Danny Jordaan, the 2010 South Africa World Cup supremo, said the future use of two stadiums built specially for the tournament hinged on their also becoming rugby union grounds.
Sport24
“We need to make the stadiums viable…The central issue is whether rugby will move to the new stadiums. I think they will. Their stadiums were built in the 1950s,” Jordaan, speaking in London, said on Thursday.
Durban’s Moses Mabhida Stadium, which has been built at a cost of 3.1 billion rand (413 million dollars) is right next door to the Kings Park home of the Sharks Super 14 rugby union team.
But the Sharks are so far showing no inclination to move, sparking fears the Mabhida Stadium may be unviable economically once the World Cup is over, leaving the city with an expensive white elephant.
There are similar concerns in Cape Town, where a new stadium in Green Point has cost an estimated one billion rand more than its Durban counterpart.
But the Stormers play at the Newlands ground, the home of rugby in Cape Town for over a hundred years, and the Western Province Rugby Union has maintained that is where the team will be staying after the football World Cup.
“These are emotional debates,” Jordaan said. “The debate about the ‘new’ Wembley took five years in London.
“In Cape Town and Durban, the debate is still on.”

March 5th, 2010 at 8:18 am
Well perhaps if you CONSULTED and entered into AGREEMENTS and PARTNERSHIPS with the rugby administrators the story would have been different hey Danny?
But no, you tjoops just fok off and go ahead and do your shit and then expects everyone else to pick up the pieces after you.
Although in principle this is a nice idea, you can go and screw yourself.
In anycase, why should WP rugby move from a ground they own 100%?
March 5th, 2010 at 8:24 am
Maybe if they do a straight swap. Give WP the Greenpoint stadium and some millions to ease the pain of moving in exchange for Newlands.
March 5th, 2010 at 8:26 am
Reply to manvanstaal @ 8:24 am:
I reckon a deal can be made, but then that would include WP Rugby having some form of ownership in the new stadium which I am sure Morne DuP and his company will not be all to keen about…
March 5th, 2010 at 8:28 am
Reply to Morné @ 8:26 am: I predict pigs will be seen flying before that happens.
March 5th, 2010 at 8:32 am
Reply to manvanstaal @ 8:28 am:
Give it to the two CPT soccer clubs…
Hell it makes perfect sense.
Must tell you, it is a beautiful stadium – make no mistake.
March 5th, 2010 at 8:55 am
Leave Newlands, when poofball fu..up it is not our problem, we have our stadium, we like it.
Reply to Morné @ 8:32 am: Agree, they want to build it for poofball, let poofball have it after their WC.
Rather go and move Coke Park so that normal people can go and watch rugby in JHB again.
March 5th, 2010 at 9:03 am
I do not agree, rugby as a spectators sport should be the winner, and it is much more fun watching sport in these stadiums than at Newlands. I love Newlands but would prefer watching rugby at the new stadium!
March 5th, 2010 at 9:12 am
Reply to Vloye @ 9:03 am:
Massive financial implications – it is not that simple.
March 5th, 2010 at 9:21 am
Like to see what the outcome will be when a referendum is held by WP supporters.
Do not care about other peoples perspective only WP supporters in CT who go and watch games at Newlands every weekend.
March 5th, 2010 at 9:29 am
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 9:21 am:
WP clubs voted no to a move.
March 5th, 2010 at 9:44 am
Reply to Morné @ 9:29 am:
to them all
March 5th, 2010 at 9:56 am
Reply to Morné @ 9:12 am:
Understand the financial implications, that is where negotiations must take place! To say no because of history and not spectator experience is wrong, but hey, rugby in SA have never been about spectators, but more about the administrators and their salaries.
March 5th, 2010 at 10:08 am
Reply to Vloye @ 9:56 am: Again how do you know all spectators in CT supports your view?
March 5th, 2010 at 10:33 am
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 10:08 am:
I do not know, I tell you what I think, but the reasons for not moving is not valid I believe, and like the coached said after the game against Boland, it is a great place to be.
March 5th, 2010 at 10:39 am
Reply to Vloye @ 10:33 am: Love the stadium and give them some games but do not take away over a hundred years of history and tradition and throw it away for a “nice” stadium.
This freaking government of ours are already taking all our history, City names and language away, leave the things that we can actually control.
March 5th, 2010 at 10:44 am
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 10:39 am:
Hmmm, keep the things we (who are this, whites????) can actually control? Even if there is a better stadium, not the best policy for nation building. But that is not the issue, let not go there!
