UPDATED SCORES. The Barberton daisy and the light blue colours of Northern Gauteng’s sports teams are under renewed threat from politicians.
Sport24
The Tshwane Sports Council (TSC), which was formed under suspicious circumstances two years ago, will on 31 March officially become the governing body of sport in the Tshwane region.
And according to the Beeld newspaper this new council is keen to replace the daisy and light blue colours with a more representative emblem and colours.
The daisy has been prominent on the Blue Bulls rugby team’s jerseys for years and feature on most of Northern Gauteng sports teams’ shirts.
“All sports codes in the region would have to conform to the TSC’s constitution,” a well-informed source told Beeld.
“Even though the Blue Bulls and Bulls emblems are registered trademarks, there will definitely be political pressure for only one sports emblem to be used for sports teams.”
The Blue Bulls Rugby Union (BBRU) and the Notherns Cricket Union (Titans) have already indicated they are against this new proposition.
Elise Lombard, CEO of Northerns, said the daisy is the team’s registered trademark.
Chaka Croukamp, vice-president of the BBRU said it doesn’t make sense from a commercial point of view to change the team’s registered trademark.
“It is the union’s registered trademark and is known worldwide.”
Twenty-eight sports codes have already indicated that they do not support the new proposition.
In 2010 the Tshwane Sports Council made five suggestions – all with the colours white, black, yellow and green – to replace the light blue.

February 11th, 2012 at 5:12 pm
As if they don’t have better things to do.
Like filling up the potholes, for a start.
February 11th, 2012 at 5:29 pm
BULLS en cheeters se wedstryd op Supersport
2 (202).
9-6 vir die span in Hemelse BLOU, ek meen nou die Hemelse span in BLOU.
February 11th, 2012 at 5:31 pm
cheeters verdedig soos besetenes. Laaste stats was cheeters 46 tackles made, 7 missed, BULLE 6 tackles made, 0 missed.
Sorry, telling is 9-3.
February 11th, 2012 at 5:43 pm
Hougaard breek, Stander druk.
laaste verdediging:
cheeters tacckles made 68
missed 10
BULLS made 10
missed 1
February 11th, 2012 at 5:44 pm
16-6
February 11th, 2012 at 5:46 pm
Strafskop cheetrs
lemoenetyd 16-9
February 11th, 2012 at 5:51 pm
Ja, die “white, black, yellow and green” is anc se “home colours”.
maar dit beteken mos dat die golden lions ooook moet verander???
FKN primate.
Anglo America se briefhoofde sal seker ook moet verander.
So ook ABSA, FNB, STD bank.
FKN FKN FKN primate
February 11th, 2012 at 5:53 pm
waar is die oranje orakel?
February 11th, 2012 at 6:08 pm
29-9
February 11th, 2012 at 6:51 pm
Sorry to say but the Cheetahs are kak, Eberson all Hype no play….now their win against Stormers “B” team makes sence, I know this is pre-season shit but even a Bulls team who did not play good hammered them, they should have put about 15 points more against the Cheetah, if I was a cheetah supporter I would be worried
February 11th, 2012 at 7:02 pm
Half-time
Italy 12
England 6
February 11th, 2012 at 7:35 pm
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 7:02 pm:
Fok hulle op, Italië!
February 11th, 2012 at 7:42 pm
FINAL SCORE
Bulls 39
Cheetahs 16
February 11th, 2012 at 7:48 pm
Stormers 38
Kings 13
on their home ground in PE.
February 11th, 2012 at 7:50 pm
Poms 19
Pastas 15
February 11th, 2012 at 7:51 pm
Blues 31
Rebels 21
February 11th, 2012 at 7:52 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 7:50 pm:
missed opportunities by Italy see poms getting out of jail! Ai so close but yet so far!
Italy missed 2 kicks late in the game and Farrel for the poms was perfect with the boot.
Tough slog!
February 11th, 2012 at 7:56 pm
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 7:52 pm:
Any signs of Italy taking a new
backline approach – as was reported
in advance?
February 11th, 2012 at 8:02 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 7:56 pm:
not the right conditions but their back-line was much better than Englands back-line today… does not say much though
Benvenutti at 13 is a star in the making – Botes at 10 is good for getting the line moving but can’t kick for shit! The young 9 is good the 12 ok the 15 (Masi) awesome except for the charge down off his kick but they are getting better and better!
February 11th, 2012 at 9:06 pm
Om rugby in die sneeu te speel kan nie n moer lekker wees nie!
Can’t see the Bulls dropping their daisy or their colours! Never!
