Home General Discussions Boland crowned 1st Division Champs

Boland crowned 1st Division Champs


The Regent Boland Cavaliers were crowned new champions of the Absa Currie Cup First Division when they took the crown from last year’s victors, the EP Kings, in Friday’s final in Wellington.

SA Rugby

After conceding an early try to Kings winger Andile Witbooi, the Cavaliers regrouped to lead by 13-7 at the break and eventually cut loose in the second half to win the final by 43-12 at the Boland Stadium.

Not even a yellow card to No 8 Zandré Jordaan after 20 minutes could stifle the home team as they consolidated on their late-season form to take the title.

The Kings lost centre Jaco Bekker to a yellow card late in the first half and when Ligtoring Landman scored early in the second half, Boland went ahead 23-7 with little over half an hour left.

Boland scored a further four tries in the second half as they took complete control of the match, almost replicating their recent victory of 49-15 over the Kings in Wellington.

First left-wing Brendon April went over on the hour mark and then, like they did a few weeks ago, Boland cut loose, with Danwell Demas scoring two tries in the final eigth minutes.

Two of the recipients of yellow cards, Jordaan for Boland and Bobby Dyer (replacement hooker) for the Kings, got the final two tries by which stage the match had opened up completely.


Regent Boland Cavaliers – Tries: Clemen Lewis, Ligtoring Landman, Brendon April, Danwell Demas (2), Zandré Jordaan. Conversions: Elgar Watts (2). Penalties: Watts (3).

EP Kings 12 – Tries: Andile Witbooi, Bobby Dyer. Conversion: Louis Strydom.

Absa Under-19 B-Division

The Griffons were crowned Absa Under-19 B-Division champions when they beat Border by 21-10 in the final, also held in Wellington on Friday. The score at the break was 15-7 to the Northern Free Staters, who scored two tries to one.

For the Griffons, their captain and scrumhalf Mario Noordman scored twice, while fullback Franklyn Booysen added a conversion and two penalties. Ryno Venter (wing) was also successful with a penalty goal.

Border wing Quinton Norris scored his team’s only try, which was converted by Vernon Eduad Prinsloo (fullback), who also slotted a penalty goal.

Absa Under-21 B-Division

Border beat neighbours Eastern Province in the Absa Under-21 B-Division final in Wellington on Friday by 23-19, thanks to a try by Jacobus Henry Koekemoer (flank) two minutes from full-time.

Both teams scored two tries in a nail-biting game befitting of a final. Apart from Koekemoer, left-wing Lundi Sinclair Ralarala also crossed for a try for Border, with Louis Johannes Kruger adding two conversions and three penalty goals.

EP’s points were scored by Masixola Banda, their right-wing who scored two tries, and Scott van Breda (fullback), who added three penalties.

Facebook Comments

Facebook Comments