Boks need young blood – Snor
Posted by Boertjie - 29/11/09 at 11:11 am under Outgoing tours, SpringboksSouth African coach Peter de Villiers admitted that the long year finally took its toll on his team and said he may have to bring in some young blood, as the Springboks look towards defending their World Cup crown in 2011.
“TOUR WAS STILL A SUCCESS.”
rugby365
Speaking at a media briefing after his team’s 10-15 loss to Ireland at Croke Park, Dublin, on Saturday – which left his team with just one win in five matches on this year-end trip – De Villiers said the tour was still a success.
The Springboks’ defeat at the hands of Ireland completed a miserable tour that featured a loss to France and reserve team defeats by English club sides Leicester and Saracens, with the side’s only win coming in Italy.
However, he felt that in order to avoid what happened to England after their 2003 World Cup victory – when they went into a slump and never recovered – the Boks will need some younger players to keep the old hands fresh.
“What happened to England after 2003, I can’t let happen to South Africa in 2011,” De Villiers told a news conference, referring to their title defence in New Zealand.
“The guys will have to pull up their socks and we will also need to look at some younger guys.
“The tour was successful, even though it’s not the case on the scoreboard.
“It’s painful… But they [the players] had a very, very good year with the focus on the Lions and Tri-Nations,” he added, referring to a series win over the British & Irish Lions.
The Bok coach said that the midweek games had provided him with some insight into who could feature for the Boks down the line.
De Villiers stressed it was important to look even further beyond the 2011 World Cup.
He said the players’ second half dip, which allowed Ireland to turn around a 6-10 half-time deficit, had come as little surprise following their gruelling year.
“If you look at the last three games, we went down in the second half. I always knew we would. We were just that split second too slow because of the fatigue that was in our team.”
However, captain John Smit dismissed the notion that it was fatigue that cost them the game in Dublin.
“I don’t think we can blame missing penalties and opportunities on fatigue. Every season has the same amount of games. They took their chances and we didn’t,” Smit said.
“We just gave too many penalties away and [Ireland flyhalf Jonathan] Sexton said thank you very much and didn’t miss too many times.”
“In the first half, we created a lot of pressure but we didn’t follow through. We didn’t get our kicks over and the energy we should of gained was transferred to Ireland.
“We came out in the second half with the same tactics. The message was to up the pace and intensity in the second half. But we just didn’t take our opportunities.”

November 29th, 2009 at 1:55 pm
Weird that… didn’t stop the AB’s from snotting everyone in their paths on the EOYT after a bruising ANZ Cup…
That’s because we have not had a ‘real’ Bok ‘A’ side the last year… but too many puppet Emerging Bok fobs… whilst the AB’s have 30 inter-changeable players which started the year with a hiccup with a fair few players moved OS…
November 29th, 2009 at 1:58 pm
““What happened to England after 2003, I can’t let happen to South Africa in 2011,””
Er… it already did in 2008… and by the by… the Poms won in 2003 and then smashed the Wobblies to only just come second the next RWC…
November 29th, 2009 at 2:35 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 1:55 pm: Their AB did not play in the semi’s nor the final and they manage then so they did not even played in all the other ANZ Cup, cannot compare a AB team that only played 1 game as champions against a French team that did not arrive at the stadium.
Everybody was saying when I made a comment that this look like a good French team, that they cannot put more than two or three good performances together.
Do we suddenly change our minds because we want the AB to look good in the so called running rugby?
I do not think so, they lost three times against the Boks this year and it was always a close call against the young Wallabies.
November 30th, 2009 at 1:44 am
This is just “coachtalk” again. How can the guy say 1 from 5 is a successful tour? John Smit was at least a bit more honest in his assessment. The old discipline hoodoo hit again and Sexton did the rest.
November 30th, 2009 at 8:52 am
Reply to Bunny @ 2:35 pm:
AB’s SMOKED the French team that moered the Boks… waht more can I say…
November 30th, 2009 at 8:56 am
Reply to out wide @ 1:44 am:
“The old discipline hoodoo hit again and Sexton did the rest.”
Or the old dumb dumb Japie non-brains trust non plan B?
