Steval Pumas 13, DHL WP 8

vodacom cup

Any slip-ups this weekend will be punished with elimination, when the Vodacom Cup quarterfinals take place in Nelspruit, Durban, Bloemfontein and Kimberley on Friday and Saturday.

Of the eight teams in the quarterfinals, six are back from 2013, while two – the SWD Eagles and Free State XV – did not make it to the play-offs last year. In fact, the Eagles are in the quarterfinals for only the second time since the Vodacom Cup started in 1998. They made the top eight in 2009 and also played in the semifinals in the inaugural season of this competition.

And for the Sharks XV, Pumas, Western Province, Blue Bulls, Griquas and Golden Lions, this will be the fourth consecutive season that they have reached the Vodacom Cup quarterfinals. The first match of the weekend is a replay of one of the 2013 quarterfinals.

The Pumas finished the pool phase of the competition as the only unbeaten team and deservedly topped the North Section log. They host Western Province, champions in 2012, in the second quarterfinal, at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit on Friday. Western Province also saw the red flag raised last weekend when they went down to the SWD Eagles in George.

It was only the Capetonians’ second defeat of the season and they will travel to Nelspruit knowing full well a similar performance will see them eliminated from the competition.

Pumas Team: 15. JW Bell 14. Trompie Pretorius 13. Wilmaure Louw 12. Hennie Skorbinski 11. Ruwellyn Isbell 10. JC Roos 9. Snake Nyoka 8. Renaldo Bothma 7. Uzair Cassiem 6. Corne Steenkamp (c) 5. Marius Coetzer 4. Giant Mtyanda 3. De-Jay 2. Jacques Momberg 1. Vincent Koch

Replacements: 16. Frankie Hearne 17. Sabelo Nhlapo 18. RW Kember 19. Jaco Bouwer 20. Reynier Van Rooyen 21. Coenie Van Wyk 22. Marcello Sampson

WP Team: 15. Devon Williams 14. JP Lewis 13. Johnny Kotze 12. Michael van der Spuy 11. Lihleli Xoli 10. Gary van Aswegen 9. Dylon Frylinck 8. Rayn Smid 7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe 6. Rohan Kitshoff (captain) 5. Jan de Klerk 4. Tazz Fuzani 3. Entienne Swanepoel 2. Neil Rautenbach 1. Alistair Vermaak

Replacements: 16. Michael Willemse 17. Sti Sithole 18. Deacon Chowles 19. Jan Uys 20. Eital Bredenkamp 21. Jean Nel 22. Robert du Preez

41 comments for “Steval Pumas 13, DHL WP 8

  1. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 6:36 pm

    Actually have not see the WP team play this year….

  2. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    So we are in Nelspruit, for the Pumas hosting WP in the Vodacom Play-offs

  3. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    Pumas goes on attack from the first lineout but WP defence hold son for now…

    TMO looks as well for a tip tackle….

    Looks fine but you never know from these referees these day….

    Pumas already have a penalty…..

    TMO and ref decide only a penalty….felt right….

    Meanwhile Steenkamp is injured after a tackle…

  4. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:15 pm

    Steenkamp, captain for the Pumas is off, maybe just ding dong test

  5. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:15 pm

    Pumas miss a sitter for points

  6. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:17 pm

    Williams start a good attack for WP but get spoiled by a knock

  7. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    First scrum….and Pumas get a penalty which they kick out

  8. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    Pumas mess up the drive and get penalty against them

  9. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:23 pm

    WP looks full of running…..but Gary out of hand kicking not up to it at this stage and kick good ball nowhere

  10. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    WP with attacking lineout…..

    WP lose the lineout and Pumas kick back into the WP 22 for lineout.

  11. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:26 pm

    WP mess up another lineout and Pumas get scrum

  12. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:28 pm

    Pumas murdered a certain try with a knock on 5 meters out

  13. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:29 pm

    WP gets penalty from scrum this time around and Gary not finding touch

  14. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    Penalties must be kicked out by fly half…

  15. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    Too many mistakes by both teams….so stop start

  16. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:33 pm

    Pumas going for poles …..

    And again Roos miss the kick

  17. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    Roos again for points for Pumas….

    And miss again….

  18. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:39 pm

    Another scrum and this time WP gets it out……but Pumas hold up the maul and gets a scrum….

  19. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:40 pm

    Another penalty at the scrum as referee keeps penalised the number 1 for scrumming in

  20. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:44 pm

    Another penalty from scrum and Pumas goes again for points…

    This time Roos kicks over for first game of the game

    Pumas lead 3-0

  21. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:44 pm

    Fok Gary skop kak!!!!!

  22. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:46 pm

    Pumas take lineout again and just could not get through for the first try….Roos murdered the move with another bad kick

  23. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    TRY !!!! PUMAS !!!!

    Bell the man that dance his way over and through the WP defence……

    Pumas lead 10-0

  24. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    WP now with attacking lineout 5 meters out….but mess it up with another knock on

  25. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 7:53 pm

    That’s half time and Pumas lead 10-0

  26. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    Second half starts as the first half was in Nelspruit…senseless kicking and too many handling mistakes and wrong decision making…..

  27. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 8:17 pm

    Handling is poor in this game by both teams, just not good enough

  28. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 8:25 pm

    Ooh this is a poor game

  29. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    Botha for Pumas with a leg injury off the field…hope it is not a bad injury

  30. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    WP gets their first kick at goal at 62 min…….


    WP on the board

    Pumas lead 10-3

  31. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 8:37 pm

    WP now with attacking lineout but will they win the lineout….

    WP over the line for a try…..and back in the game

  32. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 8:37 pm

    Pumas lead 10-8

  33. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 8:41 pm

    Jeez but WP can not pass, can not catch and Gary cannot kick…put the scrums and lineout with that and they have nothing to work off

  34. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    That should be game as Pumas gets penalty from scrum…


    Pumas lead 13-8

  35. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 8:56 pm

    Pumas win the game but to be frank non of these teams should be playing in the semi for me as this was one of the worse games I saw…

    Handling bad, kicking bad, decision making bad….don’t see the Pumas getting pass semi’s with this type of play

  36. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 8:59 pm

    Waste of time to have watch this

  37. avatar
    May 2, 2014 at 9:17 pm

    Yah Pumas!

    Lions beat Sharks and Pumas beat WP

    Sharks beat Rebels

    Chalk up three to the good guys!

  38. avatar
    May 3, 2014 at 7:02 am

    Sometimes really poor teams drag you down to their level and so WP did to the Pumas…
    What is going on in the Cape? Everything is going to shit.

  39. avatar
    May 3, 2014 at 8:14 am

    Wasn’t this the guy everyone wanted to replace Allister with?

  40. avatar
    May 3, 2014 at 8:35 am

    @Mug Punters Organisation of South Africa: Handling errors, passing and decision making is not the other teams fault……Pumas were kak tonight as were WP. Basics from both teams were poor

  41. avatar
    May 3, 2014 at 8:36 am

    @Morné: Not that I can recall, most people just wanted AC gone, many believe anybody else will be better than him :)


Leave a Reply