While the rugby media in Dublin are describing Saturday’s test as a “revenge match” and the “clash of the best of the North and South”, the South Africans are refusing to get drawn into the hype.
Superrugby.co.za – JJ Harmse
The Springboks are reluctant to post too much about this match, and according to coach Pieter de Villiers this test will be same as any other which the South Africans have played this year.
“We are definitely not seeing this as a clash between the champions of the Six Nations and the champions of the Tri-Nations. This is nothing more than any other test we have had to play this year.
“The Springboks are role models in South Africa and winning on the rugby field gives the country hope and makes the people optimistic. This is exactly what we are aiming to achieve again on Saturday. This remains our goal in every test, regardless of the opposition.”
He also did not want to react to the views of the Irish captain, Brian O’Driscoll, earlier this year that De Villiers brought the game into disrepute.
This statement followed after De Villers refused to condemn Schalk Burger’s alledged eye gouging as a punishable offence during the test series between the British and Irish Lions and the Springboks.
“I will not react on that. O’Driscoll has the right to express his opinion, just like half the Irish population think that Paul O’Connell should captain the Irish,” said De Villiers.
“It was probably a sensitive topic for him because there were three instances of eye gouging in Ireland in the recent past and Schalk was found innocent of such an accusation.” (He was still suspended for the incident.)
De Villiers said that he would rather focus on getting his team emotionally and physically ready for the match. “Last year before the last match we just about did not practice, because the guys were tired. This time we do not have much of a choice because of injuries. Hopefully it works out for us again.
He is worried that the injuries will influence his choices on the reserve bench.
“There are combinations in the starting line-up and on the bench which could be affected.”
De Villiers also believes that the perception that Bok scrum is weak, is not true. “We pass judgment too easily, because there is simply not one test where you push back the guys in every scrum.
“Our pack gained a lot of self-confidence out of that one scrum in the second half (against Italy) when we absolutely crushed them, (Martin) Castrogiovanni included.”

November 24th, 2009 at 8:47 am
I suppose I should take this pre-match coach talk for what it is but it works me up.
How can the guy say he is not seeing the Ireland match as a crunch match between the 3-nations and 6-nations champs. The supporters are. Before the EOYT we were talking it up as being the champions of the world, RWC, 7′s, S14 etc . , now that we are getting a reality check PdV wants to dumb the whole thing down. Is the man afraid of losing?
Of course Ireland are going to go into the test with their tails up as 6N champs and their coaches will be reminding their players just how good they are to have got there.
“Our pack gained a lot of self-confidence out of that one scrum in the second half (against Italy) when we absolutely crushed them, (Martin) Castrogiovanni included.”
Did he really say that? If so, our scrum problems are bad and Doc Craven must be rolling in his grave!!!!
November 24th, 2009 at 8:51 am
Reply to out wide @ 8:47 am:
The Irish media wants to label this as a revenge match and typically take the tone they had when they visited SA during the B&I Lions tour.
I think PDV is being damn clever in telling them it is just another test, and like very test we will look to win…
Build it up as you wish, the more you do it, the harder you will fall when you fail.
November 24th, 2009 at 8:52 am
Anycase my personal point of view for the last couple of years was that the EOYT is an absolute waste of time and proves nothing, unless we leave our first team at home and only tour with youngsters and build.
Which of course we don’t.
November 24th, 2009 at 9:43 am
Yip I agrEE with aLL the opinions not “spoken”
As is, the Rugby aint much to talk about.
November 24th, 2009 at 10:10 am
Reply to WiLLem @ 9:43 am: The last game and how you play it is how people remember the year, that bad taste in your mouth, if this test is just another test why the hell did he not send the “tired and injured” Boks home and played with his second best team.
I would have done it all along because that is what they do when they come in the middle of the year.
November 24th, 2009 at 10:14 am
Reply to Bunny @ 10:10 am:
Because he learned from Jake White who almost got fired when he did that even though he had the backing of SARU to rest his top players.
November 24th, 2009 at 10:28 am
Reply to Morné @ 10:14 am:
This tour was not a good one for PDV:
1.He did not give his senior players rest after a demanding year.