November 30th, 2009 at 9:14 am
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 8:52 am:
Boks smoked the AB’s 3 times this year… You can say that…
November 30th, 2009 at 9:26 am
Reply to Morné @ 9:14 am: now you are pushing this smoked business. When is a smoked a smoked? 39-12 as per NZ v France, yes and 31-19 SA v NZ in the 2nd 3N test yes, but as for the other 2 wins vs NZ of 28-19 and 32-29? Nah, no smoke and little fire.
November 30th, 2009 at 9:33 am
Reply to out wide @ 9:26 am:
Tell me…
When last did NZ lose 3 tests in a row against any team?
November 30th, 2009 at 9:34 am
Reply to out wide @ 9:26 am:
When last did they lose a series (home or away)?
Boks beat them in a two-match test series this year…
November 30th, 2009 at 9:35 am
There are reasons the Boks had a shocker of a tour.
Reasons all mentioned long before they went on tour.
November 30th, 2009 at 9:35 am
Hoe om ‘n Haai aanval te voorkom:
1. Moenie in die see swem nie.
Meer as 99% van alle haaiaanvalle gebeur in groot watermassas, ook bekend as oseane.
Die manier om vas te stel of jy in ‘n oseaan is, is om die water te proe. Dit behoort sout te smaak.
2. Swem saam met vet mense.
Sorg altyd dat daar groot, vet mense saam jou in die water is. Die kanse dat jy vinniger as hulle kan swem en wegkom is baie goed.
3. Dokter die sonblok.
Om jou kanse op ‘n aanval verder te verklein, vervang die ander se sonbrandmiddel met iets wat na gebraaide biefstuk ruik.
4. Moenie in die water gaan sonder ‘n mes nie.
Dis sodat jy die swemmer naaste aan jou kan steek as jy ‘n haai gewaar. Sodra hy lekker bloei, swem so vinnig weg as wat jy kan
5. Luister noukeurig!
Elke Haai het ‘n Theme Song – As jy dié volgende hoor, swem vir jou lewe:
da-dam. da-dam. da-dam As dit so klink: dadam, dadam, dadam – dan is jy klaar in jou m(*&#$%r.
6. Moenie paniekerig raak nie.
Bly kalm as ‘n haai jou byt. Jy is in elk geval in jou m)*&^%$#r in en dit sal nie help jy probeer oorleef nie.
Die mense op die strand sal dit waardeer want om iemand soos ‘n mal mens te hoor skreeu en gil, is nie lekker nie.
Dink aan die kinders man
November 30th, 2009 at 10:26 am
hehehe – you guys crack me up! Snor wants to bring in the running rugby in 2008 and is shot down by all and sundry to be pushed into the Jake type game plan of defend and live off opposition mistakes. Well Snorre does that and wins the 3N and beats the Lions but with a tired team he travels north and sticks to the game plan that all wanted and brought success. Now that they lost (closely I might add) to the top 2 teams in EU snor has it all wrong again!?
So lets see what happens next – snor will try and break the shackles of the Bokke game plan and all will go on how clueless he is and that we should stick to the Bok strengths!
FFS you guys are comical!
November 30th, 2009 at 10:28 am
HowZit JT
November 30th, 2009 at 10:29 am
Reply to WiLLem @ 10:28 am:
more more!
November 30th, 2009 at 10:30 am
PS: We all know the results of 2009 and if we don’t look them up! Why do we have to remind everyone of certain results?
November 30th, 2009 at 10:46 am
Reply to JT @ 10:29 am:
How is the Tyrol of late?
Not suFFering iMMediate eFFects from GlobalWarming, I expect?
The KobenhavnsuMMit big local talk?
November 30th, 2009 at 10:54 am
Reply to WiLLem @ 10:46 am:
it has been warmer than normal – we are supposed to be covered in snow but last week we had temps between 10 and 18 degrees plus. It is raining now so not good for the snow based industry.
Not much in the news though on Copenhagen talks so far – all probably waiting on the new Mesiahs to talk
November 30th, 2009 at 11:09 am
ref was abysmal ….. 90% of the 50/50 calls went to the Irish
to the detractors, I had a great year supporting the boks
November 30th, 2009 at 11:15 am
Reply to JT @ 10:26 am:
Bullshit JT.
We’ve always the team to do the hard
work up front and create opportunities
to run with good ball.
