SR: DHL Stormers 10, Cell C Sharks 34


Vodacom Super Rugby
Vodacom Super Rugby

The goal is simple and clear, the road there is fraught with pitfalls.

The Sharks are targeting second place on the Super Rugby standings in order to get a bye in the first round of play-offs and then have home ground advantage in the semifinals.

Already confirmed as the South African Conference winners, the Sharks needs to get a bonus-point win against a Stormers team that seems to have their number.

By the time they take to the field, Jake White’s team will know exactly what is required if they are to claim that desired second place.

No doubt the Sharks face an uphill task against a Stormers team that has made winning derbies at home a habit. They have won their last seven appearances at Newlands and have lost only once there since 2011.

However, the Stormers’ last home defeat against a South African team was in the semifinal of the 2012 season, when the Sharks travelled back from their qualifying win in Brisbane to upset the log-leaders in Cape Town.

That was one of only three home defeats in South African derbies for the Stormers going back 20 matches to the start of the 2009 season.

The Stormers are on a hot streak at present, after four victories in succession – including an away win over the selfsame Sharks at the end of May – and having not tasted defeat since May 10.

Recent results:
2014: Stormers won 21-19, Durban
2013: Stormers won 22-15, Cape Town
2013: Sharks won 12-6, Durban
2012: Sharks won 26-19, Cape Town (semifinal)
2012: Sharks won 25-20, Durban
2012: Stormers won 15-12, Cape Town
2011: Stormers won 32-12, Cape Town
2011: Stormers won 16-6, Durban


Stormers: 15 Jaco Taute, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Sailosi Tagicakibau, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Cheslin Kolbe, 10 Kurt Coleman, 9 Nic Groom, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger (captain), 6 Nizaam Carr, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Michael Rhodes, 3 Pat Cilliers, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Alistair Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Martin Dreyer, 19 Manuel Carizza, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Peter Grant, 23 Seabelo Senatla.

Sharks: 15 SP Marais, 14 Sibusiso Sithole , 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Paul Jordaan, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Francois Steyn, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis (captain), 1 Thomas du Toit.
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Etienne Oosthuizen, 20 Jean Deysel, 21 Charl McLeod, 22 Fred Zeilinga, 23 Tonderai Chavhanga.
Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Lourens van der Merwe (South Africa), Quinton Immelman (South Africa)
TMO: Deon van Blommestein (South Africa)

Source: Rugby365

Facebook Comments
Better known as Bunny, Took over after Pissant went over to the "Dark Side"


  1. Bench JDP, BDP and Alberts for the good of the RC…

    And damn… why are all the WP games so late… I’d rather watch this @ 1am than the Lions/Cheetahs… never going to stay up till 3am… stupid!

  2. @bryce_in_oz:

    Don’t worry, Guppies wil drown – again. Had their
    last win of the year.

    Sun sets in Cape 50 min later than on East Coast –
    that’s why they play so late.