March 5th, 2010 at 10:46 am
Reply to Vloye @ 10:33 am:
How can you say that the reasons are not valid?
Lets look at a couple of “non valid” points.
WPR does not owe any money on Newlands and anything they do there is for the benefit of WPR.
WPR has current contracts with about 225 suite holders..some of them for up to another 25 years.
These suites are a BIG part of the income for WPR!
NOW the new stadium which was build in Greenpoint is an excelent soccer stadium.
It is great. But is not a RUGBY Stadium – and you are to far from the game..if that makes sense.
BUT to come back to the Suites – the new stadium has 67…
Now do you realy want to piss of your big money spinners….
Appart from the tradition and everything that goes with it…it is all about finance and for the SA LOC of this WC – that means nothing – as they have been overspending at a rate that will even scare J Arthur W Brown!
March 5th, 2010 at 10:52 am
Reply to Vloye @ 10:44 am:
Like I said – its all about money..
Jordaan should have made the time to chat to all involved when he sold the WC to Blatter
March 5th, 2010 at 11:01 am
Reply to Vloye @ 10:44 am: No not whites, we have a multi racial culture in CT and all I say why through away history and tradition that is excepted by all in CT not just a specific race.
Why must we suddenly change our stadium because government and Mr Danie said so?
Why did they not think of this before they start building the stadium and talked to CT and WP?
The problem is that everything wants to be force onto people.
I just can not see why we must give away all that because their is a new venue that is “nice”.
March 5th, 2010 at 11:04 am
Reply to PietPloos @ 10:52 am: I do not know too much about the money issue although I have read soem of it in the newspapers. I can also recall that the biggest reason for not considering this move is about the Suites.
For me it’s all about tradition and history in the oldest stadium in SA. Maybe I am alone on this but I will go and toi-toi for it.
March 5th, 2010 at 11:16 am
Reply to PietPloos @ 10:46 am:
It sounds like an obvious mistake not to build the suites, not talking to WP rugby beforehand. Do we actually know if they tried, was it WP rugby that did not wanna talk to them. Would be nice to know. I tend to go for the best option available and not the road that I have traveled before.
March 5th, 2010 at 11:17 am
YOU built the stadiums.
YOU fill them.
“Newlands as we see it today was purchased, constructed, demolished and finally re-developed at huge cost and commitment over the past century entirely by the efforts of dedicated members of the Western Province Rugby Football Union and its administrators – to whom this magnificent stadium is a fitting monument. And we must never forget those faithful supporters, who have followed the fortunes of their teams week in, week out in spite of often inclement weather.”
————————————————————-
“Newlands is a fitting testament to those men and women who have supported and believed in not only the WPFRU but in the game of Rugby Football. The stadium, and the ground the stadium is built on, is owned by the WPRFU.”
————————————————————-
“Newlands, home of Province and Stormers Rugby, has become world renowned for being the most supported teams in the modern game, regardless of log position – with its spectators now commonly known as “The Newlands Faithful”. In 2002, Newlands welcomed its millionth spectator, to watch a Stormers match, through the gates, with more than 2 million fans having come out to support the popular Super Rugby franchise over the past 12 years. In both 2008 and 2009, Newlands recorded a total annual attendance of more than 500 000 spectators, with an average of 17 rugby fixtures a year.”
————————————————————
I rest my case
Reply to Vloye @ 11:16 am:
As far as I know – no consultation took place.
March 5th, 2010 at 11:35 am
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 11:17 am:
We have to agree to disagree. I do not value history as much as you!
March 5th, 2010 at 11:37 am
Reply to Morné @ 8:18 am:
Well said, my sentiments pretty much the same.
Conventional invited to a party beforehand happens before & not after, would nogal have thought this would be the case with a 4bn+ stadium!!!!
I’m in IT but even I know one of the principals of any business plan is market research to ascertain financial viability…guess when – aah yes, before the financing is approved this has to be proved.
But I guess this is not the case when gvt funds it, simply shout “SWC 2010,” blow a vuvuzela to prove your point and hey presto.
Reply to PietPloos @ 10:46 am: Natuurlik ‘n baie belangrike konsiderasie, nie eers daaraan gedink nie!
Reply to Boertjie @ 11:17 am:
Sekondeer, kry vir julle
Danny, hoekom klop jy nie sommer by hokkie, krieket & sommer ysskaats ook aan nie? Maar nee, rugby wat mos in elk geval deur die dom Dutchmen beheer word is weer k@kbok se vul.
