Cape Town – Forwards trio Marcell Coetzee, Juandre Kruger and Eben Etzebeth will all make their Springbok debuts on Saturday after being named in the starting XV for the first Test against England in Durban. Kick-off is at 17:00.
![]() Heyneke Meyer (Gallo Images)
|
Coenie Oosthuizen will also earn his first cap, although he plays off the bench.
Zane Kirchner won the battle for selection at fullback ahead of Patrick Lambie, who was named on the bench.
Frans Steyn, who was based in France, but will join the Sharks next month, starts at inside centre.
It was also confirmed that Bismarck du Plessis will be the vice-captain to Jean de Villiers in South Africa’s first international since last year’s Rugby World Cup.
Teams:
South Africa:
15 Zane Kirchner, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jean de Villiers (captain), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira
Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 Wynand Olivier
http://www.sport24.co.za/Rugby/EnglandinSA/Bok-team-to-face-England-named-20120606

June 6th, 2012 at 1:24 pm
Good on the caps… pretty much the team I thought however there is no need for WO on the bench and I didn’t expect Daniels there without a 5/2 split…
Drop WO (Lambie is a 12 too) and add Kruger as another prop option (JDP is not an 85min player)… or add another bruiser flanker (Potgieter) to complement the light-weight speedster Daniels…
June 6th, 2012 at 1:26 pm
Surprised Strauss got the nod over Ralepelle… would have been 5 POC’s in the 22… he’d better shine with this opportunity…
June 6th, 2012 at 1:27 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 1:24 pm:
Coenie is a utility prop like CJ as far as I know, and Beast can obviously do a full 85 minutes.
June 6th, 2012 at 1:34 pm
It’ll be interesting to see how Heyneke will use Spies, because under Jake and Heyneke (Bulls)he was seldom a primary runner.
He was always running off the shoulder from Juan Smith /Danie Rossouw or FdP hitting the ball with speed (and hopefully holding on to it
), however, he now is used as a primary ball runner, and obviously not nearly as lethal.
June 6th, 2012 at 1:38 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 1:24 pm:
agree on WO but bring in another loosie IMO. Coenie can play both sides of the scrum.
June 6th, 2012 at 1:40 pm
Reply to Welshbok die Brandwag @ 1:34 pm:
I would have him running off Frans’s out side shoulder as an extra option to JdV – one angling in the other out…
In Open play of course not off scrum/LO ball.
I like Spies helping out the FB in open play, he can be lethal as a runner from deep with space!
June 6th, 2012 at 1:46 pm
Reply to Welshbok die Brandwag @ 1:27 pm:
Yeah I know… and he’s been working with Pieter De Villiers… but when last did he pack at TH (reportedly not in training) and against quality like England’s front-row?
Daniels is clearly there for his speed… but the guy IMO is too small and not all that in defence despite his heart… really don’t understand why HM went for a 4/3 split and then added WO and not an Aplon type…
June 6th, 2012 at 1:47 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 1:46 pm:
And the weather is going to be shite… definitely a 5/2 for mine…
June 6th, 2012 at 1:51 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 1:46 pm:
Keegan still a MUCH better defender than Spies!
I would have gone also gone for a 5/2 split especially with the weather forecast
June 6th, 2012 at 1:58 pm
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 1:51 pm:
Yep on the split… nope on Daniels when he’s playing the big boys like ENG’s heavy loosies… he’s been bounced on many occasions this year and in years past…
You see the odds mate?
$3.50 Eng win, $4 Eng win by 1-12, $2.65 RSA win by 1-12…
June 6th, 2012 at 1:59 pm
Reply to Welshbok die Brandwag @ 1:27 pm:
Coenie at home at TH and LH.
Would love to see him in action.
Thought Eben would be playing from the bench.
Glad to see Adriaan there.
June 6th, 2012 at 2:10 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 1:59 pm: I am pleasantly surprised to see Strauss there
I do think the Sport’s ministry is not going to be thrilled with this 22 though
June 6th, 2012 at 2:16 pm
Interesting that Bismarck is vice captain. Does this mean that Meyer doesn’t see Spies as a automatic selection at 8 and that he might be playing on borrowed time?
June 6th, 2012 at 2:19 pm
Quite happy for Adriaan Strauss, he has been deserved of a chance for some time now. Impressed with Meyer that he didn’t just do the PC thing and picked Chili.
