VC:Griquas 30(16), Golden Lions 6(6)

The two biggest ‘dogs’ in the history of the Vodacom Cup, the Golden Lions and Griquas, take on each other in Kimberley on Friday in the grand finale of the competition in 2014.


Between these two sides they have won the Vodacom Cup nine times since its inception in 1998. That means more than half of all the titles have gone either to Johannesburg or Kimberley.

It’s the Lions’ second visit to Kimberley this year. They lost their Round Five encounter 18-33.

This will also be the third time these two sides face each other in the final of the Vodacom Cup.

Both previous finals ended in complete blow-outs – in 1998 Griquas won 57-0 and a year later, in 1999, they were smashed by the Golden Lions, 73-7.

Griquas coach Peter Engledow has two players in his match-22 who were part of the Griquas team which last won the title in 2009.

They are Steph Roberts (prop) and Simon Westraadt (replacement hooker).

Four more members of the Griquas squad have been part of Vodacom Cup-winning teams. They are Francois Brummer (flyhalf) and Rocco Jansen (wing), both with the Blue Bulls, as well as the former WP duo of Ederies Arendse (wing) and Hilton Lobberts (lock).

In Johannesburg, Lions coach Russell Winter has selected two players who were part of their title-winning side last year in Hugo Kloppers (lock) and Michael Bondesio (replacement scrumhalf).

Vainon Willis (fullback) was a member of the Blue Bulls team which won the competition in 2010, when Brummer kicked a last-gasp drop-goal in Pretoria.

Only seven teams have won the Vodacom Cup – the Golden Lions (five times) Griquas (four), the Blue Bulls (three), Western Province, Free State XV, Falcons and Pampas XV (once each).

Vodacom Cup Final

Griquas v Golden Lions
Date: Friday, May 16 2013
Venue: Park, Kimberley
Kick-off: 19.10 (17.10 GMT)
Referee: Jaco van Heerden
Assistant referees: Lourens van der Merwe and Francois de Bruin
TMO: JJ Wagner

The teams:

Griquas: 15 Gouws Prinsloo, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Jonathan Francke, 12 Wayne Stevens (captain), 11 Rocco Jansen, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Burger Schoeman, 7 Jaco Nepgen, 6 Marnus Schoeman, 5 Hilton Lobberts, 4 Jonathan Adendorf, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 Martin Bezuidenhout, 1 Steph Roberts.
Replacements: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Janro Van Niekerk, 18 Stephan Greeff, 19 RJ Liebenberg, 20 Dustin Jinka, 21 Howard Mnisi, 22 Danie Dames.

Golden Lions: 15 Vainon Willis, 14 JR Esterhuizen, 13 Stokkies Hanekom, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Selom Gavor, 10 Willie du Plessis, 9 Ricky Schroeder (captain), 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Stephan de Witt, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Thabo Mamojele, 3 Charles Marais, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Dylan Smith.
Replacements: 16 Mark Pretorius, 17 Nico du Plessis, 18 Lourens Erasmus, 19 Thabo Mabuza, 20 Michael Bondesio, 21 Marais Schmidt, 22 Caswell Khoza.

Facebook Comments


  1. avatar


    May 16, 2014 at 7:14 pm

    Lions take early lead with a penalty 3-0

  2. avatar


    May 16, 2014 at 7:15 pm

    Brummer with a drop kick and scores are level

  3. avatar


    May 16, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    Lions Willie du Plessis gets his own Drop kick over and Lions take the lead 6-0

  4. avatar


    May 16, 2014 at 7:40 pm

    Penalty GWK and scores are level again 6-6

  5. avatar


    May 16, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    GWK with another penalty and take the lead 9-6

  6. avatar


    May 16, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    After putting a lot of pressure on the Lions Brummer goes over for GKW first try of the match just before half time….

    GKW lead 16-6

  7. avatar


    May 16, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    That’s half time….great game of rugga’s from both teams

    GKW lead 16-6 at the break

  8. avatar


    May 16, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    Danie Dames break the defence of the Lions and score in the corner, GWK extending their lead with 20 min to go….

    GWK lead 23-6

  9. avatar


    May 16, 2014 at 8:42 pm

    Marnus Schoeman score for the GK and this should seal the final for the men from Kimberley….

    They lead now 30-6

  10. avatar


    May 16, 2014 at 8:57 pm

    After the disappointment of last years relegation, happiness is back in the Northern Cape as Griquas win the 2014 Vodacom Cup and made their attentions clear that they will be the 8 team in the ABSA Currie Cup Premier League this year…..

    Great game from them and deserve the Cup….

    Final score Griquas 30, Lions 6


You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply