Waratahs coach Chris Hickey has questioned the SANZAR judiciary for its judgment in finding Bulls second-rower and captain, Victor Matfield, not guilty on charges of striking and charging into a ruck following the Super 14 champions’ game against the Brumbies on Saturday.
Sport24
The Waratahs, who play the Bulls in their third-round game at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria on Saturday 19:10 SA time, were stunned upon hearing the not guilty verdict on both charges that were handed to the 200 centimetre Springboks enforcer, who was summoned before a hearing on Monday.
Matfield, a 92-Test veteran who has also played 97 Super games, was cited under Law 10.4 (a) for striking Brumbies flanker Rocky Elsom around the head area in the 16th minute of their 50-32 victory. He was also cited under Law 10.4 (k) for charging into a ruck without binding on to another player.
Hickey’s chief issue is with the judiciary’s finding of not guilty on the charging allegation. He believes it contradicts the standard set by the two-week ban imposed on Waratahs forward Dean Mumm on the same charge after NSW’s win against the Reds in round one.
The tribunals for the Mumm and Matfield cases were made up of different personnel and held in the cities where the two games were held. But Hickey – as with most rugby followers – believes judgments should be based on set parameters of guilt as agreed upon by the various tribunal panels.
”It’s a surprise after Dean Mumm’s two-week suspension,” Hickey said, adding that ”I did see [the Matfield episode] on television. It was pretty clear vision of the incident.”
”Those things are dealt with by the judiciary and, look, when Dean Mumm receives two weeks for a clean out of the ruck you would think that might the standard for the competition and for all teams.”
The Matfield hearing did not impact the selection of the Waratahs for Saturday’s game, as the NSW selectors had already settled on a 22-man line-up that features several bold changes, including three positional and two personnel switches.
Daniel Halangahu has been promoted from the bench to five-eighth while Berrick Barnes moves to inside-centre. Kurtley Beale, who last weekend started at No.12 outside Barnes, is back on the bench.
”We thought our game control will be imperative for us to get through the 80 minutes,” Hickey said. ”Having ‘Hangas’ there with Berrick gives us two good callers and two good players who have extensive game control.”
Selecting a Halangahu-Barnes combination will also help shore up the Waratahs’ defence in that crucial channel, although Hickey played down that reasoning.
The other big change is in the second row. Will Caldwell moves to the bench to allow Wallabies Spring Tour member Dave Dennis to partner Kane Douglas. For Dennis, who earned his first game time as a Waratah since March 2007 off the bench last week, this will be his first Super start for NSW. By selecting Dennis over Caldwell, Hickey and his selectors have opted for speed and mobility rather than sheer strength and size in their pack.
Caldwell’s demotion to the bench has forced former Emerging Springbok Hendrik Roodt out of the 22 and a chance to play against his old Bulls team-mates.
Also sidelined is back Rory Sidey whose place on the bench has gone to Rob Horne, who has finally recovered from his hamstring woes. Called up to the bench for a Waratahs debut is 19-year-old Eastwood back-rower Locky McCaffrey, the Shute Shield rookie of the year last season.
Waratahs squad to play the Bulls on Saturday:
1. Benn Robinson 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau 3. Al Baxter 4. Dave Dennis 5. Kane Douglas 6. Ben Mowen 7. Phil Waugh (c) 8. Wycliff Palu 9. Luke Burgess 10. Daniel Halangahu 11. Drew Mitchell 12. Berrick Barnes 13. Tom Carter 14. Lachie Turner 15. Sosene Anesi.
Substitutes: 16. Damien Fitzpatrick 17. Sekope Kepu 18. Will Caldwell 19. Locky McCaffrey 20. Josh Holmes 21. Kurtley Beale 22. Rob Horne.

February 24th, 2010 at 4:10 pm
Welcome to our world.
Dry your eyes you big girl child.
February 24th, 2010 at 4:17 pm
Why does he not rather
just shut his trap?
Bloody whiner.
February 24th, 2010 at 4:31 pm
He does have a point… on watching the youtube footage again… no doubt Victor should have got a stiffer penalty… but so too Elsom…
Very glad he didn’t all the same…
February 24th, 2010 at 4:36 pm
but what the hell are they complaining about, i thought matfield wnt to the defense of stegman, i’d like to see the clip.
February 24th, 2010 at 4:38 pm
ok sorry, in fairness, he seems to be complaining about the ruck binding.
February 24th, 2010 at 5:01 pm
Reply to cab @ 4:38 pm:
Justice 4 Victor could
have resulted.
How many times do you see
a player joining the ruck
as an individual?
February 24th, 2010 at 5:01 pm
Reply to cab @ 4:38 pm:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-rOoVULlLo
Blatant swing forearm to the head (defence or not)… lucky to get away with that… but lekker all the same…
Just don’t do that come close to play-offs time…
February 24th, 2010 at 5:52 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 5:01 pm:
nah that was nothing! seen worse at curling!!
