Am I the only one that thought the test at Loftus over the weekend between the Springboks and Australia was actually pretty good?
Touch rugby, a joke, a sham, the Harlem Globetrotters of rugby are just some of terms used to describe the test from just about every single report I read, and where I agree that this test had one of the most insane starts I have witnessed, I reckon most people actually missed a good game of rugby on Saturday.
I am not one to attack scribes of columns when I do one myself (I leave that for the comments!), but I have been left wondering why we are not reading about how the Springboks successfully nullified the much vaunted Aussie loosies specifically David Pocock who occupied miles of column space last week – as De Villiers promised they would?
Or why are we not reading about the much improved use of substitutions in the last test which was also hugely criticized by rugby writers?
Why is no attention spent on the fact that the Springboks erased a massive lead built up by the Australians in the first 29 minutes scoring their bonus point try within that timeframe, only to be limited to 3 points in the last 50 minutes of rugby?
No mention of the massive defensive effort to keep the rampant Aussies at bay in the last 20 minutes – another point hugely criticized calling the players unfit and coaches not doing their job?
Or how about the fact that the Springboks outscored the Australians 5 tries to 4 in a type of game in which the Springboks are not rated (cast your mind back to the boring Boks columns of last year) and Australia are actually seen as experts in given how they built this from the Reds game plan which saw some degree of success this year?
How about the captaincy of John Smit, in the way he controlled the flow of the game after the first 20 minutes free-for-all in getting the balance almost perfect in deciding when to go for posts or when to go for an attacking line out in an attempt to calmly erase a massive deficit?
All I seem to read about though is how no team was interested in defending but even that is rather confusing, especially considering the Wallabies missed less tackles (14) on Saturday what the All Blacks missed in the previous week in Soweto (15). In fact, the tackle success rate (tackles made vs. tackles missed) was 85% for the Springboks, and 88% for the Wallabies. In Soweto, the All Blacks’ success rate was 82%…
More than this, two of the Australian tries came from direct individual errors on the Springbok side the likes of which you will not see often. Flip the coin and study the Springbok tries and just about every try was well constructed either from a set-move, sustained pressure in building phases in the red zone or turn-over ball which was for once used effectively and not kicked away. The only exception possibly being Steenkamp’s try which can be put down to a bad defensive error on the part of the Wallabies at the line-out but again, it was an attacking line-out close to the opposition line which put them under massive pressure.
I will leave you with this.
In 2000, a total of 109 000 people packed into Aussie Stadium to watch the All Blacks play the Wallabies. The All Blacks had a dream start scoring their first 3 tries in the opening 5 minutes of the game – after 9 minutes they led 24-0 over the Wallabies.
The Wallabies launched a counter assault however where Mortlock scored tries in the 10th and 20th minutes of the first half and with Latham and Roff scoring tries in the 28th and 32nd minutes respectively to draw level.
In the second half Justin Marshall extended the lead for the All Blacks but Jeremy Paul, 3 minutes from time put the Wallabies in the most unlikeliest of leads given the start of the test. On the 43 minute mark, the All Blacks launched their final assault resulting in a Lomu try which broke the Aussie hearts in a game which ended 39-35 in favour of New Zealand, a total of 74 points scored which included 10 tries.
The test was lauded as one of the greatest tests ever played…
Yet, last Saturday’s test which almost followed an identical pattern, in which 75 points were scored including 9 tries, is labelled a joke.
I reckon some people missed a good test match over the weekend…

August 31st, 2010 at 11:38 am
I thought it was a brilliant game by the Boks. Yes, they gifted the Ozzies a couple of tries but I always felt that we would take it which was weird as I am always normaly negative about their chances. I figured by half time that the altitude was going to hit the Wallabies as they had been running like crazy but their points hadn’t taken anything physically out of the Boks. The bok tries however cost the Wallabies energy and with the game at that pace, the Boks would outlast them.