February 11th, 2012 at 10:05 pm
France v Ireland game just cancelled! 80k fans told to f-off home again
February 11th, 2012 at 10:06 pm
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 10:05 pm:
pitch not safe due to cold…
February 11th, 2012 at 10:27 pm
And everybody and his dog is
worried about earth warming.
550 in Europe already died.
February 11th, 2012 at 10:29 pm
The Tshwane Sports Council (TSC), which was formed under suspicious circumstances two years ago,
—–
And don’t think they’re doing it for free.
Pompous arseholes.
February 11th, 2012 at 10:42 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 10:27 pm:
still one of the warmest winters… November to mid dec was warm and sunny! climate is not weather!
February 12th, 2012 at 3:08 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 10:27 pm:
Boertjie you must not forget how the climate freaks have covered their arses both ways to still rip money from the gullible masses.
They didn’t say that it will only be warmer, they said that we should expect more severe weather. That means if there is a heat wave, they can say it is climate change (aka
) or if there is a cold snap they can say it is climate change (aka
).
What easier way to spread doom & gloom to ensure their wealth for the future. And then they blamed Christianity for trying to manipulate the masses.
All this despite the fact that the last decade has seen a decline in average temperatures. I wonder if a decade of information is just weather or climate.
February 12th, 2012 at 9:00 am
Oh boy! Tac gaan homselwers mos nou lelik bevuil …
February 12th, 2012 at 9:01 am
Tshwane Rainbow Bulls
February 13th, 2012 at 9:52 am
Reply to Deon @ 3:08 am:
Ag FFS…
Only 1% of scientists in climatology worldwide (and decreasing) say that climate change is NOT taking place…
Climatologists said there would be more severe weather extremes as a result of climate change … now that the prediction model is coming true they were “covering their asses”…
The only people who refuse to understand this is American politicians whose votes are available to sell out to the cash and support of the highest bidding lobbyists…
February 13th, 2012 at 9:54 am
Bulls will aways be the Bulls no matter what emblem they wear… same as the Springboks…
February 13th, 2012 at 9:54 am
And opposing scientists are ONLY Americans at right wing universities…
THAT should tell you all you need about THEIR agenda.
In South Africa the only prominent opponent of climate change is a guy at CSIR who is an engineering lecturer at UNISA…
February 13th, 2012 at 10:14 am
Reply to DavidS @ 9:52 am:
Reply to DavidS @ 9:54 am:
ag Davids – don’t bother arguing with him! They only believe what they want to believe and no amount of sense, facts etc will convince them otherwise.
The cause I can agree is debateable but the FACT that it is happening is not!
February 13th, 2012 at 10:54 am
Reply to DavidS @ 9:52 am:
O fok ek sien die wind het alweer gedraai.
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 10:14 am:
Maybe I know more than you are aware of.
Yes it is happening. Its has been happening for centuries. That is nature for you. But hey I guess it is as good idea to make some mullah off.
The day that people realise that they are not God, is the day that they will start to just enjoy life and not think they can change nature.
Hope you are buying some shares in the idea. It will be the next dotcom
What I dont understand from the tree huggers is that they want everybody to respect nature, but yet argue for things that is in direct conflict to that.
February 13th, 2012 at 10:55 am
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 10:14 am:
BTW I didn’t realise you have been around for hundreds of years.
Also which other religions do you entertain. There might be some conflict of interest
February 13th, 2012 at 11:32 am
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 9:54 am:
Not so sure of that.
When the ANC really demands the Bok in
total – not just moving it onto the chest -
the majority will lie on their backs
showing their agreement by pissing
into the air.
All in the name of transformation
and nation building.
February 13th, 2012 at 6:11 pm
Dude when I returned to University in 2010 guess what subject I chose to major in with my Bsc…
Geography… with specialization in climatology…
Oh I have other majors like Geology and Archeology but my main subject is Geography.
You think its just carbon emissions?
Think again
There is just too much data to deny human causation…
AND not just with respect to carbon which is actually the one you CAN argue…
Water, Nitrogen, Soil usage, phosphorous cycle and the sulfur cycle and the human interference in those all cause climate change.
The speed of present climate change is human driven… not just natural..
Carbon is just easy to jump on because through C14 it is the ONLY actual cycle element that can be affected radically and dramatically by outside influences like cosmic radiation or volcanic eruptions.
The rest of the cycles and ESPOECIALLY abuse of the water cycle has been undeniably linked to human caused climate change.
This is open to debate only because that twat Al Gore who is a democrat adopted it as his pet project and by default made all the Republicans oppose it… but this is America… the only country in the world where the dangers of tobacco smoke were “debated” and “controversial” until the late 1990′s…
February 13th, 2012 at 6:19 pm
Climate change?