February 24th, 2010 at 5:55 pm
Reply to Genl. Joubert @ 4:10 pm:
Amen Generaal!!!
February 24th, 2010 at 6:56 pm
Die Aussies moan net. Oor alles.
February 24th, 2010 at 7:00 pm
Victor swings his arms when running, not his fault Rockey’s mellon head got in the way.
February 24th, 2010 at 7:04 pm
Reply to manvanstaal @ 6:56 pm:
Verskil tussen ‘n Boeing en
‘n Aussie:
Die Boeing se enjins hou op
met whine as hy geland het.
February 24th, 2010 at 7:11 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 7:04 pm: Mens het n IQ van 60 nodig om skoenveters vas te maak. Dis hoekom plakkies so gewild is in Aus.
February 24th, 2010 at 7:13 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 5:01 pm:
lol, ja thats also true
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 5:01 pm:
hehe, yip, problem is that damn stupid arm guard of his, aussies are convinvned his got a steel kop-breaker underneathm and actually whenever he irons someone out with it, it seems to be lights out…
February 24th, 2010 at 9:34 pm
Good one
Bet he got it from his dad who used to beat up their black laboureres with that “arm guard” in the Good Old Days huh?
February 24th, 2010 at 9:35 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 7:04 pm:
Eddie Jonesilitis
February 24th, 2010 at 11:33 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 9:34 pm:
Dawie, thats a strange reply, i presume you are honing your ‘how to win an argument or die trying skills’.
PS: Look up Schopenhauer on the art of conversation or something like it, and apart from ad hominem, you can add a whole range of latin maxims to your arsenal. Remember tho there is a difference between rhetoric and truth.
February 24th, 2010 at 11:49 pm
Reply to cab @ 11:33 pm:
No doos I was actually trying to bait you….
I cannot believe I am that obvious and the only skaap that falls for it is you!
I took latin at varsity for two years…. no nees to google latin phrases to be clever… i am without needing wikipedia… or babelfish
Have you screwed anything yet por favor?
February 24th, 2010 at 11:50 pm
Reply to cab @ 11:33 pm: ps. I don’t want to converse with you
I just want to piss you off every chance I get…
February 24th, 2010 at 11:52 pm
Oh maybe I’d like to have a little “chat” to you in the parking lot outside Silverados sometime…. but I have a feeling you’ll never pitch because someone might see you wearing a man g-string after I klap you out of your low rider girly type jeans…
February 25th, 2010 at 12:10 am
Reply to DavidS @ 11:49 pm:
oh i see, this explains your generally refined and polite manner.
ja, silverados, bladdy stupid place, haha, it was like that every sat night. but the reality is i wear a mankini, it cradles my balls more nicely.
February 25th, 2010 at 12:16 am
Heheheheheeh
See it wasn’t so difficult to admit
Do you wear it on the beach in thpain?
I hate the way the Thpanish lithp….
There was some dudde from a big corporate on financial radio tonight bragging about his company and this oke had a lithp
I would like to smack an SSSS into his mouth
February 25th, 2010 at 12:18 am
What is it with you okes on RW who cannot argue properly
Morne with his Manbag and now you with your…. eewww…. mankini…
February 25th, 2010 at 1:12 am
Reply to DavidS @ 12:16 am:
yeah but thats no surprise, you hate everything.
all you need is love – john lennon
this is why i love all gods creatures, esp the skaap.
February 25th, 2010 at 8:10 am
Eish
The ERT and the “ERT in Diaspora” are at it again!
Something to hit gOOgle wiFF….
CaBBo
somethink for your social cause
http://english.peopledaily.com.cn/90001/90783/91321/6793366.html
Some uDDEr uses for shEEp
Sheep’s milk comes primarily from the central and northern regions of the country, such as Castilla-León, Castilla-La Mancha, the Basque country and Navarre. Sheep’s milk is mainly used to make cured cheeses.
Zamorano: This is a tangy sharp cheese from the province of Zamora, in the Northwestern area of the Castilla-Leon region. This area is known for high quality sheep production. It has a crumbly texture and a flavor similar to mild aged cheddar. The rind is moldy and grayish and the cheese has small holes or none at all.
Burgos: A snow-white moist, lightly-salted, fresh cheese from the province of Burgos, in Northern Spain. It is generally made with sheep’s milk, but can be made from cow’s milk, as well. It is not a fatty cheese, since it is made from partially skimmed milk and has a very mild flavor. Since it is a fresh cheese, not cured, it is made to be eaten soon after being made. Mixed with honey and nuts, or dried fruit, it becomes a fabulous dessert. It can also be mixed in salads or used in making cheese cakes.
Manchego: This is probably the most famous Spanish cheese and has its own Denomination of Origin. The Denomination of Origin is located in the center of the Peninsula, in the Castilla-La Mancha region. According to the regulations of the denomination, the cheese must be made from the milk of Manchego sheep, Entrefino breed. It is piquant, buttery and has a nutty flavor as well. It is soft and crumbly in texture. Manchego is the definitive Spanish cheese. Serve with Serrano ham on a slice of fresh French bread for a treat!
