Lions announce team to clash with Cell C Sharks


Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has named his 23-man team to take on the Cell C Sharks at Ellis Park on Saturday evening.

 Ackermann has opted for consistency, making just one change to his starting line-up. In the forwards, Derick Minnie will start at flank. As a result, Jaco Kriel drops to the wood to provide cover. Robbie Coetzee is also a welcome inclusion on the bench, having recovered from injury.

Alwyn Hollenbach comes in to provide cover in the place of JW Jonker.

The match will kick off at 19h10.

15. Andries Coetzee

14. Deon van Rensburg

13. Lionel Mapoe

12. Stefan Watermeyer

11. Courtnall Skosan

10. Marnitz Boshoff

  9. Faf de Klerk

  8. Warren Whiteley (c)

  7. Willie Britz

  6. Derick Minnie

  5. Franco Mostert

  4. Martin Muller

  3. Julian Redelinghuys

  2. Willie Wepener

  1. Schalk van der Merwe

 16. Robbie Coetzee

17. Corne Fourie

18. Ruan Dreyer

19. MB Lusaseni

20. Jaco Kriel

21. Ross Cronje

22. Elton Jantjies

23. Alwyn Hollenbach

Facebook Comments


  1. DavidS


    April 10, 2014 at 7:53 pm

    Loose forwards a better balance.

    Locks wo Franco an issue

  2. avatar


    April 11, 2014 at 7:39 am

    @DavidS: I can see the Lions fighting like they always do but believe the Sharks will be too strong for them…


You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply