It is North against South, Ikeys against Tukkies. The final of the Varsity Cup, live from Pretoria at 18:30.
Since the start of the tournament in 2008 the only team that had the privilege of lifting the Cup was Maties, so in some way it’s fitting that a new trophy will be handed out to the new champion tonight.
UCT have suffered narrow losses to the previously all-conquering Maties in 2008 and 2010 finals. In 2009 they lost against Pukke in the semi-finals – and all that stands in the way of the UCT class of 2011 to finally lift the trophy, is the small matter of beating Tukkies in Pretoria.
UCT will go into the final as favourites. With a record of only one loss up-country in the past four years, confidence will not be a problem for the men from Cape Town.
FNB Tuks lock Franco Mostert has been one of the standout performers in this year’s Varsity Cup and his team will be looking for one more big game from him. The hard-working second row learnt his trade in the town of Brits in the North West where he grew up, representing Hoërskool Brits before moving to Pretoria. “The first provincial team that I played for was when I was picked for the Blue Bulls Under-21 team last year,” he told varsitycup.co.za. “It’s been a big honour and a very exciting one too.” “This year we have had more depth,” he explained. “There has been more competition amongst the players and our competent management team have created a very professional environment.”
varsitycup.co.za got some predictions from some experts:
Hugh Bladen (Former Transvaal flyhalf and legendary SuperSport commentator):
“I hope Ikeys win because they play the better rugby. I think they play a more entertaining brand of rugby. Tukkies rely a lot more on forward power and if their Vodacom Cup players are released by the Blue Bulls than I think they would probably have a better chance.”
Hanyani Shimange (Former UCT and Springbok hooker; SuperSport commentator):
“I reckon it will be UCT. If Nizaam Carr and Eben Etzebeth and their Vodacom Cup players like Tim Whitehead and Marcel Brache play then I think they should win it. I think it’s probably their time.”
Corné Krige (Former Stormers and Springbok captain):
“It’s going to be a tough one. I would have to back Tuks at home, even though I would like Ikeys to win it because they have been in the final for the last few years and have always been disappointed. But it will be tough one for them to fly up there and beat Tuks at home with that very conservative Blue Bulls gameplan of theirs – with really strong forwards and a kicker that keeps it in front of the forwards.”
Toks van der Linde (Former Springbok and Western Province prop):
“I think Tukkies would think they owe Ikeys a big one after they lost to them last time at the LC de Villiers. I think the Ikeys are a side that have really come of age and they have learnt a lot in the Varsity Cup. I don’t want to be a fence-sitter but it is a really difficult one to call. I wouldn’t be surprised if it went into extra-time. As a Capetonian, and Heyneke Meyer is going to be the moer-in with me… but I think that the Ikeys have played a lot of semifinals and they came close in some finals, so it might just be their year. Either way, however, it will be tough. Tuks are looking good, but I think Ikeys will just tip it.”
Naas Botha (Former Bulls and Springbok points-machine; SuperSport analyst):
“I love the Ikeys, I love the way they play, their attitude towards the game and I think they have got some great players but I think home-ground advantage will be the difference. I think when there are two great teams going into a final the most important thing is the home-field advantage. I think it is a great match-up, there are two very good sides going into the final and I think you need to look at Tuks because they are the team with that (home) advantage.”
* Monday’s finals day in Pretoria gets underway at 3pm when FNB TUT (the Varsity Cup Wooden Spoonists) and FNB CUT (the Varsity Shield winners) go head-to-head in the first-ever promotion/relegation match.
The next match is at 4.45pm – the Steinhoff Koshuisrugby Championships Final between Steinhoff Simonsberg (Maties) and Steinhoff Patria (Pukke) – with a Red Bull Airshow taking place at half-time of that match.
The official festivities ahead of the 2011 Varsity Cup Final between Tuks and UCT will begin soon after the Koshuis Final, with top Afrikaans singer Bobby van Jaarsveld set to wow the crowd and help the build-up to the first-ever final in Pretoria.
