Some players announce themselves on the rugby scene the moment they take the field in front of our television cameras, some take longer, but it is no less worth the wait!
The victory over the Sharks last weekend would have been special to many Bulls players, but none more so than for Chiliboy Ralepelle.
For years those who supported the player talked up his ability or promise, unfortunately for them, his detractors could simply point to the cold hard facts of his on-field performances over the years to kick the ‘he has the ability to become great’ argument into touch.
It was a losing battle, because ultimately rugby players are judged on what they produce on the field and not on the promise they show off it.
But it was also an unfair contest.
Various publication over the years have highlighted the limited opportunities Ralepelle received both at his franchise and at national level. In South Africa specifically, that is usually a death sentence for the career of any player, especially if you are coloured or black.
Predictably, and perhaps with some justification, Chiliboy like so many before him was branded a ‘token’ rugby player, only being selected to appease the political landscape of rugby in South Africa.
But unlike so many other players who took the easy way out and moved from one team to another, or hopped on the first plane to Europe, Ralepelle stuck it out and stayed at the union where he made his debut in 2005.
Not only does it give you an idea of the character of the player, but perhaps also (and easily forgotten) those of his coaches at the Bulls.
Chiliboy made his senior professional debut for the Bulls in 2005. He made his Super rugby debut the following year in 2006 coming on as a replacement in two matches after which, he was sent back to the Vodacom Cup for further development. The Bulls coach at the time, Heyneke Meyer, made it clear that although Chiliboy is highly rated, his career as a front-row player should be carefully managed.
The same year (2006) Chiliboy captained the Springbok U21 side in the Rugby World Championship in France, where they lost to the hosts in the final, and against the advice of his Bulls coach, was later included in the senior Springbok team that same year for the Tri-Nations where he made his debut in August of 2006.
Since then, Ralepelle’s career took a serious nose-dive. He was struck down by injuries at crucial stages of the seasons that followed which saw him spent more time on the sidelines and in lower level teams like the Vodacom Cup (to regain fitness). To say his opportunities he was afforded at both union and national level was limited since his initial debut, would be a gross understatement.
Ralepelle’s nightmare run came to a climax at the end of 2010, where he, with fellow debutant, Bjorn Basson, was sent home from the end of the year tour in Europe for failing a drug test.
It was the ultimate embarrassment to a player who for years not only had to endure the public and media criticism of being a politically motivated selection, but now also answer to allegations of being a drug-cheat.
Yet, even after all of that, Ralepelle picked himself up, cleared his name and got stuck in with his franchise to prepare for the new Super rugby season.
Then came 2011, and specifically, the game against the Sharks – but in all honesty, this was not where Ralepelle turned his career around in my opinion.
2010 was a watershed year for Ralepelle. After he was struck down by a foot injury again, he had an honest talk with Bulls management and a decision was made in the beginning of 2010 that he would take no part in the Super 14 of that year, and that he would use the Vodacom Cup to get those elusive 80 minutes of consistent rugby he could never get since he made his Super rugby debut in 2006, and if there is a moment Ralepelle looks back on in future as being one of his most important decisions of his career, it would be this one.
His progression was rapid. And as strange as it may sound for a player that has been part of the Springbok setup since 2006, the player finally matured.
Evidence of this is quite easy for anyone to see. In 2011, Chiliboy Ralepelle started 7 out of the 12 games so far for the Bulls in Super rugby, the last of which was of course, the match against the Sharks in Durban where he came head-to-head with who many believe is the best hooker in the world, Bismarck du Plessis.
I don’t need to tell you, or even convince you who came out on top with opinions or statistics. For those who watched the game, but especially those who played in the game, the result was obvious. Statistics will show Ralepelle had an awesome game if you want to have a look at them, but of far greater importance was the recognition of his own team mates and coaching team following the match.
Chiliboy ended up in the Bulls private post-match awards ceremony with what Dewald Potgieter referred to as the ‘Tripple Crown’ of Bulls awards. He made the most tackles, got the award for the biggest hit as well as the prize for the player with the highest work rate.
Of course, one game is not enough to lay the ghosts of the last 5 years to rest, but it seems that finally his supporters for once can point to some cold hard facts of a performance on the park, where it mattered most and where he was up against the very best, and delivered. More importantly, it shows how important actual game time is for any player and hopefully, Chiliboy will be afforded much more in weeks to come.
Perhaps, just perhaps, after 5 years of promise, Chiliboy might just have announced himself to South African supporters as having finally arrived…

May 25th, 2011 at 10:44 am
Go Chili!!
May 25th, 2011 at 10:48 am
Great read Morne !!!
How Unions at Super-level and more sadly International Teams can play frontrowers younger than 25 – boggles the mind.
And Chili – given his ‘colour’ received a double whammy – sad indeed.
My hopes is that his body was not permanently skewed – and that we may indeed see him realising his potential !!!
Burn chili burn !!!
May 25th, 2011 at 11:19 am
he has a great season so far. always rated him. On form just behind Strauss right now even though some would argue Bismarck is the best as he also gets to run into brick walls with the ball all day.
Bismarck is “huge” they say. Too bad his hardly as effective as Chillie and Strauss has been?
May 25th, 2011 at 11:37 am
Awesome read Morne. I have always rated him and I believe that even if he isn’t having a good game he is one of the few players around that always plays with 200% heart and will always put his body on the line.
His commitment to the Bulls and their commitment to him is truly beautiful!
And I agree that last year was such a good decision on his and the management’s behalf.
GO CHILLI!!!!!
May 25th, 2011 at 12:36 pm
Goes to show
It is the on-field performance that maTTers.
Not spindoctoring from your agent/agents through the pre$$ or Parly.
Respect ChiLLy Respect!
May 25th, 2011 at 12:53 pm
Reply to WiLLem suPPorts ChEEtahs! @ 12:36 pm:
I agree.
May 25th, 2011 at 2:28 pm
Looking forward to Chilly vs Strauss, actually I think the game has a lot of potential to be a great game.
May 25th, 2011 at 3:07 pm
This weekend will tell us who is better…
There is STILL a Stormers game involving D Fourie which may also deliver some direction…
I like all local players performing…
GO CHILLI!