Roncal: A hard cheese from the Roncal Valley, near the French border, in the region of Navarra. It was the first cheese in Spain to receive a Denomination of Origin. It is used in lots of different vegetable dishes; grated, shaved or sliced paper thin. It is ivory in color, is compact, has a thick rind, and has no holes. Roncal is a cured cheese that has a sharp, tangy flavor and is very firm and crumbles when cut.
Idiazábal: A Basque hard cheese made from the milk of the long-haired Lacha sheep. It is made from unpasteurized sheep’s milk and is generally cured at least 2 months, but not more than 6 months. It can be smoked, but does not have to be. It is sharp, acidic and somewhat salty in flavor. Although the town no longer exists, the name of this cheese comes from the town Idiazábal , where the cheeses were taken to market.
Abstract The effect of the seasonality of lacha sheep’s milk production on the milk-fat composition was studied. This raw milk is used to manufacture Idiazabal cheese, a typical product of the Basque Country of northern Spain. Milk samples were taken, prior to cheesemaking, from a refrigerated tank of mixed milk from different flocks in a cheese factory in February, April and June. The triglyceride and fatty acid composition of the milk were analysed. The results showed that the molecular characteristics of the milk-fat components, the degree of unsaturation and the chain length changed with the time of the year. The June milk had a higher content of unsaturated and long-chain fatty acids and triglycerides. The April and February milks were very similar, with a higher content of saturated and short-chain fatty acids and triglycerides. The differences in animal feeding are probably the most important factor affecting milk composition because in June flocks are fed mainly in natural pastures while in April and February the ewes are also fed additional commercial feeds. Idiazabal cheeses were considerably different from February to June, suggesting a relationship between the free fatty acid composition of the cheese, its sensorial properties and the fat composition of the raw milk used in cheesemaking.
But then – maybe this is becoming tOO scientific
February 25th, 2010 at 8:12 am
If you ever nEEd an avatar Cab
http://cgi.ebay.com/THE-BEATLES-POSTER-Spain-ASTERIX-in-Britain_W0QQitemZ350272779713QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item518de275c1
February 25th, 2010 at 8:19 am
You guys reckon the girl who had wriTTen this was in a “gOOde” mOOd?
THE NEXT SURVIVOR SERIES
Six married men
will be dropped on an island
with one car
and 3 kids each
for six weeks.
Each kid will play two sports
and take either music or dance classes.
There is no fast food.
Each man must
take care of his 3 kids;
keep his assigned house clean,
correct all homework,
complete science projects,
cook,
do laundry,
and pay a list of ‘pretend’ bills
with not enough money.
In addition,
each man
will have to budget enough money
for groceries each week.
Each man
must remember the birthdays
of all their friends and relatives,
and send cards out on time–no emailing.
Each man must also take each child
to a doctor’s appointment,
a dentist appointment
and a haircut appointment.
He must make one unscheduled and
inconvenient visit per child to the Emergency Room.
He must also make cookies or cupcakes
for a school function.
Each man will be responsible for
decorating his own assigned house,
planting flowers outside, and keeping it presentable at all times.
The men will only have access to television when the kids are asleep
and
all chores are done.
The men must shave their legs,
wear makeup daily,
adorn themselves with jewelry,
wear uncomfortable yet stylish shoes,
keep fingernails polished,
and eyebrows groomed
During one of the six weeks,
the men will have to endure severe
abdominal cramps, backaches, headaches,
have extreme, unexplained mood swings
but never once complain or slow down
from other duties.
They must attend weekly school meetings
and church,
and find time at least once to spend
the afternoon at the park or a similar
setting.
They will need to read a book to the kids each night and in the
morning,
feed them, dress them, brush their teeth and comb their hair by 7:30
am.
A test will be given
at the end of the six weeks,
and each father will be required to know all of the following
information:
each child’s
birthday,
height, weight,
shoe size, clothes size,
doctor’s name,
the child’s weight at birth,
length, time of birth,
and length of labor,
each child’s favorite color,
middle name,
favorite snack,
favorite song,
favorite drink,
favorite toy,
biggest fear,
and what they want to be when they grow up.
The kids vote them off the island based on performance.
The last man wins only if…
he still
has enough energy
to be intimate with his spouse
at a moment’s notice.
If the last man does win,
he can play the game over and over and over again for the next 18-25
years, eventually earning the right to be called Mother!
February 25th, 2010 at 8:20 am
Maybe its explanatory why the ERT – and Deon – is in such bad mOOds of late!
February 25th, 2010 at 8:34 am
The only sheep cheese cab will find is under his foreskin because he doesn’t wash so often…. a common English trait..
But guys c’mon
A manbag is one thing… an admitted mankini wearer….
I bet cab likes how tight the butts are on the Lions players which is why he supports them…
February 25th, 2010 at 8:43 am
Reply to DavidS @ 8:34 am:
Eish
I give up….