Entrance is free on Monday, with the various beer gardens opening their doors at 5pm – with supporters encouraged to get to the LC de Villiers Sports Grounds as early as possible to join in all the festivities.
All matches will also be televised live on SuperSport One.
The teams:
FNB Tuks: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Deon Helberg, 13 Jean du Plessis, 12 Dabeon Draghoender, 11 Hayden Groepes, 10 Wesley Dunlop (captain), 9 Danie Faasen, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Jono Ross, 6 Warwick Tecklenburg, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Nqubeko Zulu, 3 Stephan Pretorius, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Vincent Koch.
Replacements: 16 Chris Crous, 17 Jean Rossouw, 18 Luvuyiso Lusaseni, 19 Jacques Verwey, 20 Clayton Stewart, 21 JC Roos, 22 Gerhardus Kotzee, 23 Grant Kemp.
FNB UCT: 15 Therlow Pietersen, 14 Pete Haw, 13 Marcel Brache, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 Ricky Rijs, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Greg Mallett, 7 Nick Fenton-Wells (captain), 6 Don Armand, 5 Levi Odendaal, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Shane Meier, 2 Matt Page, 1 Wesley Chetty.
Replacements: 16 Neil Rautenbach, 17 Francois van Wyk, 18 Michael Morris, 19 Zandy Macdonald, 20 Ricky Schroeder, 21 Mark Winter, 22 Sabelo Siyakatshana, 23 Pete Olivier.
My prediction: Mmmhhh Think it will be UCT by 10 points but will hope Tukkies go all the way especially because nobody gave them a change in the beginning of the season and wrote them off after the lost against TUT.
Additional information from www.varsitycup.co.za

April 11th, 2011 at 1:54 pm
Does anybody know WHY the final is at Tuks? Tuks ended 4th in league-phase.
April 11th, 2011 at 2:00 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 1:54 pm:
Hi Brand – I think you and Morne and some others will enjoy this read:
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/0411/1224294395514.html
April 11th, 2011 at 2:37 pm
Thanks JT. Enjoyed reading arti and immediately forward it to a ayer in rehab after dubble lower-leg break last year August. Thanks
April 11th, 2011 at 2:43 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 1:54 pm: UCT does not have Lights at their fields so must play at tuks for the rules of the competition is that the final is played at 18:30
April 11th, 2011 at 7:00 pm
Eish dis ‘n taaie. Dankie
April 11th, 2011 at 7:08 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 7:00 pm: Ja Maar het in die jaar gehoor groot sponsor gekry om die veld te upgrade met ligte so miskien van volgende jaar af kan hul tuis speel as hulle dit verdien soos die afgelope paar jare
April 11th, 2011 at 7:10 pm
Shit Maties koshuis span verloor sleg teen Pukke in Koshuis finaal, glad nie goeie jaar vir Maties nie
April 11th, 2011 at 7:13 pm
Now for the final will UCT be able to get over that last little koppie
April 11th, 2011 at 7:40 pm
Lekke crowd hope it is a open game
April 11th, 2011 at 7:44 pm
Tuks to take it by more than 10.