2.He chosen the wrong combinations and players for the midweek games.
3.He stuff it up on selections on Kankakski and Jacobs, where he had other players to choose from.
4.He does not want to admit that he made a mistake to miove John to TH.
5.He should have take one out of Jake’s book and concentrate on the big matches on tour to win, France should have been the main focus to win from the start and we under estimated them.
There is some positives out of this tour:
1. He saw that certain players are not up to international level.
2. Found players that is like: BJ, CJ, Meisiekind(who should start), Jean and Deysel. (Oh and Rose, just for morne)
3.He should also have relies that NZ conditions will be the same as Europe and therefore the scrums should be a main focus in the next year and a half.
We can only hope he learns something out of this tour.
November 24th, 2009 at 10:39 am
Reply to Bunny @ 10:28 am:
1. Like I said, I don’t think he has a choice, public wants to see results and wins and leaving your top Boks behind would put that at risk – as mentioned White almost got fired for it.
2. You won’t get everything right all the time, some players failed, some prospered.
3. Kankowski has been the understudy at 8 for 3 years now, it was a logical choice, Kankowski failed, not PDV. Jacobs too has come of a brilliant 2008 season, was a logical choice, Jacobs failed.
4. That is subjective, although I have never agreed to move Smit from hooker, our scrumming problems is not down to John alone, if at all.
5. Jake have not beaten Ireland in Ireland in his 4 years in charge, also lost against France in France, and for the record, Jake White is actually on record saying the end of year tour is a waste of time.
From where I sit we have problems in positions 3, 4, 9, 12 and 15 from a depth perspective (and in some cases first choice).
This tour answered most other questions so not a total loss at all.
November 24th, 2009 at 10:40 am
IMO France were unbeatable on the day and if they play like they did against us against NZ they will win comfortably!
I already have a few bucks on france and won some v Bokke…
IMO France are the best team in world rugby at this very moment.
November 24th, 2009 at 10:45 am
Reply to JT @ 10:40 am: Agree.
Reply to Morné @ 10:39 am: Morne with jake it was only sarfu and the ring next in the offices who wanted Jake’s head after the tour where he took youngsters. If you tell the public what you gonna do, and they know I can not see why we cannot do it. Jake did it successfully in 2007 3N without any problems from public or Sarfu
November 24th, 2009 at 10:46 am
Reply to Bunny @ 10:45 am:
I am referring to 2006 end of year tour, you can check the archives of articles on just about every publication demanding Jake’s head.
November 24th, 2009 at 10:56 am
Reply to Morné @ 10:46 am:
Actually Rapport said that his head was gone at one stage.
Supporters, especially SA supporters, like to bitch if the Boks don’t win every single game convincingly and play the players that each individual bitcher wants played.
It’s in the nature.
November 24th, 2009 at 11:03 am
Reply to Ollie @ 10:56 am:
Agree – all they need to do is listen to me
November 24th, 2009 at 11:10 am
Communication is the big word here guys
November 24th, 2009 at 11:32 am
Reply to Morné @ 10:46 am:
“But apart from clocking up some more valuable miles with the British Airways travel awards programme, White might, now that it is over, be quite pleased that he popped home. According to Hoskins, only a minority of “five or six” delegates to the President’s Council, which is nearly 20-strong, voted in favour of the Blue Bulls’ motion of no-confidence in White.
“It is customary for the coach to appear before the President’s Council and the Board at the end of a season and I thought it was important in light of the Bulls’ motion that he be here to explain what he is doing. It was important for him to come because of the implications of the no confidence motion,” said Hoskins.
To his credit, the Saru president has stood steadfastly behind his beleaguered coach over the past week, even before the Boks scored the 25-14 win over England at Twickenham a few days ago that gave White some breathing space ahead of Wednesday’s meeting.”
I would rather have a coach trying something out than we getting whip at the end of the year tours.
