Fringe benefits

September 22, 2011
Posted by Morné

The Springboks certainly have the game and the players to win this Rugby World Cup, the trick for Peter de Villiers will be to have the correct 15 players on the field at the right times.

There are very few teams with the experience of the Springbok team, but experience is effectively just a number (of caps) – where this World Cup will be won or lost is for any team, is in depth.

Following the demolition of Namibia, South Africa’s greatest strength, and greatest chance of winning the World Cup was obvious for anyone to see.

After plodding along for much of the first half scoring tries off bad Namibian mistakes and poor defense, the Boks shifted into another gear as Peter de Villiers cleared his bench with more than 20 minutes to go.

There is only one team that has the quality in depth the Springboks have, and that is New Zealand, and it will be one of these two teams who will lift the Webb Ellis at the final.

Of course your biggest strength can also be your biggest weakness, and the Springboks’ greatest challenge from the Samoan game forward will not only be who to pick in your match-day 22, but which 15 players find themselves on the field at any given time.

Peter de Villiers has a number of challenging decisions to make in a couple of key positions, starting with the front row.  The John Smit v Bismarck debate will rage long after this tournament is finished whether the Boks win this thing or not, the key for De Villiers is to decide if he wants his captain to start, or blow opposition off the park from minute 1 with the power of Bismarck?

Loosehead also offers a unique challenge, both Beast and Gurthro are in great form, but the fact that we only have one specialist tighthead in Jannie du Plessis with CJ covering both positions from the bench means one of these two might just miss out.

Injuries in the lock department and Danie rising to the occasion yet again in a Rugby World Cup might also leave De Villiers scratching his head again, although Danie from the bench is probably the most logical move here.

In the loose-forward department things seem pretty set, with Heinrich, Schalk and Pierre in the driving seats with Alberts covering from the bench.

As we move to the backline things get more complicated.  Fourie du Preez is not at his best, and with the explosive Francois Hougaard in great form many believe we need to find a place for Hougaard, even at the expense of Du Preez if we have to.

Of course Hougaard has had a massive impact at wing mostly, and another out of form player in Bryan Habana ahead in the pecking order also leaves a lot of people frustrated.

Has Frans Steyn now replaced Jean de Villiers as the inside centre of choice? And will young Pat be able to handle the pressure of the really big games in a vital position like fullback?

Given the impact Gio Aplon and Juan de Jongh had in the Namibian game, some might even believe a match-day 22 place has to be found for them.

With the quarter finals fast approaching and most Boks returning to full fitness, Peter de Villiers will be under immense pressure to get his selections right.

The Boks certainly have the goods through all 30 players currently in New Zealand; The only question left is whether they can maximize this advantage?

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

Tags: , , ,

65 Comments

1. KingPaul KingPaul says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 2:14 pm Reply to this comment

Mullet for me is a better wing then a scrumhalf, but I will play him in place of JP. Aplon is a more dangerous fullback then Lambie. Francois Steyn might just be the best 12 in this competition?

2. Morné Morné says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 2:25 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to KingPaul @ 2:14 pm:

I am undecided but I have always held the belief you keep a guy in a team if he is on a good run.

For that matter even if JDV is fit, Frans has to stay 12 unless we got serious problems at 15 – JDV from the bench can cover both centres and wing, so its an asset.

I am just concerned over both Pat and Aplon at 15 for the really big games in wet, miserable conditions, they will get beaten in the air by most players simply given their size.

Hougaard, from the bench for me.

3. onerb onerb's RAGING BULLS says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 2:51 pm Reply to this comment

Hougaard on the bench for cover – he will suffer against better teams playing 9 as he is clearly rusty and can concentrate on 9 from next year. Habana to start and pull him after 40 if he makes no impact.

Jdev makes no impact from the bench so have Ruan Pienaar as cover for flyhalf and 9 should Fdup have an injury.

4. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 2:53 pm Reply to this comment

Habana has been “out of form” since 2009.
    Start with Hougaard at 11, he at least has
    some stepping, speed and vision.

Lambie will handle the pressure in a final.
    Guy has a good head on him.

Snor is on record that “he will be mad” if
    he does not start Samoa with Bismarck. Solved
    a “problem” today starting with Granny Smit,
    giving Chili a run and Bismarck a rest.
    However the best thing about a mind is that
    you can change it.

FFS don’t tamper with the rest of the backline
    - JdeV on the bench at best.

