Lions name squad to take on Kings

MTN Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has announced his side to face the Kings, in the first leg of the Super Rugby promotion/relegation series, this Friday evening in Port Elizabeth. The match gets under way at 19h10.

Ackermann has opted to include all three of the players that recently returned from their loan stints at other Super Rugby franchises. Elton Jantjies, Franco van der Merwe and Martin Bezuidenhout will all start for the MTN Lions.

On the injury front, the MTN Lions welcome back Hendrik Roodt, who has recovered from German measles. Michael Bondesio has also recovered from his calf, while Warren Whiteley also returns.

15. Ruan Combrinck
14. Deon van Rensburg
13. Stokkies Hanekom
12. Dylan des Fountain
11. Anthony Volmink
10. Elton Jantjies
9. Michael Bondesio
8. Warren Whiteley
7. Derick Minnie
6. Jaco Kriel
5. Franco van der Merwe
4. Hendrik Roodt
3. Julian Redelinghuys
2. Martin Bezuidenhout
1. JC Janse van Rensburg

16. Robbie Coetzee
17. Ruan Dreyer
18. Willie Britz
19. Warwick Tecklenburg
20. Ross Cronje
21. Marnitz Boshoff
22. Chrysander Botha

Facebook Comments


  1. avatar


    July 23, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    Wonder how Elton will go in the more familiar Lions team environment?

  2. avatar


    July 23, 2013 at 12:11 pm

    Craven hopefully very well… has Boshoff been playing 10 this season?

    Some big backs in that Lions side… and starting pack looks the goods too…

  3. avatar


    July 23, 2013 at 12:19 pm

    ooh this is going to be a tough game with a lot at stake!

    Can’t wait! :support:

  4. avatar


    July 23, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    Bryce, I hope so, I really felt sorry for him at the Stormers this year. He looked so out of place. Not sure as to the reason for this. Maybe he was playing under instruction, I don’t know.

    He just did not look comfortable.

  5. avatar


    July 24, 2013 at 7:30 am

    Kings team:
    15 SP Marais, 14 Marcello Sampson, 13 Ronnie Cooke, 12 Shane Gates, 11 Hadleigh Parkes, 10 Demetri Catrakilis, 9 Shaun Venter, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Wimpie van der Walt, 6 Cornell du Preez, 5 David Bulbring, 4 Darron Nell (kaptein), 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Bandise Maku, 1 Schalk Ferreira. PLAASVERVANGERS: 16 Charl du Plessis, 17 Hannes Franklin, 18 Steven Sykes, 19 Devin Oosthuizen, 20 Nicolas Vergallo, 21 George Whitehead, 22 Waylon Murray

  6. avatar


    July 24, 2013 at 8:27 am

    Kings might miss Strauss at 12 – big blow!

  7. avatar


    July 24, 2013 at 10:45 am

    Surprised they haven’t tried Parkes at 12… he’d be a handful…

  8. DavidS


    July 26, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    That Stokkies Hanekom’s been playinga storm…


You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply