Open letter from WP Rugby

January 30, 2012
Posted by Morné

I received this in my inbox and thought it would be worthwhile to publish it, word for word, given the criticism WP Rugby has been under in recent months.

Open letter to WP Club Rugby Administrators, Media, Players, Fans & Sponsors.

The following letter serves to put various matters relating to the Western Province Football Union in perspective. It is factual and is written to ultimately reassure all WP Rugby fans, players, sponsors and administrators that rugby within Western Province is alive and well. We will be sending these facts to you on a regular basis.

The reality is that the WPRFU is in excellent shape, youth rugby is improving and growing, clubs are getting more exposure and the professional teams are doing well. Solid structures are in place to ensure sustainability and new player registrations have increased dramatically. The WPRFU players and families are enjoying their Saturday afternoon rugby more than ever.

The success of the WPRFU must not be measured only by the amount of silverware in the cupboard. In South Africa it would be more prudent to also look at other matters such as social development, transformation, capacity building and empowerment at grass roots level.

The Western Province Rugby Football Union is governed by an eleven member executive council and the CEO of the WPRFU. This council is elected biennially by the 90 clubs which make up the constituents of the WPRFU union.  This executive council is made up of well seasoned, highly qualified professionals who understand the history and dynamics of rugby in Western Province.

The WPRFU executive council meets formally on a regular basis and is chaired by the president of the WPRFU.

To give further clarity to this structure it is important to note that the WPRFU has two arms, the one being the amateur arm and the other the professional arm. The professional arm is a division of WPRFU and is defined as WP Rugby (Pty.ltd). This is a separate company of which the WPRFU is a 75% shareholder.

The WP Rugby (Pty.ltd) is responsible for the contracting and administration of the professional players and the commercialisation of the game. This company generates the revenue for the WPRFU, which in turn is used to grow the game.

The WPRFU has developed a state of the art high performance centre, (HPC) where the professional teams  (The Stormers, The Currie Cup, The Vodacom Cup and U21 teams) are based and practice.  Additionally the WPRFU has a WP Rugby Institute based in Stellenbosch, yet another world class state of the art facility which houses 50 under 19 players. These players are contracted and nurtured to be ready to move into the next rank within the WP professional arm.

The WPRFU Executive will always bear in mind the best interest of its member base when making decisions. Foremost on this list is the transformation, development and empowerment of the clubs and other amateur structures. When dealing with matters relating to the professional arm the WPRFU as the majority shareholder, of WP Rugby (pty.ltd) once again will make decisions with their member’s best interest at heart.

Some might think the WPRFU is made up of twenty two players you see on the field at Newlands on a Saturday. Nothing could be further from the truth. The WPRFU is comprised of almost 35 000 players, from the senior and youth levels.  The vast majority of these players come from previously disadvantaged areas, and many of these clubs, players or youth have had very little opportunity, considering the history of South Africa. The WPRFU is constantly trying to ensure that rugby in the WP is unified and that WP Rugby brand is accessible to all.

Further to the priorities of the WPRFU is the process of talent identification. These structures are in place to seek out talented players within the club structures.

The WPRFU regularly donates equipment in the form of balls, tackle bags, shields, lights, first aid equipment, clothing and several other essentials to the clubs.

The WPRFU has rolled out an entirely new media and sponsorship support process for the amateur sector. This now facilitates amateur rugby media exposure, capacity building and educational programmes relating to the development, transformation and empowerment of amateur rugby clubs and youth rugby.

The WPRFU now has an alliance with a local community TV station, Cape Town TV, which airs the Cape Rugby TV show. This TV show has created exposure and opportunities for the amateur levels and has become one of the biggest rugby shows in South Africa.  Clubs now have the ability to offer their sponsors media exposure. Sponsorship in the club rugby playing arena is critical to the process of transformation. Additionally many who have not seen the professional arm in action due to broadcasting restrictions are now exposed to the WP Professional team.

Western Province rugby has improved year on year on several levels; this is evident when looking at the increase in sponsorships, player registrations and stadium attendance at Newlands. The latest data based on the national SAARF data surveys, shows an increase in attendance, participation and interest.

Look out for the next in our series of chronicles detailing the workings and facts of WP Rugby. These will include information on youth rugby, talent identification and more.

