No-one is happier than Gerhard van den Heever that the Bulls are playing the Stormers in the Super 14 final at the Orlando Stadium in Soweto on Saturday.
JJ Harmse – Sport24
Not only does it offer the 21-year-old wing a chance to play in his first final, but also to measure himself against Bryan Habana.
Habana was a mentor and team-mate of the Bulls youngster until last year, but even the Springbok wing will be surprised at the dramatic rise of the former hurdles athlete.
Van den Heever has been sitting on the sidelines for the past two weeks after being suspended for a dangerous tackle, but is now ready and motivated for the final.
“Yes, it is a relief,” the wing told Sport24 shortly after the Bulls beat the Crusaders in their semi-final.
“It’s frustrating to watch the rest of your team-mates sweat and you can’t be involved.”
He is very excited about his duel with Habana.
“He is still the best wing in the world and that is what rugby is all about at this level – measuring yourself against the best.”
Van den Heever’s inclusion in place of Jaco van der Westhuyzen on the right wing is a given, with the veteran Springbok set to move to the substitutes bench.
It’s likely to be the only change to the Bulls team for the final, though there is concern about the shoulder injury that Danie Rossouw suffered.
Rossouw left the field in the second half after taking a knock high against the shoulder close to his neck. He missed a game earlier this year because of a similar injury.
“It’s too early to say how serious the injury is, but I don’t think we have to worry and I’m confident he’ll be ready,” said Bulls coach Frans Ludeke.
Ludeke knows that he can bank on Flip van der Merwe to lock the scrum with Victor Matfield.
Van der Merwe has been a success story when going on as a substitute this year and was frequently part of a successful Bulls fightback.
Fingers will nevertheless be crossed that Rossouw will be able to take his place, especially as Bakkies Botha is still suspended.
Van der Merwe’s work-rate and ability to keep the ball alive is a major asset for any team.
Bulls team doctor Org Strauss expects that Rossouw will recover in time. A few other players are also struggling with bumps and bruises.
Francois Hougaard has major bruising to one of his hands and Dewald Potgieter sustained a dead leg.
Wynand Olivier, who was outstanding on defence, took a hard knock to his one knee, but should be fine.
Olivier’s direct style gave the Crusaders major problems and his defence caused a lot of panic in their ranks.

May 24th, 2010 at 9:37 am
At least Habana might finally see some ball on his side of the paddock this season… albeit it will be in GVDH’s hands…
May 24th, 2010 at 10:02 am
Gonna laugh my arsh off this weekend when this Golden Boy of the Bulls will final realize he has a long way still to go. Bring it on!!!!
Habana will keep on teaching him some lessons come Saturday
May 24th, 2010 at 10:12 am
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 10:02 am:
The Boere Ferrari is still in a class of his own. But the hype from the newsies apart, even you as a lowly stormers supporter must recognise VDH’s blossoming in this years S14, being the top try-scorer, or is that facts that should better be ignored, not suiting your arguments?
May 24th, 2010 at 10:14 am
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 10:02 am:
Habana is yet to justify his big paycheque.
But that is what he was bought for, games like this weekend so no better time to stand up.
May 24th, 2010 at 10:18 am
Reply to Morné @ 10:14 am:
Habana and even J Fourie are under used in that Stormers set-up BUT they are so dangerous that the defenses have to keep them covered and that opens up the middle of the field for the likes of Juan and the forwards. I hope that under PDV the attack will be more balanced and bring Habs and Fourie more into the game.
Looking forward to the international season – will only really know how good we are when we play with a FULL team against the Kiwis and Aussies in the 3N.
May 24th, 2010 at 10:19 am
Reply to Cosa @ 10:12 am: Scoring try’s are all about the opportunities your side gives you to score from, especially for a wing. Bans first season at Province and it was not their only game plan as with the Bulls to play around one player. Bans will get better with WP / Stormers as time goes on.
Did not say Gerhard is kak just saying he still needs to learn allot before he can be mentioned in the same breath as Bans. To be the best is not just of finishing of moves and score try’s, you need to defend and play a tactical kick.
He will be one of the best in days to come but not yet. Lucky for Gerhard he has some one like Heineke as a mentor to make him one of the greats like he did with Bans and many other Bulls players.
May 24th, 2010 at 10:22 am
Reply to JT @ 10:18 am:”I hope that under PDV the attack will be more balanced and bring Habs and Fourie more into the game.”
