It has been confirmed that the Lions rugby union have secured the services of John Mitchell for 3 years as both Currie Cup and Super rugby head coach.
The Western Force have granted Mitchell an early release from his contract with the franchise which allows him to take up the position of head coach of the Lions for both the Super 15 and Currie Cup. It is assumed Dick Muir will remain as Director of Rugby.
Mitchell seems to have transformed a rag-tag bunch who lost every single game in the Super 14 this year into a tight unit playing some exciting rugby. This could well be just what the Lions needed for a much needed, and long awaited revival.
Lions media statement:
“Since John has been with us on a consultancy arrangement, we have been most impressed with his ability across our entire coaching structure,” said a delighted De Klerk.
“It has been no secret that we wanted to engage John Mitchell on a longer term basis, but we realised this was always going to be subject to the Western Force agreeing to provide him with a release. We are thankful and appreciative that the Western Force gave us the green light.”
“In John we are getting not only a man of high ethics who cherishes the history, culture and camaraderie of rugby but who boasts an exceptional coaching pedigree at the very highest level. We at the Lions are extremely excited at being able to pull this off and look forward to John building on the already very positive impact he has had on the Lions,” added the former Springbok lock.
De Klerk said Lions coach Dick Muir had been a part of and conversant with the process of contracting Mitchell. “Dick, who is obviously now involved with the Springboks, is still the Director of Rugby at the Lions with John as the Head Coach. Dick was instrumental in helping us secure the services of John and will play a role in our plans going forward.”
De Klerk said Mitchell would base himself in Johannesburg for the greater part of the year and be in charge of the Lions in both the Absa Currie Cup and the Vodacom Super 15.
Rugby WA (Western Australia) chairman Geoff Stooke said the Western Force and rugby in Western Australia owed a great deal to Mitchell who started with a blank sheet of paper on his arrival six years ago and built a strong foundation for long term success.
Mitchell will be succeeded at the Force by Richard Graham, presently the Wallabies’ skills coach.
A surprise appointee when he was named to coach the Lions in the Currie Cup on a temporary basis in the absence of Springbok assistant Dick Muir at the beginning of the season, Mitchell has instilled a new spirit in a Lions team who go into tomorrow night’s crucial Currie Cup match at Coca-Cola Park against traditional foes Western Province on the back of three successive victories.
Mitchell follows in the footsteps of another former All Black coach Laurie Mains who guided the composite Cats to Super 12 semi-finals in 2000 and 2001.
Mitchell has crossed swords with the Springboks on numerous occasions. In 1994 he captained a Waikato side against Francois Pienaar’s touring side that contained Warren Gatland, recently re-appointed as coach of Wales, and other All Blacks in Matthew Cooper, Duane Monkley and Mark Cooksley.
Mitchell’s “Mooloos” were defeated 38-17 by a Springboks side captained by Tiaan Strauss and containing a core of players who wore the red-and-white Lions jersey in their careers in James Small, Chester Williams, Japie Mulder, Hennie le Roux, Johan Roux, Rudolf Straeuli and Johan le Roux.
However as a coach of the All Blacks Mitchell tasted success against his country’s arch-rivals with a 100 percent record of seven wins in seven matches – including a 52-16 drubbing at Loftus Versfeld in 2003 and a comprehensive 29-9 defeat in the quarter-final of the Rugby World Cup in Melbourne in 2003.
“Mitch,” as he is known throughout the rugby world, ended up with an All Black coaching record of 23 test wins from 27 games – an 85% winning record, the highest of any All Black coach in the professional era. In addition he coached the All Blacks to five out of five wins in mid-week matches.
His vast coaching pedigree includes stints as Clive Woodward’s assistant with the England team from 1997 to 2000, the Waikato National Provincial Championship side, the Chiefs Super 12 side and most recently taking the difficult job of establishing the Western Force in the Super 14 and creating a rugby union culture in Perth.
As a player Mitchell gained All Black colours on the 1993 tour to Great Britain. He was not capped but played in six victorious mid-week games; captaining the All Blacks on three occasions.
In Waikato he was a legend, having played 134 times and captaining them a record 86 times, in a career highlighted by many other achievements.
“When I took over as president of the Lions I said I was only interested in leading a province of winners,” concluded De Klerk. “The appointment of a coach of John Mitchell’s stature confirms that goal.”

September 2nd, 2010 at 9:22 am
Great signing this for the Lions
September 2nd, 2010 at 9:24 am
WOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
September 2nd, 2010 at 9:25 am
Well it is official…
http://www.rugbywa.com.au/news/2010/ewf_news/september/20100902_force_farewell_mitchell,58998.html/news/latest/section/56665
September 2nd, 2010 at 9:27 am
Players tend to head for a good coach who can get results, that’s the best news for them for ages. Can he take on the Boks job as well?
http://fromthebottomoftheruck.blogspot.com/
September 2nd, 2010 at 10:07 am
Very impressive signing for the Lions
Now we are likely to get players who want to come and play for him…
Wonder if we can sign some good overseas players…
September 2nd, 2010 at 10:09 am
Updated with Lions media statement.