November 24th, 2009 at 11:41 am
Reply to Bunny @ 11:32 am:
As the piece you quoted stated, Jake was called mid-tour to ‘explain’ himself after SA Rugby (the whole lot) gave him the go-ahead to tour with a weakened squad…
Of course, all shit broke lose when the Boks lost to Ireland in their pretty 1906 jerseys…
November 24th, 2009 at 11:43 am
Go back and read the Rapport at the time, read Keo’s website at the time and go into the archives of IOL and read what Gavin Rich wrote about White and then follow the comments on blogs from supporters at the time too.
hell even go back into RW archives to 2006 and read what was said right here!!!
November 24th, 2009 at 12:03 pm
Reply to Morné @ 11:43 am: I hear what you saying, but because we are always been bullshit by coaches and SARFU we do react like that. I am just saying if a clear plan and structure will be explained to people and sarfu I believe PDV would have been given the green light to go ahead, we will always have people disagreeing with a coach hell me and you do not even agree on Rose, so you will never please everyone but the people who understand it will except it
November 24th, 2009 at 12:06 pm
According to JW’s book, Jake went back to “explain” himself on recommendation by Mac in a meeting between JW, the other selectors, Hoskins and I think Basson. Hoskins wasn’t keen on defending JW in front of the Pres council and jumped at the chance to let JW explain himself.
November 24th, 2009 at 12:08 pm
Reply to Bunny @ 12:03 pm:
I would blame the media as well, they only report what suites there agenda. So it is quite possible that it was said what the aim and plans of the tour was but never made it to the public
November 24th, 2009 at 12:08 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 12:06 pm: Ja i have my opinion of Hoskins which I will not raise here on this blog.
November 24th, 2009 at 12:10 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 12:08 pm: Ja unfortunately the media is there to sell there papers and magazine.
November 24th, 2009 at 12:11 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 10:56 am:
thats gotta be the truest words ever spoken, and also every new player is an instant sensation only to be torn down when they dont succeed immediately in Bok colours.
November 24th, 2009 at 12:11 pm
Reply to Bunny @ 12:10 pm: You can not blame them for doing their job but hell, there is such a thing called integrity in what you do
November 24th, 2009 at 12:16 pm
Reply to Bunny @ 12:11 pm:
They are not doing their job if they do not bring the FULL story to the masses. Imho their are very few reporters with integrity in SA.
November 24th, 2009 at 12:17 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 12:16 pm:
Totally
November 24th, 2009 at 12:17 pm
Reply to Bunny @ 12:03 pm:
The harsh reality is that people are not willing to ‘sacrifice’ tests in view of building depth, it is simply not accepted.
November 24th, 2009 at 12:18 pm
Reply to Morné @ 12:17 pm: Ja die lief en leed van Profesionele Rugby
November 24th, 2009 at 12:19 pm
Reply to Morné @ 12:17 pm: Still I believe the greater masses of this countries rugby public will accept it, maybe I am fooling myself?
November 24th, 2009 at 12:22 pm
Everbody in this country is talking of the 2011 WC and how we can be the first country to defend it and the first to win 3 WC, so I do believe if they have a plan and put it to the people the will succeed in winning over the public confidence
November 24th, 2009 at 12:30 pm
Reply to Bunny @ 12:19 pm:
In my experience and having listened to quite a number of comments people are not willing to do that.
I wrote an article about this after our first midweek game where I said we are winning the battles but losing the wars and most people disagreed with me that we should at times sacrifice tests.
November 24th, 2009 at 12:34 pm
Reply to Morné @ 12:30 pm: well I like to look at the bigger picture in it all
November 24th, 2009 at 12:50 pm
Reply to Morné @ 8:51 am:
“I think PDV is being damn clever”
Ho hum… when will you learn…
November 24th, 2009 at 12:52 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 12:50 pm:
Sorry boet… 2010 and none of the old crew will be around… just your Snor… and from then on… you’re the only one that’s going to be ‘clever’… I hope not… but my money is on this… bye bye…
November 24th, 2009 at 12:55 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 12:52 pm:
The 3N was also predicted to be a stuff up, and we won it.
So excuse me if I don’t buy into your prediction
November 24th, 2009 at 12:57 pm
Yis aDD to the
that was said on the thread , that I havent said a single negative word on the blog since the $harks was eliminated from the 2009 CC. I even complimented Cuzin Earl on his play!