Pleasantly surprised to see etzebeth partner Kruger at lock, our new Baiies and Victor?
Happy to see Frans at 12 and Jean at 13.
Understand why Zane is at 15, e is a better defender, but we scoring with Frans as an attacking option at 12, so Meyer had to compensate on defence at 15 as Lambie hasn’t been particularly great in defence this season.
Otherwise decent bench, but I think Meyer has some manlove for meisiekind.
4-3 split, would have though Werner would be in rather than meisiekind.
June 6th, 2012 at 2:23 pm
“The energetic Coetzee comfortably tops the overall tackles-made list with 220, 17 more than second-placed Cheetahs back rower Philip van der Walt and a whopping 31 and 46 more than New Zealand and Australia’s finest in Crusaders flank Matt Todd and new Wallaby captain David Pocock respectively.”
June 6th, 2012 at 2:27 pm
Reply to Pokkel @ 2:16 pm:
Re borrowed time: I sincerely hope so.
But then there aren’t many other options
with Vermeulen injured, is there?
Kanko is even worse.
June 6th, 2012 at 2:28 pm
Reply to biltongbek @ 2:19 pm: Lambie has been pretty good defensively from 10, but his lack of speed counts against him at 15
June 6th, 2012 at 2:36 pm
Reply to Bokhoring @ 2:10 pm:
Yep I was convinced Ralepelle would be there for the 5…
June 6th, 2012 at 2:37 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 2:27 pm:
I agree, but I reckon Vermeulen would have been selected ahead of Spies. van der Walt of the Cheetah’s has also been great and even Josh Struass would have made more of an impact at 8.
But it’s not a bad choice under the circumstances especially with 3 debutants in the pack already.
June 6th, 2012 at 2:43 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 2:27 pm:
On SArugby HM states if either BDP or Jean are off his next choice for captain is Strauss…
June 6th, 2012 at 3:06 pm
Reply to biltongbek @ 2:19 pm:
but I think Meyer has some manlove for meisiekind.
Harry Viljoen and Percy Montgomery….
Interesting though that RW rumour ears say Vermeulen is HM’s first choice at 8…
June 6th, 2012 at 3:12 pm
7/22 Bulls
10/22 Sharks
3 Stormers
4 Cheetahs
That f***king black and white pro Sharks biased bastard selecting all those Sharks for his first Test match… what a transparently provincialist twat with his little Sharks friends simply ignoring the fine form of the Bulls and especially the Stormers on the log… I knew he’d be a provincialist team selector and he has done exactly what I feared…
Screw you HM and your little Sharks Boks… I will support England now…
Now when HM selects ten Sharks in his first test match after al the hysterics over his “spurning” Stormers I suddenly see not one Stormers fan having a go at him for having almost half the Bok side come from SA’s third place team on the Super Rugby log…
Where is Bekke to squeal?
In fact where are all the Stormers fans to accuse HM of pro Sharks provincialism now?
June 6th, 2012 at 3:34 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 3:12 pm:
Fkt, wat pis jy vandag so ‘n
gevurkte groen straal?
June 6th, 2012 at 3:44 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 3:06 pm:
I don’t care much for Vermeulen – nog ‘n afkophoender!
I would have as my 1st choice backrow:
6. Brussouw (on form)
7. Coetzee/Alberts
8. Burger
Just IMO.
June 6th, 2012 at 3:50 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 3:12 pm:
Hehe… indeed!
June 6th, 2012 at 3:53 pm
Record watch:
• Jean de Villiers is South Africa’s 54th Springbok captain. With 72 Test caps he is the most experienced player in the history of Springbok rugby to be appointed as captain. Victor Matfield had 57 caps when he was first appointed as captain in 2007.
• De Villiers will also equal Jaque Fourie’s record of most capped Springbok centre. Fourie is the current record holder with 58 appearances at centre. Jean needs one try to reach 20 career Test tries for the Springboks.
• It is only the third time in the history of South African Rugby that a centre will captain the Test side. The previous two captains were Ferdie Aston (1896) and Pierre Albertyn (1924).
• Bryan Habana is South Africa’s most capped Springbok wing with 73 Tests and also most experienced player in the squad with 74 Test caps. He is the Springbok top try scorer with 40 career tries in Tests and all were scored as a wing.
• Habana also holds the Springbok record for most career tries in Tests against England with six. He has played in eight Tests against England, together with Frans Steyn, the most of any player in this squad.
• Morné Steyn shares the Springbok record for most tries in Tests as a flyhalf with Joel Stransky and Piet Visagie – they have all scored six tries in the No 10 shirt. He also holds the record for most points in a match at this venue when he scored a try, conversion and eight penalty goals for a total of 31 points against New Zealand in 2009.
• Furthermore, Steyn needs 10 points to surpass Naas Botha’s 40 career points at this venue. Percy Montgomery is the record holder with 73 career points at Mr Price Kings Park. Three penalty goals will equal Percy’s career record of 11 penalty goals at this venue.
• Bismarck du Plessis shares the Springbok record for most tries in Tests as a hooker with James Dalton and John Smit – they have all scored five Test tries in the No 2 jersey.
• Pierre Spies will become South Africa’s most capped No 8, surpassing former Bok captain Gary Teichmann, who is equal with Spies on 42 caps. Spies also holds the record for most Test tries as a No 8, with seven.
• Frans Steyn is the only player that has played in all seven consecutive wins against England since 2006 and, together with Bryan Habana, the only other player in the squad with eight Test caps against England.
• The Castle Incoming Tour of South Africa by England is the first three-Test tour to this country by a single nation since 1996, when New Zealand played three Tests after the conclusion of the Tri-Nations series.
• The Springboks have won their last seven consecutive Tests against England. England’s worst run against any country is nine consecutive losses against New Zealand.
• This will be the first Test at Mr Price Kings Park between the Springboks and England. The Boks’ record at Mr Price Kings Park is: P 27; W 16; D 3; L 8; Win % 59. The biggest win by South Africa at this venue was against Italy in 1999 (101-0) and the biggest defeat was against Australia in 2008 (15-27).
• The Springboks have scored 62 tries in 27 Tests at Mr Price Kings Park and have conceded only 38.
• It’s not England’s first visit to Durban though – they played three Tests at Mr Price Kings Park during the 1995 Rugby World Cup and won all of them, against Argentina, Italy and Western Samoa.
• England’s last victory against South Africa was in 2006 at Twickenham (23-21). South Africa won their last Test against England, also at Twickenham, in 2010. England’s last victory in South Africa was in 2000 in Bloemfontein when they won 27-22.
June 6th, 2012 at 3:59 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 3:53 pm: some decent records there.
June 6th, 2012 at 4:00 pm
Ek rev maar so bietjie Boer
June 6th, 2012 at 4:12 pm
Reply to DavidS @ 4:00 pm:
Ja, tyd om weer die Yellow Valiant te ref.
Of die Orakel op te roep.
Kan nie glo die ouderdom en drank het jou
so slapgat gemaak nie.
June 6th, 2012 at 4:23 pm
lat ek nou ma die drol wees en dit se:
hierdie is n average bok span. ons kort net n ndugane dan is dit perfek.
Hulle kan en gaan hopelik wen.
Truth is, Sharks front row het nie wereld aan die brand gescrum sover nie. 2 greenhorns op slot. Spies in trio – die ou is kak en ons almal weet dit tog maak ons verskonings omdat Meyer coach is.
Steyn is nie op form met skopvoet nie. F Steyn, who knows. Jean is at best average op die oomblik – wys my die stats wat anders se?
Habs het baie tekortkominge, Kirchner is net n tad minder average as Ndugane.
En tog, kry Meyer RIGHTFULLY SO n free pass die naaweek.
Ek is bang ons gaan soos die onder 20′s en Oz n moerse surprise kry die naaweek…
Die manne van die noorde is nie bang vir ons nie.
June 6th, 2012 at 4:27 pm
Reply to The Year of the Cheetah @ 4:23 pm: Die sharks scrum was nie kak die laaste tyd nie, en Meyer het drie “debutants” in sy scrum, wie sou jy nog in die voory wou sit wat epxerience het?
Onthou wat laasjaar gebeur het toe ons New Zealand aanvat met groen pak?
Steyn se skopvoet het baie verbeter, hy was op n’ stadium onder 70% hy is nou all oor die 75%
Spies se probleem is hy moet alewif kompeteer met die hype wat om hom gehang het in 2007, nuwe coach, nuwe pak gee hom n’ kans.