Mooi man.
March 5th, 2010 at 11:39 am
Reply to Namboer @ 11:37 am:
“Conventional invited to a party beforehand happens before & not after”
Demmit, changed sentence halfway through and stuffed it up completely. Should read “Conventional invite to a party happens before & not after”
Oops.
March 5th, 2010 at 11:39 am
Reply to Namboer @ 11:37 am: :tribe:
March 5th, 2010 at 11:44 am
Reply to Namboer @ 11:39 am: I hear the CT Jukskei team needs a better stadium and they said they will share it with the SA Kennetjie team.
March 5th, 2010 at 11:54 am
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 11:44 am: He he he he he, laat dink jy my nou aan sêding “Jammer, ek moet gaan kennetjie speel op Kenhardts so sal dit nie maak nie…” as jy verskoning soek.
March 5th, 2010 at 11:55 am
Reply to Namboer @ 11:54 am:
March 5th, 2010 at 12:37 pm
They could have used King’s Park
in Debben for the WC, but no.
Now deal with it assholes.
Anyway this WC is bound to be
a fookup. Only 150 000 tickets
sold abroad, they were expecting
400 000-plus.
As for the Bananas – can’t beat
Namibia!
Now they’re having a training
camp in Brazil. Irony is that
only 2-3 from this squad will
play the WC – the rest will be
from OS (not released yet).
March 5th, 2010 at 12:50 pm
I agree with Boertjie
Vloye aside from that there are office suites around Newlands that are rented out and provide an additional income stream to WP rugby.
They would be mad to let their income stream dry up for some airy fairy reason.
Ellis Park?
Well it is owned by the EPS company which is 50% LIons and 50% ORlando Purates… so I suppose they’re okay.
The KZN one is exactly the same.
It has suites
It has parking lots
It has rental buildings
It has restaurants
Why should the Sharks move to that moron MIke Sutcliffe’s biggest folly
March 5th, 2010 at 12:51 pm
I must admit I’m seeing bad signs for the SWC!
March 5th, 2010 at 12:51 pm
Ja Jordaan. Like the Reds here moved to Suncorp and now are in dire financial staits?
WP stay where you are. If you move, the administrators (not the rugby kind) will be knocking on the door very soon.
Let them sort out their white elephant
March 5th, 2010 at 12:52 pm
And it is not only the Reds that is struggling since the move. The Brisbane soccer team too.
March 5th, 2010 at 1:06 pm
En die groot
kom
nog wanneer hierdie spul
nuwe stadions onderhou
moet word.
Ek sien al hoe word hulle
stuk vir stuk leeggedra.
Soos die weermag: geen geld
om die Grippens te vlieg
of die fregatte en duikbote
te seil nie.
(Wel, so tussen 2 en 6 dae
per jaar.)
:rant:
March 5th, 2010 at 1:12 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 1:06 pm:
Jou ou rassis!!!!
March 5th, 2010 at 1:17 pm
Reply to Deon @ 1:12 pm:
Ja Boet. Maar ek kan net nie
sien hoe jy ‘n “nasie bou” as
die waardestelsels en kulture
so hemelsbreed verskil nie.
Bou die fkn ding, maar sonder
my. En good luck.
March 5th, 2010 at 1:20 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 12:51 pm:
The SWC would always have been the final test. Now for the humiliation.
March 5th, 2010 at 1:24 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 1:17 pm:
Ek sal maar eerder nie begin betrokke raak nie. Netnou kry die artikel weer 800 posts. En dit sal nie fun wees nie. cab kruip nou weg.
Waardes en kultuur, mmmmm, it was doomed before it began. Die nuwe apartheid is ekonomies. Ek wonder of die linkse liberales teen dit ook gaan veg?
March 5th, 2010 at 1:57 pm
Reply to Deon @ 1:20 pm:
In context – in CONTEXT
Do you really think the world or anyone in the world – EXPECT – a first world Germany experience
THEY DON’T
They excpet a Deepest Darkest African experience and franctly will be dissapointed if they don’t experience that.
The MINIMUM requirements would – consitute – this SWC a HUGE SUCCESS.
Teams – hotel-ed
Teams arriving kinda-in-time for warming-up for games
Media working “ok”
Games starting – on-time
Games being Televised
what else – is bare minimum
As to the fans and supporters
if they don’t form part of the 53 killed per day in SA
they will be fooking happy – bwahahahaahaha
scarier is that they may be part in the future of the 1 000 (yes THOUSAND) dying A DAY of AIDS !!!
