Baby Boks for play-off’s


South Africa Under-20 will tackle New Zealand with a reshuffled team after Junior Springbok coach, Dawie Theron, confirmed his match 23 on Saturday for the IRB Junior World Championship third place playoff encounter tomorrow in Vannes.

The clash, which kicks off at 15:15, is the last outing for both teams at the 2013 JWC tournament.

There is new prop and a rearranged loose trio combination amongst the forwards, while Theron made one positional switch and two changes in the backline, including a new-look centre combination.

Upfront Sti Sithole comes in for Andrew Beerwinkel, while the troublesome knee of Roelof Smit has forced Theron to change his preferred back row. Ruan Steenkamp moves from No 8 to flank position to accommodate Aidon Davis.

Handré Pollard shift back to flyhalf where he replaces Robert du Preez while Jesse Kriel gets his first start of the tournament at outside centre. Justin Geduld was not considered for the No 13 jersey because of a slight knee ailment.

Jannie Stander, the replacement lock who arrived earlier in the week after Jannie Kirsten was ruled out of the tournament with a fractured cheek bone, is included amongst the reserves.

Junior Springboks coach Theron said that his team approach this as an important encounter because any match between South Africa and New Zealand is a big occasion for both countries.

“We expect a very physical contest and I believe the guys are still highly motivated and there is a hunger amongst them to take this match to New Zealand. We really want to end this campaign on a high note,” explained Theron.

“If we look back at last year’s final against New Zealand in Cape Town then I would say we had a recipe that worked for us and we will follow much of that this time around.

“With next year’s tournament in mind, this will be an important match because four players in our starting line-up for tomorrow will still be available for next year’s tournament. They are Aidon Davis, Rohan van Janse van Rensburg, Handré Pollard and Jesse Kriel,” added Theron.

The Junior Springbok team to play against New Zealand on Saturday in Vannes:

15. Cheslin Kolbe (DHL Western Province)

14. Luther Obi (Platinum Leopards)

13. Jesse Kriel (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

12. Rohan Janse van Rensburg (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

11. Seabelo Senatla (SARU contracted)

10. Handré Pollard (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

9. Stefan Ungerer (The Sharks)

8. Aidon Davis (EP Kings)

7. Jacques du Plessis (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

6. Ruan Steenkamp (Vodacom Blue Bulls, captain)

5. Dennis Visser (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

4. Irné Herbst (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

3. Luan de Bruin (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)

2. Michael Willemse (DHL Western Province)

1. Sti. Sithole (DHL Western Province)


16. Jacques du Toit  (Toyota Free State Cheetahs)

17. Andrew Beerwinkel (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

18. Jannie Stander (MTN Golden Lions)

19. Kwagga Smith (MTN Golden Lions)

20. Percy Williams (MTN Golden Lions)

21. Robert du Preez (The Sharks)

22. Dries Swanepoel (Vodacom Blue Bulls)

23. Marné Coetzee (The Sharks)

Facebook Comments


  1. The need to shift Pollard to centre due to too many Orks and no Serfonteins is why they lost to the Welsh… and the rest is history…