May 25th, 2011 at 8:40 pm
If the Bok management was astute as the Bulls management they would have let him play CC last year and then perhaps we would not have had to wait until now to see what he can do.
May 25th, 2011 at 8:45 pm
Can’t really judge a player on one game, especially not when his side has the upper hand.
That’s why I still reserve judgment on the Ebersohns, Jantjies and others.
Habana, on the other hand, is consistently poor – whether his team wins or loses.
Ditto Spies.
May 26th, 2011 at 2:47 am
Reply to JT_Stormers @ 10:44 am:
I gave him his kudos in another thread saying although I did not have the stats at hand… he had the busiest game I’d ever seen him play in his entire career…
Nice one Ralepelle… so now he’s had ONE world class game in 20 odd tests and over 40 Super games?
I won’t call him Roly-poly no more…
Ominous for Strauss now as he won’t make the RWC and he offers far more than any of the others behind Bismark and Smit…
May 26th, 2011 at 3:08 am
So let’s take a less emotional look at his stats for the game…
15 tackles with zero missed… is very good… Jaco Pretorius made the same (but missed one)… and he assisted with 4 in defence (something he often does as he rarely smashes an opponent back)…
But looking across the rest of them he had no impact too mention at all… and gave away a penalty…
A world-class hooker needs to be more than a tackling prop… they need to be explosive on the front-foot and back… and essentially perform every duty a fourth loose-forward would…
Ralepelle was non-existent with ball in hand… his handling count and passing was non-existent according to ruggastats… his cleaning out of rucks on own ball was half that of all the other performing hookers (including BDP)…
I did forget he turned over one ball… Jaco Pretorius turned over 3, Wynand 2, Bakkies and Matfield 1 also…
So no my friends… according to the stats he was no more than a tackling prop (methinks too many are desperate to prove him otherwise after all these years)…
And this is exactly why he does not rate as the choice hooker on Ruggastats with the likes of Tatafu (this round)… Strauss (twice), BDP (twice), Flyn (twice)…
May 26th, 2011 at 3:33 am
Whilst perusing the above stats… found a few interesting one’s in light of the game…
Sharks had most of the possession… had to make a staggering 50% less tackles than the Bulls, gained a staggering 50% more metres than the Bulls with a better (ball carries over gain-line…
Now interestingly both teams are pretty much even when it comes to the set-pieces and line-outs (Bulls a few % better)…
Bulls even gave away 7 more penalties… so just where and how was the game lost)
Bull’s tactical kicking was far more effective, they gained almost three times more metres than the Sharks (a huge 755m)… they made around 40% less handling errors and forced/unforced errors (but they did handle the ball around this % less)…
All of this points to a few interesting conclusions even if you didn’t watch the game…
Morne (and FDP) managed to kick themselves out-of-trouble/into-better-position far more effectively than Lambie (and McLeod)… Sharks have fokal clue what to do with all the ball-in-hand in a game… simply running half-heartedly into contact, not in pods or in unison… and they because of this don’t break the line, knock-on too much ball or have it pilfered… whilst the Bulls used their ball far more effectively…
Sommer ‘ofkap hoender running everything’ and pathetic disjointed pack unity in the tight-loose… strange both of these traits considering they have a ‘lauded by some’ Forwards Coach as their ‘head-coach’…
I’ve said this before… the dour Plum-for-brains is not the Head Coach he is lauded to be by some and we’re seeing a repeat of what happened at Wellington when he took over…
Sharks have gone from making the play-offs to ending 6th and have now dropped out of the 6 altogether…
Say no more…
May 26th, 2011 at 4:08 am
Bryce – those were insightful – so if we evaluate according to STATS alone the Sharks won this game handsdown?
THAT is my ‘problem’ with states-based arguments – yes states may give numbers of xyz – quantitative yet never qualitative !!!
Who is the most valuable player ???
The one with “all” the stats or the one who made that one try-saving tackle or missed that try-saving tackle (ala Spies)?
The one who turn ball over many times or the one with 1 turnover – that led to a try or prevented a try?
The player with 9 linebreaks isolating himself resulting mostly in trunoverball and stopped momentum – or the plodder that made none yet kept momentum that resulted in another player making a decisive line-break.
Looking at states in isolation and also ignoring fieldposition on impact in game-context is a waste of time in my opinion for coaches – very interesting and revelationary for supporters – but the foundation for quote – lies, more lies and damned states (or such)
And thanks Bryce, you yet again confirmed my own view on states in isolation.
May 26th, 2011 at 4:13 am
And yet . . . I find myself enthralled with states – like a moth to the candle flame . . . eish :shakehead:
May 26th, 2011 at 4:23 am
Reply to The Brand @ 4:08 am:
No not what I was stating above… based on just the stats alone… I could pretty much sum up where the game was won and lost… and upon viewing the game… the same can be seen… with a few extras thrown into the summation…
However I had watched the game before viewing the stats so whilst I did try to view to stats in isolation… there was probably a bit of taint…
May 26th, 2011 at 4:28 am
So what is this incessant drive for states – what needs does it address ?
Me thinks the need for measurement – so we can ‘objectively’ evaluate performance.
The need to ‘get a handle’ on the intangibles!
And ultimately – the need for continuous improvement!
Is there an alternative to quantitative states???
May 26th, 2011 at 4:29 am
Tireless defence and better use of front-foot ball won the Bulls that game on top of the better tactical kicking (755m gained to 250m)… add clue-less running and too many handling errors by the Sharks and there you have it…
Sharks just don’t have a plan B under PLumtree… so when opposition have worked out how to defend against them (and execute it well) and they continue to make handling/forced errors… they capitulate…
As against the Stormers (twice) and Bulls…
May 26th, 2011 at 4:33 am
Reply to The Brand @ 4:28 am:
Yep you summed it up succinctly in one sentence…
“to ‘objectively’ evaluate performance.”
A bit of ‘flash’ often causes viewers to forget or miss the ‘flaws’…
I think it was Morne who also once stated that stats are the ultimate benchmark for measuring an individuals performance whereby he (or coach) can evaluate their performance… (and I’m not talking just the on-field stats)…
May 26th, 2011 at 4:34 am
Hehehe speaking like a true blooded analyst
Yes – it is the quality of states and never a section of states in isolation that needs to be considered !