August 31st, 2010 at 11:39 am
I reckons some people just like a good bitching
August 31st, 2010 at 11:49 am
Considering it a good game would be tantamount to complementing PdV and there is just no way on this planet that we are going to cut him the slightest bit of slack. He must not be allowed to believe that he is anything else other than scum of the earth. He is the clown after all… We will accept only one thing, his resignation and immediate emigration to some goforsaken corner of the planet. If that means rubbishing anything the Boks do, well, it’s for the greater good. I’m willing to bet that if we clobber the Wallabies on Saturday, every excuse under the sun will be used to explain the “dead rubber” etc etc nature of the game.
August 31st, 2010 at 12:01 pm
Reply to marko @ 11:49 am:
hehehehe
August 31st, 2010 at 12:03 pm
Reply to marko @ 11:49 am:
You’ve also read this script before?
August 31st, 2010 at 12:19 pm
@ Marko – I missed the first 30 min of the game. It was a different game to when I later watched the whole thing. Those first 30 were freakish. However it was an exciting game to watch.
The whole of the antipodean press is talking about the game the Wobblies let escape. It is like the Boks were not even part of the game, that they didn’t deserve to win. That is fine, they still think that the AB’s are so far ahead (they are, but not as much as they think) and the Boks are absolutely useless (they are not, just poorly coached/managed and tired).
August 31st, 2010 at 12:24 pm
Hate it so much but I must agree with you, Morne
August 31st, 2010 at 12:30 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 12:24 pm:
Soon you’ll love agreeing with me the more you do!
August 31st, 2010 at 12:40 pm
Reply to Morné @ 12:30 pm: Try not to think about it……
Kom ek praat jou taal wat jy kan verstaan:”Kan jy jou idee van normaal by jou gat opdruk!”-Jy behoort te weet waar ek dit kry
Niks is normaal as ek met jou saam stem nie
August 31st, 2010 at 12:49 pm
Morne, the press are criticizing this game because of poor phases of play from both sides, not just the Boks. Have a look at
http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby/opinion/4074809/Wallabies-find-way-to-lose-unlosable-test
to see how the Aussie journos who were at the game are laying into their guys.
August 31st, 2010 at 12:52 pm
Reply to out wide @ 12:49 pm:
I would to, if we lost from that position.
This is the Bok angle though.
August 31st, 2010 at 1:17 pm
super article Morné…
seems ‘we’ just love focusing on the negative and holding it up as general truth…
it’s much easier to pick on the obvious errors and bad things and go on about them as an example of how well we know the game…
it takes much more effort to seek out and analyse the good things and give credit where due…
well done bud… it says way more of your rugby knowledge that you can pose these questions…
and as Marko and Ollie say… PdV could walk on water, cure cancer… stop global warming… and make Chuck Norris his bitch… and some people would still just hate the guy…
August 31st, 2010 at 1:22 pm
Reply to UFO @ 1:17 pm:
To the PDivvy fanclub UFO, Marko, Ollie, Morne et al – as I posted on another thread:
With all the lessons learnt throughout the 3N and with all options considered by PDivvy before anouncing his squad – you would expect the Boks to bliksem the OzMob on Saturday in Bloem? I am holding my breath. . .
August 31st, 2010 at 1:27 pm
Reply to Minora @ 1:22 pm:
check the other thread… at the moment i’ve suspended my membership from the PdV fan club…
but Morné is right in his observations… and credit to him for making them…
we should beat them in bloem… juan’s home ground… just watch…
speaking of which… how impressive has juan been…?
August 31st, 2010 at 1:36 pm
Reply to UFO @ 1:27 pm:
Yep – Juan has been excellent the last few matches. At least he has some fire in his belly!!!
August 31st, 2010 at 1:45 pm
Reply to UFO @ 1:27 pm:
Well, you know Juan has to
play for two loosies –
himself and Spies.
August 31st, 2010 at 1:49 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 1:45 pm:
August 31st, 2010 at 2:20 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 1:45 pm:
Talking of Spies, the most memorable part I remember of him on Saturday was him charging up ball in hand, only to de dumped unceremoniously backwards in the tackle….. twice.
Although he did an ok job of still retaining and placing the ball each time it happened.
