Super Rugby Final: Waratahs 33, Crusaders 32


Tahs hosting the Crusaders in Sydney, that is the Super Rugby Final for 2014.

Super Rugby
Super Rugby

Although the disappointment of no South Africa team in the final this should be one of those classic matches that we will remember for a long time.

One thing that rings in my head when thinking of the final this year was when South African Waratahs import Jacques Potgieter said a few months back that he does not care that they lost today, but that the Waratahs will be in final and will win it this year.

All we can do now is sit back and let it play out….

Recent results:
2013: Crusaders won 23-22, Christchurch
2012: Crusaders won 37-33, Sydney
2011: Crusaders won 33-18, Nelson
2010: Crusaders won 20-13, Christchurch
2009:  Crusaders won 17-13, Sydney
2008: Crusaders won 20-12, Christchurch (Final)
2008: Crusaders won 34-7, Christchurch
2007: Crusaders won 34-33, Sydney
2006: Crusaders won 17-11, Christchurch
2005: Crusaders won 35-25, Christchurch (Final)
2005: Crusaders won 33-27, Sydney


Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Alofa Alofa, 13 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 5 Kane Douglas, 6 Stephen Hoiles, 4 Jacques Potgieter, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2Tatafu Polota Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Replacements (two to be omitted): 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Jeremy Tilse, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Will Skelton, 20 Mitchell Chapman, 21 Pat McCutcheon, 22 Brendan McKibbin, 23 Taqele Naiyaravoro,  24 Matt Carraro, 25 Peter Betham.

Crusaders: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Kieron Fonotia, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 Dan Carter, 11 Nemani Nadolo, 10 Colin Slade, 9 Andy Ellis, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Matt Todd, 6 Richie McCaw, 5 Samuel Whitelock, 4 Dominic Bird, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Corey Flynn, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Replacements: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Joe Moody, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Jimmy Tupou, 20 Jordan Taufua, 21 Willi Heinz, 22 Tom Taylor, 23 Johnny McNicholl.

Date: Saturday, August 2
Venue:  ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Kick-off: 19.40 (09.40 GMT, 21.40 NZT, 11.40 SAST)
Expected weather: It will be mostly clear, but there is a slight chance showers in the afternoon. High of 15°C, dropping to 11°C by match time – with a South to South-West wind of 28km/h.
Referee: Craig Joubert (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), James Leckie (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)

Facebook Comments
Better known as Bunny, Took over after Pissant went over to the "Dark Side"


  1. Told you…

    Look at what I call on SuperBru… go against it and you’re a sure fire winner…

    Bliksem Jacques last night’s comp was against the toughest clubs in Gauteng and some of the most biased judging I ever saw, so disorganised the kids 7-11 only started at 20:00 and ended at 22:00, her coach having a family emergency and having to work with a different coach and she STILL took an overall silver…

    Afterwards my girl’s words were the most descriptive…

    “This was even more difficult than North Zone nationals last year”

    I agree

    I must say that my wife dug my ribs a few times as I loudly exclaimed amazement at the totally shameless scoring by some judges.

  2. @DavidS: As long as she enjoys what she is doing she will keep winning those medals.

    Really sad to hear that we still have these problems in our sports with referees and judges that can so easily destroy a youngsters will to go on.