April 11th, 2011 at 7:47 pm
Reply to Morné @ 7:44 pm: Nah
April 11th, 2011 at 7:47 pm
UCT by 7 or more
April 11th, 2011 at 7:48 pm
here we go
April 11th, 2011 at 7:48 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 7:47 pm:
UCT plays great rugby in general, but they don’t play the type of rugby that normally wins finals…
April 11th, 2011 at 7:49 pm
Try UCT 1 min
April 11th, 2011 at 7:49 pm
Mistake at kick-off mistake at lineout Ikeys score
April 11th, 2011 at 7:50 pm
7-0 UCT
April 11th, 2011 at 7:51 pm
Tuks will have to tackle for their life’s otherwise this will be more than 40 points for UCT
April 11th, 2011 at 7:53 pm
Here comes Meyer’s kick and chase from Tukkies, I am sorry i do not think it will work against UCT tonight, rather keep it with teh forwards
April 11th, 2011 at 7:55 pm
Atleast both teams look like given ball some air
April 11th, 2011 at 7:57 pm
Tuks scrum looks good as expected
April 11th, 2011 at 7:59 pm
Tuks keep UCT in own half and got the rward in a penalty infront
April 11th, 2011 at 8:00 pm
17215 spectators great numbers to support final Tuks kick over 7-3 UCT
April 11th, 2011 at 8:01 pm
UCT looks flabed up front need to sort it out
April 11th, 2011 at 8:03 pm
Tuks hit up front 2 phases and then spread it wide true to the Blue
April 11th, 2011 at 8:05 pm
Tuks get penalty infront again should be 7-6 UCT 17 min
April 11th, 2011 at 8:05 pm
7-6 UCT 17min gone
April 11th, 2011 at 8:06 pm
UCT making too many mistakes looks like last years final against Maties all over again
April 11th, 2011 at 8:08 pm
Do I hear chokers ?
April 11th, 2011 at 8:08 pm
These english private school kids will not win this game. Its not in the genes. Hope i am wrong as these kids might just create a new less conservative
blueprint for SA rugby…
April 11th, 2011 at 8:09 pm
Tuks score in the corner after some good handling
April 11th, 2011 at 8:10 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 8:08 pm: Tuks show if you play Bulls rugby with commitment it will still work……Tuks 13-7 20min
April 11th, 2011 at 8:12 pm
This is why I do not believe we have so much problems at the Bulls as most are making out to be. Players is more the problem than the game plan.
The same with the stormers this weekend, players making stupid mistakes cost them the game
April 11th, 2011 at 8:13 pm
UCT making mistakes with handling and breakdown points
April 11th, 2011 at 8:14 pm
all the tuks coach had to say beforehand is :”these fokken soutstring kids cry with their moms after the sunday night Mnet movie” and the Tuks okes would have moved into that pre-programmed place in their minds where they overcome whatever might prevent them from winning against an english team.
And before you cast stones, i raise my own kid english – and he is already a softie. Will have to moer it out of him.
April 11th, 2011 at 8:15 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 8:14 pm:
April 11th, 2011 at 8:16 pm
Tuks going nicely through the phases
April 11th, 2011 at 8:17 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 8:10 pm:
I have never seen Grey Bloem play Bulls rugby. Imagine the Bulls playing Ikeys rugby with confidence? Too bad Ikeys have just realised they are enlgish and dont really belong in Pretoria or on a rugby field for that matter.
And I am generalizing big time here but just to get a point across.
April 11th, 2011 at 8:21 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 8:17 pm: That’s why I will take Meyer everyday of the week as my coach and twice on a Saturday with the Bulls blue print playing correctly and a 100% will always win you matches.
All you need is commitment
April 11th, 2011 at 8:23 pm
UCT is busy loosing it
April 11th, 2011 at 8:25 pm
Tuks stays in UCT half
April 11th, 2011 at 8:27 pm
Penalty Tuks 36min
April 11th, 2011 at 8:28 pm
16-7 Tuks 37min
April 11th, 2011 at 8:29 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 8:21 pm:
My heart of hearts tell me Blue Bulls rugby is over.
Rugby now is multi-dimensional. You should be able to do it all.
Champions league Soccer first manifested this aspect of sport. No longer could an ‘English’ team win it without playing Spanish AND French style football whenever the game demanded it.
you need to have multiple gameplans and be able to adapt while in play from A to B to C to D. or at least from game to game – as the Reds are able to do.
April 11th, 2011 at 8:30 pm
UCT get’s penalty 39min infront
April 11th, 2011 at 8:35 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 8:29 pm: I disagree doing the Bulls rugby correct with the correct players will win you games, Bulls problems are in midfield. Meisiekind is playing the worst rugby of his life and they have no backup for him or Pretorius. Bulls should have search players like Bosman, De Jong and Doppies. Forwards are not playing as a unit and players is out of form liek Habs at Stormers. I am realy not that worried. Every year we get into a depro in Super rugby and gets out of it after it, last years kak with the Boks was the first for more than 4 years.
