Scotland v. Springboks

November 20, 2010
Posted by Morné

As the well-versed idiom goes: ‘Talk is cheap.’ And there has certainly been a lot of talk in the Scotland camp this week as they await the arrival of South Africa.

Jan de Koning – Rugby365

It is obvious they are hopeful of bouncing back from last week’s humiliation against New Zealand and the Springboks have been told in no uncertain terms that the Scots are not going to roll over and play dead again.

The central theme to their public utterances is: ‘We are a better team and we’re gong to produce a better performance this weekend.’

However, the jury is still out on Scotland. Their bubble was well-and-truly burst by the All Blacks last week.

The SANZAR teams – at least New Zealand and South Africa – appear to be in a different league and Scotland’s self-generated hype – following victories over a dismal Ireland and equally sub-standard Argentina earlier this year – has made way for a more realistic outlook.

Scotland attack coach Gregor Townsend admitted that Saturday will be another “huge” test for his team.

“They are the No.2 team in the world and World Cup champions,” he said in an interview on the official Scottish website.

Despite the Springboks’ dismal Tri-Nations they have found some decent form on this year-end tour and the reality of the standards set in the Tri-Nations has hit home.

“Obviously it was a tough Tri-Nations for them [the Boks], but they were playing against some quality sides out there,” Townsend told scotlandrugbyteam.org.

The real challenge for Scotland is to close that gap – which was worth almost 50 points to the Kiwis last week – and to close it in the space of just one week.

Townsend spoke of the Boks’ greater fitness and the brutish forwards that overpowered both Ireland and Wales in the past fortnight.

“They are going to challenge us in defence,” he said of the manner in which the Boks get their big runners into the game, adding: “But we know if we work hard we have the game to win on Saturday.”

The Scots have made no secret of the fact that they want to take the game to the South Africans.

However, they are up against a team that has shown the ability to soak up plenty of early pressure (Wales held a 14 point lead for most of the first half-hour in Cardiff) and then hit back hard in the second half.

South Africa are far from the finished product.

Their kick-’n-chase gameplan have yet to convince many critics of its value, but there is no doubt their defensive lines are solid enough for most part and the forwards are world class.

The key is what must Scotland bring to the game to secure an upset?

“We must work hard off the ball, work hard to get into position and then execute well,” Townsend said.

“Good teams take their opportunities and there were glimpses of that [last] the weekend, but we have to up our standards.

“We’ve learned a lot from the weekend, it wasn’t good enough, but certainly we will be better this weekend.”

The home side knows they simply had too many defensive deficiencies last week – missing 28 in the first half and 11 in the second half.

If that was painful viewing for the fans and coaching staff alike and while they will be better this week, it is uncertain if the Scots can improve to the tune of 50 points in one week.

Players to watch:

For Scotland: When head coach Andy Robinson handed Rory Lawson the captaincy, he ensured the spotlight will focus on him first. However, the key is how the tight five – Richie Gray, Scott MacLeod, Euan Murray, Ross Ford and Allan Jacobsen – can stand up to the Boks. They must lay the platform for talented backs like Dan Parks and Lawson to perform.

For South Africa: Any player on debut will be scrutinised and Lwazi Mvovo will not be spared this  examination. The centre pairing of Frans Steyn and Jean de Villiers also did not convince last week. It would be worth watching for an improved performance. François Hougaard at No.9 gets a chance to impress, No.8 Ryan Kankowski gets a rare start, while coach Peter de Villiers’ persistence with Deon Stegmann must be rewarded at some stage by the openside flank.

Head to head: The scrums could be interesting – Euan Murray, Ross Ford and Allan Jacobsen (for Scotland) against the South Africa trio of Jannie du Plessis, Bismarck du Plessis and Tendai Mtawarira. What can Richie Gray (Scotland) offer against the line-out master Victor Matfield (South Africa)? Most of all they key showdown is at halfback – Dan Parks and Rory Lawson (Scotland) against Morné Steyn and François Hougaard (South Africa).

Recent results:
2008: South Africa won 14-10, Edinburgh
2007: South Africa won 27-3, Edinburgh
2006: South Africa won 29-15, Port Elizabeth
2006: South Africa won 36-16, Durban
2004: South Africa won 45-10, Edinburgh
2003: South Africa won 28-19, Johannesburg
2003: South Africa win 29-25, Durban
2002: Scotland won 21-6, Edinburgh
1999: South Africa won 46-29, Edinburgh
1998: South Africa won 35-10, Edinburgh

rugby365.com Prediction: Lets be honest, any half decent bookmaker will give you very short odds on South Africa. In fact most will offer Scotland a handicap of close to 15 points – that is more than two scores. The Springboks are favourites and so they should be. The weather may well reduce the winning margin. We believe South Africa will win by 15 to 20 points.