So it is safe to aSSume that bloGGers can be journalists- but are not journalists by default?
afteraLL, bloGGers dont have sub-editors to panelbeat the language!
En hoe gaNNit met jou Oudste?
November 24th, 2009 at 12:59 pm
So Bryce
What is the fEEling in Melbourne about the Rebels?
aLL reday to do the NedKeLLy & Breaker Morant thinghy?
November 24th, 2009 at 1:01 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 12:55 pm: Reply to Ollie @ 12:55 pm: Reply to WiLLem @ 12:57 pm:
Bloggers are just mug-punters… and I’m the ringleader… but my money is where me mouth is… and Snor has made me very happy in his first tenure… and this EOYT… he’s a muppet… and so long may he continue to be a passenger… (or not for the Bok supporter in me)…
November 24th, 2009 at 1:02 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 1:01 pm:
And I include Gold in this!
November 24th, 2009 at 1:06 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 1:01 pm:
Yip Bryce
ChaNNelOne- aLL the time…..
to be aPPlauded
BTW
where the fark are that Brizbaneboetman?
on the bloGGingdole?
like the MadMonk?
November 24th, 2009 at 1:27 pm
The best proof that things
are not going well in the
pack is the number of injured
front row players on this tour.
Or is it just coincidence?
November 24th, 2009 at 1:33 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 1:27 pm:
I don’t think your buddy, Tim Noakes, thinks it is coincidence
November 24th, 2009 at 1:47 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 1:33 pm: Or are we to soft?
November 24th, 2009 at 2:06 pm
Reply to Bunny @ 1:47 pm:
On the contrary, the Boks are one of the hardest most abrasive teams around, ergo the body damage.
November 24th, 2009 at 2:08 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 2:06 pm: What do you think would be the reason for us getting so much injuries?
November 24th, 2009 at 2:09 pm
Reply to Morné @ 10:39 am:
Very sound reasoning.
November 24th, 2009 at 2:17 pm
Reply to Bunny @ 2:08 pm:
Some of them will just be being in the wrong place, wrong time.
Some of them will probably be the constant wear and tear that their bodies constantly go through during a season. Add to that the fact that a lot of them are probably playing with niggles that never get a chance to heal properly. Recipe for blowout in the latter stages of the season.
November 24th, 2009 at 2:19 pm
November 24th, 2009 at 2:24 pm
Reply to Bunny @ 2:19 pm:
Not if you haven’t got a national system in place that will bring through up and comers and perform decent play management across the board.
Unfortunately in SA it is every club, province, franchise, national team for itself. Dog eat dog stuff.
Why do you think NZ is so constantly in 1st or 2nd position? How often do they dip out of the top 2?
November 24th, 2009 at 2:26 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 2:24 pm: Ja that is why I like there pool system and that NZRU contract the top 120 players in the country.
November 24th, 2009 at 3:00 pm
Does this not pluk Leicester a bit?
He did not even last 1 year of his contract and had to return for family reasons, which is fair enough, but now he’s taken over the same sort of role back at the Bulls.
November 24th, 2009 at 3:01 pm
Reply to WiLLem @ 1:06 pm:
yep, Donner and Rasputin, obviously working very hard there in oz.
November 24th, 2009 at 3:02 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 12:08 pm:
I would blame the media as well, they only report what suites there agenda.
=====
No way Ollie. You think 20-30
journo’s who are all in competition
will sign a pact as to how something
get’s reported/spinned?
Some RugRats have strange ideas
about the workings of the media.
November 24th, 2009 at 3:03 pm
Reply to cab @ 3:00 pm:
There is a difference between 10 000km and 10 km distance from home ground
November 24th, 2009 at 3:08 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 2:17 pm:
It could be possible that
the FR injuries are due to
wrong techniques = getting
screwed = getting injured.
Why does the FR injuries
outnumber all the others
by so much?
November 24th, 2009 at 3:12 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 3:02 pm:
Sign a pact??? Nope. And the competition between them is mostly to sell papers and probably try and get PDV out, not put him in a good light or bad light. The competition was to see how badly they could portray PDV.
A lot of the foreign press will use it for the usual niggling stuff and also be “influenced” by the local press.
But tell you what, find 20 or 30 articles written by different journo’s about the same press conference where PDV was involved and then compare the actual transcript (or better yet, video) from the same event. It’ll be an epic game of spot the difference.
Or even compare Dan Nichols, JJ Harmse, Simnkiwe(? spelling) and that scruffy looking reporter (holey jeans oversize T-shirt, can’t remember his name) writing on the same event.
November 24th, 2009 at 3:17 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 3:08 pm:
Maybe, maybe not. I would imagine that the FR players would say something though. And why would JS be injury free.
November 24th, 2009 at 3:18 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 3:12 pm:
Just remember that two eyewitnesses
of the same car accident seldom
describe it exactly the same.
Ditto for history.
And beauty is in the eye of the
beholder.
As far as I am concerned all the
criticism directed at Snor is
warranted, and in most cases
the proof is there for all
with eyes to see.
Gotta run. Later.
November 24th, 2009 at 3:24 pm
Reply to Morné @ 12:17 pm:
Why should they? People pay lots of money to watch tests. They have the right to expect the best available players to play.
Tests against minor nations, S14, CC and juniors are the places to build depth, not major test matches.
November 24th, 2009 at 3:26 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 3:18 pm:
A press conference is hardly a split second thing from different angles (except if you count political angles).
What proof, a Lions tour win and a 3N trophy? Or the Loss to club teams? It’s a bag of mixed results, not unlike the previous coaches, or any international coaches for that matter.
I think the criticism, especially recent stuff, is unwarranted considering the global picture in SA rugby.
November 24th, 2009 at 3:45 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 3:03 pm:
Yes there is, but there is also a difference between an assistant position where you would presumably have time for the family matters and DOR, whcih is the top job.
Anyway, family comes first, but Leicester might be a bit miffed.
November 24th, 2009 at 4:21 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 3:26 pm:
I think we all agree there
were some strange selections,
combinations and substitutions
etc.
The way the Dirt Trackers were
thrown together and expected
to perform is also valid
criticism – but let’s blame
that on Saru.
Re the Lions: Do you realise
how close we were to lose the
series against a weakish
British selection?
November 24th, 2009 at 4:28 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 4:21 pm:
There will always be views of strange selections etc., unless us armchair critics get full disclosure on the selection procedure and thoughts behind it it will remain so.
Re: the Lions, who won!!!?
What you are basically saying is that PDV is bullshitting all the players because they rate him as a good coach and only the naysayers can see through him. So the people closest to him are blinded by what? Money? Love?
Nah, I don’t buy it.
November 24th, 2009 at 5:21 pm
Fokkit poor Peters dick must really hurt with all this tug-o-war on ruggaworld?
Peter is kak, Peter is not kak. Peter is a doos, Peter is misunderstood? It goes on all day?
November 24th, 2009 at 5:24 pm
What I fin dodd about the Irish team selection is thier lack of a fetcher which means Smal believes in this notion as much as White did.
So if Brussouw outplayes the irish on Saturday will it settle the fetcher debate once and for all?
November 24th, 2009 at 5:29 pm
Reply to newbokshields @ 5:24 pm:
and if he does’nt does that mean he must be dropped for schalk?
November 24th, 2009 at 5:29 pm
Was in East Rand all morning.
Godforsaken Industrial Hellhole.
Where is DavidS? Sommer want to challenge him for fight behind Totties tavern while I am here.
November 24th, 2009 at 5:31 pm
No Cabbie how fortunate are we to have a Schalk on the bench? These two give the Boks a different dimension but Burger can com eon at 6/7 and 8 and make kak.
Horse for courses but should Brussouw get some ball steals then Fourie Dup will punish the greenhorn 10. Too bad we dont have a spies to run at this 10. Lets hope Deysel starts.
November 24th, 2009 at 5:49 pm
Reply to newbokshields @ 5:31 pm:
hehe, ja i am a big schalk fan, but brussow has been pheonemal – i’ve always thought schalk should play at 8 with the two cheetahs flankers at open and blind.