CJ is a passenger and undeserving of his place
    in the team.

5. onerb onerb's RAGING BULLS says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 2:58 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 2:53 pm:

lambie at 15 for sure, he has a cool head on his shoulders.

you touched on it and it seem to be habanna’s biggest downfall – He doesn’t have a stem, just a swerve and it is easy to read with his limited pace.

Look at hougaard or even gio, you cannot predict what direction they will accelerate to and 9/10 times they will beat a one one one tackle. Habana cannot do that anymore which means we need to send more forwards to the other side of the field to help in case of a ruck.

6. onerb onerb's RAGING BULLS says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 2:58 pm Reply to this comment

Stem is step of course

7. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS Bok on his heart not his shoulder says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 3:17 pm Reply to this comment

Morne did you not feel that Hougaard appeared pressured at 9 today that did not help the backline. His clearing was a bit loosish and his passing on occasion inaccurate. I am not yet convinced by him as a 9 in the World Cup even if he had a fantastic 2010 there.

8. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 3:24 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb’s RAGING BULLS @ 2:58 pm:

My memory may be lapsing, but did
    Habana ever have the attributes of
    Aplon and Hougaard?

9. Morné Morné says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 3:24 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to DavidS Bok on his heart not his shoulder @ 3:17 pm:

I did and don’t read into the above as context as to what I believe – Hougaard is a bench dude for me.

He was loose, sometimes late and got sucked into rucks quite easily. All of this can be forgiven given when last he played at 9 at any level of course – for me he is currently best utilised as a bench cover or at best starting wing.

Tight tests however is won on the team with the best work rate, and makes the least mistakes – for that reason alone I will not pick Hougaard over Habana – Habana is the hardest working wing in world rugby. His work rate is without equal.

10. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS Bok on his heart not his shoulder says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 3:39 pm Reply to this comment

I’m also thinking that with contracting Janno Vermaak the Bulls have given Hougaard a sign that they consider him a wing and not a scrumhalf…

Reply to Boertjie @ 3:24 pm:

Yes … as in yes your memory is lapsing…

11. Morné Morné says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 3:45 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to DavidS Bok on his heart not his shoulder @ 3:39 pm:

He makes one hell of an impact as wing – from what I have seen from the lad, he is devastating given a meter or 5 of space – you don’t get that at 9

12. onerb onerb's RAGING BULLS says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 3:57 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 3:24 pm:

No, just the swerve was executed with pace and his change of direction quicker.

13. onerb onerb's RAGING BULLS says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 3:59 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to DavidS Bok on his heart not his shoulder @ 3:39 pm:

Nope, just that the other options is kaaaaaak. Surely vermaak will be the reserve scrummy.

14. Morné Morné says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 4:08 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb’s RAGING BULLS @ 3:59 pm:

Vermaak does not have half the impact he did on a game as he did at the Lions.

15. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 4:15 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 4:08 pm:

Maybe Jano is just having a tempory
    lack of form.
    It shouldn’t last 3 years as is the case
    with that clumsy, slow and very limited
    yet “hard working” wing.

16. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS Bok on his heart not his shoulder says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 4:18 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to onerb’s RAGING BULLS @ 3:59 pm:

Not so sure dude

Vermaak is a Bok already and I doubt he would have canned a very lucrative contract with the Lions (he was signed in for two years) if the Bulls had told him

“Hey Janno come to P–Town and play second fiddle to Francois Hougaard”

I strongly doubt it

17. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 4:33 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 3:24 pm:

you need to watch more ‘world rugby’.

the fact that the ‘hard working’ excuse is needed to explain habana’s place in the team is patronising to you and the player.

Do you know how hard the lock of the Luiperds work? Fok he is an yster. But its helps little you work hard if you cannot do whats expected of your prime position.

It took de jong and hougaard a few minutes to do what seemed almost impossible to achieve for our superstar all game. Or all season rather. Or the last 3 seasons.

So bloody sick of these ‘elite’ players who have to be defended all the time – and the willing fools at the ready to do so.

18. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 4:34 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Kumbaya Bokke! @ 4:33 pm:

if working hard on defence is what you need from your wing – then select Dewald Potgieter there.

19. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 4:45 pm Reply to this comment

what I do like is that the squad seems to have a bit of belief now which means we might attempt to win the big games with gusto and not just go in to save face and over bloated reputations.

lets just bloody well play to our ability and we can be great!