Teams:

Scotland: 15 Hugo Southwell, 14 Nikki Walker,  13 Max Evans,  12 Graeme Morrison,  11 Sean Lamont,  10 Dan Parks, 9 Rory Lawson (captain), 8 Kelly Brown, 7 John Barclay, 6 Nathan Hines, 5 Richie Gray, 4 Scott MacLeod, 3 Euan Murray, 2 Ross Ford, 1 Allan Jacobsen.
Replacements: 16 Dougie Hall,  17 Moray Low,  18 Richie Vernon, 19 Ross Rennie, 20 Greig Laidlaw, 21 Ruaridh Jackson, 22 Chris Paterson.

South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Frans Steyn, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 François Hougaard, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Deon Stegmann, 5 Victor Matfield (captain), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Adriaan Strauss , 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Patrick Lambie, 22 Adi Jacobs.

Date: Saturday, November 20
Venue: Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh
Kick-off: 14.30 (14.30 GMT)
Expected weather: Rather cloudy with outbreaks of rain or showers. High of 7°C and low of 2°C.
Referee: Stuart Dickinson (Australia)
Assistant referees: Alain Rolland (Ireland), Federico Pastrana (Argentina)
TMO: Tony Redmond (Ireland)

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

Tags: , ,

95 Comments

1. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 3:53 pm Reply to this comment

We believe South Africa will win by 15 to 20 points.
    —–
    :agree:
    Anything less will be very disappointing.

To win by 15 they must at least be 30 ahead when the Clown starts making his substitutions.
    :cuss:

2. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 4:52 pm Reply to this comment

Snor-fest!

3. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 4:56 pm Reply to this comment

Who is Alberts on for… all the loosies and locks are there?

4. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 4:59 pm Reply to this comment

Boks looking extremely flat without their ‘supplements’…

5. Jacques(Bunny)Somtimes I sits and thinks and sometimes I just sits Jacques(Bunny) says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 5:21 pm Reply to this comment

Useless Ref, Useless Boks kak game I actually now wish that the Scots beats us, maybe then all will realize how kak we really are.

6. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 5:23 pm Reply to this comment

Juan Smith was off for blood – 20-27 min.

Have you ever seen a shittier performance by a Bok team?
    If so – supply the date and place.

And somebody must be paying this arsehole TV director money for each time he shows a close up of the ball when there is a tight phase.

Not to mention all the action we missed when he chose to show how some Vaseline gets rubbed onto JS.

:Bakkies:
    :1up:

7. Jacques(Bunny)Somtimes I sits and thinks and sometimes I just sits Jacques(Bunny) says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 5:26 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 5:23 pm: Ja Oom maybe the 49-0 against the Aussies but atleast that was against a top rated team, what raking does the Scots have now?

8. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 5:27 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 5:26 pm:

9th?

9. Jacques(Bunny)Somtimes I sits and thinks and sometimes I just sits Jacques(Bunny) says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 5:28 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 5:27 pm: 4-5-6

10. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 5:33 pm Reply to this comment

They’ve got fokal backline moves… pass sideways, bash it up, hope for some phases to take out some defenders and eventually end up over the line…

If they are going to kick the ball aimlessly… at least kick it out and threaten the LO…

11. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 5:37 pm Reply to this comment

Jeez… what is the point of a rolling maul only to kick the possession away?

12. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 5:53 pm Reply to this comment

And again… start entering opponents half with rolling maul… then kick possession away!

13. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:07 pm Reply to this comment

Huge mistake taking Morne Steyn off in a PK dual game!!!

14. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:09 pm Reply to this comment

And just as bad giving the ball to Lambie to kick when the more experienced RP is on the field…

And AGAIN possession kicked away on the advance into territory!

15. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:18 pm Reply to this comment

Kak, Kakker, Bokke…

Regtig swak vertoning. Ja die ref is deur die kak maar dis nie verondersterl om ‘n verkil te maak teen ‘n span wat 49-3 verloor het teen ‘n ander span laas naweek nie… Fok ek is teleurgesteld.

Cheers

16. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:18 pm Reply to this comment

Well as we suspected… Boks beat a 9th ranked Ireland and a team that drew with Fiji on guts alone… the coaching team have got nothing!

And now not even a drubbing by England will get rid of the coaches… Juries set themselves the dubious target of ‘no less than 50%’ of wins!

17. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:20 pm Reply to this comment

Any comment from the Cartwheel Clan?

18. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:23 pm Reply to this comment

Het iemand dalk Brand se foon nommer om te hoor hy OK is ?

Cheers

19. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:27 pm Reply to this comment

Boertjie

Hoe kry ek ook ‘n logo ?
    Vir wie mail ek die foto ?

Cheers

20. Jacques(Bunny)Somtimes I sits and thinks and sometimes I just sits Jacques(Bunny) says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:33 pm Reply to this comment

Thank you Clown and Co.