November 24th, 2009 at 6:05 pm
Reply to newbokshields @ 5:31 pm:
Reply to cab @ 5:49 pm:
I don’t mind who plays where too much in the loosie department, what worries me more is whether they are close to player burnout or not. This seems to be the biggest issue, when the players seem to be just a split second behind the play are not really having in fire.
November 24th, 2009 at 6:31 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 6:05 pm:
yes, i think they going to have to re-think these NH tours, cos the players are def looking off the pace – the SA players have got all the travel which takes it out of them too.
November 24th, 2009 at 7:32 pm
It might sound stoic but I think the way to go is to select your desired 22 with your bench players all used as impact players, which means they have to be all rounders and not specialists. Nick Mallet apparently selected his bench first and then sqaud.
You then try to duplicate exactly the above. If you have Brussouw as specialist above you then have Stegman in the B team.
Yes some good players who add something different might lose out but you can have pretty much a B group play the same game plan while the others rest.
November 24th, 2009 at 7:38 pm
And who is ‘like’ Fourie Du Preez?
November 24th, 2009 at 8:11 pm
Reply to newbokshields @ 7:32 pm:
Mallet was the closest to getting a full match 22 selection right.
He was one of the few (still is) coaches who believe some players are specialist ‘impact’ players.
November 24th, 2009 at 10:31 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 4:28 pm:
What you are basically saying is that PDV is bullshitting all the players because they rate him as a good coach and only the naysayers can see through him.
=======
No, I’m not saying that.
I just pointed out some of
his mistakes.
Do you really expect any player
to be publicly critical about his coach?
November 24th, 2009 at 11:13 pm
Reply to newbokshields @ 7:38 pm:
Francios Hougaard.
Next in the line of big/fast/physical 9′s with a monster past that the Bulls have used since the 70′s.
Tommie du Plessis
Robert du Preez
Joost
Fourie du Preez
Franscios Hougaard (next??)
Combined that with a quality kicking flyhalf and you have a proven winning formula.
November 24th, 2009 at 11:18 pm
Reply to fyndraai @ 11:13 pm:
November 25th, 2009 at 10:19 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 10:31 pm:
If a player is unhappy under a coach for a length of time and is on a losing streak their certainly would be at least murmurs of discontent, but there is nothing of the kind from the team at the moment.
They certainly wouldn’t give compliments the way JS, Matfield, FS etc. are doing.
But I have said enough about this now. No fun repeating myself continuously.
November 25th, 2009 at 10:45 am
Reply to Ollie @ 10:19 am:
No fun repeating myself continuously.
====
Yeah, I feel the same.
November 25th, 2009 at 11:09 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 10:45 am:
dan gaan dit maar still word hier
When is the Bok team announced? I want to make a bet but need to know our selection first.
November 25th, 2009 at 11:13 am
Reply to JT @ 11:09 am:
Tomorrow only
November 25th, 2009 at 11:24 am
Reply to Morné @ 11:13 am:
thx – very worried about our back-row combination. Will they be
selections or will they fill us with pride and be
type selection
November 25th, 2009 at 11:28 am
I dunno if he should give Kanko another run, the game will be tight.
But the only other option is Danie who has been anonymous on tour so far.
November 25th, 2009 at 11:34 am
Reply to Morné @ 11:28 am:
that is exactly the problem – Just shows you how we miss Spies!
Johnson IMO is a no go as is Kanko so the best of the bad options will be Danie – he at least gives the 9 some protection at scrum time.
BUT if PdV goes with a FR of Beast, Smit and BJ with Strauss and Wian as back-up I think we can get away with Kanko at 8 due to the solid scrums we will be getting but under pressure we need Danie at 8.
Just IMO
November 25th, 2009 at 11:47 am
Reply to JT @ 11:34 am:
6. Bruiser
7. Deysel
8. Afkophoender
Far cry, but playing the best IMO.
November 25th, 2009 at 11:53 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 11:47 am:
Afkophoender is mos in sy moer of is hy weer fit?