August 31st, 2010 at 2:21 pm
Reply to Ollie @ 2:20 pm:
Apart from his try that is.
August 31st, 2010 at 2:49 pm
It was a good match, just not like a traditional test match. There were a few easy scores there that that you wouldn’t normally expect. And the comparison as to how temas are doing is all with the All Blacks now, where Oz and the Boks are still off the pace. You’re right though, not a lot of people rate the match. Let’s hope the Boks have a big one left in them for this weekend.
http://fromthebottomoftheruck.blogspot.com/
August 31st, 2010 at 2:51 pm
Spies is a puppy learning his treade.
Like Jaun Smith a few years ago.
he’ll get twatted a few times
but soon
injuries prevailing
he’ll become a force ofnature
in that position.
August 31st, 2010 at 6:27 pm
Spies was used with Smit to take out Pocock and Elsom…
But I think the anti Spies brigade are too stupid to have seen this…
Thanks Duiwel
Anyway
Morne …. good article…
August 31st, 2010 at 6:47 pm
Reply to Duiwel @ 2:51 pm:
Spies is a puppy
====
The puppies I know rolls over
and pisses themselves when
they get excited.
I think Spies is a bit above
that.
Still amazes me how he contributes
so little with such a body.
Maybe he’s only a body builder -
all muscles and little power.
I am yet to see him spark something.
August 31st, 2010 at 6:52 pm
Problem is that the only reason Spies is there is because he is supposed to be Captain America and Superman rolled into one. If he is just ordinary then he isn’t what he is supposed be. My biggest gripe with him is that silly wind up he uses like he is a cartoon character about to run through a door. While he is busy winding himself up, his opposition who haven’t seen the script simply take him out before he has any momentum
August 31st, 2010 at 6:56 pm
Spies looks great when he is running in broken play. But he is fairly invisible doing routine hard graft like clearing rucks. To be fair, Kanko is fairly similar. One 60m run and everyone thinks you’re great.
http://fromthebottomoftheruck.blogspot.com/
August 31st, 2010 at 6:59 pm
One can use him more effectively – let him drop back when we use the kick and chase tactic. Then use him with ball in hand to charge it up when the oppo cleared their lines. With space he is a devastating runner. Oppo has tightened the defense on him so adapt and change the point of attack.
Still feel that Kanko is better at the moment. Last year it was all Spies but this 3N is different
August 31st, 2010 at 7:29 pm
Reply to marko @ 6:52 pm:
Reply to Fromthebottomoftheruck @ 6:56 pm:
Reply to JT @ 6:59 pm:
Nou voel ek darem nie meer
so alleen nie.
Miskien wil ek hê hy moet ‘n
André Venter wees.
Skinstad se skills het hy net nie.
August 31st, 2010 at 7:44 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 7:29 pm:
Spies was veel beter (nog steeds nie 100% nie) met Juan terug.
Juan terug maak Pierre sy natuurlike nommer 8 game speel wat hy voor gekies was onder Jake.
Pierre en Kanko is heeltemal ander nommer 8′s as Vermeulen en Alberts, die kombinasies van die los trio sal moet verander vir dit om te werk.
Ek persoonlik verkies die tipe 8 soos Alberts maar Pierre kan absoluut befok wees as hy reg gebruik word van daai posisie af en as hy sy kontak tegniek ietwat aanpas.
Ek reken nog altyd ouens soos Pierre en Kanko moet 7 speel en ouens soos Juan, Alberts etc 8.
Maar een ding is verseker, ek bou my los trio om Juan Smith.
September 1st, 2010 at 5:37 am
An interesting thing happened for his try.
The off load from Burger was suppose to go to Spies and 3 Walabies went to tackle him – without the ball. Three defenders out, opened up the gap for Hougaard.
He was a dummy runner for himself.
Three defenders covering him when does not even have the ball. It gives an idea of how dangerous he is considered to be.