This team can do neither.
Even their kicking gameplan has gone
for a ball of shit. Frogs and Oirish
caught on.
November 30th, 2009 at 11:22 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 11:15 am:
Our top local team do not play running rugby…
The Boks play the BUlls game plan and we all know of how the Sharks failed in trying to be ‘expansive’.
When the Cheetahs played most of the rugby in the final playing this running rugby they lost.
Howcome we expect the Boks to play different to what is dished up locally?
The Frogs does not have the defense and the physicality of the Boks, hence the AB’s murdered them.
We played the wrong type of rugby over there, that rugby works against SH teams where the Boks frustrate them out of the game.
We played a type of game the NH sides love up there.
Why do you think Jake White was mostly unsuccessful in just about every NH tour he undertook?
November 30th, 2009 at 12:20 pm
Reply to Morné @ 11:22 am:
There is also a difference between running rugby
per se and knowing what to do with posession.
It seemed we did not have the foggiest idea.
So Mallett still by a country mile the coach
with the best EOYT record.
November 30th, 2009 at 12:22 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 12:20 pm:
Yup, and look at the rugby he played or had his team play.
I though Morne Steyn had a shocker of a tour, but then not many senior guys covered themselves in glory.
When Aus played right after the Boks I mentioned to my brother; This is how we were supposed to tackle the Irish game…
November 30th, 2009 at 12:38 pm
No mention of scrums this morning?
November 30th, 2009 at 12:53 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 12:38 pm:
November 30th, 2009 at 1:06 pm
Noakes must be pulling his hair out and SARU still wondering what went want wrong.
November 30th, 2009 at 1:10 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 1:06 pm:
think a lightbulb went somewhere went on…
http://www.supersport.com/rugby/article.aspx?id=325072&headline=We%20must%20look%20to%202011%20now%20-%20De%20Villiers
November 30th, 2009 at 1:23 pm
Reply to damneddutch @ 1:10 pm:
Indeed, but let’s see what actually gets done about it. Lot’s of talk, no action seems to be the norm.
November 30th, 2009 at 1:48 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 12:38 pm:
What should be mentioned about the scrums oLLie?
or should we
&
?
November 30th, 2009 at 2:22 pm
Reply to damneddutch @ 1:10 pm:
From that article:
“It is imperative that we monitor the players’ training and playing load with their longer term well-being in mind,” said De Villiers.
“This (2009) has been a very long season and it is evident that many players are mentally and physically fatigued.”
========
Support for Noakes?
November 30th, 2009 at 2:23 pm
Reply to WiLLem @ 1:48 pm:
They were a lot more solid, with JS both at 2 and prop.
November 30th, 2009 at 2:49 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 2:23 pm:
Strange how, in the Frog game, the
side feeding the scrum struggled
more than on the opposition’s feed.
Any fat boys around to explain?
November 30th, 2009 at 3:05 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 2:23 pm:
True
But then it sEEms that the Oirish wasnt that flash @ scrumtime in the SixNations!
Reply to Boertjie @ 2:49 pm:
PloegskAAr
My take is that the scrums was quite evenly matched with both sides wiLLing to scrum.
What you describe, to my opinion was gthe the gOOde olde 8 man scrum when the fEEding side hOOker isnt scruMMing at 100% from the onset- in order to hOOk the baLL- even if its fEEded under the beLLies of the locks!
November 30th, 2009 at 3:24 pm
Reply to WiLLem @ 3:05 pm:
I was lead to believe that the
Oirish had the weakest scrum in
the 6N (Matthew Pearce’s commentary.)
November 30th, 2009 at 3:26 pm
Reply to WiLLem @ 3:05 pm:
Ek sit vandag vir die eerste keer
op ‘n ander Hoennerplaas. Baie luise.
November 30th, 2009 at 3:46 pm
Dis hoe ek dit OOk verstAAn het Oudste- so gEEn hosaNNas nou al nie- mAAr ons het nie die game OOr die scrums verlOOr nie!
Reply to Boertjie @ 3:26 pm:
Eish
Sterkte!
November 30th, 2009 at 3:49 pm
Maybe GaryPewter should invest in sume scrumtime enlightenment- that is after sorting the AfrikAAnsCountering lineout upstartery!