20. Morné Morné says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 4:48 pm Reply to this comment

You just need to watch rugby period.

Out of the 150 odd points scored by the Boks in the last two tests how many were by wings where space was created for them by the inside backs?

Do you actually know what constitutes the work rate of any player let alone a player relevant to his position?

Have you any concept of the success rate or conversion rate for a player on contestable ball whether on defense or on attack?

The value of a player is measured in the amount of ‘WORK’ he gets through in a game, not by whose name appears on the scoresheet.

I cringe when I think what you just might be coaching our young players…

21. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 4:52 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 4:48 pm:

what do you think I am that daft?

its no use you work your bum off as a wing but you cannot round off, step, swerve etc?

How long will you pick a hard working 10 who cannot kick out of hand or at posts?

22. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 4:54 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Kumbaya Bokke! @ 4:52 pm:

its no use you pick a prop who cannot win his scrums but he ‘works hard’ off the ball.

positions have certain specialist skills.

23. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 4:57 pm Reply to this comment

ok I give up. habana is the shit. So too JdV. go bokke

24. PJLD is a LEGEND Provincejoulekkading says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 4:59 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Kumbaya Bokke! @ 4:34 pm: Potgieter?

25. Morné Morné says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 5:00 pm Reply to this comment

Jury is out don’t let me judge.

Round off what exactly? Step who when they are a meter away when you receive the ball 2 meters from the touchline?

You did not answer my very first question on SA wings and points scored.

I am not surprised however.

26. Morné Morné says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 5:05 pm Reply to this comment

Speaking of 10′s…

How do you rate Cooper’s game against Ireland?

27. Morné Morné says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 5:08 pm Reply to this comment

Anycase, I must be off. Chat later folks.

28. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS Bok on his heart not his shoulder says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 5:13 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Kumbaya Bokke! @ 4:34 pm:

Given the likes of Ioane and Guilford and Dagg your wings better be damned hard working on defence in addition to all the other things.

If you want all the flash and speed and stepping…

Hey

Wandile Mjekevu and Bjorn Basson are there…

Go for it…

29. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT_BOKBEFOK! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 5:24 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Kumbaya Bokke! @ 4:45 pm:

on the happiness of the squad – I was watching on ITV and the ex pom prop was commentating and mentioned that he was at the bok training session and the squad looks in good spirit. He actually said that the spirit has done a 180 since the Wales game…
    PdV man management coming through :whistling:

30. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 5:52 pm Reply to this comment

:yeahright:

31. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 6:50 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 5:05 pm:

cooper has dominated rugby for the past 2 years. he is allowed a bad game – the same bad game habana is allowed to have for 3 seasons

32. Morné Morné says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 6:53 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Kumbaya Bokke! @ 6:50 pm:

This is where you get it wrong, Cooper did not have a bad game – Cooper played the game he always plays.

I will leave you to figure the difference out.

33. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 6:58 pm Reply to this comment

i just find it odd the lengths you okes will go to defend the indefensible.

Morne Habana should maybe work a bit harder at not coming off his line and gifting the opposition tries. He should maybe also work harder at catching a rugby ball out of the sky (something he gets paid well to master).

And finally maybe he should work harder on that prime attribute of a good wing – scoring tries.

but everyone critiques him so you support him – backing the underdog and somehow thinking it earns you karma points.

34. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 6:59 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 6:53 pm:

well it was the wrong game for the day. Cooper has relied heavily the past 2 years on playing off Ioane and this player was injured. He will need to adapt.

Bet you he will.

35. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 7:01 pm Reply to this comment

but here is a reason why some players are singled out for abuse. Habana and Spies simply does not justify a starting spot based on past 2 years performance for club and country.

Morne Steyn on the other hands does his primary job well and thus always justifies his inclusion.

There is a huge difference.

But fok you okes are so clever how the hell can you learn anything or have your opinion altered?

36. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 7:06 pm Reply to this comment

i will also stop coaching young kids because some blogging rugby god tells me to. I clearly am out of my depth here.

or maybe not……

:lol:

37. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 7:06 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Kumbaya Bokke! @ 6:58 pm:

Maybe Habana just needs boots that
    does not make him look so clumsy.
    Like a wound up toy, only capable
    of going in one direction.

What does Hougaard and Aplon do?
    Step inside, outside, forward,
    accelarate, step left, right
    etc.