Gameplan will help you fokkol if you makes so many mistakes like tyeh Bulls did against Saders. Handling errors like Bullietjie rugby players will not even make.
April 11th, 2011 at 8:41 pm
possession is half half, so UCT still in it
April 11th, 2011 at 8:43 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 8:35 pm:
I agree with commitment, 100% the Bulls and Stormers gameplans can win you games.
But what happens when they players are not inspired no more?
If they are not inspired they will not be 100% committed?
Now tell me this. Who enjoys Saturday more – Cooper or Morney Steyn? Davies or Habana? Kirchner or Dagg?
April 11th, 2011 at 8:45 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 8:43 pm: Get you but in a world cup year I believe a Bulls stormers gameplan will win you it.
April 11th, 2011 at 8:45 pm
WC I mean.
April 11th, 2011 at 8:47 pm
At the end of the day Finals are win by team making less mistakes and it is always a low scoring match. Too be honest with you I do not really care who win the Super 15 or Tri-Nations, I would like to see that in this compititions we have 30 odd players we can go to the WC with.
April 11th, 2011 at 8:54 pm
TMO into play for UCT possible try
April 11th, 2011 at 8:55 pm
No Try
April 11th, 2011 at 8:57 pm
Penalty UCT, Tuks 16-13 50 min
April 11th, 2011 at 8:58 pm
Success again with kick and fetch for Tuks
April 11th, 2011 at 9:00 pm
UCT backline comes more into play
April 11th, 2011 at 9:01 pm
Penalty UCT should 16 all after penalty
April 11th, 2011 at 9:02 pm
Demitri kicks over
April 11th, 2011 at 9:03 pm
Tuks making the mistakes now and UCT take advantage
April 11th, 2011 at 9:06 pm
UCT score after camping out at tukkies goal line
April 11th, 2011 at 9:08 pm
UCT seems fitter and Tuks looks flat UCT 23-16 20 min left UCT just needs to keep presure
April 11th, 2011 at 9:09 pm
It is going to be an interesting final 20 – my money still on Tuks though.
Ref is uber kak though, and before I get told I am a bad loser, let it be known I said it way before time while still backing Tuks.
April 11th, 2011 at 9:10 pm
Reply to Morné @ 9:09 pm: I agree ref is kak does not seem to know what is going on
April 11th, 2011 at 9:10 pm
go UCT to heavens sake win this game
April 11th, 2011 at 9:11 pm
Reply to Morné @ 9:09 pm: And I still believe the UCT Tigers will have too much for Tuks this time around
April 11th, 2011 at 9:12 pm
UCT score game over
April 11th, 2011 at 9:13 pm
Or not
April 11th, 2011 at 9:13 pm
Flook me thought they got that one wrong
April 11th, 2011 at 9:16 pm
UCT makes all the play
April 11th, 2011 at 9:19 pm
13min to go Tuks needs to score if they want to stay in it
April 11th, 2011 at 9:20 pm
kickable penalty for UCT
April 11th, 2011 at 9:20 pm
10 min to go
April 11th, 2011 at 9:21 pm
over 26-16
April 11th, 2011 at 9:22 pm
Now or never for Tuks
April 11th, 2011 at 9:22 pm
cmon pommies fokkin win something for a change
April 11th, 2011 at 9:24 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 9:22 pm: LOL
April 11th, 2011 at 9:29 pm
typical the fokking ball is out but it turned through the 90 degrees so reset fuck me the scrum laws are pissing me off so much I want to puke
April 11th, 2011 at 9:32 pm
it is all over UCT won
April 11th, 2011 at 9:33 pm
this is what i am talking about. Both crusaders and reds would have scored from this a long time ago. we just hammer dumb forwards at it all day long.
on the line? good defence? fuck me. How long did it take reds to score the only time they were in the 5 metre zone of stormers?
one scrum, one move. 9 to 12, score.