Do you realise how many is a 1 000 a day???
That is a school a day !!!
DEAD – GONE !!!
Tomorrow next school . . . . . . . and next school . . . .and next
March 5th, 2010 at 2:00 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 1:57 pm:
You forgot one:
Lights stay on!!
March 5th, 2010 at 2:00 pm
Reply to Deon @ 2:00 pm:
Oops !!!
March 5th, 2010 at 2:05 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 1:57 pm:
I wished I bought shares in the bottled water industry in SA
March 5th, 2010 at 2:12 pm
and ofcourse
the players’ bus don’t get hijacked
The bus don’t hit a pothole
the kit actually get to the game
the balls are inflated
There are not a Suzy in every hotel
March 5th, 2010 at 2:14 pm
Well there are some that believe population control is one way of combatting Global Warming.
March 5th, 2010 at 2:15 pm
Klaar
gesoek.
March 5th, 2010 at 2:16 pm
En weet jy hoe humiliating is dit as mense inbel na ‘n radiostasie en vra of dit wettig is vir mans om meer as een vrou te he in Suid Afrika, aangesien die president dit doen?
March 5th, 2010 at 2:19 pm
Reply to Deon @ 2:16 pm:
Is dit wettig om
skape te spyker?
March 5th, 2010 at 2:22 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 2:19 pm:
Ek weet nie, vra die Kiwi’s
March 5th, 2010 at 2:23 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 2:19 pm:
En jy moet onthou, dit is ‘n rumour. Stortkop se goed is bevestig.
March 5th, 2010 at 2:28 pm
Reply to Deon @ 2:23 pm:
Britse pers praat van 35
kinders – ek dink nie hy
weet self hoeveel nie.
March 5th, 2010 at 2:28 pm
So wat gaan julle vanaand met julself aanvang? Geen rugby nie.
March 5th, 2010 at 2:29 pm
WPRU can negotiate from a position of strength here, they should keep an open mind and demand a VERY good deal.
Come and visit a few NFL teams and ask them how to set up a deal for a new stadium.
-City to add the suites or whatever modifications WP requires.
-WP pays no rent and gets to keep all receipts from rugby games.
-City gets revenue from parking lots and increase property values around the stadium but has to use that for upkeep.
March 5th, 2010 at 2:34 pm
Reply to Deon @ 2:28 pm:
Ek pik by die Hoenners.
Reply to fyndraai @ 2:29 pm:
Daar is praatjies dat die
boonste rye sitplekke verwyder
gaan word vir suites.
Maar die veld is glo baie ver
van die paviljoene af.
March 5th, 2010 at 2:38 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 2:34 pm:
The Force has moved their base this year for the reason that the crowd was too far from the field. People didn’t like going to watch the games.
March 5th, 2010 at 2:44 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 2:34 pm:
Another logical question is how many extra seats at Greenpoint compared to Newlands and how many of those extra’s can be realistically expected to be filled in a year.
Pointless having a massive stadium where the seats are never or very rarely all filled. The atmosphere when not filled will not be right, less atmosphere means dwindling seats sold per match.
March 5th, 2010 at 2:47 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 2:44 pm:
Yip very good point.
March 5th, 2010 at 2:47 pm
March 5th, 2010 at 2:57 pm
True.
Newlands 50 000.
CT Stadium 68 000, but
less with suites.
March 5th, 2010 at 3:29 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 2:57 pm:
It won’t be much less in number I would imagine, thumbsuck and say 65000.
That leaves 15000 extra seats, could the WPR fill them and get extra cash or not?
WPR would have a lot of calculation work to do before making an informed decision.
March 5th, 2010 at 6:53 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 3:29 pm:
We only get 1-2 tests in a
year, and even even CC and
S14 vs the Bulls will probably
not draw more than 50 000.
March 5th, 2010 at 7:52 pm
Dammit I hate agreeing with the bonobo but he is right…
This is probably one of the main reasons for the failure of EPS as a stadium for the Lions.
It takes on 65000 but even in a CC final I have not seen it filled and even for test matches I have seen open seats.
And with a stadium like that it looks kak with 40 000 people in it….
You have 25000 unused seats… a third empty
March 5th, 2010 at 7:54 pm
40 000 in Durban, CT and P-Town is a full house
20 000 is a half full stadium
At EPS it is derelict
March 5th, 2010 at 7:58 pm
Dis kak op Vrydag aand sonder rugby…
March 5th, 2010 at 8:01 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 7:58 pm:
Real rugby starts in an hour!! Clermont v Perpignon!!
