SARU wants 17 teams in Super Rugby


South African Rugby Union (SARU) president Oregan Hoskins wants to see a 17-team Super Rugby competition in future with fewer local derbies and an Argentine team in the mix.

The Super Rugby format is set to change from 2016 when a new broadcast deal takes effect and Hoskins would like to see a change from the current 15-team format.

In the current format, teams are placed in three groups based on country. While they play overseas teams across the conferences, they play teams from their own country twice on a home and away basis.

Hoskins, in an interview with the Cape Times, said he’d like to see the 17 teams play each other in a one-off round-robin format. That would see all teams in the competition face each other with fewer local derbies.

SARU will table Hoskins’ proposal at a SANZAR meeting in Dublin next week.

He feels South African teams are facing each other too often in an already gruelling season. He also said the public interest in local derbies has waned with teams also facing each other twice in the Currie Cup later in the year.

Hoskins said the two teams they’d like to be added are the Kings and a team from Argentina.

Facebook Comments


  1. Rather another NZ team, how can you add an Argie team if they are amateur in Argentina?

    Glad to hear I am not the only one who is soooo over derby games in Superugby.