June 6th, 2012 at 4:28 pm
Reply to The Year of the Cheetah @ 4:23 pm:
ek is nervous oor die game – daai poms is georganize and sal ‘n plan he vir die bokke! Hierdie naweek gaan net gees en passie vir ons die game wen! As dit gebeur hoe kak moet die engilse dan voel
June 6th, 2012 at 4:29 pm
Reply to biltongbek @ 4:27 pm:
Spies se probleem is hy is kak bang en useless tackling! Ball in hand = ok but in defense my wife’s grandma can tackle better than he can!
June 6th, 2012 at 4:29 pm
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 4:28 pm: Hel, ek dink darem daar is bietjie meer as net gees in daai lot.
June 6th, 2012 at 4:31 pm
Reply to biltongbek @ 4:29 pm:
hope you are right but I will be happy with a win by any means this week, next week I would like to see a bit more etc.
June 6th, 2012 at 4:41 pm
Lets give him time to finish the english tour, there is a lot of logic in his selections. I expected him to go ultra consrvative.
Picking Jean at 13 and Frans at 12, does suggest some running and offloading.
Picking a francois hougaard ahead of experienced Ruan even though francois kicking isn’t as accurate, means Meyer is considering Hougaards individual talents over just a kicking machine.
Picking a total new locking pair proves he is looking toward the future and not going for the safety net of Flip.
June 6th, 2012 at 4:48 pm
I’m still not buying that Marcell Coetsee is ‘the next Schalk Burger’… nor that he has any advantage over Brussouw across the paddock other than being taller…
This pack also worries me somewhat… it really lacks some grunt and physicality… I count 2-3 real bruisers in there compared to England’s entire front-row, locks and flankers… and it’s set to be wet…
If it comes to trench war-fare in torrid conditions just how effective is that bench of ‘impact’ players going to be?
June 6th, 2012 at 4:51 pm
Reply to biltongbek @ 4:41 pm:
He always said this side is just for this tour…
Expect different for the 4N
June 6th, 2012 at 4:55 pm
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 4:29 pm:
JT, all respects, how can a man be “OK with ball in hand, but kak bang on defence”?
Luister pal, Spies is a physical, fast player. I see that guys on the site love to slam him, but he has always delivered. I do not have to protect him, but I do want to expose the vehement detractors.
Do not shout with the crowds, you were always better than that. Even so, I do not expect you to suddenly like the guy.
June 6th, 2012 at 4:55 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 4:48 pm:
I don’t buy this notion that if it is wet the bigger pack has the advantage.
IMO wet grounds is an equalizer and does not give the bigger side the advantage.
June 6th, 2012 at 5:00 pm
When I was in the army the heavier vehicles got bogged down in the mud and the liighter vehicles glided like Gazelles over the savanna
June 6th, 2012 at 5:01 pm
Reply to Cosa die BLOUBOK @ 4:55 pm:
I said “bang and useless in defense” not just bang!
Like I said over a long period, Spies frustrates me, he tackles like Breyton Paulse but with space runs like Bolt! I just wish he would show MORE in defense than he has and watch him closely in the last few Bulls games, he will seldom take on a player from the front and tackle hard he will pull the oppo to ground or make a side tackle but from the front when you need a leader to show some mongrel he dissapears!
Take it which ever way you want but that is what I see! I hope he shoves these words down my throat on Saturday!
June 6th, 2012 at 5:16 pm
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 4:55 pm:
Far more mongrel in the Pom pack IMO…
June 6th, 2012 at 5:17 pm
Hope he gives Daniels enough time on teh field to show how kak he is and that he does not belong in international rugby
June 6th, 2012 at 5:20 pm
Cosa
Same as in boxing. Spies likes to deliver punches but he cant take them. I’ve seen in my time great attacking players that will run over players and yet cringe like little bitches when that same player has their hands on the ball. Will let the guy pass them and then try to jump on his back. He is kak scared to make the full on frontal tackle at speed.
He better play on Saturday like he did the previous series against England…
Cheers
June 6th, 2012 at 5:28 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 5:17 pm:
I am a staunch BULLS supporter, and have been, many a time, dissillusioned by the same fkn Daniels.
Just a question. Is rank muscle, (weighing more than sinnew),the better option?
A lesson that I have learned in life, is that CORE BODY STRENTH is more important than just muscles.
I actually like Daniels in the mix.