November 30th, 2009 at 4:05 pm
Reply to WiLLem @ 3:49 pm:
From Gold to Bronze to Pewter.

What next?
November 30th, 2009 at 4:13 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 11:15 am:
aikona Boerman, i think it was an interesting comment from JT.
:thumbup:
Dankie
H
November 30th, 2009 at 6:33 pm
Reply to cab @ 4:13 pm:
You wanna say my comment
is not interesting?
Hehehehehehe.
November 30th, 2009 at 8:10 pm
miskien wil hy se jy praat deur jou
November 30th, 2009 at 8:14 pm
Ja Boet. Jy kan maar grappies
maak, maar die Bokke sal hul
strategie en gameplan
RADIfokkenKAAL moet verander.
Vraag is: Is Snor en die brains
trust in staat daartoe?
Ons is so voorspelbaar soos
sneeu in die Alpe.
November 30th, 2009 at 9:00 pm
Gary will consult his rabbi to figure out what to do and will come back enligtened…
November 30th, 2009 at 9:18 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 8:14 pm:
remember what PDV wanted to do with the team in 2008? Well me thinks he should get out his old drawing board and restart that strategy. This current game plan has been worked out. Don’t go and throw out the current plan completely but incorporate parts of it into his heads-up open rugby game-plan.
IMO if he was a complete bozo like most of you think we would never have had the year we have had. If it is the players that are incharge like most of you think then blame them for fooking it up. I still think he is the right man for HIS job BUT he needs the right side-kicks for the job!
November 30th, 2009 at 9:43 pm
Reply to JT @ 9:18 pm:
Ag kak man
Just because you know the game plan doesn’t mean you can beat it.
It’s like playing against Brazil in every soccer game
You know they’ve got the flamboyant strikers and flippant midfielders and tough defenders who can change to atackers in an instant of flamenco… and you know with Germany it’s a dour technically correct ping pong of possession until they win
You know exactly what to expect and hell they’re still the best.
The same with Tiger Woods
the same with New Zealand
It’s always going to be big fast and mobile fifteen backline player skills and you know what to expect from them and yet somehow even knowing exactly what to expect they’re still the team everyone measures themselves against.
We just need to ensure nobody works out a counter.
The rogs played filthy bastards with a ref who probably hates the “Boors” with as much of a passion as a gay African hates Robert Mugabe or a Jew hates Hitler….
And against the filthy micks we saw a discarded coach use our secret weapon of language against us which our mof Capetonian “forwards” coach never saw coming….
And of course we are tired at the end of a season trying to build a bridge too far….
And we lose without conceding a try… again with a Welsh ref…
Remembering that the Welsh have it in for us just as much as the micks for some reason… (my grandfather tells me it’s because him and his miner mates referred to Welsh in the derisive terms we reserved for those of African origin in those less enlighteend pre 1994 times) and we’re really surprised that our Celtic ref screws us over…. playing against oter Celts
Got the Japies again
Dumb Dutchmen…
And the rules mean they have to be gentlemen enough to admit it afterwards…. in contrast to the Cowardly Red Lyings that disgraced our beautiful shores before the Tri-Nations…
November 30th, 2009 at 10:10 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 9:43 pm:
Dawie ons is ons eie grootste vyande.
Against the Welsh we kicked 13 (more?)
kicks onto their 15 and he countered
with every single one.
D-u-h.
Our forwards were beaten at the rucks
because they’re not taught to go
OVER the ball – thus creating
momentum. Every ruck we start with
slow ball from a standing position.
We were fooked in the lineouts.
Our backs had no fkn idea what to
do with the posession they got –
apart from kicking or setting up
crashball and mauls.
Like has become the custom the Boks
again had to make about twice the
amount of tackles.
Ill discipline fooked us – e.g.
Bekker kneeing a guy.
Outplayed, outcoached, outclassed.
December 1st, 2009 at 3:10 am
I don’t get it.
Crying about the kick and chase game-plan when the Boks scored the only try of the game?
It was from a backline move also.
The Boks lost because of ill disipline and poor place kicking. Nothing to do with the game-plan.
December 1st, 2009 at 3:28 am
Reply to Morné @ 11:22 am:
Now you are making a lot of sense. The best formula for a Bok coach is build on the strenghts of your best local team.
