Horwill to face SANZAR

May 23, 2014
Posted by

James_Horwill54

Reds captain James Horwill will face a SANZAR hearing after he criticised match referee Steve Walsh after their 27-30 loss to the Rebels on Saturday.

Referee Walsh red carded Ed O’Donoghue on advice from TMO Steve Leszczynski and awarded a match winning penalty to the Rebels in the final minute of the match. O’Donoghue’s red card was later removed from his record by SANZAR.

SANZAR have now completed an investigation into comments made by James Horwill in his on-field post-match interview following match played at Suncorp Stadium on 17 May 2014.

The comment in question attributed to Mr Horwill is: “In the end, once again we were robbed by a stupid refereeing decision.”

SANZAR has referred the matter for a hearing in accordance with SANZAR’s Disciplinary Rules.

In bringing this complaint, SANZAR will allege that the comment made by Mr Horwill amount to Misconduct under Rule 10 of the SANZAR Disciplinary Rules and breaches the SANZAR Code of Conduct Section 8.3 (3) of the Super Rugby Tournament Manual, which reads as follows:

Section 8.3 (e) “All persons shall not publish or cause to be published criticism of the manner in which a Match Official handled a match.”

The matter will be heard by SANZAR Judicial Officer Nigel Hampton QC via teleconference on Tuesday 27 May 2014: 5:30pm (AEST), 7:30pm (NZST), 9:30am (SAST).

Source: www.superxv.com

Post to Twitter Post to Facebook Post to MySpace

One Comment

  1. avatar DavidS says:
    May 23rd, 2014 at 8:56 pm

    Ja that is a huge surprise that criticising a ref in public gets you in trouble …. NOT

Switch to our mobile site