June 6th, 2012 at 5:31 pm
Reply to Cosa die BLOUBOK @ 5:28 pm: No non off above just good player
Gonna be a big test for the new caps in the side, gonna be nice to see the new locks against the poms…..hope they pull through….Bekker is more injured than on the field and after the Band of Brothers – Matfield and Bakkies we need to bread new hard core blood
June 6th, 2012 at 5:32 pm
Reply to Methos The French Stormer @ 5:20 pm:
So in the previous series against England he did OK?
June 6th, 2012 at 5:32 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 5:31 pm: There is always an internal joke when we watch the sharks for if Daniels or kankakski score a try for them they will loose for nobody will see the ball anymore.
June 6th, 2012 at 5:37 pm
Think Steyn (Frans) will be the one player I want to watch, he will be the one (I think) that could bring the X-factor in the kicking game of the boks
June 6th, 2012 at 5:39 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 5:31 pm:
Jacques, one thing that led to the BULLS success in the recent past, was the pinpoint kicking game.
Not UNLIKE Jake White’s philosophy of giving the other team the ball under pressure, and attacking from the turnovers.
The Bulls had amazing success this year in scoring from first phase, always involving Kirschner.
So, yes, I believe that there is a plan. Hopefully just one plan.
Bliksem them till tender, scoring many tries in the meantime, kill them when they are fkd.
June 6th, 2012 at 5:55 pm
Reply to Jacques(Bunny) @ 5:37 pm:
Bunny, Frans Steyn is THE X-factor in the backline. When he was injured, we got fkd in the WC.
June 6th, 2012 at 6:02 pm
Reply to Methos The French Stormer @ 5:20 pm:
That was an England ‘A’ side… and Schalk and co were splitting the Poms apart for him to run wild…
June 6th, 2012 at 6:06 pm
Reply to Cosa die BLOUBOK @ 5:28 pm:
Alberts just back from injury goes off… and then they have Marcel, Spies and Daniels on… imo the wrong dynamic… much like when the Bulls play Potgieter (Dewald not Jacques) or the Sharks play Botes and Daniels… they going to get worked over…
Any way… cannot wait for the game… hope everything pans out for HM…
June 6th, 2012 at 6:06 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 6:02 pm: That’s my problem, no Schalk..but new chaps that can show their worth
June 6th, 2012 at 6:12 pm
I cannot for the life of me remember Keegan playing for the Boks?
Must have been 2010 but what game and how many minutes?
June 6th, 2012 at 6:18 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 6:12 pm: ireland 2010, 14 minutes
June 6th, 2012 at 6:32 pm
Reply to biltongbek @ 6:18 pm:
Yep that’s the one… he must be stoked to get another cap and at his home ground…
June 6th, 2012 at 6:41 pm
Is there method in the madness?
June 6th, 2012 at 7:15 pm
Reply to Cosa die BLOUBOK @ 6:41 pm:
one thing I will give HM – he is calculated, or so it appears.
Not like Streauli who gave away more caps than any other coach AFAIK.
June 6th, 2012 at 7:55 pm
Reply to biltongbek @ 4:27 pm:
M Steyn moet in sy laaste wedstryde ver
oor die 80% wees – ná sy 3/8 twee maande
terug.
June 6th, 2012 at 8:00 pm
Don’t know what the beef with Kirchner is, I thought he was more than decent in 2012 – seems he is judged on his form before.
June 6th, 2012 at 8:00 pm
Reply to Cosa die BLOUBOK @ 4:55 pm:
Spies: but he has always delivered.
Bullshit Cosa – dis net deur jou blou bril.
Van legg drive weet hy niks, minder van offload,
minder van support play. Regop houding. En hy moet
tog assemfokkenblief net nie ‘n bal agter die skrum optel nie.
Very few Boks that was more overrated than Spies.
June 6th, 2012 at 8:08 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 6:12 pm:
KEEGAN DANIEL
06 Nov 2010 25 Reserve Ireland Win: 23-21 Aviva Stadium (Lansdowne Road), Dublin Sharks
Came on in minute 66 in place of Stegmann.
June 6th, 2012 at 8:18 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 8:00 pm:
Spies will be remembered as the experiment that failed trying to make a potentially awesome backline player into a forward.
I know its difficult, but imagine Spies’ frame with lean (not heavy) muscle mass on wing…
June 6th, 2012 at 8:19 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 8:08 pm:
I know Bryce does not rate him, but I quite like Keegan.