It will because FDP will be in the team and he makes allot of players better than they even think they cab ever be.
May 24th, 2010 at 10:23 am
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 10:22 am:
May 24th, 2010 at 10:24 am
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 10:19 am:
He surely does not have the ability to change the game in one single foul intercept, but the guy really has soft hands, and if you watched a few BULLS games (probably not, you are fixated only on the stormers
), you would have seen this guy take unbelievable passes to score from.
May 24th, 2010 at 10:25 am
Reply to Cosa @ 10:24 am:
he has all the goods to be great! He has the nack of being in the right place at the right time!
May 24th, 2010 at 10:26 am
All in all – I don’t care who wins on Saturday! The S14 stays in SA! Just want to see a GOOD game of rugby to show the world what SA can do!
But it will all be forgotten if we f it up in the 3N!
May 24th, 2010 at 10:32 am
Reply to JT @ 10:25 am:
Hi JT.
I wonder if Sheryl Calder will be working with the guys again?
May 24th, 2010 at 10:33 am
Reply to JT @ 10:26 am:
If the Stormers have any hope in hell, they have to nullify Fourie du Preez – this guy is just superhuman.
May 24th, 2010 at 10:35 am
Reply to Cosa @ 10:32 am:
howzit oupa Cosa
I hope so – all specialist coaches are welcome for the Bokke! What they need now IMO is a guy like Ian King to keep them fit and injury free until the WC!
May 24th, 2010 at 10:38 am
Reply to Cosa @ 10:24 am: Freaking hell every time we try to put something in perspective we get blamed to be a stormers supporter. I had no voice even before the Stormers started to play on Saturday. I am a SA supporter which support the Stormers.
Please get it through you guys skulls that not everything we say is because we are stormers supporters.
Gerhard WILL be a great but not know. He still makes too many mistakes, he is great finisher and he read the game well but that does not make you a Springbok.
Remember a great player will succeed in his second season when everyone knows him and started work him out. Then you as a player needs to find that something special to stand above the rest.
May 24th, 2010 at 10:44 am
Ja if the Stormers lose Duvenhage they are in kak. Fourie is in top form and will run fatarse Janaury off the park.
I have said for a long time that no team has ever won the Super 214 without a great 10. Grant is not a great 10 so it will be interesting to see if the Stormers can play around this weakness.
My favourite battle however will be to see if Liebenberg and Vermeulen can stay calm. The are both prone to over-aggro and then Stormers lose shape. Smith for example in Brumbies game played to this weakness against Vermeulen with obvious results.
May 24th, 2010 at 10:47 am
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 10:38 am:
It do seems like Habs has been sussed by the opponents. And that goes for his defence as well. Notwithstanding, I would prefer to see him in the beloved yersey of tha past 6 years.
PS, I also supported the stormers on Saturday. I specially remained behind in the beer garden to watch them over the big screen.
May 24th, 2010 at 11:17 am
I must admit… JVDW was pretty darn good last weekend all the same…
May 24th, 2010 at 6:14 pm
Reply to Cosa @ 10:47 am: Mhhh ja hope the WP use him better, he is much better than what he showed us in the S14. I think he is spoiled with what he had in Fourie and Morne the past two seasons.
May 24th, 2010 at 6:17 pm
I do believe the teams will not score too many tries on Saturday defense on both sides are good so it comes down to Grant versus Morne and that is where I as a Stormers supporter have the problem.
But never say never in a Final anything can happen.
Bulls are at this stage about 15% better than the Stormers
May 24th, 2010 at 6:21 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 6:17 pm: that could very well be the difference with Morne kicking them over from anywhere within 55m and Grant kicking them over from anywhere within 40m. Here the Bulls have the advantage but the Stormers even it out a bit with their defense where the Bulls do leak tries at times… Going to be fascinating!!
May 24th, 2010 at 6:25 pm
Reply to JT @ 6:21 pm:
Cannot wait, just hope the poepol in the middle and at the sides does not spoil it.
May 24th, 2010 at 10:56 pm
Reply to entropy @ 10:44 am:
By that you are implying that Derick Hougaard is a great 10.
It seems JJ Harmse was right all along.
May 25th, 2010 at 8:35 am
Reply to fyndraai @ 10:56 pm:
Does it matter
The Bulls won more with than without him if I recall…