Western Province Rugby Footbal Union
My Passion My Game

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

Tags: ,

27 Comments

1. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    January 30th, 2012 at 8:00 pm Reply to this comment

The WPRFU Executive will always bear in mind the best interest of its member base when making decisions.
    ——
    Like the Saracens debacle?
    Losing so many talented players?
    Making it impossible for Rassie
    not to jump ship?

This letter is an acknowledgement
    that WP rugby is in the wrong hands
    and heading for shit street.

2. Kat Kat says:
    January 30th, 2012 at 8:52 pm Reply to this comment

Blah blah blah

Letter written by somone paid to help do damage control. The Sarries thing exposed the whole rotten core. Write this letter so the fans can forget what they saw.

3. Morné Morné says:
    January 30th, 2012 at 9:11 pm Reply to this comment

Personally, I am speechless.

4. Oranje Orakel - BlackbeRRy is so 2011 Oranje Orakel says:
    January 30th, 2012 at 9:23 pm Reply to this comment

PrOOvins PrOOOOOOOOOOOvins

Die kuRRiekup kom wEEr…..

5. Morné Morné says:
    January 30th, 2012 at 9:46 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Oranje Orakel @ 9:23 pm:

Hehe, ja donner broer ek kan net lag actually.

6. KingPaul KingPaul says:
    January 30th, 2012 at 9:57 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Morné @ 9:46 pm:
    Ek wil huil! Weereens erken hulle dat die amateur klubs die meeste mag het! En hoekom al die klubs? Hoekom nie net die 8 of wat eerste liga clubs nie?
    Donker tye wat wag! :boks:

7. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    January 30th, 2012 at 10:23 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to KingPaul @ 9:57 pm:

O, maar die 90 klubs gaan oor
    “transformasie”.
    Transformasie beteken nie die beste stuurlui
    nie, maar die stuurlui met die regte kleur.

Gaan kyk maar na die fokops:
    Krieket, Boks, Sokker, Netbal, Atletiek, Tennis,
    Olimpiese Komitee.
    Nog net gholf is ongeskonde.
    En gholf is die enigste sport waarin ons
    nog op wêreldvlak presteer, behalwe ‘n
    paar swemmers hier en daar.

8. Morné Morné says:
    January 30th, 2012 at 10:24 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to KingPaul @ 9:57 pm:

Dit gaan my fokken verstand te bowe!

As hierdie brief supporters moes gerus stel oor dinge in WP Rugby het hulle presies die teenoorgestelde resultaat bereik. Die kak confirm presies hoekom die unie is soveel kak is!!!

Ek kan nie glo die mense binne in die unie glo die stront wat hulle ons probeer voer nie!

9. Morné Morné says:
    January 30th, 2012 at 10:28 pm Reply to this comment

Seriously, I had to read this letter twice because I could not believe the kak I was reading in light of what has happened in this union in the last 6 or so months.

I actually cannot believe the WP executive signed this shit off to be published.

10. Morné Morné says:
    January 30th, 2012 at 10:30 pm Reply to this comment

And since I posted this, I got this from some Lions friends: http://www.wetalkrugby.com/archives/8596

Message seems to be pretty clear from all over, we are not stupid, and we are sick of bullshit from amateurs politicking.

11. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    January 30th, 2012 at 10:48 pm Reply to this comment

IF WP fans don’t vote with their feet (or via social media) and make some noise at how amateur this is… then they’ve only got themselves to blame…

Morne… I recommend you follow the Melbourne Rebels via social media/twitter and their web-site to see just how a union in the professional era should be run…

Informative, transparent and in-the-loop for fans/sponsors in every respect from development to charity to schools to seniors to financials… up-to-date and open as it happens…

12. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    January 30th, 2012 at 11:19 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 10:48 pm:

They have never voted with their feet,
    unlike other provinces.
    Even when the team was at its worst did
    they pack Newlands – to boo the team.
    :cheers:

13. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    January 31st, 2012 at 12:42 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 11:19 pm:

Hehe true… night mate…

14. Mug Punters Organisation of South Africa Kevin_rack says:
    January 31st, 2012 at 5:47 am Reply to this comment

Written by a spin doctor. WP are crap and have been so for a while. Year after year we see bok laden team falter as many players rest themsleves and ride on past glories.

I blame the fans. They fill the stadium year after year waiting with false hope(ala Warratahs), buy the new shirts and keep the circus alive.

You have the power to change things by taking control and boycotting games. Imagine what changes would happen if Newlands was empty for games. There would be mass sacking but by you paying to support the pimp.

15. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    January 31st, 2012 at 7:20 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Kevin_rack @ 5:47 am:

WP are the best South African team by a country mile… it’s their gravy-train admin that is the problem…

16. John Galt John Galt says:
    January 31st, 2012 at 9:23 am Reply to this comment

What a load of utter bullshit. Who do these okes think they are kidding?
    Seriously.

How old do they think Province supporters are.
    Not a Province supporter but I am a supporter of SA rugby as a whole and it is this exact type of politicking that irritates me most.

17. John Galt John Galt says:
    January 31st, 2012 at 9:29 am Reply to this comment

Reply to Kevin_rack @ 5:47 am:
    You’re looking at this from the wrong angle boet. WP are not crap.
    They’ve been in a S14 final and CC Final over the last few years despite having the worst administrators and management in the game.

The players should be given awards for having to deal with the management they have.

How can you blame the fans? All they want to see is good rugby, like all fans everywhere.
    Who do you think would be most effected by a boycott of games? The administrators? No.

You’d be punishing the players. Something needs to change at management level.

18. DavidS Champion Supporter DavidS says:
    January 31st, 2012 at 10:21 am Reply to this comment

So this is like Saddam Hussein’s military spokesman saying that everyone should calm the f**k down it’s under control while an American recce Armoured Combat Vehicle stands in the streets a few hundred meters behind him…

19. The Year of the Cheetah The Year of the Cheetah says:
    January 31st, 2012 at 10:30 am Reply to this comment

Here is a link for all you feckers who could not be bothered to listen to my show in Cape Town the other day

:lol:

http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.mixcloud.com%2FTheUnhappyHour%2F15-jan-pt-1-unhappy-hour-guest-brendon-shields-hosts-toast-danie%2F&h=_AQF1-rzWAQFCidpi_Gk678fDYtHYFUJgQKe27WiD3k7EyQ

20. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    January 31st, 2012 at 10:31 am Reply to this comment

Reply to John Galt @ 9:29 am:

For sure… in these days of social media as an avenue to vent I’m extremely surprised there has not been one “We hate Toby Titus and Wagner” type page or statement… not one ‘open letter’ from the fans either…

WP the last two seasons has been a case of (like many sectors in RSA)… top-middle management/coaches performance in spite of the gravy-trainers at the top!

21. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    January 31st, 2012 at 10:32 am Reply to this comment

performance = performing

22. The Year of the Cheetah The Year of the Cheetah says:
    January 31st, 2012 at 10:34 am Reply to this comment

Lekker spam ek die WP artikel julle etters!

Anyways I have a mate that is an out and out WP disciple and according to him things are better than ever.

Which begs the question: what are the okes in Cape Town reading about in the papers? Louis De Villiers? Stephen Nell? Are these guys sugarcoating the issues?

23. bok_in_oz bryce_in_oz says:
    January 31st, 2012 at 11:57 am Reply to this comment

Reply to The Year of the Cheetah @ 10:30 am:

I see your album got a good review on Mahala mate…

24. Boertjie Boertjie says:
    January 31st, 2012 at 12:16 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to The Year of the Cheetah @ 10:34 am:

Cape Afrikaans journo’s don’t make waves,
    they just toe the line.
    Will have to watch Zelim Nel and
    Gavin Rich.

25. KingPaul KingPaul says:
    January 31st, 2012 at 6:30 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to Boertjie @ 12:16 pm:
    …toe the line and drink red wine….
    :beer:

26. Mug Punters Organisation of South Africa Kevin_rack says:
    February 1st, 2012 at 1:32 am Reply to this comment

Reply to John Galt @ 9:29 am: Yes we fans are to blame too. Take some responsibilty abd realise that you do have the power. When the fans dont turn up question will be asked. As long as province are nearly rans and the stadium is full we shall not see change. Change will occur when we as the fans boycott the game and the cash flow dries up. We watch it gives the deadwood an excuse to hang on and no change occurs.

This province is flush with money, has great club and school rugby, great supporter base and good players let alone one of the largest rugby pools in the world tio choose from, yet they fail to lift a trophy! So yes they are shit.

They should win both CC and S15.

27. Treehugger-shark Treehugger-shark says:
    February 1st, 2012 at 3:38 pm Reply to this comment

Reply to The Year of the Cheetah @ 10:30 am: :mrgreen:

Switch to our mobile site