April 11th, 2011 at 9:33 pm
UCt deserve their win
April 11th, 2011 at 9:34 pm
Nice fightback
April 11th, 2011 at 9:34 pm
fucking well done UCT. Will only make WP fans (who in fact should be Boland fans) more arrogant but hopefully herald a new mindset change in SA rugby
April 11th, 2011 at 9:35 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 9:33 pm: One score I would not rave about that though
April 11th, 2011 at 9:36 pm
Well done Morne finaly you can have some bragging rights after 4 years
April 11th, 2011 at 9:36 pm
Hate teh souties from UCT but atleast the Cup stays in the South
April 11th, 2011 at 9:37 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 9:35 pm:
but how simple was it? Do you know why? no fat bastard or lock received the ball from the 9. It was a 12, with feet – made the opposition doubt for that split second it takes.
If it was any other SA side that try would not have been scored i can promise you that?
Why.
Well watch Tukkies the last 8 minutes.
Dumb dumb dumb.
April 11th, 2011 at 9:38 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 9:34 pm: fat change but ye second that, still believe to have both mindsets, Bulls blue print as well as this running
April 11th, 2011 at 9:38 pm
great win UCT so glad you proved me wrong about souties.
break down afrikaans confidence in their conservatism so SA can reach its full potential as a rugby nation.
April 11th, 2011 at 9:39 pm
TIGERS!!!!!!!!!!
April 11th, 2011 at 9:39 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 9:37 pm: Ye must agree with that thoght thou UCT was fitter than Tuks in last half, Tuks looked flat and defended like dogs, would like to see the stats on tackles made by tuks versus UCT
April 11th, 2011 at 9:40 pm
Boere Brawn vs Soutie Skills?
April 11th, 2011 at 9:40 pm
Reply to Morné @ 9:39 pm: Seker lekker om soos ‘n wenner te voel vir ‘n slag
UCT het dit verdien net teveel aan die einde en het nooit gaan le nie
April 11th, 2011 at 9:41 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 9:40 pm: Or Mr Nokes?
April 11th, 2011 at 9:43 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 9:40 pm:
Unbelievable resolve from UCT in the last 10.
April 11th, 2011 at 9:44 pm
Morne I think we must do Rat Race next year in Varsity Cup, atleast I get more right than wrong in VC
April 11th, 2011 at 9:44 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 9:44 pm:
Ja you suck at Super 14!
April 11th, 2011 at 9:45 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 9:40 pm:
Now take those two and add some coloured “cockroach” magic and some real Xhosa and Zulu warriorship (mvovo comes to mind) and Bok rugby can fok op and dominate the All Blacks for good!
But no we can only win if we follow the afrikaans pragmatic approach……….
April 11th, 2011 at 9:45 pm
Reply to Morné @ 9:43 pm: Yip they were just briliant amaze that they did not gave up great come back after been played to their feet in the first half by Tuks
April 11th, 2011 at 9:46 pm
Pity Wits did not win shield also. Drive the idea home…
April 11th, 2011 at 9:47 pm
Reply to Morné @ 9:44 pm: Atleast Maties won something
April 11th, 2011 at 9:47 pm
Still pissed off at their shenanigans a couple of weeks ago, but also very proud of my Tigers!
April 11th, 2011 at 9:49 pm
Okay going to watch them lift the cup, I waited long enough…
April 11th, 2011 at 9:50 pm
Reply to Morné @ 9:47 pm: Vodacom players made big difference in second half for UCT
April 11th, 2011 at 9:50 pm
Reply to Morné @ 9:49 pm: enjoy
April 11th, 2011 at 9:52 pm
can we please just kill the useless vodacom cup for good?
April 11th, 2011 at 9:53 pm
Some souties gaan gebleksem word in koeksister town
April 11th, 2011 at 9:54 pm
now lets see wp not offer any of the white guys a contract and them then playing sevens for england….
April 11th, 2011 at 9:55 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 9:53 pm:
jy bedoel ‘gespyker’ word?