September 1st, 2010 at 8:25 am
i would seriously consider playing spies on the wing… habs and jpp are so off the boil they’ve got icicles coming out their nostrils…
and if Heyneke… who ‘everyone’ believes should have been the Bok coach thought he’d make a better wing… maybe he will…
he certainly is more dangerous in space… has the pace… and can you imagine the impact he’d have chasing those steyn bombs…? guys would be kaking themselves knowing spies is spiesing down on them…
seriously… while the balls in the air players would be handing letters of resignation their coach…
yep… juan is the first name on my team sheet… every time… if he’s fit and available for selection he’s number one for me… have been saying this since he first played for the States… and will say it till Juan decides time is up…
i believe there hasn’t been a more consistent bok… ever…
September 1st, 2010 at 9:17 am
Reply to UFO @ 8:25 am:
JPP is outstanding UFO
Dunno what game you watched…
Habana right but just because you WP supporters measure a wing by how many tries he scores does not make that player a poor wing…
And in case you’re wiondering about the value Spies apparently didn’t add I suggest you take a look at the lineouts..
Then come back
Say
“Sorrie”
And go sit in the corner and mope…
September 1st, 2010 at 9:32 am
Reply to DavidS @ 9:17 am:
hehehe…
“you WP supporters measure a wing by how many tries he scores”
like you measure spies’ performance…
scores a try… so he played well…
no mention of the times he’s knocked backwards, slips tackles or runs around behind the action…
thanks… but i’ll leave to to mope in the corner alone…
September 1st, 2010 at 9:37 am
On habana – That try saving tackle of Hougaard on AAC was thanks to habs work in defense.
Credit where credit is due.
Hougaard had 2 players to cover and got an early call to take AAC from Habana who with his speed got into position to cover the player on AAC’s inside.
Spies’s try: what I liked about it was Spies reaction to the try. He was not happy because the move called was Burger taking on the defense and popping it to Spies at pace. that broke down IMO because Spies was not close enough to Burger’s shoulder for the off-load. He was not happy because the move did not work, even though they scored it was not planned to happen like that.
Just my observation so take from it what you want.
September 1st, 2010 at 10:16 am
Reply to UFO @ 8:25 am:
now we are talking.
Looks like more people are finally coming around to my suggestion 2 YEARS AGO that:
Habs play 13 and Spies 14.
Imagine a back 3 of JPP/Steyn/Spies?
Strength, Speed, Height.
De Jong with Habs in midfield.
Lets also sommer give morne his orgasm and throw Jean Divs at 10!
September 1st, 2010 at 10:38 am
Reply to Brendon Shields @ 10:16 am:
I can only agree with your last line…
September 1st, 2010 at 10:49 am
jean divs has the hands, not always the vision I reckon.
and he cannot kick. In fact there’s very few things he CAN do but he is from Cape Town.
September 1st, 2010 at 10:52 am
Reply to Brendon Shields @ 10:49 am:
and he cannot kick.
====
For sure he cannot kick.
I think Steenkamp can kick
better.
For the rest he’s the best
we have – warts and all.
September 1st, 2010 at 10:56 am
Reply to Brendon Shields @ 10:49 am:
I thought your game plan did not involve kicking!?
September 1st, 2010 at 11:02 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 10:52 am:
kak man.
Doppies is the best we have. Jean has Highbury Safika on his side. Thats the difference.
JT
Kak man. My side must kick, mostly grubber in fact. The 15 must be able to kick. The 10 must have the soft skills – like Cooper. In most situations the 12 have more space to kick so it helps if 12 have the boot.
I cannot immediatly think of one single aspect of 12 play in which Jean Divs is the best in the land?
Hands? No Meyer Bosman
Defence? No Meisiekind
Distribution? No Doppies
Attack? No De Jong
Jean has nice hair and plays for WP.
September 1st, 2010 at 11:04 am
fokkit Higbury now really gunning for Snor since ANC has jumped the bandwagon.
Keo whispers about Snor possed by Sunday?
Fok Ollie and Morne, time to get to work on that Spin gents.
September 1st, 2010 at 11:09 am
my opinion. fok the ANC.