Reply to DavidS @ 10:07 am:
John Smit is a coming…
September 2nd, 2010 at 10:53 am
The man has quite a pedigree, especially his track record when coaching the AB’s. And a stint with sir Clive. Good signing Lions.
September 2nd, 2010 at 10:58 am
Reply to Namboer @ 10:53 am:
no depth – Last season hit by injuries and the next in line did not have what it takes.
SA has a huge talent pool and IMO JM is going to perform wonders with the Lions. I also think he will be involved with the Bokke at some point in the Future… Who knows he might end up being Snors “Eddie Jones”
September 2nd, 2010 at 11:25 am
Reply to Morné @ 10:09 am:
Really?
September 2nd, 2010 at 11:26 am
Reply to DavidS @ 11:25 am:
Not confirmed.
Yet…
September 2nd, 2010 at 11:59 am
Just four senior players
If they can sign him and JP Pietersen
maybe get a tough old lock and add a great loose forward like say Heinrich Brussouw or even one of the cusp ones like Kankowski or even lure Jean Deysel back we will be A for away…
September 2nd, 2010 at 11:59 am
Good to see, I am glad for the Lions, they will become a strong force now again.
September 2nd, 2010 at 12:00 pm
Or a decent flyhalf and old one who can steady nerves or something like that…
September 2nd, 2010 at 12:29 pm
Boer do you know where I can find all the results of the 1960 All Black tour to SA?
September 2nd, 2010 at 12:31 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 12:29 pm:
25 June 1960 Springboks 13-0 Ellis Park Johannesburg
23 July 1960 All Blacks 11-3 Newlands Cape Town
13 August 1960 Drew 11-11 Free State Stadium Bloemfontein
27 August 1960 Springboks 8-3 Boet Erasmus Stadium Port Elizabeth
September 2nd, 2010 at 2:05 pm
Oh thank fk for that!! I might even venture to watch a few games again
September 2nd, 2010 at 2:34 pm
mitchell has already had a positive influence on the lions and that influence can only grow…
good stuff if you’re a lion fan… worrying stuff if you’re not…
September 2nd, 2010 at 3:07 pm
Reply to UFO @ 2:34 pm:
Good news for SA rugby – gives another perspective to the players involved and the more varied our game in the country is the better the players will be for it.
If the National coach can just identify the best from each region and implement it to the bok game plan… even better
September 2nd, 2010 at 3:17 pm
Reply to JT @ 3:07 pm:
September 2nd, 2010 at 3:42 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 12:29 pm:
Jy kan dit by my kry as jy AL
die wedstryde se uitslae soek.
Maar dan moet jy mooi vra.
Money must be very good for
Mitchell to reside in a kak
place like Joburg.
Or will he be living elsewhere,
flying in 3 times a week?
September 2nd, 2010 at 5:54 pm
Reply to Morné @ 12:31 pm:
Dude
ALL the games but thanks anyway.
Reply to Boertjie @ 3:42 pm:
Ever been to NZ or Perth?
Fokkit Witbank is better than that!
Boer I am looking for the Northern Rhodesia result… I knew you’d know where to find it ag asseblief toe man…
September 2nd, 2010 at 6:17 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 5:54 pm:
Rhodesia XV – Kitwe – 29 Jun 1960
ABs won 13-9
Rhodesia – Salisbury – 2 Jul 1960
ABs won 29-14
September 3rd, 2010 at 12:17 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 3:42 pm:
John Mitchell has seen the world and is aware that it does not end at the Hex.
September 3rd, 2010 at 12:23 am
Capetonians are always impressing on the rest of us what a great place Cape Town is. Or by implication how kak the rest of the world compares.
It is remarkably insecure.
What are you trying to hide from us?
September 3rd, 2010 at 12:40 am
I once attended a wedding reception in the gardens of a lovely old Cape Town mansion and it rained The guests kept on saying the same things:
“….lovely wedding….. pity about the rain…… fortunately the wind did not blow…”
I asked if rain or wind were the only options.
There endeth the conversation.
I’m still curious thou, are those the only options?
September 3rd, 2010 at 12:49 am
though
September 3rd, 2010 at 3:33 am
Reply to fyndraai @ 12:40 am:
Nope, superiority of
environment and lifestyle,
nature, local government.
Old friend from Johies visited,
couldn’t believe there were no
potholes and so many houses sans
outwalls, motorised gates etc.
where I live.
Survey amongst WC visitors shows
it’s the only place they’ll
come back to, some 65%.
September 3rd, 2010 at 3:46 am
Die ou van Witbank is in Durbanville en is haastig om by die Waterfront te kom.
Hy sien vir Gatiep op die sypaadjie en vra hom: “Luister man, wat is nou die gouste Waterfront toe?”
Gatiep vra “Mineer, loep djy of ry djy?”
Die ou sê: “Ek ry.”
Gatiep sê: “Nei daais die gouste.”