Probably end up a bore fest after that build-up
March 5th, 2010 at 8:04 pm
Clermont Auvergne
Manager: vern Cotter
On the Field
o Debaty
o Ledesma
o Scelzo
o Cudmore
o Privat
o Lapandry
o Bonnaire
o Vermeulen
o Senio
o Brock
o Malzieu
o Williams
o Joubert
o Nalaga
o Floch
Subs
o Audebert
o Pierre
o Cabello
o Lavea
o Zirakashvili
o Domingo
o Parra
o Fofana
Injured
None
Suspended
None
Perpignan
Manager: Jacques Brunel
On the Field
o Schuster
o Tincu
o Mas
o Olibeau
o Vilaceca
o Le Corvec
o Tonita
o Chouly
o Mélé
o Laharrague
o Plante
o Grandclaude
o Marty
o Michel
o Burger
Subs
o Durand
o Chobet
o Sid
o Pulu
o Mermoz
o Guirado
o Tchale Watchou
o Tuilagi
March 5th, 2010 at 8:16 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 7:54 pm:
Eerste Toets – 1955 Britse Leeus
= 92 000 mense op Ellispark
(sommige bronne sê 100 000).
Wys jou net ons het deesdae glad
te veel rugby.
March 5th, 2010 at 10:02 pm
ag kak all of you.
Rugby in our country is huge yet our unions do not seem to grasp the marketing involved to enrich the live experience.
If WP wanted to be a world leader in sprt they would have negotiated a fat deal (in their favour) to move and make Stormers rugby a global leader.
Instead they cling to the past and shout victory if theydominate rugby in the western cape (in other words, beat Boland and SWD).
They have no vision. They dont dream big.
Dito Natal. King Park is a dump. MOve next door, negotiate the deal in your favour eeing as the municipality has no other option. You an still braai on the fucking B field, but move, and make Sharks rugby th Arsenal of world rugby, whilst WP can be Man U.
But no, the Bothas and VD Merwes running the show has no balls and less vision. It petty.
March 5th, 2010 at 10:04 pm
sjoe my spelling is kak but I am sure you all get the point.
March 5th, 2010 at 10:11 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 12:37 pm:
boertjie please dont be that sour. Yes the team is kak but when you sand ‘ons vr jou Suid Afrika’ it did not mean only wen your people were in power or ‘in the good times’.
SA needs us now and its no good rubbishing the country just so your ego can feel justified at past mistakes?
The world cup was a mistake we all know that, our soccer team is not good at all yet its also wrong finding hapiness in your countries failure.
I dont know, I understand your attitude bu we should be able to rise above it.
March 6th, 2010 at 7:38 am
Reply to newbokshields @ 10:02 pm:
“But no, the Bothas and VD Merwes running the show has no balls and less vision. It petty”
Cheap shot not focussing on the bigger picture. Where was the vision NOT to spend billions on new stadiums in the first place, but rather upgrade the existing? Where was the vision to spend the savings on things that could improve the lifes of South Africans?
You are
through your
So rather blame the Malema’s and Jordaan’s of the world than expecting the rugby unions that have been fully employment equified to fix their mess.
They wanted to make name for themself. And now you call the unions selfish and unprofessional. What is your definition of being professional? Fixing other’s fuck ups?
March 6th, 2010 at 9:01 am
Newbokshields – If Soccer needs us, I believe you refer to the Afrikaners, right? Then I will watch with keen interest the opening ceremony of the swc. I can tell you now that there will be drum beating, gumboot dancing, tiet showing zulu’s and xhosa’s, huge SA flags but not 1 single representation for the Afrikaner heritage. So they need us? Show us and they’ll have us.
They only need us when it suits them. They couldn’t care less unless we(in this case WPRFU) can bail them out.
Ans please don’t come with the story about not all rugby supporters are afrikaners, I know that but we make up a very big portion of the coffers for the unions.
March 6th, 2010 at 9:05 am
Reply to onerb @ 9:01 am:
I guess we will have to learn how to tell people exactly how they should pick up a drol by it’s clean side.
March 6th, 2010 at 9:09 am
Yep or pick up the dried ones as they don’t stink as much.
March 6th, 2010 at 9:49 am
Thanks guys – I did not
feel like reacting myself.
I can only be loyal to
things I believe in and
feel part of.