SR: Brumbies 41, Chiefs 23

imagesThe Brumbies and Chiefs are preparing for a blockbuster grand final rematch in Canberra on Friday.

Given their positions on the table – Brumbies second and Chiefs third, both with 25 points – this is shaping up to be match of the weekend.

According to replacement Jarrad Butler, although not having been part of the Brumbies side that lost the Super Rugby Final to the Chiefs in Hamilton last season, said the rematch was a chance to prove their championship credentials.

“There’s a lot of incentives to beat the Chiefs,” Butler told the Canberra Times.

“As far as wanting to win the grand final later this year, you have to be able to knock off teams like the Chiefs.

“I think Friday is going to be pretty telling.

“[We] understand how important it is as far as the whole season’s concerned.”

And Chiefs coach Dave Rennie was also playing up the importance of the game as a decisive encounter in the build-up to the play-offs in July.

 “We’re taking away a pretty good side and we know if we play well we’re a good show,” Rennie told the Waikato Times.

“We’re playing against a team with some really good form over there and tough to beat at home so she’s a big challenge,” Rennie said.

The return of Samoan international Mahonri Schwalger, who comes in for 21-year-old hooker Rhys Marshall, was important for the Chiefs in terms of his experience –  not to mention his set-piece skills.

“We’re going to need that this week,” the Chiefs mentor told the Hamilton-based newspaper.

“The Brumbies scrum a lot for penalties, they drive [from line-outs] a lot for penalties – so are very efficient [in those set-piece areas] and pretty destructive on opposition ball.

“Having Mo [Schwalger] back is a real bonus.”

Recent results:
2013: Chiefs won 27-22, Hamilton (Final)
2012: Chiefs won 29-22, Hamilton
2011: Brumbies won 28-20, Canberra
2010: Brumbies won 30-23, Canberra
2009: Chiefs won 10-7, Hamilton
2008: Chiefs won 42-28, Canberra


Brumbies: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Joe Tomane, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Christian Lealiifano, 11 Robbie Coleman, 10 Matt Toomua, 9 Nic White, 8 Ben Mowen (captain), 7 Jarrad Butler, 6 Jordan Smiler, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Scott Fardy, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Siliva Siliva, 17 Ruan Smith, 18 JP Smith, 19 Jack Whetton, 20 Tom McVerry, 21 Michael Dowsett, 22 Andrew Smith, 23 Pat McCabe.

Chiefs: 15 Tom Marshall, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Andrew Horrell, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Gareth Anscombe, 9 Augustine Pulu, 8 Liam Messam (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Nick Crosswell, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Ross Filipo, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Pauliasi Manu.
Replacements: 16 Nathan Harris, 17 Jamie Mackintosh, 18 Josh Hohneck, 19 Matt Symons, 20 Tevita Koloamatangi, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Dwayne Sweeney, 23 James Lowe.
Referee: Steve Walsh (Australia)
Assistant referees: Rohan Hoffmann (Australia) , Andrew Lees (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)

  27 comments for “SR: Brumbies 41, Chiefs 23

  1. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 9:32 am
    Next up Brumbies and Chiefs….this should be the game of the weekend …….
  2. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 9:49 am
    Brumbies with an early penalty and can put first points on the board….

    and they miss…still no score

  3. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 9:55 am
    Chiefs lead with penalty 3-0
  4. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 9:56 am
    got my money on the Brumbies here! Chief have not convinced IMO yet…
  5. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 9:59 am
    Liam Messam with a great break but lose the ball through a forward pass
  6. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:00 am
    @JT_BOKBEFOK!: Same here JT…..looks like we think the same this weekend smile
  7. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:04 am
    Brumbies get scores level with penalty 3 all after 19 min
  8. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:05 am
    Gareth Anscombe miss a penalty and score are still level
  9. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:07 am
    Brumbies contesting in the rucks and frustrate the Chiefs at this stage
  10. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:08 am

    really stll level?? – no points deducted for missing??

  11. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:09 am
    A kick from Chiefs 22 was touch which put all Chiefs players onside with Chiefs almost score in the corner….

    Chiefs do get a penalty straight in front for their efforts…

    Penalty OVER!!!!!

    Chiefs lead 6-3 after 24 min

  12. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:10 am
  13. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:11 am
    Brumbies with a turnover as Chiefs try to run again from own 22…..Brumbies going through the hands and lose the ball 5 meters out from tackle…scrum Chiefs…..great change for the Brumbies gone begging
  14. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:13 am
    Penalty from scrum for Chiefs and they get a change to move out of their 22…..
  15. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:19 am
    Try Brumbies after some great pressure on attack…

    Try scored by Matt Toomua for the Brumbies……

    Brumbies lead 10-6

  16. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:22 am
    Brumbies dominating the scrums and force another penalty
  17. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:24 am
    Chiefs given away a string of penalties which give the Brumbies another change for points……

    Lealiifano slots it over and the Brumbies lead 13-6 with 3 min to go till half time

  18. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:39 am
    Halftime Score Brumbies 13 Chiefs 6….

    Is it just me or are most games the past couple of weeks overwhelmed with handling errors and bad decision making?

  19. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:56 am
    Brumbies come back hard with a Joe Tomane try

    Brumbies lead now 18 -9 after 52 min

  20. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 10:58 am
    Yellow card for Chiefs James Lowe for tripping a player
  21. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 11:04 am
    Brumbies with another try through Tevita Kuridrani……Brumbies lead now 26-9
  22. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 11:07 am
    Brumbies with another try as they now making the Chiefs look ordinary……..Tevita Kuridrani again the man over the white wash…..

    Brumbies now lead 33-9

  23. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 11:10 am
    Brumbies extend their lead by 36-9
  24. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 11:31 am
    Brumbies score at Full time and win the game 41-23
  25. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 11:32 am
    2 from 2 for me – now the Sharks to win tonight and the weekend is off to a great start ;-)
  26. avatar
    out wide
    April 25, 2014 at 12:35 pm
    Good win for the Brumbies, can’t help feeling the Chiefs never deserved to win. The off the ball stuff they get up to is not on. Todd Blackadder was not making it up when he alerted the refs to the jersey pulling which was clear to all on the tv replay today and the phalanx of dummy runners they use in front of the ball carrier is more like gridiron than rugby union. Time for the referees to get tough on them.
  27. avatar
    April 25, 2014 at 1:07 pm
    @JT_BOKBEFOK!: I am with you….gave the Sharks to win by 13….the blerrie surfers should now just play some rugby and score tries.

Leave a Reply