Chiefs announce team for Highlanders match


The Chiefs have announced their team to play the Highlanders in their first game of the Investec Super Rugby competition in Dunedin on Friday.

Tim Nanai-Williams will take the field at centre, after a solid performance in last week’s trial against the Hurricanes.  Chiefs’ midfielders, Bundee Aki and Charlie Ngatai have both been cleared to play while Andrew Horrell, Robbie Robinson, Brendon Leonard, and Richard Kahui all remain out injured.

Bundee Aki, winger Patrick Osborne and hooker Rhys Marshall will all make their Investec Super Rugby debut this Friday.

Chiefs’ coach Dave Rennie said “It‘s good to finally start the competition.  I know the boys have been training hard and are looking forward to getting stuck into it, especially our new caps.”

Chiefs team for Highlanders:

  1. Pauliasi Manu
  2. Hika Elliot
  3. Ben Afeaki
  4. Craig Clarke ©
  5. Brodie Retallick
  6. Liam Messam
  7. Sam Cane
  8. Fritz Lee
  9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow
  10. Aaron Cruden
  11. Asaeli Tikoirotuma
  12. Bundee Aki
  13. Tim Nanai-Williams
  14. Patrick Osborne *
  15. Gareth Anscombe
  16. Rhys Marshall*
  17. Ben Tameifuna
  18. Michael Fitzgerald
  19. Tanerau Latimer
  20. Augustine Pulu
  21. Charlie Ngatai*
  22. Lelia Masaga
Facebook Comments