Horwill : Reds were robbed by stupid refereeing

Reds captain James Horwill says that his team were “robbed by a stupid refereeing decision” in their first ever Super Rugby loss to the Melbourne Rebels.

Rebels fullback Jason Woodward kicked a late penalty to edge his team into a three point lead at 27-30 after it had looked like the match was headed for a draw.

Both teams scored three tries each in the match and at half time the scores were level at 17-all.

The Rebels led for much of the match and the Reds were forced to play catch up rugby for most of the time.

Two minutes from full time with the scores level at 27 points each referee Steve Walsh asked the TMO Steve Leszczynski to review an incident of foul play.

After watching several replays Reds replacement Ed O’Donoghue was judged to have made contact with Rebels captain Scott Higginbotham.

O’Donoghue was shown a Red card and the Rebels were awarded a penalty which Woodward kicked to put the Rebels in front.

Speaking after the match Horwill blamed the Reds sixth consecutive loss on Walsh and Leszczynski’s penalty ruling

“The performance was gutsy,” said Horwill of the Reds performance.

“We did some good things, did some bad things.”

“In the end we were, once again, robbed by a stupid refereeing decision.”

Source: http://www.superxv.com/

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

4 comments for “Horwill : Reds were robbed by stupid refereeing

  1. avatar
    May 18, 2014 at 7:29 am

    You be the Judge….

    ReplyReply
    View Comment
  2. avatar
    May 18, 2014 at 8:14 am

    Another guy who will spend time on the sideline with Deysel. And to correct the article from SuperXV, the TMO told the ref to review an incident, the ref did not ask the TMO.

    It was the absolute correct decision.

    ReplyReply
    View Comment
  3. avatar
    bryce_in_oz
    May 18, 2014 at 8:48 am

    Reds have been ‘gutsy’ in all their defeats this season… the close ones and the ones they got HAMMERED!

    ReplyReply
    View Comment
  4. avatar
    May 18, 2014 at 8:44 pm

    As I understand the IRB rulings the face contact thing is an automatic red.

    Call is 1200% correct.

    Higginbotham could find himself spending time off as well for his stupid remark.

    ReplyReply
    View Comment

Leave a Reply