April 11th, 2011 at 9:55 pm
Congrats to the two UCT supporters I know you deserve it thi year enjoy while it last next year it will start all over again
So congrats Morne and JP..julle foken soutie supporters
April 11th, 2011 at 9:56 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 9:55 pm: Nee dit is in Seepunt waar daai kak gaan spat vannaand
April 11th, 2011 at 9:57 pm
I am glad Pretoria is being brought down to earth. So too WP (who have long ago sold their souls for silverware)
Its time to re-imagine SA rugby.
But not until we have our second 2003.
It written in the stars
April 11th, 2011 at 9:59 pm
Great VC I enjoyed it cannot wait for next year I would two game in round home and away and through the Vodacom Cup away like the cheetahs are pumas! say…..
More success comming from VC than any other.
Great stuff two thinjg Francois Pienaar did well Lift teh WC in ’95 and brain trust of VC…..Go your good thing
April 11th, 2011 at 10:01 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 9:57 pm: The stars looks a bit different here in Zambia so hope my stars are right and yours are wrong.
April 11th, 2011 at 10:01 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 9:55 pm:
UCT the only gentlemans in Wp rugby.
You either have the idiots from stellenbosch who think emanual escorsio is ‘high culture’ or the fucknuts who either support the all blacks or boo whomever play the stormers at that place where you cant smoke, drink, piss or fart.
I am very happy for them. They are the real WP. The rest are Boland. Now there is a thought.
April 11th, 2011 at 10:02 pm
was great to see Prof. Noakes, Doc Calder and some other very important backroom staff at the game tonight!
given the disappointing losses to Maties & UJ at home, the Tigers came back emphatically in their last round robin game against Tukkies, smashing Shimlas in the semi’s, and grinding out a win in the final against Tukkies again.
Will other teams pick up on the value Prof Noakes and Doc Calder brings to teams?
April 11th, 2011 at 10:02 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 9:59 pm:
I can drink to Francois and the boys. Now just kill Vodacom Cup and transfer funds to rural clubs for a similar comp?
April 11th, 2011 at 10:04 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 10:01 pm: Gaan kak Maties have more rugby history and culture than other unions can dream off. Jy sal nou net vir Morne meer kak gee om oor te gesels.
April 11th, 2011 at 10:04 pm
Reply to Morné @ 10:02 pm:
dont be ridiculous? Noakes? Calder?
why- when the boks are perfect?
April 11th, 2011 at 10:05 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 10:04 pm:
You are right. But Maties belongs to Boland. So keep it there.
April 11th, 2011 at 10:06 pm
Reply to Morné @ 10:02 pm: I truely believe the problems in rugby teams today is the mental side off it and you right that makes the difference
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 10:05 pm: Not according to WP Rugby
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 10:04 pm:
Morne please chuck a sicky from work tomorrow and find for me where I said in 2008 already that Habana is ‘overrunning’ every ball because he no longer is coached by Calder?
April 11th, 2011 at 10:08 pm
It’s a bit deferent than when we played our domkrag rugby in the 80′s and early 90.
April 11th, 2011 at 10:09 pm
I heard a comment today from someone, saying they hope the Stormers, for the sake of SA Rugby fails this year.
Their reasoning?
WP Rugby (Stormers) produce (for some reason) the best running back in SA rugby, specifically at center.
If their game (as it currently stands) is centered, and celebrated around defence – which is the case in local media, then we are in big shit.
At first I thought it was a kak remark, but for some reason (forget the mention of just the Stormers but what our teams celebrate in this instance being great defence and conceding zero tries) I am beginning to agree with that…
April 11th, 2011 at 10:09 pm
Well done UCTM fokkit as ons maar sulke rugby die naweek kon sien. Shields stem met die dom-bul rugby deur Tuks aan einde.maar ai dit was lekker om weer ‘hart’ rugby te sien.
April 11th, 2011 at 10:10 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 10:06 pm:
There is another element. In Bethelehem gym every morning I look at at least 3 kids training themselves into the ground as they are “professional” rugby players. Now with arms so big they cannot fucking pass and legs so huge they cannot side-step.