I was waiting for Morne’s reply – 4 o’clock in morning forgot your analytical view hahahaha
May 26th, 2011 at 4:39 am
Reply to The Brand @ 4:34 am:
Lol… I was wondering what you were doing up and about…
May 26th, 2011 at 4:40 am
I went to bed 10ish and woke at 2am – wide awake – tried to go back to sleep for hour or so – the took the blerry berry and viola blogging with you on other side of the world – friggin amazing !!!
May 26th, 2011 at 4:44 am
Reply to The Brand @ 4:40 am:
So it is… I could not live without technology (although sometimes the romantic in me thinks I both could and would)…
Anyways back to work for me… lunch-time ‘rugga-break’ over…
Have a great day mate…
May 26th, 2011 at 4:50 am
I have always been fascinated since early childhood with improvement – especially in the humanities.
And so the measuring of the ‘soft skills’ – the so-called ‘intangibles’.
Everyday was a coaching day in our childhood household – always – about what happened – what made the difference – how to improve – what to watch for – what to measure – what constitute a pattern – what small difference will leverage most effective results???
Today – I am fascinated with people – just living – day to day.
They are fooking half-dead to me !!! And yet they BELIEVE they have meaningful lives – amazing!
May 26th, 2011 at 4:52 am
Cheers
May 26th, 2011 at 5:05 am
Hehehehe.
Talk about technology – here we have two guys half a world apart chatting about the science/non-science of stats.
One on lunch, the other one wet his bed.
Fok, dis nogal koud vyfuur in die oggend in die Kaap.
See you when the sun shines.
May 26th, 2011 at 6:15 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 5:05 am:
Hahaha… en die derde ou-Baas in die Bo-Kaap wie se ‘piles’ seer is…
May 26th, 2011 at 8:28 am
Reply to The Brand @ 4:13 am:
Only one “state” that maTTers and thats the FrEEState!
May 26th, 2011 at 9:02 am
Reply to WiLLem suPPorts ChEEtahs! @ 8:28 am:
Damn Blackberry ‘auto-correct’ eh?
May 26th, 2011 at 9:04 am
Hehehe Boertjie, as ek geweet het jy’s wakker sou ek verder gesels het
WiLLem laat jy my terugdink aan army -” net 1 staat en dis die VrySTAAT !!!”
May 26th, 2011 at 9:10 am
Reply to bryce_shark_in_oz @ 4:33 am:
Indeed.
The problem I currently have with stats is that depending on what website you view, they are different.
A simple stat like tackle count on Chili for instance was out by two viewing 2 different websites!
It reminded me of what I said before that stats only ever means something if you have the ‘key’ to interpret the data. Similar to keys in graphs etc.
Every coach has a different ‘key’ and the same area of play, or stats, might mean something different from one coach to the next simply because of the team strategy, roles, game plan…
Now we all know what we saw in 80 minutes of rugby, but what clinched it for me was how the Bulls team themselves rated Chili’s play.
No-one knows these ‘contexts’ as stated above better than them, and effectively, they are the only ones that has the ‘key’ to interpret the stats correctly.
The article was based on two points.
a) Nothing beats consistent game time, you can only improve your play if you play. Chili is getting that and the results are there for all to see.
b) Chili has not ‘vindicated’ himself or his supporters, I believe he has announced his arrival at top flight rugby.
May 26th, 2011 at 9:15 am
Good article Morne. As usual a very informed, unbiased viewpoint. And pretty much spot on of course.
May 26th, 2011 at 9:16 am
Maar dis waar!
May 26th, 2011 at 9:20 am
As a matter of interest, I learned yesterday that Chili has actually been working with one Doc Calder in recent months…
May 26th, 2011 at 9:22 am
Reply to Morné @ 9:10 am:
I hope to see more of these performances from Ralepelle and then he’ll ‘finally’ be able to start moving up the hooker’s list ‘justifiably’…
Personally I don’t think he has the ‘speed’ around the paddock to be a bigger impact than he did in his best game to date…
I’ve been wrong a few times…
May 26th, 2011 at 9:24 am
Reply to Morné @ 9:20 am:
Maybe he could get Bruce (I think it was him) to work on his ‘explosiveness’?
Are all the Bulls working with Sheryl?
May 26th, 2011 at 9:28 am
Reply to bryce_shark_in_oz @ 9:22 am:
I think he is very much in the John Smit type of mould as a hooker – his all round play can improve considerably I reckon, and yes he needs that explosive edge.
Reply to bryce_shark_in_oz @ 9:24 am:
I will try and get Doc Calder to tell me which players she is working with – might be very interesting…
May 26th, 2011 at 9:29 am
My very first post on RW, I’m happy its about a sterling performance by Chilli, im still trying to figure out why he was subbed so early in the game.
May 26th, 2011 at 9:30 am
Reply to Morné @ 9:20 am: Isn’t it amazing that someone that is so obviously an asset is not on permanent retainer to SARU???
May 26th, 2011 at 9:31 am
Reply to MacToogie @ 9:29 am: Welcome to the enlightened side Mac.
May 26th, 2011 at 9:32 am
Reply to MacToogie @ 9:29 am:
Welcome !
Reply to Stormersboy @ 9:30 am:
Mate I have been shaking my head in disbelief for about 4 years now at how obvious some things are…
May 26th, 2011 at 9:33 am
Reply to Morné @ 9:32 am: I remember how they dropped her with the new staff coming on. Didn’t understand it then, still don’t.
May 26th, 2011 at 9:35 am
How about a team of the week type of thread on here Morne?
Or am I the only one who likes that sort of thing?
May 26th, 2011 at 9:38 am
Reply to Stormersboy @ 9:35 am:
Oh you mean the best performing guys from the past weekend?
May 26th, 2011 at 9:40 am
Reply to Morné @ 9:32 am: im still gobsmacked about them letting Os go from the coaching team, you cant buy that sort of experience!