38. Morné Morné says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 7:14 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Kumbaya Bokke! @ 6:59 pm:

Do you read what you write?

Cooper’s game dependent on other players?

Do you think when Quade listens to his I-Pod psyching himself up for a game he thinks about players around him that will make him look good or his own game?

You are quite keen to judge a dip in ‘form’ on Cooper’s game because of guys around him and what they ‘do’ for him but when I ask the question of ‘what’ has been ‘created’ for players like Habana from players around him you scoff at any such suggestion?

And furthermore, when I highlight stuff he does despite what is being ‘created’ for him it’s a shit excuse in your eyes?

Seriously, stop me if I am going wrong somewhere…

39. Timeo Timeo says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 7:56 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Kumbaya Bokke! @ 6:50 pm:

Cooper is a great talent and a joy to watch but dominating rugby for 2 years. :roll:

Perhaps dominating is just artistic hyperbole.

His wacky plays mostly worked so well because they were just so wacky, but one finally backfired spectacularly. Expect to see more of those as players start to read him better.

40. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 10:52 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 7:14 pm:

I have always thought of Cooper as part of a 3 man package (him, genia and ioane)

I have mentioned this many times on this site. Last year already when Ioane got injured for the Reds you can see how this affected Coopers play. This is why Carter will always be the better 10.

Difference with Habana is that in both teams where he plays he seems to be ignored as an attacking weapon, and as Bulls final suggested – he is even planned for as a liability on defence. Yet come bOk jersey time he steps into it now sweat?

Why?

Well dont tell me his old boys club connections dont help.

Whereas you go to great lengths to understand why something happens (well done- star on forehead) I react maybe too emotional. But I cannot understand or tolerate how some players are seen as ‘untouchable’ despite them very rarely living up to the hype that surrounds them.

Its my pet hate with JdV also, and Spies.

Now go and see in 2009 who was defending Habana (also used his industrious defence as reason) on this site. But 2 years later and its too much. I dont WANT to make excuses for someone who earns R300 000 a month.

Fokweet even strippers lose their ‘pole position’ if they pick up as much as a kg because their bodies is their product.

Surely his majesty Habana should be expected to learn to catch etc?

41. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 22nd, 2011 at 10:56 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Timeo @ 7:56 pm:

well show me a more influential player over the past 2 years?

SBW has only played a year. Cooper re-imagined fly halve play since last year – and together with Genia in large part transformed the Reds from rubble to champs.

I wonder how one-eyed you okes can be if you cannot recognise talent if it does not come from your own little camelot?

Like resident rugby couching godfather morne suggesting FdP has outplayed Genia the past 2 years?

42. Timeo Timeo says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 1:06 am Reply to this comment

How one-eyed is one that believes there is only one way to play?

43. Deon Deon says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 1:13 am Reply to this comment

Brendan

I am willing to go out on a limb and tell you that we have seen the best of Cooper. There is nothing more. Ioane there or not, Cooper has no more yricks. From now on teams will read him easily.

As Morne said, he didnt have a bad game against Ireland, he played the wrong game. Why? As an Aussie that works with him regularly told me last Saturday: “He is as thick as a brick.”

His time is up. He needs someone like Barnes next to him to calm him down and tell him what to do. Problem is his ego is too big. Exactly the problem you have with Habana, so you are being a hypocrit here

44. Timeo Timeo says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 1:23 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Kumbaya Bokke! @ 10:56 pm:

The most influential player of S14 2010 was Morne Steyn, who was also the most influential player of the 2009 SH Test Season.

Cooper, but more so Genia were the most influential players for the Reds.

The 2010 SH Test Season had no particular standouts but Cooper’s poor defense costed his team some matches.

In 2011 Super Rugby, Cooper is certainly up there, although one can also make a case for SBW.
    The Test Season was too much of a sham to call any one player most influential.

45. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 1:37 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Deon @ 1:13 am:

so if his game slips so much as you say it will – he needs to be dropped.

simple as that.

Not like habana collect check after check and delivering sweet blue fokkol.

46. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 1:40 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Timeo @ 1:23 am:

what I do find odd (jealousy) is how saffas cannot for the life of them admit that cooper, genia, sbw etc are good players. No suree – good players only come from here.

Bias is good in sport. So too loyalty around the braai fire. But I dont understand why on a blog where things are analysed a bit more in depth can people still not see these players on their own merit.

