Div to rest top Boks

January 20, 2010
Posted by Morné

Provincial rugby unions and other stakeholders will be asked for input on a comprehensive rest plan that Springbok coach Peter de Villiers is planning for South Africa’s top players.

Stephen Nell – Sport24

De Villiers told Sport24 on Tuesday that he will consult widely to ensure that top Boks are well rested and at peak physical condition for next year’s Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.

He believes all South Africa’s leading players have been refreshed by an off-season break, but nevertheless views it as important to manage them with an eye to next year.

“It’s the right time now to be considering 2011. I want recommendations by rugby unions because we have to work together in the best interests of the players,” said De Villiers.

“My job is to consult with all the stakeholders – there is many more than just SA Rugby. There are unions, sponsors, suite holders … there are also agreements with SANZAR that need to be honoured.

“I want to see what the unions have to say. What is easy for the Lions and Cheetahs may be difficult for the Blue Bulls and Sharks. I sincerely believe that the unions will make decisions in the interests of the players and SA Rugby.

“As soon as I have finished consulting with the unions, I will go to the sponsors. The findings of the report will be made public as the public are also stakeholders.”

De Villiers also thanked the country’s top unions for co-operation that has already been given.

“Every player that was on tour got four weeks rest. Here I have to give the unions full marks for the co-operation with SA Rugby,” he said.

“Show me any person whose body is not refreshed after four weeks’ rest.”

He added that the Super14 teams’ week plans are also aimed at keeping players fresh.

“Rest is the component that will be very important in the discussions (with unions). I know some of them have already cancelled Monday training sessions. It’s a step in the right direction as it is 14 weeks of Mondays, which amounts to two weeks’ rest,” said De Villiers.

The Bok coach believes that the players’ success in the first part of last year played a role in their disappointing end-of-season tour.

“Your exhaustion is linked to a number of components – psychological, physical and even social – that impact on your performance,” said De Villiers.

“If you go and see how many highlights the Boks experienced in 2009 and you consider everything, including the players’ performances in the Super14 and Currie Cup, there would have been fatigue based on the players achieving their goals.

“The end-of-season tour was a direct result of there being so many highlights.”

South Africa’s contracted Springboks were on Sunday lectured by sports scientist Professor Tim Noakes in Cape Town about managing themselves ahead of next year.

“The general theme was that they need to cut back this year and do everything next year,” said Noakes.

“South Africa’s players cannot expect to be competitive in the World Cup unless they play less.

“The captain (John Smit) also made the point that it is not in the players’ hands as they cannot fight with their employers. The directive has to come from above.”

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

Tags: ,

14 Comments

1. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 9:26 am Reply to this comment

Our players need to peak by the end of the year in cold kiwi-like conditions.

If I were Peter I will insist the local franchises play their Boks in all NZ away games.

Based on the 2007 blueprint its vitally important for our Super 14 sids to perform. Then chuck the Tri nations but this time rest our A team for the home games and have them instead travel for the overseas leg.

This way our players gain even more experience in cold NZ conditions.

Chuck Curie Cup altogether and then gun straight out to win all end of year tour games, again in cold conditions and against oppo we are likely to meet in WC.

2. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 9:31 am Reply to this comment

I will be watching the performances of De Jong and Robert Ebersohn with hawk eyes. If they perform well in Super 14 then they need to play at least 10 tests together this year to give Jean/Fourie a break.

You also need Stegman to push Burger even harder.

I think our man is in a bit of trouble this year.

3. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 9:40 am Reply to this comment

Also looking forward to see how Juan Smith goes after his long rest. This injury was the best thing that could have happened in his career.

I would like to see Bakkies get a 6 month rest before the WC.

4. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 10:09 am Reply to this comment

wp nel/andries strauss/wian

fondse/ bekker

stegman deysel

vermeulen

hougaard

pienaar

de jong / ebersohn

mapoe bom samaai

daniller

LEKKER ‘EMERGING’ TEAM THIS.

any challengers?

5. Jacques(Bunny) Jacques(Bunny) says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 10:19 am Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 9:40 am: He had a six months rest last year, how much do you want to rest the guys.

6. The MindBok The Brand says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 11:03 am Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 9:26 am:

Bliksem Shields DIT is nou flike dinkwerk !!! :applause: :applause: :applause:

7. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 11:12 am Reply to this comment

OKay so

WP: Rob Wagner will pretend he never got a memo and ignore Div because he is too dikbek Div took the Bok job instead of coaching WP and in any case Div is not a member of the Ikeys old boys club

Natal: Brian Liebenberg will whinge, demand SARU compensates his union while players are rested who should be playing… then intentionally play the players even while discussions stretch into the period where Div wants to rest hem and be totally unapologetic about it

Bulls: Frans Ludeke will show the depth of the Bulls by intentionally resting key players for important games like against WP, still winning the games and then show Tim Noakes the superb player management programme they have developed from Tukkies’ High Performance Sprts Centre which is right there next to Loftus

Lions: Have no Boks so will be mightily confused when asked to rest their Boks as they battle relegation… Prof Manie will ask for the memo to be translated to Afrikaans

Cheetahs: Will rest their players as requested in the inteerst of rugby but will choose the wrong games resulting in them loosing games they were going to lose anyway and losing games they could have won if they had not rested their players, and of course causing injuries to players Div wanted rested uin games of no import and they will end up being the losers

8. Jacques(Bunny) Jacques(Bunny) says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 11:18 am Reply to this comment

Bulls: Frans Ludeke will show the depth of the Bulls by intentionally resting key players for important games like against WP, still winning the games and then show Tim Noakes the superb player management programme they have developed from Tukkies’ High Performance Sprts Centre which is right there next to Loftus

This is the same Frans Luduke which all you cows wanted to fire in 2008, and said it is the kakest of them all.

Resting key players and still win, sorry but did you see last years CC, if it was not for the cows boks you would not even have made it to the semi’s

Lekker tyd om kak te praat voor julle begin huil en weer te se Frans is kak ne

9. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 11:50 am Reply to this comment

He believes all South Africa’s leading players have been refreshed by an off-season break,
    ====
    Two weeks over Christmas?
    :cuckoo:

It’s a step in the right direction as it is 14 weeks of Mondays, which amounts to two weeks’ rest
    =========
    Bad maths – rest calls for
    a complete rest, not a few
    hours a week.

South Africa’s contracted Springboks were on Sunday lectured by sports scientist Professor Tim Noakes
    ======
    Makes sense, now assist them to
    carry out his advice.

10. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 11:52 am Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 9:31 am:

I will be watching the performances of De Jong and Robert Ebersohn with hawk eyes.
    ========
    Rest your eyes – Ebersohn
    will not perform.

11. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 11:55 am Reply to this comment

Reply to DavidS @ 11:12 am:

the superb player management programme they have developed from Tukkies’ High Performance Sprts Centre
    =====
    Doesn’t seem to be working,
    yes?

Lions: Have no Boks so will be mightily confused when asked to rest their Boks as they battle relegation… Prof Manie will ask for the memo to be translated to Afrikaans
    ========
    :yeahright:
    :muahaha:

12. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 12:03 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 11:52 am:

Robert will most definitely… he’s the better and stronger of the two… and brilliant…

13. Jacques(Bunny) Jacques(Bunny) says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 12:15 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 12:03 pm: :yeahright:

14. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    January 20th, 2010 at 12:25 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to DavidS @ 11:12 am:

:applause: 1st post you ever wrote that I liked ;-)