Blue Bulls name junior teams for weekend


Bulls CC

Vodacom Blue Bulls Under-21 coach Nollis Marais made a number of changes to his forward pack for their Absa Under-21 Provincial Championship match against Toyota Free State in Pretoria on Friday.

The coach rotated his whole front row and also drafted in a number of new faces on the replacement bench, as more players became available following a bye last week.

Marais is wary of the visitors, as the Free State posted a century past Border last weekend.

“We had a week off and although it gave us an opportunity to fine-tune a couple of things and get some guys back to full fitness, there is always the danger of being rusty. So we will need a good start against a team that is known for their attacking ability.”

The match will start at 15h30 at Loftus B.

The team is: Kefentse Mahlo, Duhan van der Merwe, Marquit September, Dan Kriel, Jade Stighling, Joshua Stander, JP Smith, Jannes Kirsten, Christiaan de Bruin, Ruan Steenkamp (c), Marvin Orie, Irne Herbst, Andrew Beerwinkel, Jan Enslin, Justin Forwood. Replacements: Arno van Wyk, Johann Bannink, Dennis Visser, Corne Cooper, Carlo Engelbrecht, Kobus Marais, Rohan Janse van Rensburg.

The defending Absa Under-19 champions, the Vodacom Blue Bulls, will face the Toyota Free State at 13h45 on Loftus B. The team has won all three their matches this far and look set for another good season. They will be captained by no 8, Hanro Liebenberg.

The team is: Philip Orffer, Nkosinathi Molapo, Jurie Linde, Adrian Maebane, Keanan van Wyk, Dewald Human, Ivan van Zyl, Hanro Liebenberg (c), Menzi Nhlabathi, Martin Groenewald, RG Snyman, Jason Jenkins, Matthys Basson, Francois Steyn, Njabula Gumede. Replacements: Jan van der Merwe, Xander van Wyk, Stefaan Grundelingh, Calvonn Allison, Denzel Hill, Theo Maree, Peet Schoeman, Simon Bolze.

Facebook Comments
Better known as Bunny, Took over after Pissant went over to the "Dark Side"