Yes cooper and SBW will be found out sooner rather than later, but so far they have contributed immensely to the game and they have been the form players.

Why is this so hard to admit? I hope the rest of the world did not bad mouth FdP, Matty etc when they were the trend setters?

47. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 1:55 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Deon @ 1:13 am:

oh and I doubt coopers time is up. he looked pretty sharp against italy.

the trouble is he tries things. he is creative.

most rugby people are stoic. its a clash right there.

maybe we need more willem alberts, jean de villiers, schalk burgers in world rugby. you know, those simple humble players whom one can understand.

yeh rugby would be much better off if we replace these windgatte with some more donkeys.

48. Timeo Timeo says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 3:00 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Kumbaya Bokke! @ 1:40 am:

No, I think you are wrong. Most of us here can see how good they are and appreciate their talents.
    In this, I think you are the narrow minded one because you believe only one type of rugby is proper.

49. Timeo Timeo says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 3:54 am Reply to this comment

I think creativity is a good thing, you seem to think it’s the only thing.

I don’t think a cross kick in your in goal is creativity. I think it is stupidity, even when it works out fine.

The other day, Canada kicked an up-and-under on attack from their opponent’s 22m line and scored a try. I think it was creative because I’ve never seen it before. It was beautiful because it was perfectly executed.

What I most appreciate about Cooper’s game is those long accurate passes with which he can pick out just about any runner in his back-line. But that has very little to do with creativity, it is a special skill of his. When he does something stupid and it works, like that cross-kick, I find it entertaining but nothing to admire.

50. Deon Deon says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 4:04 am Reply to this comment

There one point that you dont want to see. The Reds did not win this year because of Cooper’s play in the final, but due to a gameplan that is very similar to what is needed to win a WC. Genia is a very good player, because he does the basics expected from his position well.

Cooper is a flah plauer which is great up to a stage. The Irish showed how to take him out of the game. If he was a good player, he wouldnt have allowed ot. His liability on defense is glaringly obvious and it seems he does not have the ability to improve on his basic skills needed at flyhalf.

Look at all the teams that have won the WC. None of them had flash flyhalfs. They had “solid” flyhalfs.

51. Timeo Timeo says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 4:11 am Reply to this comment

The best place for creativity in rugby is when the coaches devise cunning strategies or effective new tactics.

That kind of creativity requires brain power, complex thinking and lots of preparations. Completely unlike making a no look behind the back pass.

When you create music, do you prepare or do you just improvise? There are musicians with special talent that can create good music by improvising but I think the best music normally comes via hard work and preparations. The creativity takes place before and not during the performance.

52. Morné Morné says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 7:17 am Reply to this comment

Correct, if you want to highlight a very good and crucial player for the Aussies, rather go with Genia.

53. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS Bok on his heart not his shoulder says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 8:43 am Reply to this comment

And as I pointed out with the Reds

Their game against the Stormers and the Crusaders to win S15 was a pure simple copy of the Bulls 2009 game plan…

They basically played Bulls rugby and won… how deeply ironic…

54. Ollie_ Shark Attack Ollie says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 8:52 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Timeo @ 4:11 am:

:agree:

55. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 10:05 am Reply to this comment

Oh ok so Cooper is a mere flash in the pan.

Shit I learn so much on this site.

I dont think he is any better than some great flyhalves of yesteryear.

What makes him stand out for me is the fact that he tries things on attack, which means the opposition have to plan for him.

He also does certain basics very well, like passing dead accurate out of both hands.

Timeo I like my props to be great at their primary job and then as an aside to work hard over the park. I want my locks dumb and hard – working the tight phases like a deamon. I dont want my lock to have the skills of my 10 or 12. Thats their job.

Most importantly I want the skills of all my players utilised on the field, not just the strength of my dumbos who want to power over everything.

Thats why I admire Oz right now. They use all 15 – as the game was intended to be. Frankly seeing Burger in the 10 channel give his kak loop passes simply does not do it for me.

56. The Year of the Cheetah Kumbaya Bokke! says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 10:19 am Reply to this comment

Reply to DavidS Bok on his heart not his shoulder @ 8:43 am:

I think maybe it was in fact the bulls playing the final? maybe they outsourced their players and just had them put on make-up?

I mean surely another country cannot also be good at the game of rugby – given to the volk by the lord himself?

57. Rent-a-quota Rent-a-quota says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 11:03 am Reply to this comment

@Timeo

OK, time to join the fray.