May 26th, 2011 at 9:44 am
Reply to MacToogie @ 9:40 am:
There is something more to this Os story I believe – I don’t know what, people are keeping very quiet on the whole issue…
May 26th, 2011 at 9:46 am
Reply to Morné @ 9:38 am: Ja something like that. Based on the weekend’s performance.
A bit of work to be sure.
May 26th, 2011 at 9:47 am
Reply to Stormersboy @ 9:46 am:
I can always start something like that, just don’t ask Brenden (cheetahs are pumas dude on here) to do that though…
You will have WP Nel at fullback or something.
May 26th, 2011 at 9:49 am
I have a sneaking suspicion there was more to that ‘story’ than simply being on a bender… Boks had their most effective scrum last season (despite the results)…
Reply to Stormersboy @ 9:33 am:
Agreed… and of course Gerricke (the mental coach), Noakes and conditioning coach and went forward without a technical analysis pro… at least the latter two have been rectified… a case of ‘better late than never’…
Reply to Stormersboy @ 9:35 am:
The Ruggastats ‘team of the S15 week’ based on the best ‘stats’ performing 15 rarely does not select an XV that doesn’t look awesome on paper…
May 26th, 2011 at 9:53 am
Reply to Morné @ 9:44 am: but what though, it cant surely be that he had a drink, my thinking is that he is too close to the current crop of players and coaches like Muire doesnt want to lose hi “best buddy” tag as a coach
May 26th, 2011 at 9:53 am
good to see some new names here
Welcome!
On Os – IMO John Smit and Matfield have enough experience to work on the scrum/Line-out allthough it would be better to have a non-playing scrum coach. I would prefer Cobus Visagie instead of Os as that person.
On Os being fired – wasn’t there the problem with him going with some of the youngsters to the pub
when they were not supposed to? Jantjies IIRC was involved.
May 26th, 2011 at 9:55 am
Reply to bryce_shark_in_oz @ 9:49 am:
Good point, I will just post their team here!
May 26th, 2011 at 9:57 am
Reply to JT_Stormers @ 9:53 am:
Os is taking SARU to the CCMA…and word has it that SARU should write the cheque and prevent any further embarresment…………
May 26th, 2011 at 10:05 am
Welcome MacToogie – don’t hold back with these clever clots – give them your best shots often !!!
May 26th, 2011 at 10:07 am
Reply to JT_Stormers @ 9:53 am: Ta JT and others for the welcome, trying out a different blog for a change, the reason why i say Os is because the bloke has been to how many RWC’s and won 2 of them, so in that regard he knows what needs to be done to get the job done, but alas….
May 26th, 2011 at 10:09 am
Reply to The Brand @ 10:05 am: lol, thanks, i will try my best
May 26th, 2011 at 10:11 am
I’m just wondering for how long a scrum coach kan keep on teaching the same pack how to scrum?
At what stage should they be fully coached?
May 26th, 2011 at 10:13 am
Mac their stealth intimidation tactics are legendary – shoot them and shoot often and straight
May 26th, 2011 at 10:14 am
Reply to MacToogie @ 10:07 am:
I hope you stay here – you sound like someone that can talk and think about rugby instead of the usual insult one-line throwing muppetts on some other sites
I agree to a point but a good player does not always make a good coach – unfortunately name recognition gives them an edge when it comes to looking for a job
Os comes accross like such a nice guy and I wonder if he has the edge to tell a player like Smit he is not doing it right and should be dropped or telling Matfield to put in more of an effort etc. Too big a buddy-buddy system at the bokke at the moment for the tough decisions to be made.
PdV comes accross as a coach that wants to be everyones friend, Muir & Percy the same… We need a hardnosed MF to stir things up at the Bokke! Who can do that? Rassie?
May 26th, 2011 at 10:15 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 10:11 am: once they are coached they retire and go coach a scrum somewhere, its a clever cycle and a conspiracy i reckon to ensure that props around the world will always have a job =P
May 26th, 2011 at 10:15 am
Boertjie
Dom stutte en slotte – laaaaaaaaaaaaaank !!!
May 26th, 2011 at 10:16 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 10:11 am:
it is like a golf swing – for ever a work in progress!
The coach needs to develope as well as the players all the time.
May 26th, 2011 at 10:16 am
Never, rugby is a game that evolves all the time, which means your team has to as-well.
May 26th, 2011 at 10:18 am
Reply to Morné @ 10:16 am:
snap!
May 26th, 2011 at 10:20 am
Reply to JT_Stormers @ 10:14 am: i see your point on the buddy system in place at the moment but i hardly doubt Smit would allow it to affect the performance of the Boks though, i cant see that happening.
May 26th, 2011 at 10:22 am
JT my thinking as well – toooooo much farking “man-management” kak !!!
And it is not only at the Bokke.
It is THE disease of the latest generation 10 – 30 year olds !!!
Alles moet ‘lekker’ wees – almal moet ‘nice’ wees met hulle – as jy ‘lelik’ is met hulle is jy ook onbevoeg en kan geen waarde toevoeg nie – fok fok fok !!! Ahrrggggggggg
May 26th, 2011 at 10:31 am
Reply to MacToogie @ 10:20 am:
Mactoogie, Meet Brand…
Believe it or not, he is a mental coach…
May 26th, 2011 at 10:33 am
Reply to Morné @ 10:31 am: ok, good to know, thanks
May 26th, 2011 at 10:35 am
Reply to MacToogie @ 10:20 am:
it is hard enough for the coach to see a player that he has relied on for so long is losing his touch – how hard is it for said player to see he is losing his touch!?
May 26th, 2011 at 10:36 am
Reply to The Brand @ 10:22 am:
jirre Brand – relax boet, Don’t be so judgemental!! Change that question to a learner question and see what you come up with
May 26th, 2011 at 10:42 am
Reply to JT_Stormers @ 10:36 am:
but I understand your point. Being a doos all the time as a coach is also not good for the athlete and instills a fixed mindset and only being nice will also instill a fixed mindset which is bad for the athlete in the long run.
