So the most colourful character in South African rugby in recent history, Peter de Villiers, is back in the saddle.
News broke on Monday that former Springbok coach, Peter de Villiers, has been announced as the Director of Rugby for the University of the Western Cape (UWC). UWC plays in the lower division of the Varsity Cup competition (Varsity Shield) and in the Premier League A Division in WP Club rugby (3rd division effectively).
It did not take long for the social media platforms and blogs to pick up on this and although a large amount of commentators wished him luck, there was also more than enough of the predictable, disparaging remarks which I suppose was to be expected.
Personally, I believe this says more about the character of the man than any comment, good or bad, has said in the last 4 years.
My personal experience of De Villiers when he was still trying to get a struggling Spears team off the ground was one of a man who loves people and loves the game of rugby. Yes he is strong-willed to the point of possibly being arrogant in his beliefs that drive him, but I never once doubted his absolute passion for the game of rugby and the players he was coaching.
I once asked him how he dealt with racial integration within his own team having suffered at the hands of Apartheid in rugby personally and his answer, although surprising at the time, was probably a lesson all administrators and politicians should learn, where he said that he does very little, but rather allows the game of rugby to sort that out and only guides his players on that path.
Point is, what drove De Villiers when I met him as a relative nobody in South African rugby, is what no doubt still drives him given his decision to take up this post – and that his passion for the game of rugby and the people that play it.
We as a nation often bemoan our loss of intellectual capital from individuals we invest loads of money and time in (usually through our own faults or that of rugby administration), but we also seldom recognize that which is great.
Coaches who have been involved at test level, or even just Super Rugby and Currie Cup level, usually find themselves on a plane to another country once their contracts end or relationships break down, looking for the ‘next best thing’ (read best paid thing), or fade into obscurity altogether, but it is not often that a coach with experience will look to re-invest his knowledge at lower levels, forget 3rd division club level! Especially when rugby is losing its magic and passion as a sport where everything now is about money, not only at union or test level, but even schoolboy level.
Like him or not, Peter de Villiers is all about passion for the game, and I can only applaud his decision to immerse himself into club rugby where his knowledge and experience aided by his passion can only mean great things for the players he will take charge of. Players who like him, is still driven by their passion for the game.

June 18th, 2012 at 2:43 pm
Of course, when nobody rates your ability on merit (and not race), there may be NO offers for the “next thing” and you may need to accept lower offers to fund your helium intake.
June 18th, 2012 at 2:50 pm
I like the guy (as entertainment)… I don’t however rate him as any more than a VC coach… and VC it is…
June 18th, 2012 at 3:02 pm
UWC plays in the lower division of the Varsity Cup competition
———-
That’s where he should be, if at all:
lower division.
Where they also don’t give airtime
or interviews to coaches.
So he can’t embarass UWC.
June 18th, 2012 at 3:27 pm
So what happened to Mbalula’s talk
about Snor being put in charge of
transformation/development/whatever?
Was it just cheap talk (like usual)
with the budget siphoned off by some
comrades?
Or did the mieniestaa get wind of an
incompetent appointment?
June 18th, 2012 at 3:39 pm
Reply to Boertjie @ 3:27 pm:
Still on the cards.
June 18th, 2012 at 8:55 pm
Reply to bryce_in_oz @ 2:50 pm:
So true I respet you
June 18th, 2012 at 9:46 pm
Not a great deal to “re-invest” there.
Glad the poepol stays in Province.
We have enough kak news in natal.
June 19th, 2012 at 8:18 am
Morne I agree, like him or not he is all about rugby and rugby alone, don’t like the idiot, but players like John, Vic, Bakkies and most of the Bokke liked the way he manage the team. Maybe not the best coach in the world but he is a peoples person for his team and players, for that I will Saluut him, but thank god he is gone and done with Bok rugby.