June 6th, 2012 at 8:22 pm
Reply to Morné @ 8:19 pm:
same here, a better option than spies because he is a great support runner and off loads well in the tackle. Defense is also better because he at least tries
June 6th, 2012 at 8:32 pm
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 8:22 pm:
Yup, reminds me of that player we do not speak his name in fear of mass puking!
Thinking player, and I would pick one of those before an ultimate ‘athlete’ any day of the week.
June 6th, 2012 at 8:45 pm
Reply to Morné @ 8:32 pm:
we need more “thinking players” in the team.
we have some who might come close:
Marcel Coetzee, Jeandre Kruger, Hougie?, Frans Steyn, Love him or hate him Habana, JPP and even Zane (times his runs brilliantly on attack)
On the bench:
Adriaan Strauss?, Keegan, Lambie and Ruan…
Funny that the majority are Sharks players
With dumbtree as coach at least he is getting the players to think for themselves!
Thinking players we could do with:
Gurthro, Fannykirk, Wynand Claasens, Juan Smith, Ernst Joubert,
June 6th, 2012 at 8:53 pm
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 8:45 pm:
Well I am only going to comment on one of those names for now – I think Zane is copping some really unfair criticism. Imo he is in good form and as you suggest, has a great feel/think for the game and his own plays.
June 6th, 2012 at 8:54 pm
I really don’t think Meyer did a bad job here, his selections should give us confidence, considering that there are some injured players who could have made a difference.
June 6th, 2012 at 8:58 pm
Reply to biltongbek @ 8:54 pm:
agree with you – this is the safest option he could have taken under the circumstances, of course everyone has an opinion like everyone has an asshole so he will never please everyone all the time
if it backfires then it is going to be the longest 3 weeks of his life!
Already feel sorry for the guy!
June 6th, 2012 at 8:59 pm
Reply to biltongbek @ 8:54 pm:
Mate you have it spot on, I am seriously starting to think SA supporters are just too bloody lazy to THINK for themselves even if only for 15 seconds.
I think considering everything that would, could, is, influencing this team selection he has done bloody well.
June 6th, 2012 at 9:00 pm
Reply to Morné @ 8:53 pm:
Who would you play at 10 if you had a few more weeks preparation? Would it be any different to having 1 week prep?
June 6th, 2012 at 9:05 pm
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 9:00 pm:
No, given Johan is injured, I would have played Morne. I really dont know why the Cape is up in arms over Grant, hard worker, but forgetabbly average
June 6th, 2012 at 9:05 pm
look at the bright side! No Charl McCloud, no CJ, No BJ, No Earl Rose etc.
dark side: WO is still here…
June 6th, 2012 at 9:07 pm
Reply to Morné @ 9:05 pm:
Grant can’t kick out of hand well enough to be considered. Also too slow in feet and mind IMO.
The Goose will fly at the end of the year
What about Lambie at 10 for the future? IMO he gives more options to the bok back-line but as you say Johan Goosen is also out there!
June 6th, 2012 at 9:11 pm
Reply to Morné @ 8:59 pm:
Re SA “supporters”: Mallett was quite on target
when he said the supporting public knows little
about the game. They have their favourites,
warped ideas and provincialism.
My try at being balanced is to say HM has selected
more or less the best available.
Apart from Aplon: Who in hell does the Cape supporters
want to see there (injured players excluded).
As for Spies and tackling: I can’t remember Burger
ever tackling head on. From the back, from the side
yes – and then mostly assists and jumping onto the
guy.
June 6th, 2012 at 9:14 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 9:11 pm:
on backs he does
Now if Spies could do that a few times all would be forgiven!
June 6th, 2012 at 9:24 pm
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 9:14 pm:
I remember that one. Must be one of three decent
ones he’s ever made.
June 6th, 2012 at 9:30 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 9:24 pm:
to defend like you are talking about takes a player that can also read the play and time his hit well – again a thinking player which IMO Burger is not!
What he has going in his favor is his energy on the field – dynamo!
June 6th, 2012 at 9:32 pm
Reply to Morné @ 8:32 pm:
I could be wrong in my assumption, but I believe it’s not only in tackling that Spies shies away from, it’s physicality in every aspect, and I believe it’s a fear that he developed after his blood ailment in 2007, which was a MASSIVE disappointment, and has left a psychological issue with him.