Like EVERYTHING in life – there must be a balance. Easier said than done! That Mindset book by Carol Dweck you MADE me read
is good in telling you what the problem is but very little in HOW to fix it
I have had some issue with certain players and am looking at ways I can guide them to more of a growth mindset and training regime but it does not tell me do step 1, 2 and 3 and now I have to think for myself
May 26th, 2011 at 10:43 am
Bwahahahaahaaa
Maybe Morne I should add/say Metal TOUGHNESS Coach – hahaha
Nog NOOIT soooo daaraan gedink vir bemarkings doeleindes nie bwahahahaa
1st time I kak the boys or parents out – they all cry off – sympathizing with each other about the ‘lelike’ Oom – eish.
And don’t for a moment think the mammies are the worst – the pappies is the pits – how dare I pull their future ‘springboks’ up – how dare I even subliminally presuppose that their ‘golden-boys’ need mental skills training or added toughness – I mean “god himself” gifted them abundantly with talents !!!
OK – that was my bitch for the week
hahaha
May 26th, 2011 at 10:44 am
Reply to JT_Stormers @ 10:35 am: i reckon before he got injured this last time JS was looking good on the field, with some more game time i reckon he will be back to his best.
May 26th, 2011 at 10:49 am
IMO it’s obvious for all to see the good work Os has done with the (excepting the front-row) extremely light pack… in fact the lightest in the comp…
And that extends to the work in the tight-loose… just look at what WP and his clone are doing…
In saying that… I’m don’t really feel that aggrieved he is not there now that other’s are brought into the fray…
I don’t condone the axing if it was simply malicious or with dodgy intent…
As for the incident… we can only speculate but whilst they were all out on the piss… Os was the only one to return after curfew and make a scene trying to get back into the hotel…
Like Gert Smal… he’ll be a huge asset to the Irish…
May 26th, 2011 at 10:50 am
Hehehe TJ
Bilksem jy my met my eie kak – bwahahaaa
Have you read the two books as one – Mindset and Change your Questions ?
They address the same issue !!!
(And the writers do not even realise it – which to me strengthen the point)
Like most books nowadays – the HOW is skimpy shared if at all – for the HOW you have to contact an expert
thanks Dweck and Adams !!!
May 26th, 2011 at 10:54 am
Reply to Morné @ 9:47 am:
“I can always start something like that, just don’t ask Brenden (cheetahs are pumas dude on here) to do that though…”
It will be a Lions/Reds mix every weekend
May 26th, 2011 at 10:54 am
Reply to The Brand @ 10:50 am:
ja – I have them both on my iPod and listen to them regularly to look for answers or refresh…
Drive is also good.
May 26th, 2011 at 11:00 am
Doesn’t John Smit know enough about scrumming by now to take over from Os?
I mean he has covered the whole front row.
Os only played loose head.
This way they can solve several problems:
Smit leads the team from the bench.
He coaches the scrum.
To keep sharp, he subs for 10 minutes as hooker, LH, TH.
We play the best hooker at #2.
On current form that is Andries Strauss.
May 26th, 2011 at 11:13 am
Great – I refer and use both books with nearly every client I work with now – the books are that important to me. And “as one book” even more valuable.
Drive “as one book” with Influencer (by Patterson and 4 others) – is also incredible.
My latest mission which started last year is the “talent” myth – 4 awesome books there are: Outliers by Gladwell – Bounce by Syed – Talent is Overrated by Colvin – and The Talent Code by Coyle. They all follow in the footsteps of Anders Ericsson writing about the process toward mastery in all domains.
May 26th, 2011 at 11:18 am
Boertjie that makes sense to me as well. Same with NZ prop playing for Rebels now (name slip) they ‘have to be’ able to provide more insight – than purely for and against experience !!!
May 26th, 2011 at 11:23 am
Reply to The Brand @ 11:18 am:
To add to my (somewhat tongue in cheek) argument:
How much has the scrum involved since Os last played in 2007?
I mean the scrum and scrum laws seems to evolve with each referee.
May 26th, 2011 at 11:31 am
JT and when you realise the Talent myth’s link with Fixed/Judger Mindset and it’s counter effect on Growth/Learner Mindset – a whole new level of understanding opens up!
Then cognizance of need to be in Growth knowing which Mindsets others are/may be in – you can influence much more effectively applying Drive and Influencer !!!
Always being aware that it is not Either/Or but Both/And in a range of behaviour on the Continuum.
And that everyone is in process according to their structure and style – which are meta to their behaviour.
May 26th, 2011 at 11:36 am
Reply to The Brand @ 11:31 am:
all good and agree/understand the links – i just need to figure out how best to approach certain players with these issues in such a way to get them on track and change their questions and not shy them away from the club.
You work with people that know there is a problem and want to work on it – mostly!? I work with guys that don’t think there is a problem with them but with everyone else…
May 26th, 2011 at 11:38 am
Hehehe Boertjie when I do not see smileys my meta-program kicks in and I seriously reply. Hahaha
Ja – every Ref has his own rulebook. Watching a game last week where Ref tells 9 to put the ball straight in – 9 feeds skew (as norm these days). NOTHING !!!
Next scrum same command by Ref – same play by 9 NOTHING! After a few scrums my mother of 74 asks – why does Referee say that and then don’t take action when not done?
Wat moet ek haar antwoord???
May 26th, 2011 at 11:54 am
Reply to The Brand @ 11:18 am:
One of the reasons they have selected 14 past captains into their midst…
May 26th, 2011 at 11:58 am
WeLL ou SploegskAAr
Why do Pro Golfers have a “swingCoach”?
In a rugby team you have the 8 bodies in the scrum and the match 22 reserves and the also rans that trains as part of the extended squad.( and….. OK let me not go there
They aLL nEEd to work together in order to rumble up anuDDa scrum
Then you have a lot of refs- usuaLLy backlines Ars… askies fairies that aLL have the nEEd to bLow… so they blow that whistle come scrumtime inceSSantly – based on “laws” that the IRB kEEp sucking thumb on.
Maybe- just maybe a fuLL time scrumCoach isnt such a bad idea at aLL if RugbyUnion is your fancy.
May 26th, 2011 at 11:59 am
JT – the Autonomy aspect in Drive is amazingly left out in Influencer book. Mastery and Purpose is covered – as – Ability and Motivation in Influencer.