September 3rd, 2010 at 8:46 am
Ag kak man
Doesn’t matter where you go in South Africa… the ANC rules it
September 3rd, 2010 at 9:25 am
fyndraai…
have to agree with you…
CAPE TOWN IS KAK…!!
i wish people would stop visiting… and ‘immigrating’ here from the rest of the country… and world…
i wish all these damn international travel magazines and stupid airlines would stop voting cape town as their favourite destination… it’s all lies… damn lies… and it gives us a bad reputation… it makes us look dishonest…
i hate the fact that there’s so much to do that i sometimes get into a flat spin deciding what to do for fun… should i surf… or climb the Mountain… or go up the cable way… go to wine farm… or drive up to the spring flowers… go mountain biking… or trail running… scuba diving… or paragliding… go and watch black and fish eagles fly… or go and watch whales breaching… or shell for a spot of sharkcage diving… or feed squirrels in the Company Gardens… walk down the st georges mall (in the centre of the city) and have a cup of coffee… or find a quiet pub and enjoy some wine next the fire…
you can see our problem here… decisions decisions… heck it makes life hell in Cape Town…
and the weather… sheesh the weather is BAD… 365 days a year… the wind always blows and it always rains… there’re never any post frontal days of crisp clear blue skies… there’re never any perfect sping days to sit under some oak trees and enjoy a pint of windhoek… there’re never any balmy evenings where you can enjoy an el fresco restaurant and watch waves crashing on the rocks while you eat…
and those damn waves… keep you awake at night i tell you…!! who could build a city so close to the sea…?
yeah… cape town is kak… tell everyone… please… tell them never to come here… and NEVER to move here…
we’ll struggle on by ourselves and do our best to make what we can of life on this god-forsaken corner of africa… and really try to ignore all the bad things around us and the weather and do what we can to enjoy life…
foolish i know… but what choice do we have…?
we may as well try…
September 3rd, 2010 at 10:45 am
Reply to UFO @ 9:25 am:
we may as well try…
=====
Been trying for almost 50
years myself.
Shit, it’s tough!
September 3rd, 2010 at 12:18 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 10:45 am:
tough job… but we’ll keep plugging away at it…!
September 3rd, 2010 at 12:39 pm
As I’ve said, amazingly insecure.
September 3rd, 2010 at 1:00 pm
Reply to fyndraai @ 12:39 pm:
you’d be insecure too… living in such a kak place…
September 3rd, 2010 at 2:34 pm
Quality of life is not about where you live, it is how you live.
September 3rd, 2010 at 2:34 pm
Happiness is inversely proportional to the vigor of your pursuit thereof.
September 3rd, 2010 at 2:37 pm
How many enjoyable options you have is less important than how much you opt to enjoy your options.
September 3rd, 2010 at 2:42 pm
Wisdoms according to I.
Inspired by a morning run. It’s highly recommended. You may do those wherever you are.
Weather and time permitting.
September 3rd, 2010 at 2:42 pm
Enjoyment is not a goal, it is a feeling that accompanies important ongoing activity.
September 3rd, 2010 at 3:45 pm
Reply to fyndraai @ 2:34 pm:
Reply to fyndraai @ 2:37 pm:
Reply to fyndraai @ 2:42 pm:
hmmmm…
now you’re sounding… “remarkably insecure.
What are you trying to hide from us?”
September 3rd, 2010 at 5:59 pm
UFO
i hate the fact that there’s so much to do that i sometimes get into a flat spin deciding what to do for fun…
Uhm I hate to break it to you but aside from the seaside stuff (surfing, sharkdiving, whales, pickup shells) we can do all that here in Jhb plus go on safari and see lions and elephants and goraffe and cheetah and leopard and rhino and hippo in the wild… kinda makes your seaside fun seem a bit pathetic and childish… aside from which the seaside really sucks… sand clogs everything, for every hot chickie there are twenty five cellulite fattened whales Greenpeace is trying to roll into the sea and thirty okes with fat tanned bellies and speedos… and the wind…
Sorry
Boer, Morne and Deon know this
Been to your town, lived there, worked there… hate the effing place…
On weather you simply cannot compete with us … sorry you can try but compared to the highveld your weather is kak… to hot and dry and long in summer and too tempestuous in winter… in a highveld winter the pattern is totally predictable… cold morning… and from 10:00 till 16:00 it’s like summer… and then it’s cold… unless it’s one of two cold fronts every year..
Dudes on weather honestly don’t play that game because
CT =
And ja we get the same beer here coincidentally… and we like you go to watch sunset we can do exactly the same thing… In African bush….You can’t match an African bushveld sunset… and I can reel down to the decking at my local and watch it too…
Sorry but yet again
CT =
And we have exactly the same excellent restaurants as you
And for shopping your malls simply do not match ours…
And you secretly know as well as we do… the only time you can brag about having “lots of hot chickie boos” is during December when the place is chockers with Vaalies….
Sorry guys
Nice try..
A bit pathetic but nice try
September 3rd, 2010 at 6:31 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 5:59 pm:
Quoting a friend who was transferred
from the Cape to Sodom.
Opens the curtains on the 60th
morning, says to his wife:
“Ag no, ANOTHER similarly boring nice day!”
Soos hulle sê: Die mooiste ding daar
is die pad terug Kaap toe.