Some time for hunting and fishing now

March 9, 2010
Posted by Morné

This is how the Cheetahs fiery loose-forward will deal with his injury which will keep him out for the rest of 2010.

Vicus Bürger and Abri Burger – Sport24

The disappointment is huge, but Springbok flanker Heinrich Brüssow now finally has time for hunting and fishing.

Free Staters and rugby supporters across South Africa were all shattered with the news that the Cheetahs star will not play rugby again this year. However, Brüssow is getting a well-deserved break.

Volksblad
spoke to the rugby hero on Monday before his operation at the Life Rosepark Hospital.

He said the siren had already sounded when he tore ligaments in his left knee against the Hurricanes. There had not even been contact.

“My leg just gave in.”

Brüssow only heard on Sunday that he will be out for a lengthy period.

If everything “goes very well”, Brüssow may be back by the end of the Currie Cup. If not, he will be sidelined until the start of next year’s Super 15.

While he is disappointed, he said that “it happens and is part of the job”.

Brüssow will now work “dutifully” on his rehabilitation and do the things he was not able to for the past five years.

He does not expect his absence from the Cheetahs pack to have a major influence.

“There is a lot of depth in the team.”

Brüssow believed that with star loose forwards such as Ashley Johnson, Hendro Scholtz, Kabamba Floors and Frans Viljoen, the Cheetahs needn’t worry.

He was in the process of adapting to the stricter interpretation of the laws.

Critics believed that it would make him less effective, but he has been outstanding over the past two weeks.

“It is difficult. Everyone has to get used to the new law, but the guys will get used to it,” he said.

Brüssow has previously been sidelined for a lengthy period.

He tore a hamstring when he was a matric pupil at Grey College and was out for between six and eight months.

“It’s part of the job,” he said.

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

Tags:

15 Comments

1. manvanstaal manvanstaal says:
    March 9th, 2010 at 10:59 am Reply to this comment

Hoop hy eet alles wat hy vang/skiet.

2. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    March 9th, 2010 at 11:25 am Reply to this comment

Ai, dit bly maar ‘n gatslag.
    So uit die bloute!

3. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    March 9th, 2010 at 12:27 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 11:25 am:

Too true!

4. newbokshields newbokshields says:
    March 9th, 2010 at 1:21 pm Reply to this comment

Ai and so the stereotype of the typical Freestater lives on!

:lol:

The injued WP player: Now I have time to do some clubbing and watch Top Billing with my model girlfriend.

The Lions player: Jissie br its kak te be injured but finally I will get time to slip under that Sierra and give her the makeover she deserves. I have bought all the part `n all china.

who else?

5. Morné Morné says:
    March 9th, 2010 at 1:36 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to newbokshields @ 1:21 pm:

Bulls player:

Now I have some time to finish that painting (I started in Grade 0) I have been putting off…

Sharks player:

Like schwaaah bru, I like just do what I do everyday, hit the surf and complete level 3 of Tekken on my playstation…

6. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS says:
    March 9th, 2010 at 1:56 pm Reply to this comment

Vrystater is going to Verwoerd Dam (which they still call Verwoerd Dam) with a papsak tent, a vis stok and lots of bier en brannewyn and an old police aapjas for fishing at night…

7. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS says:
    March 9th, 2010 at 1:59 pm Reply to this comment

Stormers player appears on Top Billing with model girlfriend and shows off his house and does part time modeling shows of new YDE ranges at the Waterfront with fellow injured players.

Lions oke… ja well unfortunately true, unless they’re colored, in which event they do the Sierra and start a sideline business selling ‘uttins to the darkies in Randburg…

Black player gets into contract discussions with anyone short of darker hued players

8. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    March 9th, 2010 at 2:03 pm Reply to this comment

Hehehe. Julle is snaaks!

9. Americano Americano says:
    March 10th, 2010 at 12:33 am Reply to this comment

Had the same (ACL/MCL/LCL) took my hamstring to fashion the new ACL.

Wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy.
    The spooky thing is that you can come back in 6-8 months, but the nerves and your brain don’t optimally connect for about 24.
    When NFL players get it done they’re always back the next season but they’re average.

The following they’re pretty much back to where they were. Big advance has been the Vibration plate for rehab.

I’ll be pulling for HB and hope to see him stay outta trouble in the future…only thing is that the area he excels….it’s easy for bad things to happen in that mess of bodies.

Man that sucks.

10. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    March 10th, 2010 at 12:48 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Americano @ 12:33 am:

My daughter just had the same op. :?

11. The MindBok The Brand says:
    March 10th, 2010 at 7:07 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Americano @ 12:33 am:

Thanks for inside-info :bowdown:

12. Americano Americano says:
    March 10th, 2010 at 7:31 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 12:48 am:
    Sorry to hear JT.
    Hope she recovers quickly.

13. Americano Americano says:
    March 10th, 2010 at 7:36 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 12:48 am:
    See about that Vibration Platform for her rehab…helped me so much I bought one.
    Think you’re in Aus…pretty sure they got them.

14. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    March 10th, 2010 at 8:17 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Americano @ 7:36 am:

Austria – no kangaroos but plenty of cows ;-)
    Thx for the tipp – she is going for physiotherapy soon and will check.

15. The MindBok The Brand says:
    March 10th, 2010 at 8:19 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Americano @ 7:31 am:

Yip – real bummer.
    Sterkte