I will like that back-row best though.
November 25th, 2009 at 11:59 am
Reply to JT @ 11:53 am:
He is one of the 6 (?)
doubtfuls, so maybe he
will be disregarded.
No update yet on injuries.
November 25th, 2009 at 12:12 pm
My biggest worry is if the team still has enough fire in them for one more big game this year. The majority of the uninjured first choice players seem to be out on their feet. Burnout, one foot on the plane, call it whatever you want but it is a problem.
November 25th, 2009 at 12:16 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 11:47 am:
I agree with that, I will even bench Schalk and start with Danie.
November 25th, 2009 at 12:17 pm
Gavin Rich is not
with the team, but
here is his guess:
The team for the Croke Park game will only be named on Thursday, but it is expected to include several changes, with Wynand Olivier getting an overdue call-up to replace Adi Jacobs at inside centre and Danie Rossouw, because he is better suited to the anticipated wet field and conditions, slotting in at No8 ahead of Ryan Kankowski.
Probable Bok starting XV:
Zane Kirchner, JP Pietersen, Jaque Fourie, Wynand Olivier, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez, Danie Rossouw, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brussow, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, BJ Botha, John Smit (captain), Beast Mtawarira.
November 25th, 2009 at 12:19 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 12:12 pm:
Strange, but there is none
such talk coming from the
Kiwis.
Or maybe it’s not strange.
November 25th, 2009 at 12:25 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 12:19 pm:
After the Italy game there was laods of talking about the tight 5.
However they are going to get snotted by France and then you will see lots of talk
Reply to Boertjie @ 12:17 pm:
That team will beat the Oirish!
Reply to Ollie @ 12:12 pm:
Last game of the year – hulle moet net hulle gat in rat kry vir 80min.
November 25th, 2009 at 12:36 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 12:19 pm:
Correct me if I am wrong but some of the AB’s where rested for some the NPC, they have a centralised contracting system and therefore better player management and more players available for the squad where some rotation has been happening.
2 players for the AB’s have been sent back to NZ to be with their families because they have small kids. This was agreed before the team left on tour. Our players either have to have a death or a birth to get something like that. Completely different way of managing players.
November 25th, 2009 at 12:37 pm
Reply to JT @ 12:25 pm: Hey JT, the AB’s being snotted by the French?? OK they have a good record in Marseilles but the French coach doesn’t agree with you and had the following to say:
“This team has regained its position as world number one and all its qualities in the game,” Lievremont said. “(Richie) McCaw and (Dan) Carter are back to their best level. They are full of confidence and it will be very complicated for us.
“We are concerned in all sectors. We will raise the level of intensity, intelligence and organisation. We found very few flaws in this New Zealand team. They have an excellent defence that have conceded very few points. We will put in an outstanding game against them.”
….or is this just another case of the coach talking up the opposition to gain the favoured underdog tag?
November 25th, 2009 at 12:37 pm
Reply to JT @ 12:25 pm:
I really hope that they do get their A into G once more this season.
November 25th, 2009 at 12:39 pm
Reply to out wide @ 12:37 pm:
….or is this just another case of the coach talking up the opposition to gain the favoured underdog tag?
you just answered your own question…
IMO France are the best team I have seen this last month. Going to be a great game v NZ on Saturday night!
November 25th, 2009 at 12:45 pm
Reply to JT @ 12:39 pm: You are dead right. There are some important issues to put right for the AB’s. The issue of the team that knocked them out of the last RWC and also the one that went to NZ in June and ended up all square at 1-1 after 2 games. And make no mistake France have looked good so far.
November 25th, 2009 at 12:45 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 12:36 pm:
jaja – all cotton wool management for the Kiwis but come WC time the choke
Ask the Protea cricket team – also great player management!
November 25th, 2009 at 12:58 pm
Reply to JT @ 12:45 pm:
Hehehehehehe
November 25th, 2009 at 1:18 pm
Reply to JT @ 12:45 pm:
I’m not even reading about
the Proteas and this 50/50
and 20/20 shyte parading
as circket – never mind
watching it.
Now they are unhappy re
low attendances Centurion