Yet what drive missed is the STRUCTURE for Change to happen effectively.
To influence Change – three contexts need to be addressed (according to Influencer and I agree)
1 – Personal
2 – Social
3 – Structural
So if we ‘translate’ that to rugby it would be 1 Player – 2 Team – 3 Management/Environment.
That gives us the following – grid – of 9 boxes to address for effective Change:
1 – Player: Autonomy + Mastery/Ability + Purpose/Motivation
And then same for 2 and 3
Most Parents/Teachers/Coaches think when they have addresses one or even two of the 9 boxes the player/child should change – and the is frustrated when they do no experience effective change-results.
By addressing ALL 9 – or as many as possible you increase your chances of changed-results amazingly.
Tooooo laborious ???
In beginning – for sure – as with any new/unaccustomed skill.
But – once you have moved through the Levels of Competence to reach Conscious Competence it is simply magic!!!
May 26th, 2011 at 12:00 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 11:23 am:
Ok me bad
maybe I should read the “Whole” thread first
May 26th, 2011 at 12:04 pm
Bryce @ 85
14 past Captains – bliksem – who was the brains behind THAT ?
Brilliant – now to mold them into ONE thinking-acting TEAM !!!
HKGK next year !!!
May 26th, 2011 at 12:07 pm
Hehehe Willem Boertjie should have added MANY smileys. If he was fishing he got us both !!! Hahaha
May 26th, 2011 at 12:08 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 12:07 pm:
Ja die blixim is sOOs ‘n jaKKals party dae
May 26th, 2011 at 12:10 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 11:59 am:
thanks ou boet! Your tips are always much appreciated and I will keep you up to date with my progress as usual
PS: I have another success story at the club – a player that came from another club came here as a winger lacking in a lot of basic skill. He has been coming to EVERY training, hanging on my every word… I have spoken to him a few months ago and told him that he is improving but as a winger he won’t get much game time in my team – just too many good players but I see him more as a blind side flanker or even lock.
So he started hitting the gym and we have been working on his basics. After a few months he is starting in the 1st Team 22 man squad as flanker and after 2 games (1 went well the other not so) he was at training the next day busting a gut to prove to himself (not me) himself that he deserves to be in that 1st team!
Man I wish all my players had his mindset!
He is my candidate for Most Improved player this season!
May 26th, 2011 at 12:20 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 12:07 pm:
Reply to WiLLem suPPorts ChEEtahs! @ 12:08 pm:
Not really fishing. Airing some of my frustrations re scrums, John Smit etc.
Snor is a weakling as coach and needs Smit more than Smit needs him.
So make him manager and scrum coach, tour captain, whatever.
But play the best hooker in the tough WC games.
And right now that is not Bismarck either.
Now pick your own smiley.
May 26th, 2011 at 12:22 pm
Reply to JT_Stormers @ 12:10 pm:
Those are the guys I admire. And he’s probably out of pocket to play amateur rugby.
Give the man a Bell’s!
May 26th, 2011 at 12:24 pm
JT – friggin awesome – they are GOLD !!!
I am always – almost – scared to coach such players – players who do the internal integrating right there right now – with full-out effort and appropriate attitude.
It’s as if one have to be extra careful – because at end of the session they DO walk out a changed person
With most you know it is a tedious slow process of chipping away and shaping and bending over loooong period of time – constantly checking which pearl of wisdom from the many you share – they took – as valuable and are working on.
Always affording you time for corrections and adjustments.
Not so with the GOLD
May 26th, 2011 at 12:31 pm
Boertjie – I second that !!!
And give the Coach a Bells too
So you were NOT fishing ???
Hahaha “Now pick your own smiley.”
May 26th, 2011 at 12:34 pm
Reply to bryce_shark_in_oz @ 9:02 am:
hehehe
Yip Bryce
WiLL have to do a Orakeleze aPPlet
May 26th, 2011 at 12:34 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 12:20 pm:
May 26th, 2011 at 12:41 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 12:24 pm:
I know what you mean – being extra careful – at that moment he is giving his all at training and you notice he is on a mission it could go both ways.
Managing that is risky but even if it goes the “other” way he is/has proven to be the type of player that will learn from it and keep on giving his all!
I will have to take the time and have a 1 on 1 session for EACH AND EVERY player and intorduce that 9 box/grid strategy with all of them and keep tabs on them…
Only way to move forward as a unit – get it all out in the open.
May 26th, 2011 at 12:50 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 11:59 am:
The Infleuncer!? Is that the book by Patterson, Grenny and Maxfield?
May 26th, 2011 at 12:51 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 11:00 am:
You tell them lolololololol.
Jeez what were you doing out of bed so early on a freezing very windy rainy morning.
I agree about Chillie and some of the players, you cant judge them suddenly as brilliant after one game, no make that even after a few games, they have to prove themselves consistently then when they have blapsies its ok because then you know that they do actually have the goods and are just in a bad phase, as for Habana, i cant remember when he was last outstanding, even his last season at the Bulls was not very good.
May 26th, 2011 at 12:54 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 12:20 pm:
May 26th, 2011 at 1:01 pm
Yea JT – the joy and peril of coaching rolled in one!
I have used the 9-grid with Strategy, Tactics and Behaviour.
The book Influencer focused mostly on behaviour – as to them behaviour is the defining aspect that needs to change for change to be experienced.
So I also believe we can use 9-grid for individual and team aspects.
It is a very nifty and also comprehensive way of doing Perspective Pattern also referred as Wisdom Pattern – where each person has to change perceptual positions from viewing an aspect/behaviour to change.
Where the 5 perspective viewpoints are
1 – Me,
2 – You,
3 – 3rd person/Observer,
4 – System-view,
5 – God’s/Universe/Big System view.
Same principle – different method.
I like the 9-grid – it seems players find it less personal/psychology !!!
I promise you once a player had to firstly propose Questions from each position – on how from that position his behaviour effects himself and everybody else in the team – with ONLY the questions written down – he would have change already!!!
When he proposes answers to his OWN questions – most of the change work inertia is addressed. Then it simply becomes – HOW do we implement the changes? !!!
May 26th, 2011 at 1:02 pm
Yes JT – that is the book Influencer.
