SR: Lions 7 Crusaders 28

imagesThe doomsday prophets could not have been more wrong about the Lions if they tried.

If the Johannesburg team succeeds in toppling the Crusaders they will secure their third successive win against Australasian opposition this season.

In fact it will be their fifth win – the first time since 2007 and only the second time since their entered Super Rugby in 2006 (after the ugly divorce with the Cheetahs from the Cats mishap) that they would have won five matches in a season.

There is a long way to go yet, but sitting in fourth place with the season approaching the halfway mark is significantly better than the winless season the naysayers predicted.

Despite their a superior position on the Super Rugby table, coach Johan Ackermann has persistently called on his team to keep their  feet firmly planted on the ground.
Recent results:
2012: Crusaders won 23-13, Johannesburg
2010: Crusaders won 46-19, Christchurch
2009: Crusaders won 32-20, Johannesburg
2008: Crusaders won 31-6, Christchurch
2007: Lions won 9-3, Johannesburg
2006: Crusaders won 43-15, Christchurch


Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Deon van Rensburg, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Stefan Watermeyer, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Francois de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (captain), 7 Willie Britz, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Martin Muller, 4 Franco Mostert, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.
Replacements: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Ruan Dreyer, 19 Luvuyiso Lusaseni, 20 Warwick Tecklenburg, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 Elton Jantjies, 23 JW Jonker.

Crusaders: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Nemani Nadolo, 13 Kieron Fonotia, 12 Ryan Crotty (captain), 11 Johnny McNicholl, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 Matt Todd, 6 George Whitelock, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Ben Funnell, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 Daniel Lienert-Brown, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Jimmy Tupou, 20 Jordan Taufua, 21 Willi Heinz, 22 Tyler Bleyendaal, 23 Tom Taylor.

Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa), Jaco van Heerden (South Africa)
TMO: Johan Greeff (South Africa)

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

12 comments for “SR: Lions 7 Crusaders 28

  1. avatar
    April 5, 2014 at 5:06 pm

    Let’s see what the Lions can do today

    View Comment
  2. avatar
    April 5, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    Penalty Saders from Scrum and they go for points ….

    Slade miss the kick

    scores still 0-0

    View Comment
  3. avatar
    April 5, 2014 at 5:17 pm

    Saders with another penalty ……..

    Slade slots it over and lead 3-0

    View Comment
  4. avatar
    April 5, 2014 at 5:19 pm

    Lions giving too many penalties away

    View Comment
  5. avatar
    April 5, 2014 at 5:21 pm

    Slade kicks another and Saders lead now 6-0

    View Comment
  6. avatar
    April 5, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    Crusaders with first try

    View Comment
  7. avatar
    April 5, 2014 at 6:12 pm

    Lions with too many mistakes

    View Comment
  8. avatar
    April 5, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    Try Lions lionel score the try , brits the try maker

    View Comment
  9. avatar
    April 5, 2014 at 6:18 pm

    Saders lead 13-7

    View Comment
  10. avatar
    April 5, 2014 at 6:37 pm

    See how the NZ will complain he has awarded the try already. Hehehe

    View Comment
  11. avatar
    April 6, 2014 at 7:05 pm

    At least they are used to losing.

    View Comment

Leave a Reply