Let’s see:

1. Morne kicks brilliant in game scoring all the points up were he is taken off for So-called “Wonder Kid” Lambie, does sweet blow fokkol when he comes on and when he has to kick a straight forward kick for Gaol he missed. So please explain why in the hell do you replace one of the best kicking flyhalfs on a wet field Mr. Clown and Co.
    2. Francois taken off for overrated Pienaar who kicks all ball away after we drive for meters on end. Can not get ball fast enough out and put’s the back-line on back-foot the whole time because of that. Get’s a free kick with 5 min to play and kick it up field to give position to Scots.
    3. Kankakski showed why he is not a Springbok number 8, should have put Alberts at 8 from the start if you do not play Spies.
    4. De Villiers and Steyn is no centre combinations arsh worth. De Villiers believes he will run over every player and do not pass. I f you have to put Steyn in put him at inside.
    5. Why in the hell would you put Mvovo in your side and never give him the ball?
    6. No game plan as the games against Ireland and Wales.
    7. Can not do basic even right in covering high bal or even catching high ball.
    8. Should have killed off the Scots in the first ten minutes with all those penalties, we gave them hope for not even trying to do anything than kicking. If this was AB or Aussies they would have killed the Scots in this game in the first 10 min.

The ref’s was useless but the ref do not play on the field and make these stupid mistakes and subs or decisions.

Mr. Dick has showed us in all 3 matches his knows sweet blow fokol about coaching an International back-line…..maybe he was good enough for CC but surely not for Super rugby nor Bok rugby.

So disappointed in the way we played we never looked even close to a Bok team and like Oom said surely the worst performance ever by a Bok side. But see how everyone will put all the blame on the ref now.

21. Jacques(Bunny)Somtimes I sits and thinks and sometimes I just sits Jacques(Bunny) says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:41 pm Reply to this comment

Fok ek gaan suip sommer :bangheadt:

22. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:46 pm Reply to this comment

I’m truly relieved that this bunch and it’s Clowns won’t go down in history as having scored a GS.

But I’m repeating myself – said that in my article earlier in the week.

23. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:51 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 6:33 pm:

Mvovo was the only guy looking like a back, and Kirchner too.
    Dunno about RP – Hougaard had a bad game.

Still waiting to hear it from the Cartwheel Clan. Is this a kak Bok side with kak coaches – yes or no will do.

Two forms of attack:
    1. High kick (and they all backfired)
    2. Maul 15 metres – and then kick the ball away.

Hope-fokken-donners-loos.

24. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:52 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Methos @ 6:27 pm:

Site admin > Users (3de ikon links van onder) maak oop en laai jou sneppie.

25. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:57 pm Reply to this comment

methos,
    i’ve tried to skype him
    several times
    with no luck

26. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 6:58 pm Reply to this comment

Thought I would save you guys the trouble of doing the Springbok Ratings.

1. Beast – 3 – Gave away peanlties in scrum and did nothing with ball in hand. Got driven back a few times by fierce Scottish defence. Didn’t see him in the rucks either
    2. Bismarck – 6 – basically the only fetcher in the side – 1 overthrow in the lineout and another which I think was planned for the Alberts’s try.
    3. Jannie Du Plessis – 5 – took the ball up well a few times. Spirited cleaning.
    4. Bakkies Botha – 8 – excelent. Great falling back and tackle on the one scot after Kirchner just fell off the guy. Was a bit concerned that he was resting on the floor after each ruck. Probably to see where the backs will fook it up again. Didn’t carry a lot of ball.
    5. Victor Matfield – 5 – one ball stolen – one ball lost and didn’t do much with ball in hand – he doesn’t dominate the contact when he takes the ball in and each tackle he makes he gives away 2 m.
    6 – Juan Smith – 5 – Tried hard but was a bit petulant after Kankakski ran away from him by throwing arms in the air etc and not supporting. Also the harsh penalty against him he spent 5 minutes smiling and shaking his head about it – you are PROFESIONAL! Get over it and do your job.
    7 – Stegman – 3 – one good steal and that was it. Lost the ball in contact a few times.
    8 – Kankakski – 2 – did basically nothing except… do nothing. got good break once and ran away from the support.
    9 – Hougaard – 7 – tried very hard. Great pressure at the start of the game on the Scottish scrum ball.
    10 – Morne Steyn – 7 – Kicked ok. Made a lot of tackles.
    11 – Mvovo – 6 – Worked his butt of on his debut. Made tackles and chased well. Got no ball on attack with the 2 butter fingers inside him.
    12 – Jean de Villiers – 4 – was supposed to be the best centre since Danie Gerber but wants to play stampkar rugby…
    13 – Frans Steyn – 3 – Butterfingers. One good tackle. That is it.
    14 – Aplon – 5 – no glaring mistakes. Didn’t do lots as well.
    15 – Kircher – 1 – What the fook is this guy doing on an rugby field ?

Alberts – 7 – Should have started. 2 tries in first 2 matches.

Pienaar – 3 – Kicks ball away after a 20 m drive WTF ? Dink jy boeta ?

Lambie – 2 – Learn to kick mate – that is already 2 sitters you missed in your shart career. Did nothing.