As a musician-cum-writer, I believe that in music – I am speaking mainly in a Jazz context – you practise the basics (technique, scales, patterns and so on) to groove the mechanical side of things, thereby freeing you to interpret a work according to influences such as mood, situation, curiosity, intellect, etc. This interpretation could take the form of adapting the music’s pace, tone colour, or dynamics, or by a different way of combining existing patterns, or by a new approach to problem solving – say, you strike out in an unaccustomed direction and you either slip back through a wormhole to the security of the groove, or you completely rewire your interpretation by riding the wave of learned patterns guided by your native instinct or genius. Composing on the spot, more or less. Or as Ludwig von PDV might have put it, “playing what’s not in front of you”.

To borrow the view of Leonard Bernstein (he was writing about Beethoven), if it’s done right, every successive note or action seems inevitable. If you use your imagination, you could conceivably apply similar thinking to many fields of endeavour. Even rugby.

On another note (sorry), as a former soccer player, I recognise and admire the Quade Cooper kind of player for their skills. Funny thing – and I’m generalising – the trick cyclists often blind one to the low-profile guys in the engine room who can turn a game with a single calculated action. No prizes for guessing which kind of a player I liked to think I was.

In the same way that being able to do the mechanical stuff well isn’t a performance – merely a basis for a performance – we shouldn’t confuse eye-hand co-ordination and spatial awareness with vision and influence.

58. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS Bok on his heart not his shoulder says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 12:49 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Rent-a-quota @ 11:03 am:

Ergo

1. Practice makes perfect

2. The longer you practice the better you get at stuff and the more inclined you are to take chances.

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :agree: :agree:

You are my hero

Okay dude can I just ask one thing though?

With a background in music and soccer… how the hell did you end up where you are?

59. Rent-a-quota Rent-a-quota says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 1:21 pm Reply to this comment

@DavidS

To answer your question,

Timing. (A very musical attribute.)

Firstly, writing = music, with the sound turned down. Same difference.

Secondly, a casual remark made in one of those time-wasting annual job reviews with the news editor actually resulted in my taking a different path 20 years ago into the world of wining, dining, overseas travel (i.e. motoring writing). Then again, I might have stumbled through one of those wormholes I spoke of earlier.

Thirdly, rugby = soccer, with the sound turned up.

60. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 1:44 pm Reply to this comment

Rugby365:

“Cooper kicked off. During the match he often raised hearty cheers whenever he got things wrong. If he kicked for posts, the crowd booed; if he missed, they cheered. Clearly he is a New Zealand bête noir – which is a pity.”

Maybe they don’t like the tyre marks on his arms.
    Then again many of their own players have
    mutilated themselves.

61. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS Bok on his heart not his shoulder says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 2:15 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Rent-a-quota @ 1:21 pm:

Hmmm

Ja I suspected as much… old Gary Player adage (much as I dislike the arrogant knowitall prat) about practicing … which as you say is simply a matter of teaching your muscles repeatedly to do the same thing till the timing is 100% correct.

We learn the same at MMA.

It’s all good and well being able to make a perfect kick, but if it ends three inches in front of the face of your opponent because you went to early… he usually has seven different counters and one is already happening!

62. Methos The French Stormer Methos The French Stormer says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 7:55 pm Reply to this comment

Jis a lot of kak gets mIxed in with the ice cream here. Is Cooper a good player maybe even a genius at rugby? Yes he is. Does one kak game mean that your career is over? No. Ask Dan Carter about a match on newlands.

Is habana the same player as in 2007. No. Does he deserve a starting spot. Depends on the coach. Experience etc

Is Spies worth a starting spot or even a squad spot? No. Does he have the same size balls than a Ken doll? Yes. Is he flat track bully yes. Would we have won the 2007 WC if spies was there…

Cheers

63. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 8:17 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Methos The French Stormer @ 7:55 pm:

Question is: Will Snor have balls like
    Kitch had in 1995?

Is he capable of surprising us by
    dropping the “hard working” but
    otherwise useless Habana?

64. JT_BOKBEFOK! JT_BOKBEFOK! says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 8:44 pm Reply to this comment

What happens when Matfield is fit again? :?

65. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    September 23rd, 2011 at 8:51 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 8:44 pm:

Kak vraag, sit.
    Hy speel. Eerste helfte met Bakkies,
    dan met Pakslae.

Switch to our mobile site