But they are right. Spot on in fact.
Its not skills that will keep them in the game. Its brute strength. In Oz they all aspire to be Cooper. Here they all aspire to be Bismarck.
The truth, as always, is smack bang inbetween.
April 11th, 2011 at 10:11 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 10:06 pm:
I am just about pen-pals with Doc Calder on Twitter. I cannot find yet another angle to talk her into pro rugby in SA as I have exhausted all my angles…
But consider this…
What (currently) is the common denominating factor between UCT and Grey Bloem?
No prizes for the correct answer…
April 11th, 2011 at 10:14 pm
Reply to Morné @ 10:09 pm:
Thanks once more. What a fuck you to the face of the Cheetahs/Leopards/Vlake/Boland etc to have the money WP has to buy all the top notch BACK-LINE players in the land – only to make them all robots?
Then I rather take my loss and see Wurmkop Burger score the try he did this weekend.
I want us to believe in ourselves enough to learn to win with style.
Ali, Tyson, Leonard, Lewis etc NEVER entered the ring to win on points.
April 11th, 2011 at 10:14 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 10:10 pm: Sad but I believe you are right, fuck now you flook my day, let’s hope their will be some change in the year leading up to the WC…but ye I am not holding my breath anymore not with Clown and the Dick in charge.
April 11th, 2011 at 10:17 pm
Reply to Morné @ 10:11 pm:
Yip. Have you seen the drills Calder did with players? I did her computer based test one day and was shocked at how quickly you can develop your vision – yet how quickly you can lose it again.
Its like anything – needs to be done daily to keep sharp.
My only real Crit of John Smit so far – how can he not see that this is part of the problem?
April 11th, 2011 at 10:18 pm
Ok I am out of here njoy your win Morne congrats chat you tomorrow
April 11th, 2011 at 10:21 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 10:14 pm:
Or maybe the clown can grow the balls to finish what he started in 2008? Now is the time.
But I am not holding my breath. Instead i see the semi’s; Jean Divs injured as usual, Meisiekind in his place. Cough the ball up. SA out. Why oh why we ask….
writing has been on the wall since the end of 2009.
April 11th, 2011 at 10:22 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 10:17 pm:
I have always been a massive fan of the likes of Calder and many more (like Brand for instance) becoming part and parcel of pro sports especially (obviously rugby) for a very long time now.
It absolutely defies belief that the likes of John or Bryan does not get these guys involved individually, out of team context, in their lives and jobs as pro sportsmen – surely they know better than any of us the value they bring????
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 10:18 pm:
Cheers boet.
Mind you, time for a Amarula and bed for me too!
April 11th, 2011 at 10:23 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 10:18 pm:
goodnight zambodian. please do come help your brother the day I find his address in the town of the penguin….
April 11th, 2011 at 10:25 pm
Reply to Morné @ 10:22 pm:
cheers morne.
congrats once more.
April 11th, 2011 at 10:27 pm
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 10:25 pm:
Thanks Brenden, appreciate it!
April 11th, 2011 at 10:37 pm
Ja, fok, oukei:
Geluk Ikeys.
April 11th, 2011 at 10:39 pm
Shields – why can’t they see their shortfalls and correct them??? It has to do with the same reason we differ and keep on backing our own version of the story. It has to do with broadly 2 mindsets. Growth and Fixed or if you want another angle Learner and Judger. In Fixed and Judger mindsets everything and everyone that do not agree with you are a threat. Also info that what you do and how you do it may be wrong/ineffective/etc. are experienced as a personal attack. Why? Because in Fixed mindset your abilities are ‘fixed’ and everything and everyone needs to proof/confirm your greatness/OKness/ability. In Growth/Learner every bit of info that differs from what you know/believe/understand is experienced as valuable for improving/development/growth. Huge difference – life-changing!!!