Straus – Not long enough to be rated

CJ – Not long enough to be rated

Cheers

27. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:02 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Duiwel @ 6:57 pm:

Raak geworried oor die ou. Sien nie dat hy ooit aanlog op skype of enigiets nie!

Cheers

28. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:11 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Methos @ 6:58 pm:

8 – Kankakski – 2 – did basically nothing except… do nothing. got good break once and ran away from the support.
    ——–
    Support must follow the breakaway. Arriving so late that he got a penalty against him.

I still maintain Mvovo made no mistake -tackled well, had 1-2 (3?) good runs.

Meer as wat daai kaksleg Habana sou gedoen het.

Bok midfield MIA = missing in attack.

29. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:12 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Methos @ 7:02 pm:

Is dit darem ‘n goeie bier?

Ek dink Brand is dalk dood. Man het van die aardbol af verdwyn, saam met al sy adresse en nommers.

30. Jacques(Bunny)Somtimes I sits and thinks and sometimes I just sits Jacques(Bunny) says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:14 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 6:51 pm: Hougaardt was not as good as we know he can be but cannot compare with Pienaar…and at least he did not kick all the ball away he did gave some to his backline or forwards.

Reply to Methos @ 6:58 pm: Biskak had a good loose game but his job as hooker is to find locks and scrum which he was kak in today. Today he do not deserve a high rate if you only saw two bad lineouts from him? Maybe you miss some or I imagened some.

Beast Kak as you say, this is his problem he cannot keep good performance after good performance. We gonna kak against England in the scrums next week.

kankakski just proove what I have been saying about him for the past two years should have never gone on a tour were you will find 99% wet fields, and to think the Scot who played against him is actaully a lock and he looked ten years better than Kankakski.

Only backline players that looked like Bok ineternationals was Morne and Mvovo, Zain made too many mistakes on the high ball for being out oof position and useless in securing a high ball. But who can blame the guy when the Clown first drop him in 3N for no reason for Super Boy Steyn and then bring the chap in at centre against Ireland just to be drop again for the next game.

You did not rate the Clown and Co.!!!!! I give them a 10 for making our team a lauging stock in the world and -10 for effort. The Dick I rate so low there is not point for him on my scale.

31. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:18 pm Reply to this comment

365:

However, they must also say thanks that the Boks failed to produce anything that resembled a decent game plan … and of course the many puzzling decisions of referee Stuart Dickinson.

While Dickinson was certainly not the reason this result went in favour of the home team, the Australian contributed to turning the game into a mess of confusion
    ======
    Will 0-50 vs England be enough to fire the Three Clowns?
    N-o-o-o-o – they’ve achieved a 50% success rate.

:applause:

32. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:19 pm Reply to this comment

Jacques

On Bissie – He was great on defence. Was one of the few guys who took the opposition on physically – I am impressed by this guys upperbody strength each time I see him play. He lift big buggers of their feet and drives them back meters. As I say also I think the overthrow for the try was a set move – Matfield could have taken it but he purpously let it go through.

Boertjie

Of course – It is the best in the world – Castle light…

Cheers

33. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:21 pm Reply to this comment

Also I think Bissie turned over 2 or 3 balls on the ground.

Cheers

34. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:22 pm Reply to this comment

Congrats to Scotland – I told you guys you can’t take them for granted!! All this entitlement (if we don’t win by x bla bla bla)
    This is why Sport is what it is!!
    Bokke were kak but then again they were the same v Wales and still managed to win! Scots got their tales up and showed some true Scottish heart and won fair and square!

Weather and ref did not help matters but neither did the attitude of the team – They (the same as MOST fans) expected to win by just turning up!
    :whistling:

35. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:22 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 7:18 pm:

they’ve achieved a 50% success rate.
    =====
    Which is after all 100% better than the team of 1969-70:
    Scotland 3-6
    England 8-11
    Ireland 8-8
    Wales 6-6

36. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:23 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Methos @ 7:19 pm:

agree on the set move for the try. Juan would not be supporting Alberts in the lift if it wasn’t… IMO.

37. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:24 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Methos @ 7:19 pm:

Of course – It is the best in the world – Castle light…
    ——–
    Sal dit dalk vir slaaisous gebruik as ek fokkol anders het.
    Of nee, dan gebruik ek witwyn.

Castle = KAK. Sorry. Ek dog jy het smaak.

38. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:24 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 7:23 pm:

he did not need to in the end but was in position to do so.

39. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:26 pm Reply to this comment

Castle is kak
    Castle lite is awesome – daai effe bitter reuk as jy die doppie afdraai. Yskoud op die tong – geen hangover die volgende dag – eish. Ek kwyl sommer nou – al amper 2 jaar laas was ek dit gehad het :(

Cheers

40. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:29 pm Reply to this comment

Matfield look dead on his feet – the looooong season has finally caught up with him! Time for his holiday!

41. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:33 pm Reply to this comment

JT

That is how he plays. All the time – never really make hard hard contact – check a bit when he takes up the ball – runs at a guy – stop infront of him , push and turn and wait for other players to form a maul around him. Same with tackles – he hangs onto a guy and hopes he trips himself up. Always takes a step back and try and push the guy down – and then doesn’t even try and compete for the ball on the ground.

If it wasn’t for his lineout skills he would have been a very ordinary lock.

Cheers

42. Welshbok die Brandwag Welshbok die Brandwag says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:36 pm Reply to this comment

Sheez guys, that was embarrassing and very painful.

These okes are making it exceedingly difficult to support the boks, I really do want to, but I actually found myself cheering for Scotland for winning this game fair and square. They thoroughly deserved it.

Firing the coaching team isn’t going to change things, the damage has been done by bad coaching, stupid selections, bad subs and gameplans in the past 3 years.

The players have lost confidence, it’s reminiscent of Strauli’s team going into 2003 after their 2002 season.

Guys, we had 2 teams in the spr 14 final 6 months ago. How far have they fallen?

I sincerely hope I’m wrong, but I think we can :Ollie: this worldcup, forget it.

43. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:43 pm Reply to this comment

Baie snaakse add op Franse TV hier – vir ‘n soort leerbank.

Vrou plant panties in man se baadtjie sak – maak of sy dit kry – gil op hom en se sy gaan op bank slaap – dan gaan le sy met moerse smile op die gemaklike leer bank.
    Vrek snaaks.

Cheers

44. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:43 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Methos @ 7:33 pm:

If it wasn’t for his lineout skills he would have been a very ordinary lock.
    —–
    With exceptional skills – like the chip n chase with JdeV receiving the pass to score?

45. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:44 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Welshbok die Brandwag @ 7:36 pm:

Don’t despair – we won the TN 2009 beating the ABs away twice and once at home.
    :roll:

46. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:45 pm Reply to this comment

Boertjie

Even Januarie can do that. :fishing:

Yes he has skills but a LOCK!

Cheers

47. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:48 pm Reply to this comment

Peter de Villiers couldn’t disguise his disappointment.

“All credit to Scotland, but we only had ourselves to blame.

“Some of the refereeing decisions were puzzling, however we did not respond the way we should have done.

“We now have to pick ourselves up physically and mentally for the challenge of playing England next weekend.”
    =========
    Twee kanse, Boet – zero en fokkol.

48. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:49 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Methos @ 7:45 pm:

En hoeveel lynstane gaan Meerkat wen?

49. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:52 pm Reply to this comment

The kick and chase and gather Oom.
    Praat nie nou van Lynstane nie alhoewel Stegman seker nie veel langer as Meerkat is nie.

Cheers

50. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:54 pm Reply to this comment

‘n GPS vir my verjaarsdag gekry van vrou – dit is flippen kickass – my oue het nie in Frankryk gewerk nie – en sy was in elkgeval kak. Nou het ek touch screen etc – dis flippen cool.

Cheers

51. Welshbok die Brandwag Welshbok die Brandwag says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:54 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 7:44 pm:

Had this stunning team had a decent coach (Heyneke Meyer)we would have gone down as the all time benchmark – blueprint for the wonderful game of rugby union.

In stead de Villiers could go through as a fitter and turner

He fits a majestic team on the field and turns them into shit.

52. Welshbok die Brandwag Welshbok die Brandwag says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:55 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Methos @ 7:52 pm:

Stegman ook nie veel beter as meerkat nie

53. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 7:57 pm Reply to this comment

Gaan gou my rugby klere na die laundromat vat – goed raak nie droog nie – dit reen heeltyd hier – net nou terug.

Cheers

54. Jacques(Bunny)Somtimes I sits and thinks and sometimes I just sits Jacques(Bunny) says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 8:19 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Methos @ 7:21 pm: No problem with Bissies general play but like I said first and foremost he need to find his jumpers and scrum the he became the four losie for the team….don’t get me wrong still the best we have and he was one of the once’s that at-least tried he’s best and did it as well. But overall rating I will not score any player today above 5.

55. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 8:20 pm Reply to this comment

Ireland v NZ turning out to be a bloody good game but NZ still get away with murder at the breakdown

56. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 8:23 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 8:19 pm:
    Agree to a point – especially our backs are woefull! Zane was the best back today, Bissie our best forward.

57. Jacques(Bunny)Somtimes I sits and thinks and sometimes I just sits Jacques(Bunny) says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 8:24 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 8:20 pm: Agree, In this last move were they scored the try each and every breakdown one or two players falls over to protect the fast ball for them…..it is actually starting to become a bigger joke than the clown how they do not get blown up for it.

