Boks need more than talent

November 23, 2009
Posted by Boertjie

Self-confidence is a huge ally, but it can also be an enemy if not utilised correctly.
Take the Springbok team who beat Italy 32-10 at the Stadio Fruili on Saturday for example.

JJ Harmse, Sport24

This was a team who, unlike last week against France, did not accept that their level of play and talent alone would ensure victory.

This time the Boks knew that they had to work for it.

They had the confidence to win in spectacular fashion, but not before they played the right rugby at the right times.

There had been speculation surrounding the effectiveness of the Bok scrum. However, nobody knew that the first scrum would only take place after 21 minutes – by which the visitors were already in the lead after two well executed tries.

The fact that Italy could come back and thanks to their scrummaging, only found themselves 7-12 at halftime, is a clear indication of the hosts’ strength in this facet of play.

Just as it was with the All Blacks last week, so too did the Bok scrum buckle, due to thanklessly satisfying displays by new inclusions, Wian du Preez and Adriaan Strauss, who started in a Test for the first time.

However, the Boks’ scrum, with John Smit back at hooker and BJ Botha and Beast Mtawarira as props, did manage to push the Italians back later on and served as encouragement with one eye ahead to the Test against Ireland.

This Springbok team is too seasoned to allow any one weak department to hinder their play.

Brilliant tactical kicking, excellent counter-attacks and tight defence were again allies against an opponent that does not have much to offer at the back, in spite of a well-schooled back three.

There were considerable positives to be taken out of the match, such as the performances of lock, Andries Bekker and fullback Zane Kirchner.

Danie Rossouw once again underlined his versatility as a utility player, firstly at flank and then as the eighthman.

The speed and running lines of Bryan Habana, Jaque Fourie and Fourie du Preez has trumped the greatest of defences in the world – and the Italians are still looking for them.

It was a good day on the pitch, yet still not a brilliant one.

Maybe this Saturday against the Irish?

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

39 Comments

1. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 2:20 pm Reply to this comment

Zane had a good game?
    It was lost on me, maybe
    because of the absolute
    shit TV coverage.
    :rant:

2. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 2:26 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 2:20 pm:

ESPN commentator was praising Zane all game. “What a player he is turning out to be!” “Impresses me everytime I see him play” etc.
    Maybe we are missing something! I thought he was solid and did nothing wrong but inspirational is something else. :?

3. Jacques(Bunny) Bunny says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 3:02 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 2:26 pm: He maybe did nothing wrong but that is what you expect from a CC player, a Bok needs to give you much more.

He is one dimensional and bring nothing to the team that will you say wow.

Maybe he is still in his learning curve, but I do not rate him of one of the best we will see even if he gets 50 caps.

4. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 4:47 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Bunny @ 3:02 pm:

Who would you pick – and please forget about Oupa Terblanche! Also nothing more than solid!

5. Jacques(Bunny) Bunny says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 4:49 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 4:47 pm: Get rid of the shit policy of not picking overseas players and pick Steyn,

6. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 6:41 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Bunny @ 4:49 pm:

Agree on that but he is injured (knee) anyway – so who next?

7. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 8:22 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 6:41 pm:

Oupa.
    Only 15 that brings something
    to the game – ask the Guppies.
    Otherwise let’s watch Joe Pietersen
    and this Viljoen-klong.
    Or – heaven’s forbid – The Mummy.

8. David David says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 8:28 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Bunny @ 4:49 pm:
    So what would happen to the S14 Saffa sides if they abolished the policy?

9. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 8:28 pm Reply to this comment

John Smit has revealed in his autobiography that an invite to the Lions to share drinks after the first two Tests was declined.
    =========
    And it’s not because they
    like their beer hot.
    Assholes.
    Boks and ABs get together often
    - they understand the culture.

10. Morné Morné says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 8:40 pm Reply to this comment

Either JJ is a rugby genius (in thinking Zane was good) or I am bloody dof.

