NSW Waratahs Team For Derby Clash Against Queensland Reds


Waratahs Rugby Media Release
Tuesday February 25, 2014

Potgieter swaps with Skelton for derby clash against Reds

NSW Waratahs coach Michael Cheika has made just one change to the side that earned a bonus-point win over the Force last Sunday.

Former Springbok lock Jacques Potgieter will start in place of Will Skelton, with the 21-year-old dropping back to the bench for Saturday night’s big local derby clash against the Queensland Reds at ANZ Stadium for the coveted Templeton Cup (7.40pm).

“It’s not about form, it’s about the roles they have to play in this particular game,” said Cheika.

“Jacques brings a different set of skills than Will. He has more experience and won’t give a damn that it’s a derby game. He brings a real physicality to the game in both attack and defence.”

Australia’s biggest rugby player Will Skelton will still have an important role to play when he gets his chance.

“Jacques was blowing pretty heavily after his 37 minute stint against the Force,” said the coach. “When Will gets on, he’ll be expected to maintain the level of intensity and do the job he’s been set.”

Prop Paddy Ryan has withstood the challenge from Sekope Kepu and will retain his place alongside Benn Robinson and Tatafu Polota Nau at the coalface in an all-Wallaby front row.

Despite a minor knee injury, captain Dave Dennis will lead the side out. The backline remains untouched with Bernard Foley and Kurtley Beale in charge of the midfield.

Rookie winger Alofa Alofa has held his spot after crossing for a try on debut and, along with Wallaby Peter Betham and Israel Folau, has his sights on being part of the best back three in this year’s Asteron Life Super Rugby competition.

The prestigious Templeton Cup is symbolic of Australian Rugby’s oldest and most fierce rivalry between the Queensland Reds and the New South Wales Waratahs. It is named after legendary Queensland coach and administrator Bob Templeton (1932-1999) and was introduced in 2000 as a mark of respect to the service Templeton gave to the game.

Queensland is NSW’s oldest opponent, with the first game between the two states taking place back on 12 August 1882 at the Sydney Cricket Ground (NSW won 26-4).

For this reason, the match will form the centrepiece of NSW’s 140th anniversary celebrations. The pre-match build up will see the announcement of the NSW Waratahs greatest ever game (as selected through a legends and fans poll). Additionally, NSW Alumni will form the guard of honour as the teams take the field.

Tickets for the match are priced from $20 for adults and are available now from www.waratahs.com.au. Children aged 12 and under can now enjoy free access to all NSW home matches thanks to our new Free Junior Season Pass available now from www.futuretahs.com.au.

The match will be televised LIVE on Fox Sports. Alternatively, fans will be able to keep up to date with every score, as it happens, with the NSW Waratahs’ live twitter feed by following @NSWWaratahs on twitter or by searching #WARvRED. Highlights of the game will also be available online on the NSW Waratahs’ YouTube channel, Tah TV.

NSW Waratahs team to play Queensland Reds
ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Saturday March 1, 2014 (7.40pm)

1. Benn Robinson (Eastwood)
2. Tatafu Polota Nau (Parramatta)
3. Paddy Ryan (Sydney University)
4. Jacques Potgieter (unattached)
5. Kane Douglas (Southern Districts)
6. Dave Dennis (captain, Sydney University)
7. Michael Hooper (Manly)
8. Wycliff Palu (Manly)
9. Nick Phipps (Sydney University)
10. Bernard Foley (Sydney University)
11. Peter Betham (Sydney University)
12. Kurtley Beale (Randwick)
13. Adam Ashley-Cooper (Northern Suburbs)
14. Alofa Alofa (West Harbour)
15. Israel Folau (Sydney University)

Replacements to be selected from:
16. Tola Latu (Sydney University)
17. Jeremy Tilse (Sydney University)
18. Sekope Kepu (Randwick)
19. Will Skelton (Sydney University)
20. Stephen Hoiles (Randwick)
21. Brendan McKibbin (Eastern Suburbs)
22. Rob Horne (Southern Districts)
23. Matt Carraro (Randwick)
24. Pat McCutcheon (Sydney University)
25. Jonno Lance (Eastern Suburbs

Facebook Comments


  1. It most certainly was something to behold seeing the 2.03m 135kg Islander sprinting down the side-line, drawing his man and putting Folau and co off to the try-line…