?

50. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:35 pm Reply to this comment

“The day the guy who decides to go to war is the same guy who puts on his boots to go fight it out on the field, is the day i will back warfare as a means to settle disputes,

but when last was this the case?”

I share the sentiment-

and countries with no clout- have no negotiation power.

Therefore the one with the weakest army wont bother to negotiate.

The real suCCeSSful countries do NOT go to war anymore.

The super suCCe$$ful countries finance and suPPly the wars other countries are fighting.

51. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:36 pm Reply to this comment

War and our spending on the possibility of war is perhaps the most irrational human collective action known today?
    =========
    Not irrational when you spend
    R60 billion to line your own
    pockets with billions.

52. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:37 pm Reply to this comment

Anyway

I am not going to wear your Tshirts

and its not just because I wont fit into them…

ChEErs!

Nag Oudste jou ou bleRRierOOfkyker!

:-)

53. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:38 pm Reply to this comment

Thats an interesting point. South Korea, Malaysia etc dont bother with war even though both can justify having an army more than what we can.

Costa Rica disbanded thier entire army and was asked what they will do if someone was to attack them?

they answered they will call the UN, which is why they pay fees to this organisation!

54. newbokshields newbokshields says:

fok en hier praat die twee vrystaters net anglo in die hoop dat `n ander grappie gaan inluister maar die geprek is seker bo die vuurmaak!

55. Boertjie Boertjie says:

The super suCCe$$ful countries finance and suPPly the wars other countries are fighting.
    =========
    So die Yanks is super onnosel?
    Wat is dit, 68 000 lewens later?

Interessant dat die VSA nog nooit
    ‘n groot oorlog gewen het nie –
    Vietnam, Irak, Afganistan.

56. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:40 pm Reply to this comment

As an afterthought

28 years of Hitler….

eish

I doubt that he would have liked the Oirish?

8)

57. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:41 pm Reply to this comment

En om te dink die wêreld
    kon daai kak gespaar gebly
    het as Chamberlain nie so
    ‘n onnosel en insiglose POM
    was nie . . .

58. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:42 pm Reply to this comment

Willem but you will wear henry skye.

Boer dis meer irrational om die biljoene te pocket en dalk die cherry dat arms deals dit moontlik maak vir vetkoppe om die geld te versteek.

Maak my naar. Lees die boek: As used on the famous nelson mandela.

Mense het gese ANC regering is so skoon en heilig dat die amrs industry nooit daar `n foothold sou kry nie.

Toe vat dit die britte presies 4 maande om die eerste struggle hero se oor te kry!

59. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:44 pm Reply to this comment

South Korea, Malaysia etc dont bother with war even though both can justify having an army more than what we can.

Suid Korea?????

Eish

Bit of discipline- young man go and read….listen leSS to pinkFloyd!

South Korea is one of the biGGest developers, manufacturers and seLLers of warfare tOOls in the 21st century!

60. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:45 pm Reply to this comment

Ja 28 jaar Hitler sou dalk net soos aparthied moerse resultate gelwer het so tussen die kak musiek en dogdy marching style deur.

8O

61. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:46 pm Reply to this comment

Communists blast Malema
    ====
    Ag, dis lekker as die ou
    spul mekaar kaalvuis begin
    aanvat!

62. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:47 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 9:38 pm:

Niemand het nog OOit gedink die 20ste EEu wEErgawe van die Yanks is die skerpste potlOOd iNNi paKKie nie!

Meanste military industrial complex – vir nof die volgende 24 jare- mAAr eish

63. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:47 pm Reply to this comment

Hense South Korea being able to justify making those weapons plus research etc because they have a massive ral threat right next door. yet South Korea are not an imperialist force.

The will not make war for the sale of making war. But they have reason (in the minds of politicians – the conventionals anyway) to arms themselves, and sell the surplus! :P

64. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:48 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 9:45 pm:

8O

foKKit Shields

watse goete het jy gerOOk vandag?

8)

65. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:48 pm Reply to this comment

Ek het wayyyyyy back ‘n artikel
    gedoen oor die ou wat met Hitler
    se tanderekords bewys het dit
    was sy oorskot daar by die bunker.

66. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:49 pm Reply to this comment

Point is both the US (imperialist) en Suid Korea (weapons trader) is in my mind totally fucked.

Maar die oorlog wat US (en Noord Korea) dreig geen elke dag vir SK die legitimacy benodig om goed te verkoop wat ander doodmaak, terwyl hulle duisende myle weg sit en in relatiewe vrede leef met baie ‘human rights’.

67. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:50 pm Reply to this comment

niks gerook nie, maar gaan nou vir my `n wyn skink en julle oues van dae opkeil.

68. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:50 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 9:47 pm:

Ok But then they are not yet as far evolved, on the haLLowed road of exalted humanity, as the Costa Ricans, in spite of having a South Korean as the UN SecGen?

69. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:51 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 9:48 pm:

Nou verstAAn mens hoekom hy so min gelag het

70. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:53 pm Reply to this comment

haLLowed road of exalted humanity
    =========
    En jy vra wat Shields gerook het?

71. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:55 pm Reply to this comment

Willem hou op om daardie oorlog kaart te speel.

Costa Rica het eenvoudig besluit om hulle ‘military nationalism’ te vervang met ‘environmental nationalism’ waar `n kind geleer word om ‘wow’ te se as hy `n mooi slang sien in plaas van `n ‘mooi’ oorlog helikopter wat oor sy kop vlieg.

Geen logiese persoon kan argue watter approach die beste is nie?

72. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:55 pm Reply to this comment

Ja, Willem, maar hy bly vir my
    die interessantste wêreldfiguur
    van sy eeu.
    Terloops, een van die kakstories
    wat se deksel gelig is, is die
    een van Hitler en Jesse Owens:
    Owens het voor sy dood erken dat
    die Fuhrer wel sy hand geskud het.

73. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:57 pm Reply to this comment

Anyone watching Luke Watson’s first game for Bath? The Cancer is playing 8 with Claasens at 9.

74. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:58 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 9:55 pm:

Costa Rica het nie oorlogsmasjiene
    nodig om ryk te word nie – die
    dwelmhandel is seker baie makliker?
    “Environmental nationalism.”
    :muahaha:

75. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:58 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 9:55 pm:

Stalin is intereSSanter mAAr Adolf het sy helder OOmbliKKe gehad.

Reply to newbokshields @ 9:55 pm:

Solank dit ‘n inhEEmse slang is is dit OK Shields

76. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 9:59 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 9:57 pm:

hehehe

HowZit JT

MICHEAL CLAASENS !!

77. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:00 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 9:57 pm:
    Can’t watch, but please let me
    know when someone moers him.

78. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:00 pm Reply to this comment

Die fuhrer was een ambiseuse bliksem maar siende dat hy queer was sou hy op `n stadium dalk ge-mellow het en hom begin toespits op die kunste!

Hy is `n lekker scapegoat vir baie dinge in daardie tyd. Sy mission was niks meer gefok as wat die engelse die vorige 2 eeue aangevang het nie.

Maar die Poms het mos masjiene ontdek ek wou die goed smous aan die wereld maar eers moes hulle slawerny stop sodat ander lande die masjiene sal koop om die werk te doen.

Nou verkoop die poms die hele abolition as `n moral storie. Ai lekker as mens die geskiedenis kan skryf!

79. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:01 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:00 pm:

it looked like it at the warm-up but not sure :wink:

80. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:02 pm Reply to this comment

now lets see if luke was forced by customs to take them bloody waartlemoene with.

81. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:02 pm Reply to this comment

And Churchill said:
    “History will be kind to
    me, because I intend
    writing it.”

82. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:03 pm Reply to this comment

Adolf se grOOtse fout was dat hy nie kon insien dat Pole sy bondgenOOt moes wEEs nie.

Verskriklike wind wat hy dAAr gesluk het.

mAAr nouja Hindsight is 20/twenty!

83. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:03 pm Reply to this comment

ek sien julle is net lus om kak te praat vannaand :roll:
    tWatson het 8 op sy rug maar lyk my hy wil full back speel :cuckoo:

84. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:05 pm Reply to this comment

unfookingbeliefable! 15 rucks already and cancer not in any of them – seagulling at FB! 8O

85. newbokshields newbokshields says:

janee thats our watson standing upright at the back of a ruck pointing hands in all directions.

86. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:

Reply to newbokshields @ 10:00 pm:

Yip die mEEste van die post- 34 Bere was mAAr hangkasPiete gewEEs.

vandAAr huLLe “fasinasie” met uniforms.

87. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:07 pm Reply to this comment

jt hy is nie kaptein gemaak nie nou het hy dikbek en wag vir Stofile om `n vergadering met Brown te roep

88. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:07 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 10:03 pm:

Ag komAAn JT

On the tjOOn of “jeremaih was a buLLfrog”

Adolf was ‘n Austrian….

:jester:

89. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:08 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to WiLLem @ 10:05 pm:

Hangkaspiete – soos in windbukse?
    Knak hom en laai hom van agter af?

:twisted:

90. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:09 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:08 pm:

Yip!

91. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:11 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:08 pm:

hoe praat julle oor julle vroue?? Laii hulle van waar af? :oops:

92. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:13 pm Reply to this comment

moet hartloop – tot later!

PS: cancer#46 still not seen a ruck! getting in the way of the FB however!

93. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:14 pm Reply to this comment

still have not seen luke contribute – oh shit he just kicked the ball

94. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:14 pm Reply to this comment

managed to lose the ball in contact quickly

95. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:15 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 10:14 pm:

kak kick almost cost bath 50m!

96. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:17 pm Reply to this comment

dankie tog ons hoef nie meer na die kind te kyk en as hy `n bal raakvang die maandag moet lees hoe hy bok kaptein moet word nie.

:shake:

97. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:17 pm Reply to this comment

WILLEM
    Was daar toe ooit finaliteit
    oor Hess se trippie Engeland
    toe?

98. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 WiLLem says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:19 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:17 pm:

nEE Oudste

Synde dAAi Seaplane wat in Scotland gecrash het…..

99. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:24 pm Reply to this comment

waarvan praat julle toppies?

neewat luke het besluit hy kry nie modder op sy trui vanaand nie.

100. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:27 pm Reply to this comment

Hess, Rudolph Hess.
    Ag, toemaar . . .
    :wink:

101. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:27 pm Reply to this comment

Modder sal daai twee klaviere
    onder sy arms heeltemal vals
    maak.

102. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:29 pm Reply to this comment

nee ek ken nie die ou nie, en gaan ooknie google nie want dalk is hy `n oorlogs ou en dan ‘glorify’ ek hom net deur hom aandag te gee!

:roll:

103. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:34 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 10:29 pm:

Ek ken baie mense wat te lui is
    om ingelig te wees.
    Hitler se luitenant, wat toe in
    Skotland opduik en claim dat hy
    daar is om vrede te soek.
    Probleem is net nie almal wou hom
    glo nie.
    Een van daai onopgeloste raaisels
    van WO II.

104. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:36 pm Reply to this comment

O OK,

ja ek het dokkie gesien oor al die nazis wat deur die katolieke kerk in ierland ingesmokkel is.

Baie raaisels daar.

105. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:36 pm Reply to this comment

SNIPPET
    The rugby series between the Springboks and the British & Irish Lions has boosted the SA economy to the tune of almost R1.5bn.

106. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:38 pm Reply to this comment

ek gaan eers rus dankie vir die chat oom boer.

:pdv: :boxing: :cheers:

107. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:39 pm Reply to this comment

Ciao. Lees vir jouself
    ‘n storie dat jy kan slaap.

108. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:47 pm Reply to this comment

Luke speel soos Kanko teen Franse gespeel het :roll:
    Nie een keer in ‘n ruck nie! Maak kak droog wanneer hy die bal kry en kan nie vashou in kontak nie :censored:

109. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:48 pm Reply to this comment

WTF is met “Your comment is awaiting moderation.”?? :bangheadt:

110. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:51 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 10:48 pm:

I’ll check – sometimes goes
    haywire with decent posts.

111. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:52 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:51 pm:

ek try in afrikaans skryf dan word ek :censored:
    :nono:

112. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:53 pm Reply to this comment

CLEARED, hou net op met bitch.
    Gaan lees die nuwe thread as
    jy verveeld is.

113. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:54 pm Reply to this comment

I don’t bitch I am NOT oirish :satansmoking:

114. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:55 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 10:54 pm:

eers was dit BOD wat getakkel word van Umaga en nou bitch hulle oor Henry in daai ronde bal stront! :cuckoo:

115. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:57 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 10:55 pm:

Ja, maar die Oirish het ‘n punt:
    nie een handbal nie, sommer TWEE!

En daar is omtrent net drie reëls
    in ronnebol, anders as rugby met sy
    30 reëls net vir die lynstaan.

116. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 10:59 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:57 pm:

maar rondebal kak is ‘n game vir cheaters en cheating met al daai oscars! As hulle oor die handbal moan dan moet hulle oor alles moan! Almal :whatever:

117. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 11:00 pm Reply to this comment

ek hoop net die acting bly uit rugby uit maar dit begin nou stadig in kruip! Clerc teen die Bokke was belaglik :cuckoo:

118. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 11:02 pm Reply to this comment

Die WB het nognie begin nie, en
    vier lande is al op die punt om
    oorlog te verklaar (Egipte-Algerië).

En om te dink al daai fkn hooligans
    gaan hier in ons strate losgelaat
    word om uiting aan hul wanopvoeding
    te gee.
    :realangry:
    En dan word almal nog toondoof
    geraas met daai plestiek beuels
    met die een noot.
    :rant:

119. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 11:04 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 11:02 pm:

daai European hooligans gaan almal huis toe hardloop as hulle die nag met die verkeerde spul :soek:

120. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 11:06 pm Reply to this comment

Nee wat Watson is useless! Een van sy span maats gaan hom nounou bliksim as hy nie saam speel nie! 2de helfte en nog nie een clean-out gemaak nie! 8O

121. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 11:06 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 11:04 pm:

Is daar dan games in Petoorsfontein ook?
    :twisted:

122. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 11:07 pm Reply to this comment

ek moet weer weg – tot later! :beer:

123. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 11:07 pm Reply to this comment

:beer: :beer:

124. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2009 at 11:47 pm Reply to this comment

Bwahahahah! Luke “loses” the game for Bath!
    Score 12-12 and Bath on the attack – Luke gets it and bang – loses it in the tackle! :cuckoo: Game over!

125. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 21st, 2009 at 9:54 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 11:47 pm:

Kon nie met ‘n beter
    poepol gebeur het nie.
    :applause:

126. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 21st, 2009 at 10:45 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 9:54 am:

When is Earl Rose and Snor going to Bath?