Has anybody noticed that Spies also hasn’t had any real injuries since 2007 either, which serves to me a confirmation of his lack of physicality. He doesn’t dominate the collisions like Duane Vermeulen and Schalk / Juan Smith.
Heavens above, the man is an absolute monster in physical strength, with the heart of a lamb. He never gets agro, I’d love to see him strip his moer like Juan did at Twickenham, and Bismark does every single game I’ve ever seen him play.
He showed some brief glimpses of it in the Lions tour, and threw a few guys around like loose rags, but he always holds back.
Pierre Spies isn’t a warrior unfortunately, hopefully Heyneke can get into his head and motivate him.
June 6th, 2012 at 9:33 pm
Burger is respected and feared the world over, that says a lot to me.
He is a kamikaze, has been his whole career, but ssince his banning after the gouging incident when Brussow became the fetcher savious of SA rugby, burger evolved his game and has become not only physical at the breakdwon and on defence, but in attack he has become a lot more effective and has added the offload to his arsenal.
A great player in my opinion.
June 6th, 2012 at 10:02 pm
Reply to biltongbek @ 9:33 pm:
I agree with you 100%.
Burger is one seriously hard nugget, and Jake also mentioned in his book that Schalk is best player he had ever coached.
The big thing for me about Schalk in his domination @ the collisions, and has also shown some pretty soft hands in recent years. the Stormers are missing him hugely, and he will be a very useful asset once back with the boks.
June 6th, 2012 at 10:24 pm
Reply to Welshbok die Brandwag @ 10:02 pm:
Pity then that Jake never taught him
the secrets of legg drive (a la Coenie,
Adriaan, Alberts) in stead of just seeing
him running into the first available
opponent and going straight to ground.
June 7th, 2012 at 5:23 am
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 1:46 pm: Daniels too small but Aplon is ok?
I agree with Aplon over WO any day but there might be an issue with FS injury.
Daniels like Watson are thinking players. If you dont have the size you need a little extra plus he is a leader which you need in the end of a tight game.
Spies is an impact player.
The Poms are ready to hijack us at home. This is going to be hard so I hope we have some variation for the kick and chase give away possesion game plan.
June 7th, 2012 at 6:20 am
Reply to Morné @ 8:19 pm:
I do rate his play… but not at test level against this massive loose-trio and back-line particularly in sodden weather where the game is going to be one of attrition…
If he added more of a ground-game (well any would do) to his quick/link abilities it might be different… not too mention at least weighed 100kg’s… Watson, Botes, Ashley, Kolisi are all this type of ‘link-utility-player’ of which I rate Keegan tops (until Kolisi has another season) and perhaps at best a ‘horses for courses’ test choice…
This is not the course nor the horse (I might have been persuaded with another power loosie on the bench)…
Reply to Kevin_rack @ 5:23 am:
“Daniels too small but Aplon is ok?”
Well one is a back with stupendous speed and skills and the other a forward… but I also think he’s too small…
I agree with your thinking on WO… Frans has only just returned from injury… so their might be a cloud over his fitness… WO is a solid 12 to deal with Eng backs (should he get game-time or there be injury)… albeit Lambie is an excellent 12… so again I bring up the 5/2 split…
June 7th, 2012 at 6:37 am
Reply to Boertjie @ 9:11 pm:
He most certainly has… but way too high/up-right and doing himself just as much damage as the opposition… fortunately for him… he’s super-human…
June 7th, 2012 at 8:22 am
Daniel has one stat that would concern me at test level – the number of turnovers he concedes. I think that has a lot to do with the type of game he plays. As far as off-loading is concerned he is SA’s SBW – this season he (20) is only bested by SBW (29) in offloading stats. However he often spills the ball when he tries to offload when it is not on.
June 7th, 2012 at 10:54 am
Jeez I am already pumped for this game…
Reply to JT_BOKBEFOK! @ 9:14 pm: that was a cracker, like the wink he game him at then of the video. How the wheel turns cos Alberts flattend him Schalla.
June 7th, 2012 at 10:55 am
Reply to Bokhoring @ 8:22 am: his breaks tend for him too be isolated on his own.
June 7th, 2012 at 10:57 am
Reply to Kevin_rack @ 10:54 am:
Well, judging by the way I’m struggling to
decypher what you wrote here you must
be having the hots for the game.