Vodacom Cup Final returns to roots


vodacom cup

The Vodacom Cup Final will return to the venue where it was first contested between the same two sides 16 years ago when the GWK Griquas and the Golden Lions face each other in Kimberley on Friday.

It will be only the third time the two most successful sides in the history of the competition meet in the final.

The sides first met each other in 1998 where Griquas claimed a 57-0 victory over the Lions and the following year the Lions dished a generous dollop of revenge when they won the 1999 Vodacom Cup title with a 73-7 victory in Johannesburg.

Since then the Lions have claimed the title on five occasions, most recently, last year’s 42-28 away victory over the Steval Pumas in Nelspruit.

Griquas, with four Vodacom Cup titles behind their name, will fancy their chances of equalling the Lions playing host in Kimberley.

The Lions will be travelling from the City of Gold to Kimberley where they will be prospecting for Vodacom Cup silverware.

However, Vodacom Cup history suggested that the luck of the draw favoured the home side as 12 out the 16 finals were won by the hosts.

Of the four matches won by the visitors, the Lions came out on top twice, while Western Province and Griquas have gone against the trend once each.

Both semi-finals over the past weekend saw the winners qualifying for the final with a single point separating the victor from the loser.

The Lions booked their place for their seventh Vodacom Cup final with a nail biting 16-15 victory over three-time champions, the Blue Bulls  at home in Pretoria.

The other semi-final between Griquas and the Pumas also went down to the wire when a last-minute Gouws Prinsloo penalty goal ensured his side their eighth final with a 15-14 victory.

Facebook Comments
Better known as Bunny, Took over after Pissant went over to the "Dark Side"


  1. If Lions are the winningest team in VC it is bizarre that success has never translated into step up results at SR level?

    When the CC U19 and U21 kicked off and even to date the Lions have always performed at a far higher competitive level than they do at SR and CC level…. how incredibly bizarre… is it because they cannot retain the talent? If not why not.

  2. 15. Vainon Willis
    14. JR Esterhuizen
    13. Stokkies Hanekom
    12. Harold Vorster
    11. Selom Gavor
    10. Willie du Plessis
    9. Ricky Schroeder (c)
    8. Ruaan Lerm (vc)
    7. Cyle Brink
    6. Stephan de Witt
    5. Hugo Kloppers
    4. Thabo Mamojele
    3. Charles Marais
    2. Malcolm Marx
    1. Dylan Smith

    16. Mark Pretorius
    17. Nico du Plessis
    18. Lourens Erasmus
    19. Thabo Mabuza
    20. Michael Bondesio
    21. Marais Schmidt
    22. Caswell Khoza