BUT
the minute i read about Boks supperting Bees I thought its the wrong thing to do.
Bees is not a Bok. In every which way or form you can interpret this as Boks siding with the white oke no matter the circumstances.
Then again I get the feeling this excuse will be used to get rid of Snor.
September 1st, 2010 at 11:18 am
Reply to Brendon Shields @ 11:02 am:
hehehe – you are so easy to
As I have always said on here: JdV is an 11 IMO.
Want defense? = Butch
Want distribution? = Butch
Want good Hands? = Butch
or all you need to do is watch the Top 14!
Hands? = Francois Steyn
Defence? = FS
Distribution? = FS
Attack? = FS
My Back-line for the next few games:
09. Hougaard (Impressive!)
10. Butch
11. JdV
12. FS (used as a strike)
13. JdJ
14. JPP
15. J Fourie
September 1st, 2010 at 11:25 am
Reply to JT @ 11:18 am:
JT I agree on most points.
I would however not play Fourie as a 15. He simply lacks the skills set IMO to play there. No kicking game to speak off, never one to contest the high ball etc.
Butch is also getting long in the tooth even though I agree he has all those skills for a 10. His World Cup performance was simply brilliant yet few give him kudos.
I also agree with Steyn at 12 over Jean for sure. Then 13 De Jong. Have Habs and Fourie on bench then.
The missing person is a specialist 15 with a big boot and speed and presence on defence and safe under high ball and good on attack.
Play Steyn at 12 bu then play Daniller at 15. He is pretty much Chris Latham yet the kids does not get a look in?
September 1st, 2010 at 11:28 am
EOY Id like to see Lambie,Mvovo, Daniller and Basson get a run.
September 1st, 2010 at 11:28 am
Reply to Brendon Shields @ 11:25 am:
Anything with a Freestate Jersey seems to be your preferred choice! How did they do in the S14 again??
J Fourie started his career as a 15. He never uses his kicking skills at 13 but does not mean he does not have it. Another option may well be Lambie
September 1st, 2010 at 11:33 am
Reply to JT @ 11:28 am:
ag kak JT again.
The only FS players I rate and have for some time is Ebersohn (whom i have said many times will only be ready after 2011) and Daniller (whom as a player I used to hate until this years Super 14)
I want to give 3 sharks and one cheetah a run yet i am accused of bias? Did you watch WP game? Did you see Daniller? Did you see him run over Jantjies?
September 1st, 2010 at 11:35 am
Reply to JT @ 11:28 am:
ja JT playing 15 for your school is a different prospect.
Fourie does not have a boot or it would have been utilized by a coach in the last 7 years.
Fouries best attributes is his organisation in defense and his elusive running style. Thats enough for a 13.
September 1st, 2010 at 11:36 am
Reply to Brendon Shields @ 11:33 am:
Today you mentioned:
Ebersohn,
Bosman
Daniller
and some Sharks player who we know is the Freestate B team
So who is the
September 1st, 2010 at 11:37 am
fok I’d love to find that clip of Daniller. Breaks a tackle and runs 40 metres only to be confronted by Jantjies, runs the midget straight off his feet!
September 1st, 2010 at 11:42 am
Reply to JT @ 11:36 am:
No I said Mvovo, Basson (griekwas – how many tries must he still score?
And Daniller whom I honestly rate as the best 15 in the land now with all the attributes needed.
But then again you only follow WP games so how would you know.
September 1st, 2010 at 11:47 am
Reply to Brendon Shields @ 11:42 am:
Don’t rate a player on his try scoring record – selfish bastards can also score loads of tries! It is thanks to the team that put the try scorer into space!
Mvovo – Sharks! (FS B Team)
Basson – Kwas (is ja part of the FS)
Actually I only follow RCI at the moment. Have not watched the CC of the weekend except the Pumas v Bulls game. Will get around to the WP game but the way they played against the Guppies I am not sure I want to see the FS game
September 1st, 2010 at 12:03 pm
Reply to Brendon Shields @ 11:37 am:
Priceless – by your description.
Sorry I missed that.