I’m sure once WP dominates the local scene again like they did in Boertjie’s younger days :D, the Boks will play “aanskoulike” rugby again.
Till then the Way-of-the-Bulls will have to do. The notion of it being boring is nonsense anyway.
Exhibit 1: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=65sUvblIWiA
December 1st, 2009 at 3:31 am
Or this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tuqS2cyDXL8&feature=related
Beautiful try by the kiwis, scored from an up-and-under.
Timing, precision and skill. Some people want to remove it from the game. Nuts.
December 1st, 2009 at 4:02 am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m8ZKSv21Hks&feature=related
Sweeping moves, 15+ phases.
They did this 3 weeks in a row.
December 1st, 2009 at 7:24 am
Reply to fyndraai @ 4:02 am:
Two things, first try is the only one that ’started’ in the Bulls half (from the footage) and what did they do to get back in Sharks territory? Kick-chase, won a turn-over free-kick at the ensuing ruck by physically smashing the Sharks and then build towards the try once deep in Sharks territory.
Second try from a line-out in the Sharks half again building through rucks dominating the breakdown, third penalty on the Sharks 5 meter.
Point is the game-plan is simple, and if you look at most of the Boks tries this year in the 3N, they were constructed the same.
Boks dominated the contact situations in most matches, dominated the rucks but still played low-risk rugby employing a kick-chase game to get into oppo half and then force them into mistakes more often than not at ruck time.
It is an effective game-plan, if executed correctly.
During our NH tour WE were dominated at the ruck, the NH teams are much better under the high ball and they played SA at their own game and beat us.
There is nothing wrong with the game-plan, it is in the execution where success either comes from or not.
December 1st, 2009 at 8:46 am
Reply to Morné @ 7:24 am:
So what has changed… nuffing… the coach has… the game-plan or lack of it hasn’t!
December 1st, 2009 at 1:31 pm
Two tries that didn’t match your criteria Morne
And like any good little liberal you pick on the little things that match your pathetic argumentism…
The man who focuses on the camoflaged nutter who shot some black people and ignores the fact that 1 in 200 whites have been murdered by blacks in the last ten years…
Classical..
Just the same Morne…
Rarther just have the nice plate of Humble Pie Fyndraai gave you and try to focus on reality rather than your own fantasies…
You’re pathetic
December 1st, 2009 at 3:17 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 1:31 pm:
FFS I really reckon I need to come down there to teach you how to read common English because books obviously does not help.
You will notice I mentioned the 2nd and 3rd try in the post but that those tries were constructed from WITHIN the oppositions half!!!
Then go read my post again tit.
December 1st, 2009 at 3:25 pm
Why can’t this site attract more backline players who has some brains…
sigh…
December 1st, 2009 at 5:19 pm
Reply to Morné @ 3:25 pm:
Because backline players are tired of the forwards debating like they play rugby, all barging, bully tactics and caveman rhetoric instead of finesse, subtlety and intelligence
December 1st, 2009 at 5:31 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 5:19 pm:
Hehehe.
December 1st, 2009 at 5:37 pm
fok kaapstad is ver ek nou eers in Beaufort Wes dis nog kak lank ek moer sommer vanaand die eerste bleachkop wp fan wat ek sien.
December 1st, 2009 at 5:40 pm
Reply to newbokshields @ 5:37 pm:
Might not be wise if his name is Schalk
December 1st, 2009 at 7:29 pm
Schalk sit in London (Barbas), jy kan maar moer!
December 1st, 2009 at 7:43 pm
Man is lief vir sy wyn –
trek selfs Kaap toe
agter die goed aan.
Ek hoop nie hy ry met
‘n Taz nie.
December 2nd, 2009 at 10:20 am
Bring on Kockott, Alberts and a few more (white RSA youngsters) to the Rebels… giddy-up!
December 3rd, 2009 at 3:51 am
Reply to Morné @ 7:24 am:
The tries involved a lot of running and passing and the spectators got their monies worth.
I don’t think it matters in whose half of the field it was constructed from.
December 3rd, 2009 at 3:54 am
Reply to Morné @ 3:25 pm:
Now if you were into League you’d never have to deal with dumb forwards at all.