How the hell did you folks end up there?
February 13th, 2012 at 7:33 pm
Reply to Morné @ 6:19 pm:
Boertjie started it!!!
February 13th, 2012 at 7:43 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 6:11 pm:
Canada just decided to drop out of Kyoto. Which means they don’t deny climate change they just reject the existing proposed solution.
Which pretty much describe the position of the majority of countries given the fact that no follow up protocol has been devised yet.
And then your average rich South African also has a carbon footprint right up there with the best of them should look in the mirror first. Coal fired power stations and all.
Around 30% of my electricity comes from nuclear, hydro and wind. How about yours?
February 13th, 2012 at 7:52 pm
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 7:33 pm:
I thought it was Bryce who started it?
At least we stuck to the topic, sort of.
February 13th, 2012 at 9:09 pm
Reply to Timeo @ 7:43 pm:
It may be of interest:
SA’s natural environment regressed
the most of any country world wide
over the last 20 years.
We now rate 128 out of 132 nations.
Study by the universities of Yale
and Columbia.
We are losing much more than our daisies.
February 13th, 2012 at 9:34 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 9:09 pm:
We now rate 128 out of 32 nations? My maths suck but that just makes no sense whatsoever!
February 13th, 2012 at 9:41 pm
Reply to Morné @ 9:34 pm:
Read again. Even I make
typing errors.
Sometimes.
February 13th, 2012 at 9:46 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 9:41 pm:
February 13th, 2012 at 10:20 pm
Reply to Timeo @ 7:43 pm:
Agreed
Mine’s all coal…
Great huh?
But in SA we’re not really given the nuclear option because Earth LIfe Africa’s hippies keep blocking it by getting hippy judges in CT to stop nuclear powerplant building, because radiation is bad for the environment regardless of the fact we are f***king irradiated by C14 to such an extent our bodies’ leftovers will be identifiable for the next 70000 years because of it…
But I agree that Kyoto is not the solution… too much “consensus” crap… when everyone knows the real bad guy is America.
February 13th, 2012 at 10:28 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 10:20 pm:
Well, we have Koeberg.
But no evacuation plan if
How much of an answer is a combination
of wind, solar and waves?
20%?
And if we stop selling cheap electricity
to our bruthas in the struggle?
February 13th, 2012 at 10:46 pm
Oh and installing solar is going to cost me R80K and my bank won’t help
February 14th, 2012 at 1:42 am
Reply to Timeo @ 7:43 pm: I guess your question was addressed to David S, but I can’t resist a bit of one upmanship. Here on the South Isld of NZ we are 100% renewable energy with all the electricity from hydro and wind generators. We even send some of it across the Cook Straight to the bro’s on North Isld. Don’t know why NZ doesn’t use this more in marketing their clean green image.
David you have just gone up in my esteem – didn’t know you had such a good grasp of climate change. Can’t blame Boertjie for his observation which started the debate though. Many people think climate change always means hotter and drier weather which is just one form of extreme weather events. The extreme cold in Europe at the mo is another.
February 14th, 2012 at 1:55 am
Back to the subject of the article, why should the Blue Bulls not play in their light blue with the Barberton daisy on their chest if they want to? Didn’t these Tshwane councillors see Invictus? If a great man like Mandela could realise the significance of putting past wrongs behind him and put on Francois’s jersey at Ellis Park on that great South African day, you would think some of this wisdom might filter down to them?
I was in the crowd that finals day in RWC 1995 and still thought oh no what a mistake for some diehards to be seen waving the old SA flag in pictures going out to the world. But all that was minimised by a smiling president appearing in a masterstroke of diplomacy in the Bok jersey – that crowd chant of Nelson! Nelson! that reverberated around Ellis Park was one of my best moments in SA.
February 14th, 2012 at 8:21 am
Reply to out wide @ 1:42 am:
Thanks outwide…
Ja and the carbon in greenhouse gases is only part of the issue… the one politicians cottoned on to because it’s the easiest to dispute… you’ve never heard anyone say a word about the interruption of the sulfur cycle or the nitrogen, soil and water cycles… because that is indisputable.
Reply to out wide @ 1:55 am:
Because they want to eradicate all proof that there ever was white people in South Africa to rid themselves of the inferiority complex of having to build on foundations long ago laid by a small percentage of the population.
February 14th, 2012 at 10:47 am
Reply to DavidS @ 10:20 pm:
Just like in Austrlia. Great uranium and thorium reserves, but ONLY coal generators.
NIMBY’s will not allow anything nuclear. It is easier to tax the people into poverty, ie wealth distribution.