58. Jacques(Bunny)Somtimes I sits and thinks and sometimes I just sits Jacques(Bunny) says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 8:25 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 8:23 pm: Yip with Juan off course who always gives a 100%

59. Jacques(Bunny)Somtimes I sits and thinks and sometimes I just sits Jacques(Bunny) says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 8:25 pm Reply to this comment

Gonna watch the second half see after game

60. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 8:53 pm Reply to this comment

365 – Jan de Koning

Won’t bother you with his ratings, only this one:

Referee: Stuart Dickinson (Australia)
    Showed again why he is disliked in South Africa. Not only are many of his calls questionable – the word consistency (or lack of it) comes to mind here – but his mannerism in dealing with players is appalling. Victor Matfield clearly showed his displeasure in how the referee was handling the game. Was it not for his touch judges who intervened at regular intervals, the Scots would have gotten away with a lot more. He isn’t the reason South Africa lost, but he clearly was not of international standard today.
    2/10
    —–
    Not today?
    Is he ever?

61. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 9:17 pm Reply to this comment

This was one of those performances that can be likened to a 1980′s school boy’s homework which comes back from the male teacher with red words “Kom sien my” written underneath…

62. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 9:21 pm Reply to this comment

No – he was a dick. But be that as it may – he shouldn’t have been the difference today – We played the SCOTS – they are BAD – they lost to Italy this year for crying out loud. We played like a bunch of morons and deserved to lose.

No plan, no attack, nothing, nada, niks, ifokoli…

We couldn’t mount and sustained attack because we lost the bloody ball each time we made contact. At one stage there was only 1 guys cleaning a ruck. If the scots were awake they would have stolen lots more balls. Our backline was useless useless useless. Each time JdV gets the ball he crashes into 2 or 3 guys – balls come out so slow that they they have time to realign defensively. When we have space outside we crash it up the middle.

No awareness by the players. Bad coaching, bad planning and bad all round.

What or who can save us for the WC ?

To paraphrase Don McLean:
    So we started singing bye bye World Cup goodbey…

Cheers

63. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 9:21 pm Reply to this comment

Oirish 18 – 38 All Blacks

Only saw the last 20 – What a game of skill and intelligence from both sides!

Pity about the poor TV coverage – NH directors don’t know rugby, only soccer.
    Who wants to see a wide shot showing the crowd and how far out the wing and fullback is standing when the packs are going toot and nail in a rick, maul or contact situation?
    :1up:

Oirish player tackled, ruck forms, McCaw stands where Oirish 9 should be standing and gets blown up by Jonker.

AND EVEN MANAGES TO LOOK SURPRISED!

:muahaha:

64. Jacques(Bunny)Somtimes I sits and thinks and sometimes I just sits Jacques(Bunny) says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 9:22 pm Reply to this comment

To take nothing away from the AB who are playing brilliant……any team in the world who gets away with killing the ball at every ruck protecting the ball at every ruck by falling over and coming from the side almost at every ruck and not getting yellow cards for repeated infringements, will have their back-line score the tries the AB are scoring….even our useless Bok-team will do so.

Rugby Union is getting to the point were I do not enjoy it any more, it’s becaoming a JOKE!!!…..and it is not because the Boks are useless but that nobody will be able to touch the AB as long as they get away with these transgression…..they can really call off the non profitable WC of 2011 and just give the cup to the AB.

65. Jacques(Bunny)Somtimes I sits and thinks and sometimes I just sits Jacques(Bunny) says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 9:54 pm Reply to this comment

Ek gaan maar ‘ n movie kyk of iets miskein suprise die sirkus ons volgende week en wen teen die Pommies…….mens mag seker droom ne?
    :cheers:

66. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 9:58 pm Reply to this comment

If you guys want to watch something good – watch the France Argentina game – good Lordy – 100 miles per hour and HARD! And everything is done at pace!

Cheers

67. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 10:13 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Methos @ 9:58 pm:

Ja, maar dis nie die Bokke se tradisionele manier van speel nie.
    :wink:

68. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 10:41 pm Reply to this comment

Boertjie

Hoe meer ek daaraan dink hoe meer dink ek dis die fout – ons doen niks op spoed nie. Alles is staan staan. Niemand kry die bal op spoed nie en almal hardloop eers as hulle die bal kry.

Ek is nie ‘n expert op agterlyn spel nie maar ek dink ons moet so bietjie dieper staan en die bal op spoed kry en dan wanneer ons kontak maak deur die tackle probeer dryf – ons val soos vrot vliee elke keer wat iemand aan ons raak.

Cheers

69. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 10:50 pm Reply to this comment

my comment wag !

70. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 10:51 pm Reply to this comment

Methos,
    think he has got the skype on invisible.
    I hope that he is extremely busy
    and simply hasn’t the time.
    Hope he gets the time soon.

did you get a tom-tom?

71. Duiwel Duiwel says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 10:53 pm Reply to this comment

i’m thinking of an old expression that
    n boy kan breek anything.
    well i think they have finally broken
    Springbok rugby.

72. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 10:54 pm Reply to this comment

Duiwel

No – too expensive ;) Got a Mappy – with a huge screen. Went to Bordeaux yesterday – was such a pleasure to just drive to a place and not check a map every robot ;)

Cheers

73. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 10:57 pm Reply to this comment

Hope so – Sent the bugger a facebook boodskap a while ago but nada.