May 26th, 2011 at 1:07 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 1:01 pm:
coming back to the 3 blocks:
Autonomy + Mastery/Ability + Purpose/Motivation
What is the difference between Autonomy & Purpose/Motivation? Aren’t they basically the same thing?
May 26th, 2011 at 1:15 pm
Reply to JT_Stormers @ 1:07 pm:
basic questions – let me know if I am on the right track, I will re-write them later but this gives the idea I am planning:
Self:
– What drives you?
– What is your ability you rate highest/lowest?
– What is your purpose/motivation playing rugby?
Team:
– What do you think drives the team, what should drive the team?
– How can you best use your ability to help the team?
– How do you motivate the team, how can you add purpose to the team.
Structure/Club:
– What do you think is the clubs drive and what should it be?
– How can the club help bring out the best in your and the teams ability
– How can the club motivate the team more?
Am I on the right track?
Getting answers from players on all 9 boxes might just bring the player, team/coach and club a step in the SAME direction
May 26th, 2011 at 1:25 pm
Nope – Autonomy the way I understand and use it has to do with: 1 where the Authority lies – Locus of Control/Authority and 2 can the person perform on own (respons-able) and take accountability for performance. The What-If / What-Then and WHO of behaviour.
Motivation/Purpose has to do with the drive / reason / intention – to perform. The WHY of behaviour.
Ability/Mastery – the HOW of behaviour.
The confusion – I think – arise with speaking about Internal vs External motivation. Where the two may get blurred.
I like the defined split – and mostly for the sake of Accountability. Where needed I do the Locus of Authority Pattern.
It is very difficult to expect somebody to be motivated / act on purpose / intention – yet he is not responsible and not accountable for results.
Without the Accountable (Autonomy) distinction – the blame-game and excuse-game has a very strong foothold in team sports and relationships.
May 26th, 2011 at 1:31 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 1:25 pm:
Without the Accountable (Autonomy) distinction – the blame-game and excuse-game has a very strong foothold in team sports and relationships.
May 26th, 2011 at 1:31 pm
Yes JT absolutely on right track – see difference between Autonomy and Motivation above. Thus add your 1st and 2nd questions together – with Autonomy for behaviour question (accountablity/responsability) at 1st question place.
Bliksem die gaan amazing wees !!!
Sorry off to change some young minds for rest of afternoon
cheers till later.
May 26th, 2011 at 1:33 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 1:31 pm:
Thank you! Thank you! thank you!
One day we will get you here – @Ollie!! Ons moet ‘n plan maak!
May 26th, 2011 at 1:42 pm
Reply to Treehugger-shark @ 12:51 pm:
Had a dream about you, thought you’re on the site, looked and only found Bryce and Brand.
No, my granddaughter (22 months) decided she had had enough sleep. Took her mother almost two hours before the TV to get her back to bed.
Clever little tart she is – told her mother she wanted milk to get her out of bed.
May 26th, 2011 at 3:41 pm
Reply to JT_Stormers @ 1:33 pm:
Would love to but I am so gatvol of the club umming and awing about this.
They can contact me when they are ready now
May 26th, 2011 at 3:54 pm
Reply to Ollie_ Shark Attack @ 3:41 pm:
I know the deal – I am the club ummming and awwwing
Ons is amper platsak
en het ‘n wonderwerk nodig as ons folgende saison will speel in die 1ste en 2de liga’s. Hulle will nou 6 games meer maak folgende saison!! En ons travel elke keer 500+km!!
May 26th, 2011 at 5:48 pm
Reply to JT_Stormers @ 3:54 pm:
My most sincere empathies.
Played a game in Grootfontein last weekend. Drove 22 players & two coaches there in 3 bakkies (Africa, no public transport remember) – 450km there & 450km back. I used my bakkie and wanted to be back the same day and not sleep over. 10 hours in the saddle for 1 rugby game – crazy!
May 26th, 2011 at 6:12 pm
JT – I meant 1st and 3rd question together – they both address Motivation/Purpose. sorry
I like what you intent !!!
May 26th, 2011 at 6:24 pm
I had two awesome sessions today. 1st with 3 matrics in nets – cricket and the 1-1 with one matric ID-ing his fingerprint unique learning style – nailing it !!!
The 3 in nets session has been coached by me for about 3 months once a week for an hour. The last two sessions has been mind-blowing – you know the saying “ek is so goed ek kan dit toe-oe doen”?
Well I challenged them to bat with closed eyes – at first closing their eyes after ball pitched and then earlier and earlier – two of them progressed to closing their eyes when ball has left my hand about a meter – and still MIDDLED the shots !!!!!!
Heeeehaaaaa a mindf*ck if ever there was one – left me speechless !!!
May 26th, 2011 at 6:29 pm
Evidence of the power of States in performance !!!
Sooooo beautiful !
I can’t wait for cricket season to start in July.
May 26th, 2011 at 6:42 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 6:24 pm:
OK Brand, as jou broek weer skoon is kan jy ons meer vertel.
May 26th, 2011 at 7:09 pm
Hehehe Boertjie I always aspire for excellence and despite my best efforts am always left with a feeling of what-if this or that.
I normally want to do too much too soon. So this time round I was fortunate to have a 1st team coach who after my info-session said I may progressed as slow as I need – except with one player – from whom he expect me to do magic and effect change ASAP.
I did ‘magic’ to such an extend that the coach
said – great now can you find the middle ground because he is now tooo exact and precise – he wants a bit ‘malkop’ back.
Hahahaha can please all the people all the time :-).
Thereafter I worked with 4 boys in cricket and 1 cricketer in rugby.
The cricketers progress sloooowly and very deliberately – to reach a stage where they are able to apply State-Management
near ‘perfect’ during batting.
And they are able to manage themselves internally to such an extend that they “know” and fully “trust” themselves to middle the ball closed-eyed. A near ‘impossible’ concept in cricket.
Hahaha not anymore.
It is not the aim to bat close-eyed – it is simply a tool to achieve the level we need to manage themselves internally!!!
May 26th, 2011 at 7:27 pm
The youngest of the 4 is only 16.
