Western Force 14, Brumbies 27


Both teams are smarting after last week’s defeats, with the Western Force hoping to bounce back in their first home match of the season.

Hugh McMeniman and Chris Alcock have been promoted into the starting line-up, while Jayden Hayward will returns to the matchday squad on the bench.

The Brumbies will be looking to respond following last weekend’s loss to the Reds, with Robbie Coleman named on the wing replacing the injured Joe Tomane (ankle), while outside Tevita Kuridrani comes into the starting line-up.

Former Force skipper David Pocock will make his return to Perth for the first time since leaving the Force at the end of the 2012 Super Rugby season.

The Brumbies hold a one-match advantage in the two sides’ encounters in Perth, while the Force won the last clash between the sides – a 21-15 victory last year.

While the Force looked below par against the Waratahs last week, the Brumbies were not much better in a game where little went right in attack for the ACT outfit.

The Force leaked six tries against the Waratahs in an uncharacteristically poor defensive display.

Brumbies captain Ben Mowen said the Force was always a difficult team to beat, particularly when facing it in the west.

“Over the last two or three years some of the toughest battles we’ve faced have been against the Force, particularly when we are playing them here in Perth,” Mowen said.

“There was no better example of that than the last round of last year when they managed to knock us off quite convincingly.

“After a disappointing start to the season last week, we know what areas need to improve. If we can achieve those changes then there’s no reason we can’t come home with our first win of 2014.”

Since 2011, the ledger is almost even between the two sides with the Brumbies winning three matches, the Force two and one draw.

Recent fixtures:
2013: Force won 21-15, Perth
2013: Brumbies won 41-7, Canberra
2012: Brumbies won 28-17, Perth
2012: Brumbies won 19-17, Canberra
2011: Force and Brumbies drew 13-13, Perth
2011: Force won 27-19, Canberra


Western Force: 15 Luke Morahan, 14 Patrick Dellit, 13 Junior Rasolea, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Zack Holmes, 9 Alby Mathewson, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Matt Hodgson (captain), 6 Chris Alcock, 5 Hugh McMeniman, 4 Sam Wykes, 3 Kieran Longbottom, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Tetera Faulkner.
Replacements: 16 Heath Tessmann, 17 Pek Cowan, 18 Ollie Hoskins, 19 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 20 Angus Cottrell, 21 Ian Prior, 22 Sias Ebersohn, 23 Jayden Hayward.

Brumbies: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Pat McCabe, 11 Robbie Coleman, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Nic White, 8 Jarrad Butler, 7 David Pocock, 6 Ben Mowen (captain), 5 Sam Carter, 4 Scott Fardy, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephan Moore, 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Siliva Siliva, 17 Ruan Smith, 18 Ruaidhri Murphy, 19 Leon Power, 20 Lachlan McCaffrey, 21 Conrad Hoffmann, 22 Andrew Smith, 23 Lionel Cronje.

Referee: Nick Briant (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Ian Smith (Australia), Ed Martin (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)

Facebook Comments
Better known as Bunny, Took over after Pissant went over to the "Dark Side"