The Cheetahs could not have asked for a more difficult opening game on tour as they take on the defending champions, the Chiefs.
Teams:
Chiefs: 15 Gareth Anscombe, 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Tim Nanai-Williams, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Augustine Pulu, 8 Fritz Lee, 7 Sam Cane, 6 Liam Messam (captain), 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Michael Fitzgerald, 3 Ben Afeaki, 2 Hika Elliot, 1 Pauliasi Manu.
Replacements: 16 Rhys Marshall, 17 Ben Tameifuna, 18 Craig Clarke, 19 Tanerau Latimer, 20 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 21 Charlie Ngatai, 22 Patrick Osborne.
Cheetahs: 15 Hennie Daniller, 14 Willie le Roux, 13 Johann Sadie, 12 Robert Ebersohn, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Frans Viljoen, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lodewyk de Jager, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Adriaan Strauss (captain), 1 Trevor Nyakane.
Replacements: 16 Ryno Barnes, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Rynhard Landman, 19 Johannes Prinsloo, 20 Piet van Zyl, 21 Riaan Smith, 22 Ryno Benjamin.
Referee: Mike Fraser (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand), Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
TMO: Vinny Munro (New Zealand)

March 2nd, 2013 at 8:51 am
Cheetahs showing that if you hold onto the ball the chiefs can’t score
March 2nd, 2013 at 8:51 am
But for how long??
March 2nd, 2013 at 8:59 am
3 all after 20min
March 2nd, 2013 at 9:03 am
Stupid decisions like that Le Roux will make sure that you never get a Bok jersey.
March 2nd, 2013 at 9:04 am
10 – 3 cChiefs. 27 min
Thanks Willie
March 2nd, 2013 at 9:15 am
Goose having a
game – can’t hold onto the ball and missed 2/3 kicks
March 2nd, 2013 at 9:20 am
Hello all. This game isnt all I thought it would be. I expected more action.
March 2nd, 2013 at 10:16 am
What a crap game! I would rather watch a passionate team like the Kings getting beaten, than these Cheetah ploerts. No skills, lazy, no interest in even trying to be competitive, and some individuals like Goosen just could not care less. Please finish last and get relegated. With your has been coaching staff.
March 2nd, 2013 at 10:21 am
Have seen more ‘want to’ in an U/11 team. That was kak. 2 hours of my life that I will never get back…
Would rather watch Twighlight than the Cheetahs.
Chiefs played well though. Beautifull Offloading game.
Cheers
March 2nd, 2013 at 10:57 am
Now they say the Bulls play boring rugby.
March 2nd, 2013 at 11:13 am
cheetahs just not backing themselves and not helped by Goosen not slotting easy kicks.
BUT
The kiwi skills set right now as illustrated by the Chiefs is a country mile above ours. They were quite simply awesome
March 2nd, 2013 at 11:16 am
the willie le roux action turned out a mistake but telling players to not have a go is why SA rugby is so stale. Had he kicked forward it would have been fine. Players should be allowed to have a go.
March 2nd, 2013 at 11:45 am
all in all came confirmed what I feared since last year: SA teams falling further and further behind with backline play.
The reason is simple. For 10 to 15 years now our backline are staffed thoughtout any given game by locks and props which means backline players almost never get to run with the ball at speed.
A ball being passed to a backline in SA simply counts as another ‘phase’to be used to set up another phase. Forwards are tasked with making contact and going to ground no matter who is outside or inside. We wait for that elusive ‘mismatch’before trusting backline players on attack but in todays game the flanks and locks easily defend against backline players causing the mismatch few and far between.
The chiefs play a totally different game. Everything revolves around getting the ball to the backline at pace with the backline expected to make at least 40 metres every time.
Compare that to our lumbering fatarse locks and props who make at most a metre every time they take the ball up in a backline channel.
March 2nd, 2013 at 12:19 pm
Reply to The Year of the Cheetah @ 11:16 am:
Ag kak man. Jy doen dit in hulle kwartgebied, nie in jou eie nie.
March 2nd, 2013 at 3:54 pm
Klink my ek het ‘n lekker pot
misgeloop. Dankie tog!
March 3rd, 2013 at 10:47 am
Measuring the championship side playing at home against the second kakkest side in South Africa playing away from home after traveling away from home and then deciding on that basis that South African rugby is unskilled is like judging SR performance on warm up games…
Stupidity rules…
March 4th, 2013 at 4:45 am
Never before in rugby history, have so much running and so many passes delivered so few results.
March 4th, 2013 at 4:47 am
Someone need to tell the Cheetahs, it’s not elementary school rugby any more…. you are, in fact, allowed to the kick the ball outside your 22.
March 4th, 2013 at 4:51 am
The Cheetahs play true one dimensional rugby.
east-west, west-east. more east-west and a little more west-east.
Then…
more east-west,
until you’re worn out, then go stand behind the goal posts….
and again.
again and again….
one more time boys.
March 4th, 2013 at 4:52 am
The Cheetahs are the new Lions.
March 4th, 2013 at 4:53 am
All jokes aside, I think we know now, why the people of Bloemfontein don’t bother any more.
March 4th, 2013 at 9:20 am
Reply to Timeo @ 4:53 am:
Timeo you are right. Cheetahs still have not recovered from the loss of Johnson, who was the key link between forward and backs and who made crucial breaks right next to the scrum/ruck which allowed the cheetahs to break the defensive line.
Our support play remains very good but we do not break the line currently and this leads to this east-west bullocks that started creeping in last year.
They have to play Schoeman soon because he is a good link player. Brussouw will also make a difference.
March 4th, 2013 at 11:07 am
I recall us play a game back at club level, where we went from side to side, and in spite of having most of the ball, we lost the game. Much like the Cheetahs, we ran, but ran nowhere. The Monday after the game, we were given a ball each, and the session went something like this. I still played flyhalf back then. We started on the halfway line everytime. Our coach shouted instructions and we had to run as he directed.
‘Werner picks up the ball behind the scrum and runs 5 metres backwards towards the sideline, he then passes the baal to Aldo, who goes three steps closer to the sideline, then passes to the next guy, who run towards the other sideline and 5 m more backwards, then passes backwards.’ we went on like that, everytime ending up behind our poles for about an hour, came back to practise the next day, and we had the exact same practise session. It was horrible, but needless to say, we never ran and passed without purpose again that year.
March 4th, 2013 at 3:20 pm
Reply to The Year of the Cheetah @ 9:20 am:
Well, if you don’t have the players that can break the line, there are also box-kicks, chip-kicks, up-and-unders, kick-passes, grubbers and even aimless-kicks.
If you view, to kick, or not to kick, as a matter of dogma, rather than tactic, you only limit yourself needlessly.
March 5th, 2013 at 2:50 pm
Had such a nasty flu couldn’t even get thru the first half –
Cheetahs musta caught the same 2nd half
Reading the comments ( so many ) made me recall former president john kennedy’s speech in berlin where he said “Ich bin ein Berliner”.
Even the frustrated comments came from a place of caring. A collective “Ich bin ein Cheetah Fan”. Which is great to see….
Unless it’s the flu medicine talking
March 5th, 2013 at 3:11 pm
Reply to Americano @ 2:50 pm:
if you want to say the same as JFK it should be more along the line of “ek is ‘n boerewors”