Cheers

74. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 11:03 pm Reply to this comment

Another question

Do you think our guys use resin? When I got here it was the first time I saw that people used it – now in wet weather I don’t play without it – think our guys need to get introduced to it QUICKLY!

Cheers

75. Welshbok die Brandwag Welshbok die Brandwag says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 11:16 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Methos @ 11:03 pm:

Waarvoor gebruik jy die resin? (verskoon my onkunde)

76. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 11:21 pm Reply to this comment

Welsh

No problem.

Handbal is ‘n groot sport hier in Frankryk. Maar die bal is klein bietjie groot om goeie grip op te kry vir mense met kleiner hande en as hy nat raak van sweet etc. Dus gebruik hulle ‘n gel wat van denneboom gom gemaak is. Dit keer dat die bal gly. Dit werk regtig baie goed. Ons gebruik dit vrek baie. Al probleem is dit om na die tyd af te kry. Jy smeer it op jou hande – voor arms en op jou bors – op die trui obviously. Keer dat die bal gly as jy hom in kontak in vat en dat hy nie van jou bors af gly as jy ‘n hoe bal vat nie.

Nou net gesien dat Harindoquay dit opsit net voor hy opkom.

Cheers

77. Methos The French Stormer Methos says:
    November 20th, 2010 at 11:22 pm Reply to this comment

My comment is waiting for moderation.

Dis soos denneboom gom – dis van dit gemaak – gee grip op bal etc. Lang verduideliking daar gehad.

Boertjie!!!!

Cheers

78. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:27 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Methos @ 11:22 pm:

we also use it around this time of year – not all but some – and we are an amateur club FFS.

The old saying goes that you play only as well as the opposition let you, well SA let Wales play and we managed to beat them and this time we let Scotland play and lost. Against Ireland we played and the Oirish let us play for 60min – we need to dominate the game and force the opposition to play to our tune if we want to win.

On the back-line: there is no need for a 11, 12, 13 or 14 in our game plan! If we want to play this game-plan we can just as well put 4 extra loose forward on the pitch.
    6. burger
    7, Smith
    8. Alberts
    9. FdP
    10. Steyn
    11. Spies
    12. Kanko
    13. Stegman
    14. Daniels
    15. Zane
    That is the perfect team for our game-plan! :cuckoo:

79. Deon Deon says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:28 am Reply to this comment

Wel wel wel, almal wou die 2007 gameplan sien en daar is dit nou. SKOP SKOP FOKKEN SKOP!!!!!!!!!!!

Kry ‘n vryskop met 4 minute oor en wat doen Pienaar? Skop. Elke donnerse loskrum – Skop.

Dit is tyd dat daar vir hierdie sokkerspelers gese word dat hulle glad nie mag skop buite die kwartgebied nie. Vat hulle terug na laerskool reels toe want hulle het obviously nie ‘n bliksemse idee van belsuitneming nie. Tyd vir PdV om te micro manage.

Bring die volgende afrigter, want dan sal die blindes kan sien waar die werklike probleem le.

En natuurlik as dit nie geskop word nie, dan sal die mees voorspelbare 12 wat eintlik ‘n losvoorspeler wil wees die bal doodmaak.

Ek het nie veel van Lambie gesien in die CC nie, maar ek sal graag wil weet hoekom hy so hoog gerate word. My ouma het meer visie in haar pinkie.

Frans Steyn sal moet 12 speel teen Engeland of 55-3 gaan iets wees waarna ons sal verlang.

En moenie ooit weer se Spies is swak nie. Kankakski is nie eers waardig om Spies se veters vas te maak nie. Ten minste as Spies die bal in kontak neem kry die Bokke vinnige besit, want hy is ‘n span speler. Nie ‘n prima donna wat al die shine wil vang nie.

Positiewes vandag? Laat ek dink: Kirchner, F Steyn, Alberts, ……….

OK nou moet ek seker maar gereed maak om die geween oor die coach te lees.

80. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:29 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 12:27 am:

2006 IIRC JW had to beat the Poms or he was gone after losing to Ireland and squeezing past Wales, right? Could PdV have the same ultimatum?

81. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:35 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Deon @ 12:28 am:

Lambie is good with a game plan where he USES the rest of the back-line! This current game plan has NO intention of using the backs!! The ball goes to 12 and then back to the forwards and after 60min they are so knackered that the game plan flops.

Pdv needs to revert to his 2008 game plan and bring in the players to do it or get a new coach who will.

For me (and I have a high rate of tolerance) the donkey’s back is buckling under the straw! Last chance salloon.
    I was ok with the Oirish game because we had a mish-mash back-line and we just wanted to survive but nothing changed except the forward being played “in hulle moer”

1st solution – get a back-line specialist in the squad.
    2nd solution fire the damn lot! :oops:

82. Welshbok die Brandwag Welshbok die Brandwag says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:38 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 12:29 am:

If they chase him, who do they appoint?

83. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:40 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Welshbok die Brandwag @ 12:38 am:

I’ll take a year off work ;-)

84. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:42 am Reply to this comment

@Methos/Namboer – you see my mo for Movember on FB?

:jester:

Old school – Wyatt Earp style :lol:

85. Deon Deon says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:45 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 12:35 am:

A while ago someone told me that PdV biggest problem is that he is too much of a nice guy.

I amd starting to agree. In 2008 everyone was all over him to not change the 2007 winning gameplan. He obliged. Now that same gameplan is turning against us and who gets the blame?

He should have stuck with what he believed in. Too late to change now unless he picks predomanently players that played outside of SA. In other words players that have not been playing in the kicking circumstances.

I agree with your first point of a backline specialist, but the players also need to be taught decision making. How the hell they going to do that now I don’t know, because it comes with gametime.

86. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:49 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Deon @ 12:45 am:

Agree – he should have pushed through with the 2008 game plan!
    IMO it is never to late to change! Change game-plan or coach. These players are professional and should be able to adapt – IMO there is nothing to lose!

87. Deon Deon says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:51 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Welshbok die Brandwag @ 12:38 am:

Who is there really? I think there are just some coaches that wouldn’t want to work with some of those players. And if they bring in others the public will crucify them.

88. Welshbok die Brandwag Welshbok die Brandwag says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:54 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Deon @ 12:45 am:

These same players played some stunning backline rugby in the spr 14 this year, scoring some scintillating tries.

take the Bulls, Sharks and Stormers this year in both the spr 14 and curriecup.

How can their decision making suddenly become so impaired when they pull the green jersey over their heads.

I still maintain that it’s a question of coaching, nothing ells.

89. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:55 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Deon @ 12:51 am:

bring in Pieter Rossouw for the back-line, bring in John Mitchell as consultant?

90. Deon Deon says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:55 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 12:49 am:

I don’t think it is that easy. I get the idea some of these players really started to think they were the coaches. Obviously fuelled by some stupid media reports and ignorance from the “We don’t want a black coach” crowd.

Just imagine if somebody like Chabal shoudl decide to start playing for your team and he doesn’t agree with everything in your plan. How do you think that is going to go down with the other players?

91. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 12:57 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Deon @ 12:55 am:

Makes sense – too much player power. Smit not there to regulate this tour…

92. Deon Deon says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 1:01 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Welshbok die Brandwag @ 12:54 am:

“take the Bulls, Sharks and Stormers this year in both the spr 14 and curriecup.”

Sorry out of those 3, i will acknowledge the Bulls. The other two’s tries were not that backline orientated.

Remember the Sharks under Dick Muir?

And remember the decisionmaking also needs to speed up similar to intensity.

Reply to JT @ 12:55 am:

Wouldn’t that be a great one.

Problem is I don’t think SARU would want to pay out the contracts for those 2 idiots posing as assistants. They wouldn;t be thinking forward to the amounts they can score by winning the WC.

Hell let Victor and Smit then coach the forwards if it has to be. Give them bonusses. Rossouw and Mitchell. Then you have a team that can work with you. Not 2 assistants that only want to further their own careers.

93. Welshbok die Brandwag Welshbok die Brandwag says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 1:09 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Deon @ 1:01 am:

I’m not with you?

The Stormers played a defensive game, but scored some really good tries with Aplon, Habana, Fourie, de Villiers, Peter Grant all giving brilliant backline input.

The Sharks also played some really good rugby in the curriecup, we all remember the final, it was a virtual blueprint for the perfect gameplan, with a mix of forward play, defence and good running backline moves.

I still ask the question, how can we end up being such utter one dimensional chumps with no imagination at all, when these same players have been pulling it off hugely with other jerseys on.

94. Deon Deon says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 1:24 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Welshbok die Brandwag @ 1:09 am:

I haven’t seen much of the CC, but I just know during the S14 I was extremely frustrated at the lack of real backline tries from the Stormers. Yes there were some good tries, but not those that you will remember 4 years from now. To explain, Aplon’s try against the Irish is one that I will still remember a few years from now, because 2 players took absolute brilliant decisions (with and without the ball) and utilised the good momentum that the forwards created.

Just think back to the S14 and how the Habana bashing started. When last did we see Habana or any SA wing get the ball in a full backline movement? Other teams this happens at least once per game. Something doesn’t happen everytime, but at least you are making the defense think about it.

With JdV poor decision making, the Boks will always be easy prey for the defense. But it was the same at the Stormers. The tries rarely came from actual backline movements, more from complete broken play. Grant has more vision IMO than JdV.

I don’t know if this post are going to make sense. Busy sorting the kids in between.

95. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    November 21st, 2010 at 2:40 am Reply to this comment

Reply to JT @ 12:42 am:

Hehe… I was thinking more like ‘Blue Oyster Bar’… :wink:

Switch to our mobile site