He is one of the ‘scary to coach’ players – an amazing ability to internalize and integrate what we work with right there and then.
The changes is as aimed not only on the sport fields – but also across his life. The first aimed change was noticed by his parents – he changed toward his schoolwork and started doing homework and studying on his own accord – giving up several opportunities to ‘enjoy’ himself but chose to give it up and stay at home to work on his school stuff.
Now THAT alone is mind blowing !!!
His cricket abilities was exceptional – now with the added mental abilities – he should be amazing! He is abit ‘behind’ the matrics – started 1 month later.
But after two net-sessions – I know he will also make the leap !!!
May 26th, 2011 at 7:36 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 6:24 pm:
What was their reaction when they hit the ball?
May 26th, 2011 at 8:08 pm
The first player – was in 1-1 net-session.
We were both in seriaas doubt to the possibility of even hitting the ball at all.
First ball he hit – he opened his eyes and simply looked at me shaking his head. I kaked him out because he was supposed to keep them closed and give me feedback about where he wanted to hit the ball and where the ball actually went.
My main first purpose was to get them to know instantaneously – where – the ball goes and how the ball goes JUST from the kineastetic feel of ball on bat. Hence the uit-kak.
The second ball he middled the best I have ever seen him do – he opened his eyes and said “Oom kan my maar uit-kak – maar kan ek asseblief daardie hou my State of Excellence trigger maak?”
I looked at him dumbstruck he looked at me silently – loooong pregnant pause – and then we just burst out laughing – shakking our heads.
Over the next 16 balls he himself adjusted until he closed his eyes with ball a meter after departure from my hand. I was unaware of this – still thinking he closes only after ball hit the pitch.
He walked towards me and said “Oom dis die magic waarvan Oom altyd gepraat het” and then only told me how he closed his eyes earlier and earlier.
We took some time to regain our composure – and deliberating how and if we should share this with the other 3 and the coaches.
The rest as they say is history.
May 26th, 2011 at 8:14 pm
With the next net-session the ice was broken – and I simply matter of fact told the other two what happened the day before and that we are now also now going to do it.
They doubting followed my instructions – and preempted uit-kak if they also opened their eyes before the time.
Six balls later he looked up and said “fok Oom dis scary!”
The 3rd boy had similar reactions – he was the most ‘timid’ of the three and just kept on smiling from ear to ear !!!
May 26th, 2011 at 8:17 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 6:12 pm:
I figured as much
Like your cricket story
coaching has its perks
May 26th, 2011 at 8:32 pm
Brand, you accomplished the light-bulb moment with these kids.
Mate know one thing, you are changing lives and perceptions!
Keep up you work and never lose your passion.
May 26th, 2011 at 8:49 pm
Thanks Morne.
The possibilities are endless – now I am looking forward to the games.
The three matrics bat 3 – 4 – 5 we are awaiting total middle order dominance
The grade 10 is a 4-bat – but I am canvassing wildly that he bat 6 rest of season – can you imagine THAT 3 4 5 and 6
HKGK
May 26th, 2011 at 9:27 pm
Reply to The Brand @ 8:49 pm:
Great stuff.
I don’t even get good results planting vegetables.
May 26th, 2011 at 9:28 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 9:27 pm:
Bwahahahaha
Dis kak snaaks, net omdat ek ook begin het met veggie garden en ek suig daarin, maar ek gaan aanhou probeer!!!
May 26th, 2011 at 9:40 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 9:27 pm:
Reply to Morné @ 9:28 pm:
Hehehe
Skink ‘n ou rOOietjie en lEEs hoe die klomp kAAskoPPe gesuKKel het om die Kompanjie’s Tuine aan die gang te kry
May 26th, 2011 at 9:41 pm
Yip Brand
Kan mAAr net Mier & Oudste echo
May 26th, 2011 at 9:44 pm
terwyk on ligkins braNnerEEr
hier is ‘n topic
NPOESS Weather Satellites: From Crisis to Program Splits
Satellite NPOESS
NPOESS (click to view full)
$400M+ kicks off military DWSS project fork. (May 24/11)
The National Polar-orbiting Observing Satellite System (NPOESS) was a joint program of the Department of Defense, Department of Commerce and NASA to replace less sophisticated weather satellites that are expected to fail over the next several years. It would help develop 3-7 day weather forecasts for civilian and military purposes, including weather like hurricanes, tornadoes, etc. Unfortunately, the program ended up billions over budget, and 6 or more years late. Some gaps in coverage are possible during that time, if enough older satellites fail.
In November 2005 testimony given at a House of Congress Science Committee hearing, the Administrator of NOAA and the Undersecretary of the Air Force promised new cost and schedule estimates and policy options, as well as fuller and more rapid information. NPOESS was openly described as “a program in crisis.” Just under 5 years later, that crisis came to an end with a program split into civilian (JPSS) and military (DWSS) systems…
Anyone interested in SaTtelite technology?
May 26th, 2011 at 9:55 pm
Reply to WiLLem suPPorts ChEEtahs! @ 9:40 pm:
Ek gaan hom maak werk!!!
May 26th, 2011 at 9:56 pm
Reply to Morné @ 9:55 pm:
cOOl
Jou tuin en Oudste sin kry seker nie dieseLLe wind nie?
May 26th, 2011 at 10:20 pm
Reply to WiLLem suPPorts ChEEtahs! @ 9:56 pm:
Nee, hy bly in Skelmsbos (Maties land) en ek bly in Tornado Ally (Simonstad area).
May 26th, 2011 at 10:38 pm
Reply to Morné @ 10:20 pm:
Nie Stellenbosch nie, maar nader as jy – wat aan die gatkant van die Skiereiland bly.
Ek sal baie geld maak as ek met slakke begin boer.
Maar ons het die kakste, olierige sandgrond. Jy moet omtrent alles uitry en grond en bemesting inry.
En ek het nie eens ‘n kruiwa nie, newwermaaind ‘n bakkie.
May 27th, 2011 at 7:28 am
WiLLem, Boertjie, Morne – dankie !!!
Ek is nie net bevoorreg dat die jongmanne aan my toevertrou word nie – maar blessed dat ek dit ook met julle kan deel.