April 11th, 2011 at 10:48 pm
Everytime I remember to apply it – I am amazed at the difference that results. Flipside is also I am pissed-off when I after the fact realize I again allowed years of personal and cultural programming habitually/automatically ‘control my life in that moment or period of time.
April 11th, 2011 at 11:30 pm
Very true Brand. But we have to be learner or judger or risk being fence sitter?
whats nice about blogging is I can back my own version stubbornly all night yet wake up taking a slightly altered stance…
Same reason why media freedom is so important. Society simply HAS to hang their laundry in public or risk it stinking underground in a cupboard somewhere.
But SA is a conservative country and its fucking hard to fit in if your brain is not wired that way!
April 12th, 2011 at 8:23 am
Evil has triumphed
Bad over good
Dark over light
Sludge over clear water
Pollution over clarity
The tobacco company over the cancer sufferer
Windows over open source
Gates over Jobs
China over us all
Tsunamis to rise
The end is nigh
T’is the end
The end my friend…
Woe unto us all…
2012 is REAL
April 12th, 2011 at 8:31 am
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 11:30 pm:
Dude you are so wrong it scary… clearly didn’t learn in an apartheid education DID YOU?
We South Africans LOVE airing our laundry
ESPECIALLY the Boere
The myth of there being a singular ideal unified “steek die m*d in die dinker en maak alles toe” Afrikaner unity aimed at oppressing “deemassas” is given the lie by the outset of the separation of Afrikaners out of the Cape.
Some left
Some stayed
Then the different treks
Potgieter
Trichardt
Retief
Think on this
After Blauwkrantz the Boere leaders were not prepared to act under the auspices of a different trekker as supreme leader. They actually had Andries Pretorius imported to lead them because they could not agree on a leader.
There was not just one Boer Republic… there were several… and they were not always unified.
Swellendam
Natalia
Stellaland
Gordonia
Vryburg
Vrystaat
ZAR
There is the famous time when the Free Staters and Transvalers faced off against the Basotho together in a border war when the Transvalers demanded some of the booty (and no booty is not really originally an American negro way of referring to a buttocks) and the Free Staters refused, causing the Transvalers to leave in a huff and eventually leading to Louw Wepener and his small band assaulting the Basotho stronghold alone.
In any event the idea that we are a conservative society may be correct… the idea that we hide things away like especially internal conflict and produce a united front behind a wall?
Absolute kak…
April 12th, 2011 at 9:10 am
Reply to the cheetahs are pumas! @ 10:17 pm:
You expecting John smit to be doing the head stooge and his assistants too now and during the shark’s campaign?
April 12th, 2011 at 10:30 am
“Same reason why media freedom is so important. Society simply HAS to hang their laundry in public or risk it stinking underground in a cupboard somewhere.”
Reply to DavidS @ 8:31 am:
what in this sentence suggests that i reckon SA does NOT air its laundry in public? We do, which is great.
April 12th, 2011 at 10:32 am
Shields. Yes – this is also what I missed about RuggaWorld – being able to make and defend a view-point, while everybody reads it from their singular unique perspective and go hammer and tongs at you. Sometimes doing exactly what I stated – simply defending our own subjective perspective PERSONALIZED. I have grown to love it – I still struggle when the difference is big and the discussion is obviously very personal to the other – yet I have remind me that what somebody else say ABOUT me says more about themselves than me in reality.
Using big baskets I now nearly always 1st evaluate – is the other in Growth/Learner mindset or 6ixed/Judger mindset – when engaging possible change. When other is in Fixed I gently present possible benefit but aim not to get them to defend their viewpoint (even internal – then it is ‘gameover’)
When I see they are in Growth I only have to monitor and manage their progress.
That’s when I remember to remember
April 12th, 2011 at 10:44 am
I don’t anymore broadly classify in Liberal vs Conservative groups. I rather group in – under perceived real threat and danger vs perceived strength, growth, develop-able ability and freedom. When people perceive themselves to be ‘free’ they are much more ‘open’ – under threat the close ranks and group together becoming ‘close’.
Hahaha how succint I just described myself hahaha