All Blacks 28(6), England 27(10)



England will be looking to go one better than last week when they face the All Blacks in the second Test in Dunedin on Saturday.

The visitors came close to catching New Zealand out in the home team’s first Test of the year in Auckland, but a late Conrad Smith try saw the All Blacks secure a tense 25-20 victory at Eden Park. This means that both teams will be looking to launch a comeback of sorts heading into their second clash at the sheltered Forsyth-Barr Stadium.

Things are likely to be even tougher for England this time around, as the All Blacks have had another week together and will be intent on putting things right and asserting their dominance as the world’s best team.

Lancaster faced some pleasant selection headaches this week, with the players involved in the Premiership final available again and last weeks team having performed so well.

He decided to show faith in some of the players that served him well during the Six Nations, with flyhalf Owen Farrell entrusted with steering the ship once more.

Recent results:
2014: New Zealand won 20-25 in Auckland
2013: New Zealand won 30-22 in London
2012: England won 38-21 in London
2010: New Zealand won 26-16 in London
2009: New Zealand won 19-6 in London
2008: New Zealand won 32-6 in London
2008: New Zealand won 44-12 in Christchurch
2008: New Zealand won 37-20 in Auckland
2006: New Zealand won 41-20 in London
2005: New Zealand won 23-19 in London


New Zealand: 15 Ben Smith, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Jerome Kaino, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Victor Vito, 21 TJ Perenara, 22 Beauden Barrett, 23 Malakai Fekitoa.

England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Manusamoa Tuilagi, 13 Luther Burrell, 12 Billy Twelvetrees, 11 Marland Yarde, 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Danny Care, 8 Ben Morgan, 7 Chris Robshaw (captain), 6 Tom Wood, 5 Geoff Parling, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 David Wilson, 2 Rob Webber, 1 Joe Marler.
Replacements: 16 Dylan Hartley, 17 Matt Mullan, 18 Kieran Brookes, 19 Courtney Lawes, 20 Billy Vunipola, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 Freddie Burns, 23 Chris Ashton.

Date: Saturday, June 14
Venue: Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin
Kick-off: 19.35 (07.35 GMT, 08.35 BST)
Expected weather: Partly cloudy but dry, high of 15 with a 20 kph wind.
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Nigel Owens (Wales), Jérôme Garcès (France)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)

Facebook Comments
Better known as Bunny, Took over after Pissant went over to the "Dark Side"


  1. Penalty 2 against AB for cumming from the side…..2 min of the game and AB give away 2 penalties for negative play……

    England going to the poles for points


    England lead 3-0

  2. England should have been further ahead….again we have a referee not willing to blow AB negative play and off the ball play….Peyper started off well and I thought for once we will have a referee who will stop them from playing illegally….

  3. By the way your observation that Peyper is missing cleanouts round the ruck as penalisable is wrong. Under current rules it is legal.

  4. There you are bunny – a ruling by the tmo well in favour of England if Brown didn’t ground the ball. Peyper can’t be blamed for that.

  5. @Jacques(Bunny): Bunny, Peyper rightfully ruled against McCaw in one of those first 10 mins penalties for coming in from the side, Farrell was carded for making no attempt to roll away when he was blocking the ball from coming out in the red zone. Very different – I think you might be too harsh on Peyper who is one of the better refs around.

    Anyway well done England – going to be hard to beat at home in the next RWC

  6. Another team playing high pace attacking rugby against the All Blacks ……… and losing.

    It sure is pretty.