Bismarck’s reaction was despicable

August 22, 2011
Posted by Morné

The following column are the thoughts of Kate Nokwe and re-published here with her kind permission.

In(track)suit

The Springboks saved face to the delight of a nation whose ‘ego’ could not afford any more bruising. The stands at the Nelson Mandela Stadium in PE roared. Much like a small sports club situated at the heart of the Border Bulls dogs home in East London did in 2007, after a mere 15 points proved enough to own the rights to lifting the much coveted Webb Ellis Trophy.

At long last our men in Green and Gold gave us something to smile about (if only for a weekend). ‘Restoring’ the pride of a nation that has this elusive thing called pride in all sort of bags.

For many South Africans this country, this over-sized – yet communal community, these men running on these fields – whether it be a cricket, a white elephant stadium, a swimming pool where young hearts’ pride carries them through. Let it be a track field where the word obstacle is just another motivating fact to keep fighting. Yes, to many SAffers the pride of this nation is a prized possession.

Oh never mind the ‘special cases’ who bodily place their pride in a black jersey (it’s their decision). The ones who trash and tarnish our name at every corner. Do excuse the ignorant souls who fully embrace ‘the ends justifies the means’ approach. That is all minor compared to the SAffer who celebrate Bok Day, misses Football Fridays (because the new kit is just kak). Look at the ones who welcomed Graeme Smith with opens arms even after ‘deserting’ them. That’s the SAffer who has your back. The long-suffering SAffer who knows where this country has been and thanks the Lord for what it could be. That’s the brother who will paint a stranger’s house to honour a man he has never seen anywhere other than his TV screen and would probably never meet.

That’s the one whose pride for South Africa will never waver. That’s the one to look at. The one who raised his glass an notch higher when George Clancy blew his Irish whistle signalling a ‘no whitewash’. That SAffer exists in many households. That’s me. I didn’t raise mine (not right there and there anyway for I was working) but I did jump out of my chair half-way to the ceiling, screamed my lungs out in celebratory manner that on an average day would’ve had the neighbours rushing in, only not today because they had just caused ear-drum damage themselves.

However, I couldn’t ignore the terrible taste in my mouth left by Bismarck du Plessis as he made his way to the bench, after John Smit called to sub him. I have never been less impressed with a pro-athlete. As I tweetted I’m a huge du Plessis’ brother’s fan. That said, I have always and will forever raise the sportsmanship flag first and foremost (that is why Indian skipper MS Dhoni is one of my favourite people).

In his Front Row Grunt blog Sport24 publisher Tank Lanning took the words out of my mouth saying “Bismarck du Plessis’ reaction to being hooked for John Smit, no matter the situation, was despicable. Sure he had enjoyed an excellent game, and had just been instrumental in sneaking a tighthead against the All Blacks, but what was he expecting – a full 80 minutes? That smacks of disharmony in the team, and management are going to have to sort that out quickly”.
While Tanks’ blog (read HERE) goes into a bit of detail on who is a better hooker is, this is not about that.

Please understand I am not disputing that the youngest du Plessis had an incredible run, and is arguably the best hooker we have (if not in the world) he does however needs a serious attitude adjustment…..and fast!

You may join the number of sport lovers on Twitter who have done everything but slay me for the above statement, saying he was justified, kindly accept that I have to disagree. I do admire and appreciate his passion for play and to want to win. But when passion is placed before respect is it useless. Best hooker in the world or not, his attitude did not honour that status. It didn’t serve the game, disrespected management who made the call. Undermined his long-standing captain and it most certainly didn’t honour the sportsmanship code which I value beyond any talent.

I have been a ‘below-amateur’ athlete since primary school and today most of my Saturday are spent at a volleyball court in University of JHB colours, while on Sunday afternoons I don my soccer boots for NCC. My (volleyball) captain has never warmed the bench while I’m on court (thank God). But we have butted heads when she pulls a look of disappointment to her players. I’ve missed training and coach punishes me by putting on someone else in my spot. I don’t always approve, and sometimes throw my toys. But at the end of the day in team-sport no one is bigger that the code.

With the weight of criticism (already) sitting heavily on his (massive) shoulder, dare imagine how learning that his own team-mate has no faith in him must’ve made him feel. He’s the captain. Whether we choose to question, accept that or not. Fact is he IS the captain. The one given the responsibility to lead. Placed in authority by people who trusts in his leadership. Oh never mind that it was his last (ever) test match on home soil!