11. Jacques(Bunny) Bunny says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 9:03 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 8:40 pm: What is that guy from griekwas name 15?

Why do you give Zane a change but not him, we know Zane is not gonna give us anything special.

And morne, JJ is only a genius when it comes to the cows, he can talk a cow player into a Bok team. If zane was playing for any other province JJ would have said he is kak

12. Morné Morné says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 9:09 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Bunny @ 9:03 pm:

That would be Riaan Viljoen I think…

Zane was rather brilliant when he played for the Kwas still, and he has had some good games for the Cows too but he is decidedly average for a 15.

But then, all the 15′s we have currently in SA are decidedly average and Zane is the best of an average bunch.

13. Jacques(Bunny) Bunny says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 9:16 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 9:09 pm: We will not know if the others will be better if they do not get a change.

I believe if snor gonna change Zain he will do so with good old Earl Rose, and that will be a bigger fuckup than with Zain.

14. Jacques(Bunny) Bunny says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 9:17 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 9:09 pm: Riaan Viljoen should have gone to a bigger union to better his changes of playing for the boks, don’t believe he will make the grade if he stay at Griekwas

15. Morné Morné says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 9:20 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Bunny @ 9:16 pm:

Earl Rose has been one of the few stand-outs on this tour so far in my view.

But he is back in SA now.

16. Jacques(Bunny) Bunny says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 9:35 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 9:20 pm: against club sides and not international pressure which is a total different ball game. Even Deysel said that it is total different and the pressure was much higher.

I do not believ Earl will make it under the pressure of international rugby

17. Morné Morné says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 9:39 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Bunny @ 9:35 pm:

Most seasoned internationals struggled against those very club sides as-well.

Earl performed where others (more seasoned and experienced Bok capped players) failed, that has to be acknowledged.

18. Morné Morné says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 9:39 pm Reply to this comment

Plus, he looked good in a losing team(s) (both games) which is not easily achieved.

19. Morné Morné says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 9:40 pm Reply to this comment

Not for a game (in the Northern Hemisphere) where the back three are targeted all the time because of the kicking game on wet fields.

20. Morné Morné says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 9:41 pm Reply to this comment

Earl Rose has been one of the few PDV inspired selections which proved his worth in weight on tour…

21. Morné Morné says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 9:41 pm Reply to this comment

And he does not weigh much…

22. Morné Morné says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 10:01 pm Reply to this comment

I am out, cheers.

23. Jacques(Bunny) Bunny says:

Plus, he looked good in a losing team(s) (both games) which is not easily achieved.

Fuck he plays for the Lions he always look good in a loosing team

24. Boertjie Boertjie says:

Reply to Morné @ 9:41 pm:

In the case of Rose I hate
    to must agree with you.

25. Jacques(Bunny) Bunny says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 10:02 pm Reply to this comment

Earl Rose has been one of the few PDV inspired selections which proved his worth in weight on tour…

PDV can not choose is arsh from his head.

26. Jacques(Bunny) Bunny says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 10:03 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:01 pm: Again easy to do it against club side will he do it in international rugby????????

27. Jacques(Bunny) Bunny says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 10:04 pm Reply to this comment

I do not give a shit what other so called establish guys did against the club sides I am talking if it is in Rose shorts to play that game in international level

28. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 10:20 pm Reply to this comment

Vat dit kalm Boet –
    the Mummy is not worth it.
    We’ll see how he goes next year.

29. Jacques(Bunny) Bunny says:
    November 23rd, 2009 at 10:32 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:20 pm: I just cannot understand the logic in all of this, maybe I (we all)are just top narrow minded.

30. Timeo fyndraai says:
    November 24th, 2009 at 1:46 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bunny @ 10:02 pm: When you are that light its pretty easy to “prove your worth in weight”.
    :D

31. Morné Morné says:
    November 24th, 2009 at 7:58 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bunny @ 10:04 pm:

Well then just look at Earl and no-one else.

He had a great tour, at a level just below test level (dirt-trackers) so how will we know how he will perform at test level unless he is picked.

Currently on form, I would pick Earl ahead of a very average Kirchner.

32. Morné Morné says:
    November 24th, 2009 at 8:20 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 10:01 pm:

There is one selection of PDV I never defended or even tried to, and that was the Rose selection because he was utter shit even at CC.

But there is no denying he had a great tour.

33. SARugbyFan_FormerlyKnownAsStormsaam SARugbyFan_FormerlyKnownAsStormsaam says:
    November 24th, 2009 at 9:48 am Reply to this comment

My gosh the journos have written some unmitigated shite on this tour.

Given that JJ normally writes a steaming pile of it anyway, that is not surprising.

It perplexes me that a few people (including Bobby) have complimented Bekker.

Now I’ll be the first to admit I don’t like his style of play. He shirks his duties in the rucks and sits out on the wing. I’ve given Matfield grief for the same reason.

However, Matfield was one of the few Boks to give his all against France, where his tackle count was unbelievable.

Beyond his lack of guts at the ruck, I believe Bekker is one of the biggest contributors to our scrum problems (when he is on the field). In virtually every poor scrum against the Italians, you’ll see Bekker’s back bent in half and Rossouw not bound at eighth man.

Frankly, I think the success of the scrum when BJ, Smit and Beast were together was in spite of Matfield and Bekker as two non-scrumming locks and shows their strength as a front row.

Of course the scrum is an amazingly complex issue. Gary Gold has made mention of how crucial Juan Smit is to the scrumming cause. So to, I believe, is a fresh Bakkies (who to my mind is virtually out on his feet from exhaustion).

What is also clear is that the loose forwards in general have not scrummed on this tour.

As for the future fullback, I think he got injured early in the season. Louis Ludik is a fantastic talent and a great asset while Frans is away.

On that, I completely agree with the overseas player policy. If they lift that, I am sure our Currie Cup and S14 will be decimated, our local players will learn in a low strength competition and be exposed in the step up.

I guess I should be wondering why JJ complimented a non-Bull. That is the greatest mystery of them all…

34. Welshbok die Brandwag welshbok says:
    November 24th, 2009 at 9:49 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 8:20 am:

The thing that impressed me the most of Rose was his effective fielding of the high balls which were continually being put on him.

he didn’t miss a single one.

35. SARugbyFan_FormerlyKnownAsStormsaam SARugbyFan_FormerlyKnownAsStormsaam says:
    November 24th, 2009 at 9:53 am Reply to this comment

BTW, I will not deny that Bekker’s athleticism is amazing.

The contribution to the run at Saracens being a fantastic example.

The problem with that is when a forward shines on the wing and we remark that, but for a bit of extra pace, it might have been a try, the guy with the extra pace – being a back – is typically compensating for the forward on the wing by being buried at the bottom of a ruck.

36. SARugbyFan_FormerlyKnownAsStormsaam SARugbyFan_FormerlyKnownAsStormsaam says:
    November 24th, 2009 at 9:55 am Reply to this comment

Also, it would be remiss of me not to mention Rose.

I can’t stand the guy (girlfriend battering was the clincher for me, beyond his usual unpredictable play and gutless defence).

But he has been outstanding on tour.

37. Jacques(Bunny) Bunny says:
    November 24th, 2009 at 9:59 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 7:58 am: Earl has show in S14 that he can had two or three games where everybody is talking about him and even in the CC, but then he comes and mess it all up.

I just do not have confidence in him to be the answer at fullback for him, his history shows us that.

38. Morné Morné says:
    November 24th, 2009 at 10:01 am Reply to this comment

Reply to welshbok @ 9:49 am:

Yup, he shut me up true and proper.

But now I would expect to see the same thing come S14.

39. Morné Morné says:
    November 24th, 2009 at 10:12 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Bunny @ 9:59 am:

Unlike the history of form of most players in the last year or so, including players like Schalk Burger?

Please, let’s live in the here and now and now, and right now Earl is showing some magnificent form.