Jannie received the same fate, only the older du Plessis was a good sport about it. I can only hope big brother can remind Bismarck that sport – especially team-sport – has no room for unprofessional, immature brats, regardless of ‘standings’

Rugby pundit Morgan Piek summed it up nicely when he said “Bismarck reaction was nothing less then pathetic and immature. I have Never seen John Smit react like that when he replaces John Smit on 60 minutes. That is why John Smit is our super captain and that is why John Smit is the starting hooker”

In pride, there are just some lines one doesn’t cross. And in my eyes (whether intended or not) Bismarck du Plessis jumped over this one and that should not be unacceptable.

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

Tags: , ,

28 Comments

1. The MindBok The Brand says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 6:49 pm Reply to this comment

Sadly Bismarck’s behaviour was/is normal for the Bok Team (and our Super Teams)

Zero ability to effectively and efficiently manage their States.

2. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 6:53 pm Reply to this comment

Was BDP reacting like that because it was Smit… or simply as he didn’t want to leave yet and play his first full 80mins or close to…

I don’t think it was the former but the latter…

Bench was used much better this week… and in light of the long tournament ahead and how vital it is to have BDP there over Ralepelle… even more so…

3. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 6:56 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 6:53 pm:

Ralepelle will play his part too against the lesser sides… pity it isn’t Strauss though…

4. The MindBok The Brand says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 7:02 pm Reply to this comment

Bryce to me Bissy is a little boy – 2-4 years old emotionally – used to having his tantrums attended to and appeased !!!

5. The MindBok The Brand says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 7:05 pm Reply to this comment

Bro Jannie “don’t pull my hair” – is not much better :-(

6. Morné Morné says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 7:07 pm Reply to this comment

For the record, the heading is mine, Kate was way too kind with hers imo.

Also, I rate the player (Bissie) immensely, but this is not the issue at hand here.

Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 6:53 pm:

Fact is mate, it was a team (management) decision, Bismarck is still part of this team, and as a player respect its decisions. It is not about Bismarck and what he wants.

His reaction was extremely poor.

7. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 7:13 pm Reply to this comment

But when passion is placed before respect it is useless.

:yeahright:

8. The MindBok The Brand says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 7:16 pm Reply to this comment

Morne you are being kind !

It was PATHETIC and CHILDISH – showing his core-character !!!

9. gsp27 gsp27 says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 7:19 pm Reply to this comment

Well his reaction was off, but I dont think its fair to him to replace him, he hasnt played a lot before the WC and that extra few minutes couldve came in good for him (and us) at the RWC.

Then again neither of us knows what was said to him before the game, I mean maybe Div told him he’ll get a game!

Dont slay a player because we dont know what was the reasons, ya it was bad, but think the okes passion to play for his country also played a part!

10. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 7:20 pm Reply to this comment

I’ve never seen Bakkies or any other Bok
    reacting in this despicable manner.
    I thought it was just me, but I see it
    goes wider.
    Saying he just wanted to keep on enjoying
    the test cuts no mustard.
    And I’m not even a Smit fan.

11. gsp27 gsp27 says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 7:25 pm Reply to this comment

I meant maybe diff said hell play the full 80min

12. Timeo Timeo says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 7:35 pm Reply to this comment

Kate should find something else to do with her time, the article is unreadable.

Reply to Boertjie @ 7:20 pm:

Few other Boks have to share game time over such a long period with players of such relative inferiority. You yourself has said many times that “Barney” is useless and should retire. Bismarck just gave visuals to what most fans were thinking anyway.

13. Morné Morné says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 7:39 pm Reply to this comment

A thought…

When Luke Watson showed (said) quite publicly what thousands thought deep inside, was that right?

14. Kat Kat says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 7:57 pm Reply to this comment

I can fully appreciate that Bismarck is gatvol with the Smit situation. I am too. No matter the outcome of this RWC I will always remember it as the one where Smit couldn’t find it in himself to stand aside to give others (Bismarck and Chiliboy) a chance. I cannot help but see him as a selfish person who’s willing to risk his reputation for more glory.

Bismarck should have handled it better, but he’s been extremely patient with the Smit situation to date. Few would have been as patient.

This is my view (warts and all).

15. Kat Kat says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 8:04 pm Reply to this comment

Even the best of leaders have a shelf life, and the best amongst them know when they’ve reached it and should stand aside. Smit is pressing his term in the red and in my opinion damaged his reputation. If we did not have other leaders and/or hookers I can appreciate this, but that is most definitaly not the case. Andrian Strauss on both counts are now a better oprion and he’s out in the cold.

16. Timeo Timeo says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 8:29 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 7:39 pm:

Similar situation for me.
    For players to let their opinions be known like that is unwise but I’ll cut them some slack if I think they have a point.

Bismarck has been doing the team spirit thing for several years. Saturday was a great opportunity to recognize this and reward him with a full game. Allow him to be on the field when the siren goes. Instead he was subbed right after getting a tighthead. Some reward?

17. Morné Morné says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 8:32 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Kat @ 8:04 pm:

And if he lifts the RWC in 2 months time?

18. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 8:56 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 7:39 pm:

Apart from some on the Cape Flats I don’t know
    of anyone that wants to kots on a Bok jersey.
    And they probably won’t even go that far.
    Exchange it for a papsak maybe.

And Puke wasn’t just anybody. Pity he didn’t say
    no when he was selected with a political motive.

19. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 9:04 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Timeo @ 7:35 pm:

Agree with your views on the article and the way it was
    presented.
    I soon skipped to the bold part.

But Bismarck should have known how this would
    reflect on him and the team spirit.
    Some tact was required.
    He failed.

You don’t do your fights in public for the
    whole rugby world to see.

Maybe het thought Barney will be one of those
    useless replacements when there is 40 seconds
    left on the clock.

20. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 9:06 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 8:32 pm:

:muahaha:

21. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 9:19 pm Reply to this comment

NEW THREAD UP ON THIS ISSUE.

22. Kat Kat says:
    August 22nd, 2011 at 9:20 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 8:32 pm: I’ll still feel the same. Why not give someone else the opportunity to do so? Smit was there already, but he wants two.

23. Mug Punters Organisation of South Africa Kevin_rack says:
    August 23rd, 2011 at 5:07 am Reply to this comment

What Kak, a player that shows passion and shows that he did not want to be subsitituted is fair. He wants and that is a lot better than some over paid show ponies.

Passion and Pride, well done Bismarck, I respect you more now.

24. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    August 23rd, 2011 at 6:33 am Reply to this comment

Reply to The Brand @ 7:02 pm: Reply to Morné @ 7:07 pm:

Oh couldn’t agree more… whether it was because of the person replacing him (which I doubt) or want to stay-on… the petulance in that response was down-right pathetic!

Management for once used their bench extremely well, the game maintained and upped the tempo with the substitutions… opposition scored zero more points whilst they did… and they risked no further injuries to their starting players heading into the RWC… that’s what 22man 85min rugby is!

25. out wide out wide says:
    August 23rd, 2011 at 6:36 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Kevin_rack @ 5:07 am: You post some good comments, Kevin but can’t agree with you here. I was amazed by Bismarck’s bad attitude. At the time, I thought, hell imagine if he was a Wallaby or an AB doing this? Look at what they do with guys like Giteau and O’Connor when they misbehave.

I, like many others, respect Bismarck less now. If you are not big enough to swallow your pride when substituted, I would say you become a disruptive influence in the side. Bismarck is a great player but like Bakkies, he can let his emotions run away sometimes. He needs to pull his head in for the sake of the team and the jersey -like Bakkies seems to have.

Having said all this and perhaps in Bismarck’s defence, I wonder whether the coaches had alerted him to the fact that he was only going to play 60mins? The decision to sub him did seem to come as a hell of a surprise to the guy?

26. Bekke Bekke says:
    August 23rd, 2011 at 8:55 am Reply to this comment

Bismarck is a real snotty, 5-year old Mamma’s boy. All his comemnts have hidden threaths of tantrums (e.g. if the Sharks do not play me AND my brother, we will both pack our bags and leave…). Grow up farthead!

27. namboer namboer says:
    August 23rd, 2011 at 11:51 am Reply to this comment

Interesting views, very interesting.
    Also didn’t read the whole arti – saw the author was a woman (no disrespect, just thought she might not know all of the issue at hand) and it’s too long. And she quoted Tank Lanning, never really cared for his tuppence.

Not too long ago an interview-arti with Bismarck ran and he said all was just peachy and he so appreciated the tussle with cappie John.
    Right load of horse manure that was.

I also don’t care much for Bismarck – he’s a hothead, have been yellow carded often and is apparently not the best of personalities around. These things I’ve said before.

I was as frustrated as he was though and I think your heading, Kate’s, Tank’s and Morgan Piek’s commments is sommer snert.
    Fortunately subbing/moving JS to prop seems to have ended but I don’t think subbing him for Bismarck at the time was a good idea. For many reasons – momentum, impact and the fact that the bock boat was on perfect form from the current captain and was not in dire need of direction (which anyways I doubt he would have provided).

Bismarck’s contribution in the starting 15, despite him being a hotheaded, tantrum-prone poepol at times, cannot be ignored. Do so at your own peril.

28. namboer namboer says:
    August 23rd, 2011 at 11:54 am Reply to this comment

Reply to namboer @ 11:51 am: Forgot to mention it might be better that the issue surfaced now and can be dealt with. …It probably won’t, but at least a man can dream, hey.
    And to Morné – comparing this to Puke is just not on.

Switch to our mobile site